Mormon Classics   |   Spalding Library   |   Cowdery's Bookshelf   |   Newspapers   |   History Vault

Pioneer and General History
of Geauga County

(Burton, Ohio: Hist. Society of Geauga, 1880)

  • Title Page    Contents    1953 update

  • Russell,  pp. 109-120
  • Bainbridge,  pp. 121-157
  • Auburn,  p. 158-226
  • Newbury,  p. 226-256
  • Troy,  pp. 586-673

  • Transcriber's Comments

  • (view enlarged image of title)

    the Henry family,  pp. 137ff   |   Dencey Thompson,  p. 138   |   the Giles family,  pp. 143
    the Wilber family,  pp. 167ff   |   the Stafford family,  pp. 181ff   |   Incidents of Pioneer Life (1881)
    Capt. Henry of Geauga (1942)   |   "Rigdon/Book of Mormon" (1945)   |   Rigdon at Bainbridge
    Auburn/Bainbridge Census: 1820   1830   |   Pioneer Women (1896)   |   S. W. Geauga Pioneers
    History of Lake and Geauga Counties (1878)   |   Wm. Crafts' Early History of Auburn (1868)















    See also the SW Geauga Co. Pioneer Settlement web-page


    C O N T E N T S.


    Address -- Historical -- Gen. Garfield
    Address -- Centennial -- Judge Taylor
    Address -- Society -- 1875; W. J. Ford
    Address of Welcome -- 1878 -- P. Hitchcock
    Address -- Cattle Trade--1878; R. Murray
    Address on Relics -- Oct. 1878 -- W. J. Ford
    Auditors of the County
    Bar Roster
    Bible Society, County
    Court House, the first
    Cheese-making, pioneer
    County Buildings
    Constitution, Historical Society
    Civil Roster
    Constitutional Convention, members of
    Clerks of the County
    Coroners of the County
    Commissioners of the County
    Duties -- Internal Revenue -- 9th District
    Document, copy of
    Equal Rights, by Miss Munn
    Geography and Topography
    Geauga Bar, by Judge Taylor
    Historical Society, first meeting
    Historical Society, officers and members
    Horticultural and Pomological
    Infirmary Directors of the County
    Judges of Supreme Court
    Judges of District Court
    Judges, Associate Bench
    Judges of Probate Court
    Military History, by P. Hitchcock
    Militia History, by Judge Taylor
    Masons, by H. N. Spencer
    Musical Association Union
    Medical Association, County
    Odd Fellows, by Judge Smith
    Population of Geauga County
    Poem -- The Pioneers -- F. E. Denton
    Physicians of County, by Dr. O. Pomeroy
    Press of Geauga County, by J. O. Converse
    Presidential Electors
    Prosecuting Attorneys
    Relics at first Historical Meeting
    Representatives, State Senate
    Representatives, Lower House
    Recorders of the County
    Sheep, Swine, The first
    Schools, Common
    Surveying -- Past and Present -- J. V. Whitney
    Sheriffs of the County
    Surveyors of the County
    School Examiners of the County
    Societies of Geauga County
    Treasurers of the County
    Temperance Union, Woman's
    Teachers' Association



    [ 109 ]

    R U S S E L L.


    Russell township is No. 7, range 9, in the Connecticut Western Reserve.


    The first settlers were the Russell family, consisting of Gideon Russell, wife and five children -- three sons and two daughters, namely: Ebenezer, William, Alpheus, Jemima, and Sally. They moved into the woods, in the year 1818, on the Chillicothe road, a little south of the center of the township. For about two years they were the only inhabitants that we know of. In the fall of 1820 Mr. Simeon Norton moved in with his family, consisting of himself and his wife, Sally, and one daughter, Melinda. He built a split and hewed log house, which is now standing, about half a mile south of the center on the north part of what is now known as the Benjamin Mathews farm, but was then the Russell farm. The house has been removed. It was built by Mr. Norton back from the Chillicothe road some sixty rods or more, near a spring and not far from a road that was laid out from Cleveland to Warren, and partially opened for travel. The Norton family was the second in town, and Orson Norton, the pioneer baby, was born on the thirty-first day of March, 1821, being the first white child born in Russell, now living in Solon. Mr. Norton moved, in the fall of 1821, to what was then known as the Eggleston Mills, in the southwest part of Bainbridge, now owned by James Fuller, son of Thomas Fuller the founder of Fullertown, at the northeast corner of Russell, in 1821 or 1822.


    was laid out in 1802, when Chillicothe was the territorial seat of government. Gen. Edward Paine, Captain Paine's father, who was then a very young man, was one of the committee to lay our and open the road. It commenced at Painesville, running through Mentor, Kirtland, Chester, and Russell. It is said that they followed an Indian trail from the Tuscarawas river to the Scioto, where the Indians traveled from one river to the other. The old Chillicothe road passed the center of Russell to Bainbridge Center, and was, and is now, one of the leading roads of the township.


    The township was named Russell in 1827, I suppose, in honor of the first settlers. I think it was the last township settled and named in the county of Geauga, which at that time embraced Lake county within its limits. At the commencement of its settlement, it was called the West Woods by the people of Newbury. The reason why it was not settled as soon as the adjoining townships, I suppose, to be that the speculators who bought of the Connecticut Land company, held it out of the market, or held it above the market price. In 1810 Samuel Huntington owned four hundred and fourteen acres. A little later Nathaniel Matthews had about four hundred acres in the northwest quarter of the township. Henry Champion owned one thousand acres, and the heirs of Daniel L. Coit owned a large quantity in the north and east parts of the township. Thomas and Frederick Kinsman owned a strip, about a mile wide,

    110                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    through the center of the town east and west, and Aristarchus Champion owned a large part of the south half of Russell.


    Clark Robinson moved from Shaftsbury, Bennington county, Vermont, to Middlefield, in the fall of 1820, and in 1825, moved to the west part of Newbury, and bought a lot of land in Russell Center, division of Thomas Kinsman, on the east line of the township, at three dollars per acre. He commenced in the woods near the spring, where his son, David, now lives, and on the eighth of November, 1825, moved his family, consisting of his wife, Rebecca, and four children -- three sons, Clark, Edwin and David, and one daughter, Phebe, into the body of a log house, put up the day before, with no roof; had some loose boards for a floor, and in the night, had to get up and put up some boards end-ways to keep of the rain and snow. The old lady, between eighty and ninety years of age, lives with her son, David, on the same old farm. She has probably done more hard work in the township than any other woman, having lived in it more than fifty years.

    Clark Robinson built the first frame buildings. The first was a cheese house, and is yet standing. The next was a barn. It was the custom, at that time, to name buildings when they were raised, and have a jug of whiskey at the raising. At this raising the boss, Samuel Coleman, took the jug and stood on the ridge-pole, and as many as had a mind to, and were sober enough, went up and stood with him and swung their hats and hurrahed while he named the building and threw the jug down into the gulley below the spring. Three of the first settlers in that part of the township came from Vermont, and married sisters -- William Jones, Thomas Manchester, and Clark Robinson. Jones located on the north side of the center road, on the east line of the township, opposite the Clark Robinson farm, and paid two dollars and seventy-five cents per acre for his purchase, cash down; and Manchester made his purchase and located farther to the west. Roswell Jones, son of William Jones, lives on the old farm, and is the most extensive land owner in town. The three sisters were smart, energetic women, reared among the hills of Vermont, near the Green mountains, and were well calculated to endure the hardships of a new country. When David Robinson was six weeks old he started from Vermont for Ohio, in his mother's arms, on a pillow in a wagon. But few women would undertake a journey of five hundred miles under such circumstances.

    First School House. -- The first frame school-house in town was built on the Jones farm, and is now used as a blacksmith shop at the center, by William Chase, an ingenious workman.

    We have two blacksmith shops at the center. The other is run by Jacob Chase, at present a justice of the peace, township clerk, and postmaster.

    John Robinson was the first teacher in the new house, and was followed by Esquire Utley, an old settler of Newbury.

    The first election held in the township was on the second day of April, 1827. There were twelve votes cast. Ebenezer Russell was elected clerk; Gideon Russell, Clark Robinson and John Lowry were elected trustees; Jonathan Rathbone and John C. Bell were elected overseers of the poor; Thomas Manchester and James M. Smith were elected fence viewers; William Russell was elected treasurer; Alpheus Russell was elected constable; Ebenezer Russell was elected supervisor of highways for district No. 1. April 10th, the trustees met and laid off the township into two highway districts.

    Clark Robinson was the first justice of the peace elected in Russell. His commission bears date October 25, 1827.

    Mr. John Bell came to Russell with his family of seven children from Massachusetts,

    111                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  111

    in the fall of 1821. Jonathan Rathburn and family moved in from Newburgh in 1823. Then Lewis Sweet, Silas Barker, Mr. Black, Mr. Good-well and others soon after, settled in the south part of the township.

    First School Teacher. -- Lucy Squire taught the first school in the back part of Jonathan Rathburn's house, in 1829. She has been unfortunate, and became partially deranged, and after wandering about the streets for many years, became an inmate of the insane asylum at Newburg in 1877.

    The first meetings were held in the south neighborhood, by a missionary sent by some society, with instructions to get what pay he could by contributions where he preached, and the society would make up the balance of his salary. It is said that the contributions were rather dry, the six pences being scarce at that time.

    First Wedding. -- Mr. John Bacheldor, of Newbury, and Miss Sally Russell were the first couple married in the township. The ceremony took place on the twenty-sixth day of November, 1825.

    First Death. -- Abel Brockway was the first man who died in Russell. He was living with Mr. Rathburn, and had been boiling sap until about nine o'clock in the evening; he came in, and went to bed apparently as well as usual, was taken sick in the night, and yelled, and then came down stairs with his pants in his hand. They saw that he was very sick, and sent George Bell to Aurora for the doctor, but before he came to Brockway, he was dead. His death, perhaps, was the most sudden of any that has occurred in the township, without any known cause.

    Blacksmith. -- The first blacksmith shop was built near where David Robinson now lives. William Chase, sr., was the first blacksmith.

    Doctors. -- The first physician located in the township, was Dr. Brown. He came to the Center in 1842, staid about a year, and was of the regular practice.

    Doctors Eggleston and Ayres, both botanic physicians, came soon after Dr. Brown left, and staid a few years. Then Dr. Clark, botanic, located a little west of the Center, staid a short time, and left. It has always been too healthy in Russell for doctors to stay long.

    Clark Robinson started the first store, traded in anything the people had to sell, and kept for sale such goods as were then needed. One of the staple articles of commerce at that time was black salts -- something that every one could make that had land to clear up, by saving the ashes from the burnt log heaps and leaching them, and boiling the lye down to salts, which he would buy and haul to Pittsburgh and trade for nails, glass and other necessaries, there not being many superfluities when calico was forty-four cents a yard, and girls worked out for fifty cents a week. C. Robinson took the job to cut the timber and log out the east and west road through the center of the town; he built the store and hotel at the center; was the first man in the township that bought cattle and drove them east. He died March 21, 1840. Clark Robinson, Jr., married Emeline Munn, and died in Newbury, December 6, 1848. Edwin Robinson married Almena Prouty, and now lives in Newbury with his third wife. David Robinson married Candace Scott and lives on the old farm. Phebe Robinson married Theodore King, and lives in Harpersfield, Ashtabula county. Nathan Robinson, Jr., half brother of C. Robinson, came to Russell in September, 1826, married Mary Morton of Newbury, and went into the grist-mill and distilling business in Newbury. They had one daughter, and in a few years his wife died, when he married Miss Laura Chase for his second wife. They had three children -- George, Calvin, and Sophia, who are all living. Nathan moved from Newbury to Orange in 1837. N. S. Robinson built a saw- and grist-mill there on the Chagrin river, sold out in 1843 and dissolved partnership. Nathan Robinson moved to Russell and bought the saw-mill west of the center; run it

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  112

    until July, 1851, when he was killed while breaking a pair of colts, being run over by the wagon, and died in about an hour, at the age of forty-seven. After a few years his widow married Mr. Irben Green, and lives in the western part of Ohio.

    Edwin Robinson says that about fifty years ago the winter was so mild and warm that the herbage grew in the woods so that Esquire Hickox, of Burton, drove a hundred head of cattle down to Russell, in March, to feed them there. He helped to watch and yard them nights, and they did well without any other feeding. In 1832 N. S. Robinson took a job to make a road across the gulley on the east and west center road in Russell, about three-quarters of a mile west of the center. They took an ox-team and sled, with tools and provisions, and followed the newly cut road until they came to the river, went up stream to find a place to cross, had to cut away the underbrush to get along, built a brush shanty to sleep in nights, had straw and blankets for bedding and built a fire to cook pork and potatoes over. There the writer did more cooking than ever he has done before or since. It took three of them and a team a week to do the job, for which they received seventeen dollars in cash.


    Russell township lies about fourteen miles south of Lake Erie, and is generally of a rolling or uneven surface, and yet not very hilly; not much swampy or waste land in the township. There is a large quantity of sandstone, suitable for building and bridging purposes, in a great portion of the township. In almost every part of the east half nice sandstone quarries may be found, and in a part of the southwest quarter. The north branch of the Chagrin river rises in Munson, and is the outlet of Bass lake, or what used to be called Munson pond. There was a project talked of at one time by the mill owners at Chagrin Falls, and along the stream, of making a dam at the outlet of the lake, and putting in a floom and gate, thus making a large reservoir to supply the mills in a dry time, but has not yet been done. The river comes to this town not far from the northeast corner, at Fullertown. Thomas Fuller built a saw- and grist-mill, on the river, in the northwest corner of Newbury, about 1822, and about 1847, built his new grist-mill, a little way down the stream, in Russell, and it has been doing a good business about thirty years. This northeast corner of the township was not settled very much until about 1834. Lester Alexander, William Buck, Levi Savage, and some others came before. Charles Jackson bought the corner lot. Richard Ladow came from Onondaga county, New York, in 1835. Jonathan Danforth, in 1836, bought of General Simon Perkins, agent for heirs of Daniel L. Coit, of Connecticut, at five dollars per acre; then Henry Cummins, William Wyckoff, Elder Willis, James M. Smith, and others.

    The river runs from the northeast corner in a southwesterly direction, winding its way to the southwest corner, and leaves Russell, plunging over the rocks at the Falls, and runs about a mile farther, where it meets its twin sister, the south branch, from Aurora, where they mingle together and flow to the north through Orange, Mayfield, and Willoughby, and goes peacefully into the bosom of Lake Erie. Russell township is well supplied with water power; there have been six saw-mills started in it; only two yet remain, timber for sawing having become scarce. Silver creek, a clear, rapid stream, comes to Russell in two branches. The east branch rises in Newbury; the south branch comes from Bainbridge. They unite about a mile east of the center, just above where Lovel Green, an old settler of Newbury, who came to Russell, in 1834, built his saw-mill about 1835; thence it runs northwesterly, and unites with the Chagrin river. Griswold brook comes in from Chester on the north, and is clear, spring

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  113

    water. It is said that the speckled trout live in it. It runs southwesterly through the northwest quarter of the township, going into Orange before it reaches the east and west center road. About 1842, there were two saw-mills built on this brook--one by the Colton brothers, and run a short time; the other by Charles Graham, and is running yet.

    This township abounds with large, beautiful springs of cold, clear, soft water. The timber is mostly beach and maple; some ash, whitewood, chestnut, cucumber, oak, and basswood. On the low lands black walnut, butternut, elm, sycamore, etc. Rail timber is getting scare, but stone is plenty. Line fences are quite common now. There are some beautiful hedges, mostly of osage orange, generally, by the road side; some of willow. They grow rapidly in wet soil. Russell was five miles square before we lost the nine hundred acres taken from the southwest corner in 1841. It is in 41 degrees 30 minutes north latitude, and in longitude 4 degrees 20 monutes west from Wasington, and 81 degrees 20 minutes west from Greenwich. The climate is healthy, soil good for grass and grain; dairying and stock-raising the leading occupation; sheep doing well on the uplands; fruit grows in abundance generally. The people are quiet, civil, and industrious; mostly Yankees; some foreigners.


    Mr. Orton Judson built a saw-mill in the north part of Russell, on the north bank of the Chagrin river, a little east from where it crosses the Chillicothe road and got it running in 1834. He put in a run of stone, and so we had a grist mill. Mr. Cyrus Bailey came about 1832, and took up two lots about half a mile west from the center, where the river crosses the east and west centre road. In 1833, his father, Iddo Bailey, sr., and family, came from Gustavus, Trumbull county, Ohio, and they -- Iddo Bailey, his two sons, Cyrus and Daniel, and David Patridge -- built a saw-mill there, and got it running in 1833. There was yet another built by Aaron Bliss, on the river, down near the falls, about 1838.

    From 1833 to 1837, the settlers came in very fast--Nicholas Dowen, G. S. Pelton, Mr. Shaw, Eliphalet Johnson, Robert O. Roberts, John Williams, Harvey Pelton, Jesse Pelton, and others, settled west of the center, about that time.


    The laws regulating the common schools were re-organized by the general assemby of the State of Ohio, March 1, 1853, making each township one school district, and confined to the control and management of a board of education, and the whole divided into sub-districts, and to be controlled by local directors. In 1876, the centennial year, there were nine sub-districts and a fraction, in Russell, and the average wages of teachers was: males, thirty dollars per month, and females sixteen dollars a month. Whole amount paid teachers that year was one thousand and ninety-two dollars.


    Methodist Episcopal. -- This was the first church established in Russell township, organized a little west of the center, about the year 1838, by Elder West, a circuit preacher. The first members were Charles T. Bailey and wife, David Patridge and wife, G. S. Pelton and wife, and Charles Shaw -- seven members. Their first resident preacher was Orrin Ford, a very zealous man. Under his labors the membership increased in a few years to about sixteen. They held meetings around in private houses for a few years, when they built the first meeting house in the township, about the year 1842, on land then owned by Nicholas Dowen, now owned by S. Robinson, about a quarter of a mile west of the center. The house has been moved across the road, and is now used as a dwelling house. It was not very large, or elegant, and did not suit them

    114                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    all. It is reported that a large, fat brother, said that if they were going to build such a house as that they need not put in anything for a pulpit, he could stand and hold out a shingle for the preacher to lay the Bible on.

    The Wesleyan Methodist Church. -- About the year 1848 there was a division among the Methodists on the slavery question, a part of the members withdrew, and a Wesleyan Methodist church was organized embracing two families that were left of a Congregational church, that was formed in the northwest part of Russell, in the summer of 1840, when J. M. Childs was chosen deacon, and A. H. Childs was chosen clerk, which had become reduced to the two families mentioned, when their organization was given up, and they, uniting with those who came away from the Methodist Episcopal church, formed the Wesleyan Methodist church, and in 1850 they bought a piece of land of L. T. Tambling, two miles north of the center, on the west side of the Chillicothe road, a nice sandy knoll for a burying ground, and to build a meeting house on, and four of them paid for it, to-wit: H. Cummins, John Wesley, David Nutt, and J. M. Childs, and had it deeded to the trustees of the first Wesleyan Methodist church in Russell, and to their successors in office. The first three named that paid for the burying ground are dead and gone to their reward; Mr. Childs is living yet. He says that in 1851 they began to make preparations -- to build a meeting house, but, being poor, and new beginners, it went on slow, but with a hard struggle with poverty and bad management, it was finished.

    Free Will Baptist Church. -- July 25, 1839, a Freewill Baptist church was organized in the south part of Russell. The first members were: Henry Whipple, John Walters, R. R. Walters and wife, Sarah S. Morse, Hannah M. Mason, Thortine L. McConoughey, and Jehiel Goodwill. Their first preachers were: A. K. Moulton and Henry Whipple -- eight members. They met at the Isham school-house, and, after a few years, located at Chagrin Falls, and are alive yet.

    The Baptist Church. -- The regular Baptist church, of South Russell, was organized, about 1841, by Elder Stephenson, of Chester. The first members were: Jackson Gifford and wife, Mrs. Josiah Nettleton, Harry Isham and wife, Parley Wilder, Lydia Warren, and Lemuel -- eight members. Elder Stephenson preached for them awhile; also, Elders Green, Jackson, Thompson, and Willard, until he united with the Disciples. After awhile they became reduced in numbers, and finally sold their house, and it was moved away, about 1868. The Baptist meeting house was built, in 1846, two miles south of the center, at Soules Corners.

    The Disciple Church. -- The edifice of this organization was built, in 1848, on the east side of the road, opposite the Baptist house. The Disciple congregation was organized, in 1843, by Charles Bartlett. The first members were: A. L. Soule, Myron Soule and wife, Benjamin Soule and wife, Delia Soule, Anson Matthews and wife, Oliver Nettleton, David Nettleton, Mrs. A. C. Smith, Benjamin Matthews and wife, and Mr. Hyne and wife. Elder Wm. A. Lillie was their first resident preacher. Elder Wm. Hayden was the first to call the attention of the people to the principles of the reformation. A. Bentley, J. H. Jones, Jonas Hartzel, Dr. Belding, and other preachers, have labored there. Isaac Errett, and A. S. Hayden held the first meeting in the Disciple house, January, 1849.

    Three brothers, A. L. Soule, Myron Soule, and Benjamin Soule, came to Russell, in 1839, from Onondaga county, New York. They were active business men. A. L. Soule, Benjamin Soule, and Richard Robinson, with their families, moved to Michigan, about 1855. A. L. Soule died there in a few years. Myron Soule died, March 22, 1863, in Russell.

    The Union meeting-house at the center was built in 1850. Elder A. B. Green held a protracted meeting there, in the spring of 1851, and fourteen converts

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  115

    were added to the congregation of the Disciples. Elder A. Burns is at present preaching at the Disciple bouse one-half of the time.

    About 1850, the ladies of the Disciple congregation organized a sewing society. Mrs. A. L. Soule was the first president, and Cordelia Robinson, treasurer. Its object was to help the needy. It continued but a few years.


    The Soldiers' Aid Society. -- This was started in 1861 -- Mrs. James Cooper, first president; Mrs. Ahira Haven, vice-president, and Mrs. Myron Soule, secretary. Mrs. Cooper acted a few months, when Mrs. David Robinson was chosen president, and acted during the war. The society labored faithfully for the brave soldiers in the field. There was no estimate made of the value of the large amount of hospital stores sent on. They packed one dozen boxes, and sent some packages. The contents were twenty comforts, thirty quilts, twenty-nine sheets, fifty-five pillows, seven pillow-ticks, fifty-eight pairs of pillow-cases, one hundred and seventy-one shirts, fifty-six pairs of drawers, eighty towels, one hundred and twenty-one handkerchiefs, one hundred and nineteen pairs of socks, fifty-eight pounds of bandages and compresses, one hundred and one pounds of dried fruit, twenty pounds of lint, one-half barrel of pickles, one and a half bushels of onions, one blanket, plates, spoons, pins, etc.

    The village of Chagrin Falls until 1841 was about equally divided, lying in two counties, one-half in the southwest corner of Russell township, Geauga county, and the other half in Orange, Cuyahoga county, making it inconvenient for the inhabitants. Dr. Vincent was at that time a member of the Ohio legis lature, and living at the Falls, secured the passage of an act transferring nine hundred acres of land from the southwest corner of Russell to Cuyahoga county, and attached it to Orange, and in order to make a fair show of honesty, gave in exchange nine hundred acres from the northeast part of Orange to Geauga county, and attached it to Russell While that taken from Russell was good farming land with half the village on it, that given in exchange from Orange, was nearly worthless, being rough, hilly land, lying along the east side of the Chagrin, cut up with deep gulleys. Then, when the people of Geauga county found that they had got shaved, an effort was made to get the law repealed, but failing in that, they got so much of it repealed, as compelled them to take the Orange land. Consequently Russell lost her best corner.


    About the year 1854 there was an American order or subordinate council organized in Russell. Their object was said to be, to purify the body politic, and place our country upon an American platform, to Americanize America, and to resist all efforts to unite Church and State. It seemed to spread rapidly for a while. It is said that there were organized in Ohio within a year, over one thousand councils with a membership of one hundred and twenty thousand, called Know-Nothings.

    A constitution and by-laws for a Grant club was signed in Russell, by one one hundred and forty-three members, in 1868.


    The South Russell cemetery is located about a half mile west of Soule's Corners, on a nice, dry, gravelly knoll. One-half acre was purchased of S. R. Willard, November 15, 1849, for forty dollars. In 1863 it was enlarged. A strip two rods wide, on the south side, was bought of Isaac Rairick for ten dollars, and added to the lot. The first one buried there was Stephen Losey, who was killed by a tree falling on him while chopping. This was the first public burying-ground located in Russell. Before this time, for about thirty

    116                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    years, many of the dead were buried in family burying-grounds. There are quite a number of them in the township.

    Nathan Robinson, sr., died in Russell, December 2, 1860, at the age of ninety-seven, and was buried in the family burying-ground of his son Clark. Asa Robinson came to Newbury in 1818, from Massachusetts, and died at the residence of his son Benjamin, in Russell, in 1844, aged seventy-three. He had a family of nine children, five sons and four daughters -- four sons now living in Russell. Artemus and Benjamin came in 1835. Artemus located at the center; Benjamin a little south. John Robinson was one of the clerks at an election held in Russell in 1827, and now lives about a mile north of the center. David lives in the southwest part of the township.

    Anson Mathews was a justice of the peace of Russell in 1833. He was a prominent business man, and a member of the legislature about 1847.

    David Osborn, an early settler in the southwestern part of the township, died March 26, 1849, aged eighty-nine years and nine months. His wife, aged fifty-six, died the same day, and both were buried in the same grave.

    Benjamin Mathews came to Russell from Massachusetts in 1832, with his family. Mrs. Mathews died in April, 1873. The children are married; some living in Ohio, some in Michigan.

    Harry Isham and Tabor Warren came to Russell about 1835, and located on the Chillicothe road, about one and one-half miles south of the center. Mr. Isham died in 1855. Mr. Warren is still living there.

    Harry Burnett, one of the early settlers of Newbury, came to Russell in 1843. Mr. Burnett and wife are living with their son, Joshua, west of Soule's Corners. Both are between eighty and ninety years of age.

    Ithiel Wilber and wife, also from Newbury, are living where A. L. Soule did before he went to Michigan.

    Parley Wilder, one of our oldest citizens, lives east of the corners.

    John Lines, living southeast of the center, on the Champion tract, paid eight dollars per acre in 1848.


    The population of Russell in 1840 was seven hundred and forty-two, and in 1850, was one thousand and eighty-three; from about that time it has been growing less. In 1852 there were over fifty scholars in the center school district, now less than ten (in other districts the decrease is less), and there are some reasons for it. One is, the children have grown up and gone, another is, one man has bought out his neighbors, their farms have become larger, and schools less. It is estimated that the population has decreased about one-third.

    The great drouth of 1845 was very severe. The district of country that suffered the most, was about one hundred miles in length, and fifty or sixty in width, extending along the southern shore of Lake Erie. Geauga county suffered greatly. There was no rain from about the first of April until the tenth of June, when it rained a little for one day; no more until the second of July, when it rained enough to make the roads a little muddy; no more until September. Many wells, springs and streams of water became dry, and others nearly so. The grass crop almost entirely failed, the pastures in some places were so dry that the dust would rise in walking over them. The grass in meadows would burn like a stubble. Corn and oats were nearly a failure, some fields of wheat were not harvested; scions set in the nursery dried up; forest trees shed their leaves much earlier than usual; many witheredr The grasshop pers were so plenty, and green herbage so scarce that they trimmed thistles and elders by the roadside.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  117


    The first cheese factory started in the State of Ohio was the Maple Hill factory, in Munson. It was built in 1862 by Anson Bartlett, who went to Rome, New York, and spent one summer learning the factory mode of making cheese. The second year he conducted the factory it worked the milk of one thousand cows.

    F. B. Pelton built the first cheese factory in Russell, in 1868, near the center of the town, and ran it successfully several years, then sold it to Messrs. L. M. Smith and Harry Burnett, and they have been doing a good business there the seasons of 1876-7, and are running now (1878); cheese low from five to seven and one-half cents. About fourteen years ago, at the time of the great Rebellion, it was high. It ranged from ten to eighteen cents per pound.

    The Union cheese factory at South Russell, was built in 1871, by R. U. Roberts, Mark Mathews, Isaac Rairick, and other stockholders, at a cost of two thousand seven hundred and thirty-three dollars and seventy-two cents, is yet running and doing a good paying business.


    July 13, 1876, there was a division of the order of the sons of temperance organized at the center of Russell, with about forty charter members, called Russell Center Division, No. 44, Sons of Temperance. The first officers were: Jacob Ghase, W. P.; Mrs. Marion Wilber, W. A.; W. A. Chase, R. S.; A. E. Pelton, A. R. S.; S. Robinson, treasurer; Joseph Wooley, chaplain; H. S. Black, P. G. W. P.; W. A. Pelton, O. S.; Mrs. W. A. Pelton, I. S.; Herman Green, C.; Mrs. Herman Green, A. C.


    About forty years ago it was said that there had been some land cleared in the northwest part of Russell, and had grown up to bushes and briars, and it was called Huntington place. No one seemed to know when it was done, until now, I have found a sister of the pioneer. She says her brother, David Huntington, came to Russell about 1820 or 1821, and bought a piece of land in the northwest quarter of the township, built a log house on what is clalled the Burgess farm, made a clearing, raised a piece of wheat there; that his health failed him, and he left the place in four years. Being unable to work, he wrote to his brother Daniel, and in 1827 he came from New York State, and went on the place and lived there a while; that their neighbors were in Chester, on the north, and in Orange, west; that he went over the river and worked for a Mr. Dean, to get corn; would take a bushel and carry it home on his back at night, and the next day take it to Fuller's mill to be ground, and home again the same way, making in all about ten miles' travel with a bushel on his back. No wonder he left.


    The politics of Russell have changed somewhat; the Democrats used to have a majority. At the presidential election of 1844, they had seven majority for Polk. Now the Republicans have a very large majority -- some over a hundred.

    The inhabitants of Russell are a reading people. In 1877 there were about two hundred periodicals taken in the township. The number taken at each house varied some. They ranged from none to five; generally one.

    The great Murphy temperance wave that is sweeping over the country, struck Russell in the spring of 1877, and the National Christian Temperance union of Russell was organized May 29, 1877, by Messrs. Rising and Jackson, of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. First officers: Cyrus Mathews, president; Jacob Chase, first vice-president; Marion Wilber, second vice-president; Henry Hill, third

    118                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    vice-president; Miss Lucy A. Robinson, secretary; Haven Roberts, treasurer.


    Wagon Makers. -- The first wagon makers in town were Alfred Smith & Bro. They came about 1844, built a lot of wagons for Nathan Robinson, at the sawmill, then located at the center, and stayed until 1852, when C. L. Bartlett, our present wagon maker, came.

    Shoemakers. -- The first shoemaker, that I know of, in town was Thomas Manchester, who located in the east part of Russell; then Hiram Jones, Ansel Savage, Emery Savage, and others. Hiram Jones built the first shop at the center; had plenty of work for a number of years. There has been no shoemaker here for the last ten or fifteen years. All have left; as also have the tailors. The people buy their boots, shoes, and clothing, ready-made.

    Tailors. -- Benjamin Goodell was the first tailor in town. He located in the south part, and was there in 1832. Mr. _____ Heath had a tailor shop at the center for a few years. He left the place in 1850, or about that time.

    Postmasters. -- Ebenezer Russell was the first postmaster in the township. His compensation, the first quarter, amounted to about thirty-one cents. Christopher Edic was the next postmaster. He, living at the center, held the office awhile under postmaster Russel -- when he was appointed. Iddo Bailey, Jr., says that he has carried the mail from Russell to Cleveland, nineteen miles, several times on foot -- but generally on horseback.


    In the art gallery at the centennial were found two portraits, in the exhibit of that enterprising photographer, Ryder, of Cleveland: one of Col. A. S. Parks, of Elyria, Ohio, who, in 1820, carried the mail from Erie, Pennsylvania, to Cleveland, Ohio, on horseback; and by the side of it, that of General Geo. S. Bangs, who, in 1875, inaugurated the means of carrying the mail over the same route, in fifty ton lots, a mile a minute.

    Samuel Robinson came to Russell, in 1830, was married to Miranda Patterson, of Newbury, December 2, 1832; went into partnership with his brother, Nathan; continued in it about fourteen years, under the firm name of N. & S. Robinson; bought a grist-mill and distillery, that Harry Burnett and Ithiel Wilber had built, in Newbury, on the east branch of Silver creek, just before it runs into Russell. They ran them about seven years; did custom work in the mill. Besides grinding for the still, they ground many grists that men and boys brought on their backs from Russell and the west part of Newbury. They had the underbrush cut out through the woods, from the Bell settlement to the Chillicothe road, so that the people could come to mill with ox-sleds, stone-boats, on horseback, or a-foot. Some came from Bainbridge. The mill was in the woods, between two roads that were a mile apart; yet it was not very lonesome there. They had a good run of custom, for some reason or other. The mill-stones were worked out of solid flint rocks, or large hard-heads; were four feet across, and the runner would weigh over a ton. Mr. Thomas Billings, of Newbury, said that he helped get them out, and that they cost about sixty dollars. They have been at works in three places -- first in Newbury, next in Orange, and then in Russell, where they now lie buried, where the Bailey saw-mill stood.


    The saddest affair that has ever occurred in Russell was the burning of Mr. Cyrus Millard's house, March 7, 1843, when a brother of Mr. Millard's, aged fourteen, and four children, the oldest seven and the youngest two years old (one son and three daughters), were burnt to death in it, while Millard and wife were gone to a neighbor's in the evening. How it took fire is not known.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  119

    Joseph Holland, a young man about seventeen or eighteen years of age, just over from England, was drowned while trying to cross the Chagrin river in a canoe, December 2, 1847. About this time, or perhaps before, there was a man by the name of Jerome living near the northwest corner of the township; a lame man. One stormy day, late in November, he went to the center and got a jug of whiskey, started for home towards night but failed to reach there. The next day search was made for him. It having snowed that night he was not found until the following day. When found he was sitting up against a tree, dead and frozen, with his jug standing beside him.

    In the spring of 1851 Mr. Lyman Washburn was killed by the fall of a tree.

    In the fall of 1851 Frank Newel was killed by the fall of a limb from a tree during a shower. He was the first one buried in the new burying ground of north Russell, but it has filled up quite fast since then.

    Northwest Russell began to be settled about 1833. Charles T. Bailey, George Edic, and John Wooley were about the first in the woods, about 1836. Alexander Frazer, David Nutt, and Joseph Wooley came soon after. In 1838 and 1839 provisions were very high and scarce. Joseph Wooley said that he and some others traveled in four townships before they could find anything to make bread of. They would eat coons, woodchucks and wild turkeys, but deer were then scarce, and the first settlers not used to hunting, being mostly foreigners.

    In 1840, 1841 and 1842 J. M. Childs, James Logan, Allen Burgess, Orrin Ford, Van Valkenburghs, Judd, Barber, David Houghton, Washburn, the Coltons, and others, all built log houses, had logging bees, were sociable and friendly, went to meeting on foot or with ox and sled, wagon or stoneboat, worked hard, slept well, and took comfort. About 1838 there was a revival of religion when Joseph Wooley joined the Methodist church. He was very active and took a prominent part in the cause; was recemmended by the class to the quarterly conference, and was licensed to exhort in 1845, appointed deacon in 1854, and ordained in 1859, by Bishop Scott. He is yet with us, a good, faithful, christian man, well liked as a neighbor and preacher. There have been two other preachers raised here in the woods -- Henry Whipple who became an eminent preacher of the Free Will Baptist order, a self made man In 1840 he had a little hut made of poles and covered with poles and brush. It stood near where the Weslyan meeting house now stands. It was called "Henry Whipple's study." Henry S. Childs was born and brought up here, he went to Oberlin a year, and is now preaching for the Wesleyan order.

    I am indebted to Mr. J. M. Childs for a considerable portion of the history of northwest Russell.


    On the morning of September 13, 1878, the Chagrin river rose higher than it had ever been known to rise before. It had been raining steadily for three days, the rain falling in torrents on the night of the twelfth. The destruction of property was very great. Cattle, sheep, fences, fields of grain, mill-dams and bridges were swept away.


    It was the policy of our fathers to prepare for war in time of peace, hence we had company trainings and general trainings; but the militia system was so changed that trainings ceased, and the Rebellion found us unprepared for war.

    120                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    The first company training held in Russell was in 1835, and they were kept up until about 184-, when the law was repealed.

    FROM 1861 TO 1865.

    George Terrell, killed in battle. 	
    William Terrell,
    Samuel Beswick, died of measles. 	
    John Beswick, died of measles.
    George St. John, killed in battle at Perrysburgh. 	
    Westel Hunt.
    Henry Pelton, died. 	
    Harlow Pelton,
    Alonzo Van Valkenburgh, 	
    Philip Dines,
    William Dines, 	
    Joseph Dines,
    James Dines, killed. 	
    Sherman Logan,
    Henry Logan, died at Andersonville. 	
    Silas Childs,
    Henry Scott, 	
    A. A. Judd,
    Edwin Potter, 	
    Elwood Potter,
    Henry Ladow, 	
    Sylvester Ladow,
    Frederick Bose, 	
    William Hall,
    Clay Robinson, 	
    John Pugsley,
    Zethan Perkins, died. 	
    Orrin Snedeker,
    John Sours, 	
    Charles Ellis,
    Avery Jones, 	
    Joel Boswell,
    Truman Phinney, 	
    George Gates,
    Stephen Cates, 	
    Samuel Woolley,
    H. C. Burgess, 	
    Warren Green, came back -- died from a wound.
    Albert Ladow, 	
    Daniel Nettleton,
    John Mason, 	
    Thomas Sanders,
    David Ladow, 	
    Christopher Cubler,
    Herbert Fisher, 	
    Nelson Rose, killed.
    Benson Rose, 	
    Joseph Ayres, killed at Perrysburgh.
    Charles Danforth, 	
    Robert Schuyler, killed.
    John Schuyler, 	
    Henry Schuyler, wounded.
    Cornelius Eames, 	
    Frank Chappel,
    Melvin Chappel, 	
    Charles Van Valkenburgh,
    Erastus Sherman, in the United States Navy. 	
    Mortimer Snedeker,
    James Moneysmith, 	
    James Boswell,
    --Allen, substitute for Matthew Isham, 	
    T. C. Haskins, sent substitute.
    John Mason, substitute for Joshua Burnett. 	
    Thomas Sanders, substitute for M. L. Smith.
    R. U. Roberts, drafted, was under pay one day and discharged.

    I have endeavored to give as full and correct a list of the brave soldiers that went from Russell to crush out the great Rebellion, as I could gather under the circumstances, after a lapse of more than twelve years since the close of the war, and no record kept of them at the time.


    [ 121 ]

    B A I N B R I D G E.


    Township No. 6, in the ninth range of the townships in the Connecticut Western Reserve, is situated in the southwest corner of Geauga county, and contains sixteen thousand one hundred and thirty-eight acres of land. Originally it was divided into three tracts, the lines of which run from the east to the west lines of the township. Tract one consists of all the north part of the township, and contains six thousand and three acres of land, and was purchased of the Connecticut Land company, November 3, 1798, by Samuel Lord. The south line of tract one is the north line of land now owned by Pierce Whipple. Tract two is the central part of the township, and contains four thousand and forty-three acres, and was purchased of the Connecticut Land company, in 1800, by Judson Canfield, David Waterman, James Johnson, Nathaniel Church, Elijah Wadsworth and Frederick Wolcott, in common. In 1801 a deed or partition was executed, giving to each of the above named purchasers their proportion of the tract, viz: Judson Canfield, 1,636 acres; David Waterman, 680 acres; James Johnson, 868 acres; Nathaniel Church, 346 acres; Elijah Wadsworth, 512 acres, and Frederick Wolcott, the balance. The south line of tract two is the south line of the land now owned by Rufus Pettibone, and was purchased of the Connecticut Land company, September 10, 1878, by Nathaniel Gorham and Warren Parks, and, December 19, 1798, was sold by Gorham and Parks to Benjamin Gorham. March 7, 1815, Simon Perkins purchased of Benjamin Gorham the west part of tract three, containing 4,000 acres. Soon after Calvin Austin purchased the balance, and for a time township No. 6 was called Austintown, in honor of Mr. Austin. Each of the tracts one, two, and three, were subdivided into lots. Tract one has forty-eight lots, numbering from south to north across the tract. Tract two has twenty-eight lots, of unequal size, numbering from west to east. Tract three has thirty-two lots, of nearly equal size, commencing to number at the northeast corner of the tract, thence south and north across the tract.

    TAX   SALE.

    All of lots fifteen, thirty-four, thirty-seven to forty-eight inclusive, containing one thousand and nine hundred and fifty-eight acres, in tract three, was sold to Asa Foot, December 26, 1826, for the sum of forty-seven dollars and thirty-seven cents, being the tax due for 1824 and 1825. It was subsequently redeemed by Samuel Lord, for one hundred dollars.


    The Chillicothe is the oldest road, having been surveyed under the direction of the State, by Edward Paine, in 1801. The line of the road is north and south, a little east of the center of the township. There are two other roads running north and south, between the Chillicothe and the east line of the township, which extend across it. West of the Chillicothe there are none extending across the township, north and south, and only one leading east and west across the township, and that the center road, leading from Auburn, on the east, to Solon, Cuyahoga county, on the west. There are other roads leading westerly,

    122                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    but not continuously, on account of natural barriers near the streams in the western part of the township.

    There are two railroads running through the township. The Atlantic and Great Western railway crosses the southwest corner, making nearly two miles of road in the township, with a small station, known as Geauga Lake. The Canton, Bridgeport and Painesville railway crosses the northwestern corner, with about one mile of road in the township. This road is completed only from Solon to Chagrin Falls.


    The main branch of the Chagrin river enters the town from the south a short distance west of the center line, its source being the Harmon pond in Aurora. It continues its course northerly, and leaves the town on the west line north of the center line, continuing to run northerly to Lake Erie. A tributary of the Chagrin runs through the south part of Auburn and Bainbridge, leaving the latter at Centerville Mills, about one hundred rods from its confluence with the main branch in Aurora.

    Another tributary known as the Plumb Bottom creek (it derived its name from the great number of wild plumb trees which formerly grew along its margin), rises at a spring a few rods west of the west line of Auburn, near the road leading from Auburn to Bainbridge, thence running westerly to its confluence with the main branch at a point directly west of where it rises. Nearly all the streams and the tributaries in the township are the outflow of pure springs which issue from the fissures of the drift rock, which underlies the town. So numerous are the springs that few farms lack a supply of pure spring water.

    Geauga lake (formerly known as Giles pond), is situated in the southwest corner of the town in lot twenty-eight, tract three, and is the head water of Tinker's creek which empties into Cuyahoga river. The waters of this lake are very pure and of great depth. On the south of it is a beautiful gravel beach. Its location, geologically, is an anomaly, being in a basin-like depression within less than one-half a mile of the deep ravine, through which the Chagrin river passes, with its drainage in the opposite direction from the river.


    The timber consists largely of beech and maple, with an abundance of white ash and a limited supply of oak and chestnut. Whitewood, cucumber, basswood and cherry are quite abundant, and along the streams some black walnut is found.

    The soil is a deep sandy or clay loam, bordering in many places on sand very rich and productive.

    Stone is abundant for building purposes. The principal quarries are found on land owned by J. Patterson, K. W. Henry, R. P. Osborn, and William Hutchins.


    At a meeting of the county commissioners held at Chardon on the first Monday of March, 1817, township number six, in the ninth range, was given the name of Bainbridge, which included what was subsequently called Auburn. When the separation from Auburn took place is not positively known. The chattel tax duplicate of 1817 contains names of tax payers who then resided in Bainbridge, which included the territory which is now Auburn, and in 1818 those names were separated, and are in Auburn and Bainbridge townships. Hence I conclude the separation took place in the summer of 1817.

    Who the first township officers were, or when or where the first election took place it is impossible to determine, as the records are lost.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  123


    The citizens of the township have always manifested a due appreciation of educational advantages and have taken much interest in their common schools. There are ten school districts now in the township, four of which are union districts, composed of the territory from Solon on the west, and Aurora on the south, annexed to Bainbridge for school purposes. There has always been a good supply of resident teachers. Among the most efficient and experienced of the present time, are: C. M. Foot, J. W. Scott, S. J. McFarland, A. R. Phillips, J. J. Bliss, Sylvia Pettibone, Fanny McCollum, Mary Whipple, and others of less experience who bid fair to become teachers of the first rank. In addition to the common schools, select schools have been taught at different times in the township. One is now in session which is being taught by J. J. Bliss. The total amount of money expended for tuition, and other school purposes, during the last six years was nine thousand seven hundred and forty-one dollars and ninety-eight cents. The first school in the township was taught in a small log house, near George Smith's, by a young man from Windham, named Skiff, in 1816.


    The pioneers of Bainbridge were men of early christian training, and had much of the puritanic regard for the rights and influences of religious society, and at a very early day religious meetings were held in the township, and on the ninth of June, 1819, the Congregational church was organized by John Leslie, a traveling missionary. The following persons were its first members, viz: George Smith, Susanna Smith, Jonas H. Childs, Gideon Russell, Justus Bissell, Jonathan Ely, Asahel North, Jemima Russell, Nancy Bissell, and Rebecca Wilber. Soon after Lydia Childs' and Hannah North's names were added, making twelve members. Jonas Childs was chosen moderator, and Asahel North, clerk. For many years it was a very prosperous and flourishing society, and early in its history, 1832 and 1833, erected a very commodious church building on land leased for that purpose from Joseph North. In 1839 and 1840 there was quite an extensive revival of religion, and the church received many accessions, but soon dissensions arose and some withdrew from the society, and very few were added to its numbers for many years. In 1850 Oliver O. Brown, a man of little moral worth, purchased the farm from which the site for the church was leased, claiming that he had bought the site and made an effort to prevent religious services being held in the church. Becoming exasperated by some denials of his right to the property, he entered the church, October 13, 1851, tore out the pulpit and its adornings and burnt them in front of the church. The society soon took the necessary legal measures and defeated his purpose to hold the property. By death and removal the society's numbers gradually decreased, and about nine years since the church building was sold for secular purposes. Among the pastors of this church were: J. A. Halleck, Sherman B. Canfield, S. G. Clark, Bridgman, Parmelee, Childs, and Ward. The last scheduled pastor was Rev. Mead Holmes.

    The Methodist Episcopal church was organized in the spring of 1822, by Rev. B. O. Plimpton, with thirty members. Harvey Baldwin was appointed class-leader. The principal members were: Joseph Ely and wife, Phillip Haskins and wife, P. D. McConoughey and wife, Asahel North, Jr., and wife, Jonathan Daniel and Wesley McFarland, with their wives, John Henry and wife, Gordon Kent and wife, Orrin Henry, Joseph Witter and wife, and Oliver Wheeler and wife. Services were held in private houses first, and later, in the log house built for a town hall. Some years later a small church was built at

    124                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    the center; at what date we are not advised. In 1866 the old church was sold to the township, for a town hall, and a new one erected in the summer of 1867, on the site of the old hotel (kept by Stewart and others), at a cost of about six thousand dollars. We have the names of all the ministers who have labored for the society since its organization in 1822, but the list is lengthy and we name only those who were among the first, viz: William Sawyze was the first presiding elder; B. O. Plimpton the first minister sent here by the Erie conference. Then followed Ira Eddy, William H. Collins, Orrin Gilmore, P. Green, W. C. Henderson, H. Hopkins, C. Jones, J. McLean, T. Vaughn, A. Bronson, W. B. Mack, D. Goddard, J. J. Stedman, and many others. The name of the present pastor is T. B. Tait. There is now a flourishing Sabbath-school connected with the church, of which C. E. Chase is superintendent.

    In 1877 a Universalist society was organized by Rev. Wilson, of Akron. Services are held in the town hall every alternate Sabbath. A Sabbath-school has also been organized, with Miss Lizzie Shaw as superintendent. Rev. G. L. Perin, pastor.


    In commencing the biographical history of the settlement of Bainbridge, we append a sketch of the McConoughey family, the first who settled in the township, the principle part of which was obtained from notes, written by Rev. A. N. McConoughey, the youngest of the family, and the first child born in the township.

    David McConoughey was the first settler in what is now the township of Bainbridge, having moved within its limits on Thanksgiving day, 1811. He was of Scotch-Irish descent. His grandfather (also named David) emigrated to America from the north of Ireland, soon after his marriage, about the year 1725. He first settled in what was then Watertown, near Boston, Massachusetts. There his son David was born, in February, 1732. In 1752, the family removed into what is now Blandford, Hampden county, Massachusetts. There the grandfather, and father of David (third) died; the latter, in 1806, aged seventy-four years. He was a soldier in the patriot army of the Revolution. He served with credit, and received an honorable discharge and a land warrant for his services. He had a fine education, and was the clerk of the township of Blandford about twenty years. His son, David McConoughey (third), was born in Blandford, Massachusetts, August 6, 1787, and died in Bainbridge, September 25, 1849; aged eighty-two years. His wife was Mary Carter. She was of Scotch, English, and Welsh ancestry. Her father was Scotch, her mother English and Welsh. Her great-grandfather was a Scottish nobleman, tracing his descent from a sister of Robert Bruce. The name was originally McCarter, but one of his progenitors, for his gallantry in battle, received the honor of knighthood, with a change of name to Cartter. The progenitor of the family in America came over about the year 1700, and settled in Virginia. His plantation was destroyed by an incursion of the Indians, upon which event he removed to Massachusetts, and settled in Boston. His only son, James Bruce Carrter, was educated at Harvard college, for a minister of the gospel, but preferred the sea to the pulpit; was owner and captain of an East Indiaman, and for many years was a successful trader. After a time fickle fortune deserted him. His vessel, with its cargo, were lost at sea; he narrowly escaped with his life. In reduced circumstances, he took up his abode in Westfield, Massachusetts, and engaged in teaching Greek and Latin, in which he was an accomplished scholar. He taught the first school ever taught in Blandford, where, for a time, he resided. His son, Nehemiah, was born in Westfield. His eldest daughter, Mary Carrter, was born in Westfield, June 22, 1770; was married to David McConoughey (third) in 1792, and died in Oberlin, Ohio, January 22, 1864; aged ninety-three years and

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  125

    seven months. After having shared life's toils, its joys; and sorrows for more than fifty-seven years, this venerable couple repose side by side at the summit of a beautiful eminence, in the northeastern part of the township, and very near the home of their later years. There, also, rest the remains of many of their descendants.

    The family left Blandford, Massachusetts, November 9, 1810. The family consisted of father, mother, and six children, three of each sex. The eldest, a son, nearly nineteen years of age; the youngest, a son, about three years old. The journey at that season of the year was extremely tedious and dreary. The distance of nearly six hundred miles, through mud and snow, with one yoke of oxen, and one horse, was traversed in fifty-three days. Of what occurred during the journey we have no account, save of the last night, which was spent in the woods in Bedford, the second town west of Bainbridge, where they encamped for the night, and were serenaded through the weary hours by bands of hungry wolves, who seemed chanting their own death song, as well they might at the coming of this family, who aided very much in their extermination. On the first day of January, 1811, they arrived at the cabin of Samuel McConoughey, a younger brother of David, who had settled in the northwestern part of Aurora, in 1806. Here the family remained till the following November.

    In the early part of the year 1811, Mr. McConoughey purchased one hundred acres of land of Benjamin Gorham, in the southeast corner of Bainbridge, in lot three, tract three, now owned by Lucas Hurd. Upon this land the father and sons commenced clearing away a portion of the forest, and building a cabin, which was ready for occupancy, and to which the family moved on Thanksgiving day, 1811. It was a rudely constructed cabin, eighteen by twenty feet, of round logs, a huge fire-place, a puncheon floor made of logs split, and the flat surface upwards, a stick chimney, plastered inside with clay mortar to prevent it taking fire (a precaution not always successful), without chamber floor, a cover of long split shingles, held in place by heavy poles, one door opening north, and not a pane of glass in the apertures which served as windows. The scanty supply of furniture was brought from the old home, with the exception of a few articles manufactured by the family. For a short time there were no other inhabitants in the tract of wilderness now known as Bainbridge. To the east of them, lay what is now Auburn township, in which there was no human habitation, their nearest neighbor being the brother in Aurora. Between the two cabins lay nearly six miles of unbroken forest, infested with bears and wolves, intersected by streams of water, and dotted with black ash swamps, which must be traversed in visiting the nearest neighbor and friend. We fancy there were many sad, lonely hours, in which the friends of their early life and dear old home were tearfully remembered. But they were people of much practical sense; and the wife and mother had a purpose in coming to that wilderness home, which, if accomplished, would repay her for all the toil and privation of the undertaking. She was striving to save her family from the blighting curse of intemperance, which threatened the destruction of all she held most dear. The result proved the wisdom of her attempt, and rewarded her sacrifices and sufferings. She had a great deal joy of seeing her husband become a christian and total abstainer from all intoxicating drinks, and to see her children grow up intelligent, respectable people, utterly abhorring rum and rum-sellers.

    Mr. McConoughey was a quiet, unambitious man, of clear perception and unquestionable integrity. He was never wealthy, and never aspired to be. When about fifty years of age he became a christian, and a year or two later united with the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he remained a worthy member till his death. His wife was also a member of the same church.

    126                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Mrs. McConoughey was far more aspiring and ambitious than her husband, and was more energetic and enterprising. She possessed a very superior intellect, and retained her faculties unimpaired till the last hour of life. She was a kind and devoted mother, and a true christian.

    The sons of the family were all bred to farming, which occupation they all engaged in through life, with the exception of the younger one, Austin N., who, after marriage, studied four years at Oberlin college, and graduated in theology at that institution; was ordained to the gospel ministry by the Lorain Congregational association in August, 1842, and has been engaged in the ministry about thirty-eight years. During a few last years of David, Jr.'s, life he studied and practiced medicine, with marked success. The daughters all married farmers, and were all estimable women.

    The eldest son, Colonel P. D. McConoughey, was one of the famous hunters of this section, killing deer, bears, elk, and wolves, in great numbers. It is said he was known to have killed as many as five bears in a single day. On one occasion, while hunting in company with Josiah Nettleton, he killed four full-grown deer, and Nettleton, five, in little more than half a day -- Nettleton lending his rifle to McConoughey, with which he killed his fourth.

    The father was also a hunter of some note, killing scores of bears and wolves. A bear story is related of the two hunters and a famous bear dog, which may be of interest. A very large hollow tree had been felled for bears. Porter, and his cousin Jarvis McConoughey, had fired through a small opening at a bear inside of the tree, when the dog rushed into the large hollow, attacked the bear, which was but slightly wounded. The howls and growls which were heard by the hunters indicated that a furious battle was raging, in which bruin would be the victor. The father instantly threw off his coat, and went down the hollow to the rescue of the dog. It was twenty feet from the entrance to the scene of action. Here he seized the dog by the hinder legs and slowly worked himself back until Porter could reach his feet, and by his assistance all were drawn out together, the dog and bear locked in a mutual grip by teeth and claws. The bear, which was a very large one, weighing over four hundred pounds, was instantly run through the heart with a lance, called the bear-spear, in the hands of the senior. On examination the tree was found to contain two more bears, each of more than half the size of the mother.

    As before stated, there were six children of the McConoughey family, who came with the parents to Bainbridge, of whom Col. Porter D., the eldest, was born in Blandford, Massachusetts, March 18, 1793, and died in Bainbridge, June 19, 1867. He was twice married; first to Miss Margaret Nettleton, in 1821. Eight children were born of this union, seven of whom survived the father, and five are still living. The mother died in 1848.

    The second marriage of Porter was in 1851, to Miss Elvira Marsh, of Chagrin Falls. Five children were born of this marriage, four of whom are living. His widow is still living, and resides in Oberlin, Ohio.

    Mary E., the eldest daughter of David, was born at Blandford, Massachusetts, March 20, 1795, and was married twice. First, to Zebina Kennedy, of Aurora, February 22, 1813. This was the first marriage in the township of Bainbridge. The ceremony was performed by Esquire Blackman, of Aurora. Mr. Kennedy lived but a short time after his marriage, having some connection with the soldiers near Lake Erie, where he visited and contracted a disease from which he died, very soon after his return, and in less than three months after her marriage, the young bride was called to exchange bridal robes for widow's weeds. She was married the second time in August, 1814, to Julius Riley, of Aurora (the ceremony at each marriage was performed by Esquire Blackman, of Aurora). By this marriage she became the mother of six children, five of whom

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  127

    survive her. She died in Aurora, April, 1867. Her husband is still living.

    The second daughter of the Conoughey's, Selina M., was born in Blandford, January 19, 1797. She was married March 20, 1826, to Horace Crosby, of Bainbridge. The fruits of this marriage was one daughter. Mr. Crosby died in Oberlin, February 26, 1873. Mrs. Crosby is now (1878) living in Oberlin, where she has resided over forty-three years. She is nearly eighty-two years old, still retains a great degree of mental and physical vigor, has walked to church, a distance of a mile, within the past year, but for a number of months has been feeble, with little prospect of recovery.

    Sally, born at Blandford, March 17, 1799, died in 1802, and sleeps in Blandford.

    The youngest daughter, Portia Ann, was born in Blandford, May 21, 1801. She was married to Asahel North, Jr., July 4, 1822, by P. D. McConoughey, esq. Seven children were born of this marriage. She died April 4, 1870, at Clyde, Ohio. Her husband still survives her.

    David C. was also born in Blandford, September 30, 1804. He was twice married -- first, to Eliza Howard, of Mantua, in 1832. To them nine children were born. His wife died in Minnesota in 1858. His second marriage was with Mrs. A. McWhorter, in 1862, by whom he had one son. He died January 15, 1874, at Milan, Ohio. His widow is still living.

    Eli Hector was born January 1, 1808, in Blandford. He was also twice married -- first, to Miss Amanda Snow, of Mantua, by whom he had four children. She died in Illinois in 1848. He married again in 1849, Mrs. Samantha Wooster, by whom he had two children. He died in Cornwall, Illinois, April 5, 1869.

    The youngest of this family, Austin Nehemiah, was born in Bainbridge, August 30, 1812, and married Miss Martha M. Nettleton, April 1, 1835, in Bainbridge. There were five children born of their marriage, four of whom are living, as are also the parents.

    Very soon after the settlement of the McConoughey family in Bainbridge, came Jasper Lacey and family, and settled on lot seven, tract three, now owned by Leverett Gorham. They remained but two or three years, and removed to Aurora, Portage county. In 1813 a son was born to them, which was the second birth in the township.

    The third family that settled in the township was that of Gamaliel H. Kent, who emigrated from Suffield, Connecticut, in 1805, and stopped in Warren, Ohio, one year, when they removed to Aurora, Portage county, where they remained five years, whence they removed to Bainbridge in 1811, and took up lots six and nineteen in tract three, upon which the elder sons, Elihu L. and Gamalial, Jr., had cleared a few acres.

    In the autumn of 1811 they built a log cabin and sowed a small piece to wheat, which was the first sowen in the township. Mr. Kent's family, at the time of their arrival in Bainbridge, consisted of wife and five children, three sons and two daughters, all of whom eventually married and settled in the neighborhood of the homestead. The eldest son, L. Elihu, married Clarissa Blish, of Mentor, and resided on the homestead till his death, which occurred September 14, 1827, at which time he was thirty-seven years old. She is remembered by those who formed her acquaintance in her earlier life, as a woman whose mental endowments were far above the ordinary. She is now nearly eighty-five years of age, and retains her mental and physical vigor to a remarkable degree. She resides with a niece in Solon. In the winter of 1813 Mr. Kent's house, with nearly all its contents, was burned. A quantity of flax had been placed under a shed and around the house to dry, why, by some means, took fire, and a strong breeze blowing at the time, the flames were

    128                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    soon beyond control. In the excitement an empty cupboard was carried carefully out and saved, while one which stood near it, filled with valuable articles, was left for the fire to consume. After the destruction of their house, the family went to Aurora, where they remained until a new one could be constructed. The work was immediately commenced by men who came from Aurora, through the woods, bringing their lunch (which was frequently frozen before noon), and returning home at night. The family moved to their new cabin in February, which was without chimney, door or windows, and in that condition they spent the remainder of the winter, which was a very severe one.

    Mr. Kent and son, Elihu, purchased the first dry goods and groceries offered for sale in the township. The stock of good was very limited in quantity and variety, consisting of such articles as were considered indispensable. Some were sold on credit, and the accounts were written with chalk upon the side of the house. Paper was not easily obtained at that period. The business was very soon abandoned.

    Mr. Kent, like most of the pioneers of the Western Reserve, was of New England birth and education. He was an intelligent, honorable man, and much esteemed by the community in which he resided. His family were among the most intelligent and cultured of that period, as are also many of their descendants of the present time.

    Mrs. Kent was her husband's superior in some respects. She possessed a clearer intellect and more will power. She was a woman well fitted to share the toils and privations of pioneer life, one who was ever ready to bear her full share of its burdens. In 1818, while yet neighbors were few, and they widely separated with roads nearly impassable lying between, Mrs. Kent felt that it would be for the public good to improve the roads (and thereby their condition), to that end she appointed a day and place of meeting, and requested every man, woman, and child, who was able to assist in any way, to be ready at the time, and place appointed, to work on the road. Nearly all complied with the request, and by her direction the men felled the trees, the larger boys trimmed off their branches and cut undergrowth, while the women and children carried and piled the brush. By night they had cleared a road broad enough for a wagon to pass, from the cabin of Mr. Kent to that of George Smith, which was situated more than half a mile eastward. When the work was completed, Mrs. Kent provided supper for the company.

    In the summer of 1817, Mr. Kent built the first frame house in the township, which is still in a good condition, having been recovered in 1876. Mr. Kent was engaged in farming all his life, and he occupied the farm which he purchased in Bainbridge in 1811 until his death, which occurred April 30, 1831, at which time he was sixty-six years of age.

    The second daughter, Laura, married Harvey Baldwin of Aurora, October 24, 1818. Two sons were born of their marriage. After a few years the parents separated, and both after a time, left the place, and after a few years had passed, each married again. Mrs. Baldwin married a Mr. Fobes, from whom she separated, and is now living with her third husband in the vicinity of Cleveland. Mr. Baldwin first purchased a lot which is a part of the farm now owned by Delos Root, and the house, a log one, stood on the east side of the road, a few rods north of the residence of Mr. Root.

    The eldest daughter, Delia, married Russell G. McCartey. He purchased the farm, of which Mrs. Amarilla Root now owns a part. Mr. McCartey resided upon the farm until the spring of 1853, when he sold his farm to Lyman Fowler, and removed to Dover, where he died about two years later. To Mr. and Mrs. McCartey were born seven children, six of whom, three sons and three daughters, lived to adult age. The eldest son, Henry, completed a college

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  129

    course, and was stricken with consumption, of which he died a few months later. Subsequently, two daughters and a younger son died of the same malady. The father was also a victim of consumption. Mrs. McCartney is still living, and resides with her son in Iowa. The surviving daughter resides in Wisconsin.

    Gamaliel H. Kent, second son of Gamaliel and Deborah Huntington Kent, was born in Suffield, Hartford county, Connecticut, and came with his father to Bainbridge in the winter of 1811 and 1812. He assisted his father and other pioneers in clearing the heavy forests from their farms until his marriage, which occurred in May, 1824, when he was united in marriage with Ann Eliza Granger. In the winter of 1825 they settled on a farm of fifty acres, of which Nichols and son now owns a part. He had previously cleared a few acres, and erected a log house near the large spring (now used by Nichols' cheese factory). He remained on the farm about eight years, built the barn which is still standing, planted an orchard of apple trees, many of which are in good bearing condition, and left standing the young maples which form what has been known as Andrews' grove, where various public gatherings, picnics, celebrations and religious meetings are held. Mr. and Mrs. Kent were parents of eight children, four of whom were born in this their first home, viz; Ann Eliza, Hortense, Oliver G., and Augusta D.

    In the spring of 1833, Mr. Kent sold his farm of fifty acres to Alfred Thompson, and purchased two hundred acres of unimproved land in the west part of the town. He removed from the first home in April, and himself and family boarded with the family of J. Carver, in Solon, while he was preparing a home on the new farm. He cleared a small piece of ground, and built a log house, to which he removed his family in May, at which time there was neither door, chimney, nor windows, and only a loose rough floor in the cabin. For a few days the cooking was done out of doors, and two crooked sticks were driven in the ground with a pole and log-chain to hold the kettles over the fire, while a covered, flat iron kettle did duty as an oven. During the summer he cleared twenty-one acres, and sowed it to wheat in the fall. Here the remainder of his life was spent in improving and beautifying his home. He was a man honored and respected as a citizen, and much esteemed in all the relations of life. He held many offices of the township in its early history, and in 1850 was elected to the State legislature. He died May 28, 1871, having been a resident of the township sixty years.

    Four children were born in the home where the father died -- Gameliel H., Jr., Amelia V., Eugene E., and Clarence E.

    The family married and reside within a few miles of the homestead. The eldest daughter, Ann E., married Henry Root, and resides in Mantua. Hortense I. Sturtevant resides in Cleveland. Oliver G. was married to Lucy Baldwin, of Aurora, and resides in Cleveland, where Mrs. Kent died, October 13, 1873. Augusta was married to L. W. Joy, of Kansas, and resides in Cleveland. Gamaliel H., Jr., married Emily Bently, and resides in Bainbridge. Amelia V. married James G. Coleman, and resides at Chagrin Falls. Eugene E. married Lucinda Bayard, of Chagrin Falls, and resides in Bainbridge. Clarence E. married Ella J. Robins, of Warren, and lived on the homestead till his death, which occurred about two years later. The north and west part of the township was settled much later than the south part, Mr. Kent being the first who moved to that part of Bainbridge. Very soon several families were added to the neighborhood, among whom were the Haydens, Holbrooks and Nieces.

    Alexander Edson, youngest son of Gamaliel and Deborah H. Kent, was born in Suffield, Hartford county, Connecticut, April 20, 1802. When he was about three years old his father emigrated to Ohio, where his children all accompanied him and shared the labors and privations of pioneer life. In 1812 they settled

    130                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    in Bainbridge, where their parents spent the remainder of their lives, cared for in their declining years by the subject of this brief sketch, who is the only man living in the township whose residence dates from so early a period. Many changes have occurred in the years intervening, which Mr. Kent has noted with mingled feelings of pleasure and pain. The forests which covered the whole face of the country for miles around have steadily receded, and in their stead are seen cultivated fields and tasteful, attractive homes. Other changes have also occurred. Friendly, familiar faces have passed away in rapid succession till nearly a generation of strong, brave men, and earnest self-reliant women have laid down the burdens of life and are hidden forever from our sight. Sad changes have come to the household of this pioneer. The parents and brothers are gone, five children and the gentle, loving companion of his early manhood and one of his later years have been called away, and he, having nearly reached four score years, is waiting "Only waiting till the shadows are a little longer grown," and all too soon, the few remaining links which connect the present with the past generation will be severed.

    Mr. Kent has occupied the farm to which his father moved, when he was but nine years old, until the present; a period of nearly sixty-seven years. He was married November 8, 1826, to Miss Lucy M. Bull, of Lebanon, New York. From this union seven children were born, viz: Lyman E., who married Emily

    C. Eggleston, October 7, 1856; she died, in 1858, and he was again married to Mrs. Anna Leonard, who survives her husband, who died May 16, 1862. He was a young man of genial temperament, intelligent, and highly esteemed by all his associates. Rebecca M., married Thomas Briggs; died August 7, 1860. Delia E., married Henry C. Ely; she died September 24, 1862. Laura A., married Austin Z. Mason; her death occurred April 12, 1865. Hampton H., married Jerusha Pettibone, in 1870, and resides in Austin, Minnesota. Elizabeth B. and Lucy M., both unmarried, live on the old homestead.

    Mrs. Kent died September 14, 1841, and in October, 1842, Mr. Kent was again married to Hannah Morford, of Solon. From this marriage four children were born: Abiah A., who died June 23, 1853. Alexander H., who married Addie Eggleston, and resides at the center of Bainbridge. Cassandra married Lucas Hurd, and resides in Bainbridge. Henry M. resides in Auburn.

    In the latter part of the same winter in which Mr. Kent settled in Bainbridge, Alexander Osborn, sr., arrived, having previously traded land which he owned in the State of New York, to Benjamin Gorham, for three hundred and twenty acres in lot eleven, tract three, in the south part of the town. Mr. Osborn emigrated from Blandford, Massachusetts, where he left his family, consisting of wife and six children (Russell, Maria, Alexander, Jr., Sally, David C., and Melissa), and came to prepare a home, to which he purposed removing them the next fall; but during his absence his wife and youngest daughter died. The remaining children were placed with relatives, where they remained until their father returned to the old home, in the winter of 1813-14. He came back to Bainbridge in the latter part of the same winter, bringing his oldest son, who was about fourteen years old, with him. The younger ones remained with their friends, being too young to endure the fatigue of so long a journey and the privations of pioneer life, without the patient, loving care of a mother. Mr. Osborn started on his return with a span of horses and sleigh, with which he traveled three days, when the snow went off, and he was obliged to trade his sleigh for a wagon, with which he pursued his journey for a week, when he found it necessary to exchange his wagon for a sleigh, with which he nearly completed the journey; stopping a few miles north of Warren, where he was delayed three days by a heavy rain storm, which made the streams impassable. They came in on the road running from Warren to Cleveland, by the way of Hudson, which, after

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  131

    the snow went off, was extremely bad, and scarcely passable. After several accidents and delays the father and son reached their lonely cabin, where they lived alone till Alexander, Jr., came, some three years later; Russell having visited Massachusetts for the purpose of accompanying him back.

    In the fall of 1817, Russell made a second trip to Massachusetts, and on his return in the following winter, his eldest sister, Maria, came with him. Soon after her arrival, their cabin, with all its contents, was burned. Among other articles of value was a fine new rifle, and a quantity of books, which were particularly prized, as new ones could scarcely be obtained at any price. A new cabin was soon erected, in which the family commenced housekeeping with a scanty supply of furniture, mostly of their own manufacture. The younger son, David, came later with Jonathan Osborn, an uncle, who settled in Ashtabula county. David remained several years in Bainbridge, but after his marriage lived several years in Munson, from whence he removed to Illinois.

    The younger sister remained in Massachusetts, where she married, and died, leaving five children, who now reside in Connecticut. The elder sons aided in clearing and improving the farm, a few years, when each purchased land adjacent to the homestead. Russell planted the first apple trees in the town, on his father's farm, having brought the seeds from Massachusetts. Seven years from the time of planting many of the trees bore fruit. Several orchards now in bearing were taken from the nursery which he planted. There are trees yet standing thickly together on the old nursery ground. Russell first took up fifty acres of land where Henry Haskins now lives, upon which he chopped a few acres, and built an ashery, where he made potash, which he took to Pittsburgh with an ox team, where he could always get cash for that article, with which he purchased a few dry goods and groceries for the convenience of his neighbors and his own profit. He married Ruby McConoughey, of Aurora, built a log house on land now owned by William McCollum, a few rods south of the old cemetery, on the east side of the road. In 1831 he sold to Stephen Goodman, and purchased the farm now occupied by Joseph Eggleston, where he resided till 1834, when he sold to Jeremiah Root, and removed to Mantua, where he was engaged several years in the mercantile business. He now resides in Cleveland, is seventy-nine years old, and quite vigorous. He has two sons and one daughter. The eldest son, R. P. Osborn, resides in Bainbridge; Alexander, Jr., son of Alexander sr., married Anna N. Creager, of New York, and settled on the farm now occupied by Evan Richard, in lots five and twelve, tract three, where he resided until his death, which occurred April 25, 1863, at which time he was sixty years and six months old. He was a member of the Methodist church about twenty-three years; a man just and true in all the relations of life. His wife survives him and resides in Bainbridge. They were the parents of ten children -- Lorinda A. married William Howard; Caroline E. married Robert Hood, and resides in Chicago; John A. married Julia Sly, of Oberlin, and resides in Iowa; David Edson was killed in the battle of Chaplin Hills, near Perryville, Kentucky, October 8, 1862, in the twenty-third year of his age -- he was a member of Company F, One Hundred and Fifth Ohio volunteer infantry; Mary C. married Dr. Azel Hanks, and resides in Iowa; Lorette M. married S. J. Hood, and died November, 1870, aged twenty-six years; Addie E., the youngest of the family, married Charles F. Phillips, and resides at Chagrin Falls; Watson C., unmarried, resides at Virginia City, Nevada; Bertley H. died at the age of nine years; Eliza F., the fourth daughter, died November 16, 1866, at the age of twenty-two years; Maria, the eldest daughter of Alexander Osborn, Sr., married Robert Smith, Jr., resided some years in Bainbridge, and removed to Farmington, Trumbull county.

    132                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    After the arrival of Alexander Osborn in the winter of 1812, there seem to have been no accessions to the settlement, previous to the arrival of George Smith and family, consisting of wife and five children -- three sons and two daughters. One child, a boy of seven years, died on the way. The children were George, Jr., Harriet, Laura, William and Dillingham. The eldest son had attained to manhood, the youngest was nearly fourteen, and the daughters were young ladies, making an important addition to the population of the little settlement, which came to be Bainbridge, where they arrived in the latter part of February, 1814.

    The family emigrated from Washington, Berkshire county, Massachusetts. They came with a sleigh, two yoke of oxen and one horse, the sleighing being fine until the last day of the journey which occupied four weeks. They were detained three days at Leroy, New York, by the death and burial of one of their number, a boy, seven years old, who died of whooping cough, with which he was attacked previous to their departure from their old home. With sad hearts they resumed their dreary journey, rendered far more dreary by the recollection, which must haunt them through the succeeding years of the death of their darling, far from home with none but stranger hands to close the sightless eyes, robe the little form for the last time, and perform the sad burial rites. When, within one day's journey of their destination, the snow was thin, and the roads so rough, the family were obliged to walk most of the distance.

    Mr. Smith settled on the farm, from which Jasper Lacy, sr., had removed, purchasing that and additional lands amounting to nearly four hundred acres, for which he paid three dollars per acre. Mr. Lacy had cleared a few acres, and built a log house on the land, which he had occupied. The house was without doors or windows when Mr. Smith moved his family into it, but spring was near at hand, and they suffered less from exposure than many who came earlier in the season. They brought very little furniture with them for a few weeks, and they had no other table than a large chest. Rough benches made of split logs, served as a substitute for chairs, while a saucer of lard in which was placed a narrow strip of cloth, did duty as a lamp. Mr. Smith sold most of the land which he purchased, detaining one hundred and fifteen acres, where he resided until his death. His house was the first in the township, where religious services were held. It was used several years as a place of public worship, by the Methodist and Presbyterian denominations. Elder B. O. Plimpton, it is claimed, preached the first sermon in the township at the house of Mr. Smith. Rev. John Seward, of Aurora, frequently preached at the same place. Here, also, the first religious awakening commenced as the fruit of their united labors.

    Mr. Smith was a large, muscular man, well fitted to endure the fatigue and hardships of pioneer life, but one whom phrenologists might say had not properly cultivated the organ of locality. Consequently, he was more easily bewildered in the dense forests which surrounded his home, than were most of his neighbors. This defect was occasionally the source of serious inconvenience to himself and anxiety to his friends. To illustrate this, we will relate an incident which occurred in his experience. About two years after his arrival in the township, it became apparent that the services of a physician would be required in the family, and Mr. Smith started for Aurora (a distance of five miles through the woods), to secure the attendance of Dr. Owen, who had established himself at that place. About sunset, in company with the doctor, he set out to return, when within a mile and a half of Smith's cabin they were overtaken by a thunder storm, making it very dark. The doctor, being wholly unacquainted in the locality, and Smith, very uncertain as to their whereabouts, they hitched their horses and decided to remain in the woods until morning. As soon as there was sufficient light in the morning they proceeded, as they supposed, to the

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  133

    house of Smith; but what was their surprise, upon reaching the house, to find that it contained the family of David McConoughey (a neighbor living two miles southeast of Smith's), instead of the family of Smith. After partaking of breakfast, which Mrs. McConoughey prepared for them, and securing McConoughey for a guide, they again started for the cabin, where they arrived, weary, wet, and the doctor very blue, having on a new suit of the old style of blue drilling, which cold water would fade. It had rained all night, and his nether garments and his person, were nearly as blue as his outer ones, and as wet as rain could make them, and in sorry plight with which to enter a sick room. Here was a dilemma -- something must be did, and did quickly. Accordingly the M. D. donned a suit of his host's best, and waited patiently while his own were washed, dried and ironed. The daughter born that day (now Mrs. Maria Gorham) to Mr. and Mrs. Smith, very considerately deferred putting in an appearance until arrangements were completed for her proper reception, thereby securing, very early in life, a reputation for patience and kindly regard for the wishes of others, which she still retains. Mrs. Gorham was the first female child born in the township, and the eldest of three, added to the family of Mr. Smith during his residence here. Mr. and Mrs. Smith joined the Congregational church at its organization, and remained members until their death.

    Mr. Smith was much esteemed as a neighbor and citizen, and had the kindly regard of all through his life, which terminated July 25, 1861, when he was ninety-three years and six months old. His wife, Susannah, died August 6, 1856, aged eighty-two years. Their eldest son, George, Jr., settled on a part of the farm now owned by John K. Smith; remained there a few years, and removed to Illinois, where he died many years ago, leaving one son and one daughter. William, the second son, married Nancy Bowler, and resided with his father on the farm in Bainbridge several years, when he removed to the center and engaged in the mercantile business, where he remained but a few years and sold his store, removed to Cleveland and engaged in buying cattle. While engaged in that business he took passage on a railway train for Buffalo, where the train on which he was a passenger had arrived when it collided with a freight, and he was so badly scalded that he lived but a few hours. He left one son and one daughter.

    George's eldest daughter, Harriet, was united in marriage with David McIntosh, November 2, 1818, by the Rev. J. Seward. Both are living in Shalersville, Portage county. Mrs. McIntosh is nearly eighty years old, and retains her faculties remarkably for one so advanced in years. She is the only one living of the family who came into the township with her father in 1814.

    Laura, the second daughter, became the wife of Lyman Fowler, and resided in Bainbridge till 1857 or 1858, and then removed to Newburgh, where she died.

    Maria, the third daughter, married Leverett Gorham. She has resided all her life on the homestead where she was born sixty-two years ago. She is the mother of three daughters and one son.

    In the fall of 1814 Robert Smith came from Washington, Massachusetts, and purchased five hundred acres of land of Benjamin Gorham, in tract three, for which he paid one dollar and fifty cents per acre. The family of Mr. Smith, then consisting of wife and six children, three of each sex (four sons were added to the number in Bainbridge), found a temporary home with the family of George Smith, a brother of Robert, until a small piece of ground could be cleared and a cabin built, which was accomplished in five or six weeks, and the family removed to the log house, which served as home eight years. This was replaced, in the summer of 1822, by a very fine and commodious framed house, the first framed house built in the township. It is still standing and occupied, though in a very dilapidated condition.

    134                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Mr. Smith came from Massachusetts with a span of horses and wagon. The roads were muddy and very rough, making it necessary to travel slowly. They were six weeks making the journey, which can now be made in twenty hours. For many years Mr. Smith was quite extensively engaged in agricultural pursuits, in which he was very successful for a time, but towards the latter part of his life became somewhat involved [sic], and sold his farm to his son, John K. Smith, who still retains possession of it.

    Mr. Smith died April 11, 1853, aged seventy-seven years. His wife, Sarah, died October 15, 1865, aged eighty-five years. Nearly all their children settled in Bainbridge. Thomas married Emeline Eggleston, and resided on the farm now occupied by Mr. Abbott, in the southeast corner of Bainbridge, until his death, which occurred February 22, 1855, when he was fifty-three years old. After his death his heirs sold the farm and removed to Allegan county, Michigan, where several of them still remain. Mrs. Smith was the mother of ten children, nine of whom survived her. She died in Michigan, of injuries received at the burning of her house.

    Robert, Jr., second son of Robert Smith, sr., married Maria Osborn, and purchased the farm a part of which is now owned by John Hopper. He removed to Farmington, remained ten years, and returned to Bainbridge. In 1848 he removed to Illinois. Soon after he joined a company bound for California, the Eldorado of the world. He had just arrived there when he died from the effects of poison administered by a young man of the company for the purpose, as was supposed, of obtaining a few hundred dollars in cash which he had on his person.

    Rachel, second daughter of the Smith family, married George Wilber, and settled in Auburn, where they resided for some time, when they removed to Aurora, Illinois, where they now reside. They are the parents of nine children, six of whom are living.

    The eldest daughter of Mr. Smith married Dr. David Shipherd, December 25, 1832. They resided till their death in Bainbridge.

    The youngest daughter married Orlando Giles, and is now a resident of Bainbridge, and the only one of the family left in the township. Mr. and Mrs. Giles have four sons and a daughter, all of whom are married.

    Albert, the third son, died unmarried, in 1839, at the age of twenty-five. Bainbridge, the fourth son, married Miss Dodge and settled in Illinois, where he engaged in the legal profession. The fifth son, John K., has been twice married -- first, to Miss Lucinda Clover, of Bainbridge, who died in 1854. In 1856 he married Mrs. Clarinda Loveland, of Parkman. He resided in Bainbridge till the spring of 1877, when he removed to Akron. The youngest son, Edwin, married Emeline Bidwell, and removed to Iowa some years since.

    In the month of April, 1816, Enos D. Kingsley, of Becket, Massachusets (who had a short time previous married Miss Sally Harris), arrived and purchased land in lot two, tract three, being a part of the farm now owned by Nathan Kingsley. Here he built a log house and commenced life in the woods, in earnest. In the following November a daughter was born to Mr. and Mrs. Kingsley. This was the second female, and the fourth child, born in the township. On the ninth day after the birth of the daughter the mother died, leaving her helpless infant to the care of strangers. What her young heart must have suffered, in view of the prospects, none but a mother can realize -- far from the home of her childhood, with no mother or sister near to counsel and sympathize with her in her sorrow, or to whose care she might commit her little one. Mrs. Kingsley was a very intelligent, refined and amiable woman, much beloved by her acquaintances. Hers was the first death which occurred in the settlement, and was regarded as a great affliction to the community. The remains were

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  135

    carried on a bier, through the woods, to Aurora for burial, a distance of more than five miles, with no road except what was cleared by men detailed for that purpose. The ground was very muddy, and the men frequently lost their shoes in the mud and mire. Some of the most able bodied men in the procession pronounced it the hardest day's work they ever performed. The husband was so much overcome by this sudden bereavement that it was feared his reason might be permanently affected. He was therefore advised to return to his friends in New England -- which he did -- remaining a short time, and again returning to Ohio. On the sixteenth of January, 1819, he was married to Miss Mary Mann, of Mentor. Again Mr. Kingsley's second courtship, though brief, was somewhat romantic. Being called to Mentor on business, while passing through Kirtland on his way thither, he came to the Chagrin river, which was very high from recent rains, and running very rapidly. There was no bridge across the stream, and he, being on horseback, started to ford it. When about half way across he discovered a lady trying to cross on two trees which had fallen, one from either bank, and meeting midway of the stream. On reaching the bank he hitched his horse and went to the assistance of the fair one, who proved to be Miss Mary Mann, and who was teaching school in that vicinity. Her intrepidety won his admiration, and on reaching terra firma he introduced himself and stated to her his circumstances. They spent some time in conversation, and, when they separated, their vows were plighted to take passage on the ship "Matrimony," and cross the ocean of life together. A few weeks later they were united in marriage, and removed to the farm formerly occupied by Mr. Kingsley. Four children -- two sons and two daughters -- were the fruits of this marriage. Two or three years subsequent to his marriage, Mr. Kingsley had an attack of rheumatism which rendered him unable to labor for many months. Added to this misfortune was that of the loss of all their stock of cattle by murrain, and but for the persevering efforts of Mrs. Kingsley, and the assistance of neighbors, the family must have suffered for want of the necessary comforts of life. During the disability of her husband, Mrs. Kingsley performed the labor of her household, spun and wove for their neighbors, chopped, piled and burnt brush, and helped to prepare a piece of land for cultivation. To her habits of untiring industry, strict economy and skilful management may be attributed a great measure of the success which ultimately crowned their labors.

    Mr. Kingsley was universally respected as a citizen, held several offices of trust in the township, and was a member of the Congregational church for many years. He died October 21, 1870, at the age of seventy-nine years.

    Sally H., daughter of Enos D. and Sally Harris Kingsley, married John M. Fitch, settled in Windham, Portage county, and remained several years, when they removed to Bainbridge, where they now reside. They have one son and one daughter, both residents of Bainbridge.

    Faber, the eldest son of Enos and Mary Kingsley, married Theresa Hartshorn, and resides in Bainbridge. They have two daughters.

    Arvilla Kingsley married James Thompson, and resides in Solon, Cuyahoga county.

    The third daughter, Jane, married Warren S. Fairbanks, of Troy. They reside in Bainbridge. They have two daughters. Nathan D. has been twice married; first to Caroline Asper, who died in 1867; the second marriage was to Eunice Lewis, of Farmington. They reside on the homestead.

    Mary, second wife of Enos Kingsley, died June 6, 1875; aged seventy-nine years.

    The year 1817 witnessed the arrival in Bainbridge of John Fowler, Joseph Ely, and Simon Henry, and their families.

    John Fowler, with his wife, two sons, and Lucinda Howard, a niece of Mrs.

    136                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Fowler's, came from Washington, Massachusetts, in the spring of the year above mentioned, and moved into the house of Enos Kingsley (then vacant), and remained there until a log house could be built on land purchased by Mr. Fowler of Jonathan Ely, Robert Smith and Elihu L. Kent, situate in tract thirty-three, lots nine and ten; amount, one hundred and eighty-three acres. The house was soon completed, and the family removed to it. In 1824, an additional purchase of fifty-four acres was made of Alexander Osborn, sr., and later other purchases were made. Mr. Fowler was born in Sommers, Connecticut, from whence he removed to Washington, Massachusetts, where he worked at the saddlers' trade. After his settlement in Ohio his principal business was farming, in which his youngest son, Lyman, was engaged with him. In 1847, Lyman purchased the farm of Asahel North, Jr., to which they removed. In 1858, he sold the North farm to R. P. Osborn, and removed to Newburgh, where John Fowler died. He was a very estimable man, and was the first justice of the peace elected in the township. He died at Newburgh, March 14, 1861, at the age of eighty-six. Jerusha, his wife, died February 21, 1846, aged sixty-one.

    Horatio, eldest son of John Fowler, married Jemima Russell, of Russell township, May 31, 1821, and purchased land in tract one and lot twelve, now owned by heirs of Otis B. Bliss. He resided upon this purchase till the spring of 1832, when he sold to William Phillips, and purchased land in tract two, a part of lots fifteen, sixteen and seventeen, now owned by Justin Fowler. He removed to this farm, and continued to occupy it till his death, in August, 1873.

    Lyman married Laura Smith, and resided with his father till the death of the latter. After his removal to Newburgh, he engaged, to some extent, in real estate speculations, which proved quite successful. He was a very enterprising, intelligent and influential man, and held in high esteem by all. He died in Newburgh, in 1876, aged seventy-five years. His wife died two or three years previous. They were parents of three children. The daughter, Jerusha, married Harvey Hollister; she died in 1866. The sons, John and Edwin, both reside in Newburgh; the latter is a very skilful physician.

    The children of Horatio and Jemima Fowler were: Louisa, who married Joseph Burgess, and resides in Orange; Marvin married, and lived in Cleveland, where he died in 1877; Harriet, unmarried, resides at Chagrin Falls; Emily married Philip Cockerel, lived and died in Orange; Norman was killed at the battle of Gettysburg, and he was a member of a Minnesota regiment; Laura died unmarried in March, 1867; Justin married Helena Christdor, of Cleveland, and resides in Bainbridge; Alfred married Lucina Hall, and resides in Newbury; John, a son, about three years old, died, and was the first person buried in the old south burying ground in 1823 -- the ground was donated to the town, by John Fowler, sr. Mrs. Jemima Fowler died March 23, 1866.

    Next after the arrival of the Fowlers, Joseph Ely, wife and four children came from Middlefield, Massachusetts, and arrived in Bainbridge about the last of June, and lived in the house of Enos Kingsley (which seems to have been a temporary home for many of the settlers) till October. There was neither chimney, door, or windows in the house. Soon after their removal, there was quite a severe snow storm, which continued several days, in which Mr. Ely worked, taking cold, which resulted in rheumatism, disabling him for several months, and preventing him from finishing his house till spring. The family spent the winter in it with blankets hung up for doors and windows, while green logs piled up a few feet high, served for a chimney. When a fire was built, the smoke was as likely to fill the house as to go out of doors, and frequently the children were obliged to go to bed to keep warm and avoid suffocation from

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  137

    smoke. Towards spring Mr. Ely's health improved, and with the assistance of his brother, Jonathan, he made about four hundred sap troughs, which enabled him to make quite a large quantity of maple sugar, which he sold for twenty-five cents a pound. For some years subsequent, wheat and maple sugar were the principle sources of revenue to pioneers of this section. Wheat could not be sold for more than fifty cents per bushel, and seldom for cash at that figure, consequently many depended upon the sale of their sugar for money with which to pay taxes, as that article sold readily for cash, at a high figure. Mr. Ely settled on the farm now owned by Atremas Howard, Jr., in tract two, lots fifteen and sixteen, which he purchased of Nathaniel Church, previous to his removal from Massachusetts. He resided on the farm till his death, which occurred March 20, 1870, at which time he was eighty-one years old. He was a man who possessed an intellect of high order, but like many men of his age, he had few educational advantages. He took a lively interest in whatever seemed for the public good, and was ever ready to assist the unfortunate. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church about fifty years, and class-leader several years.

    Ruby, his wife, died in December, 1854. Cordelia, the eldest daughter, died some years previous. The youngest daughter married Albert Haskins, and resides in Bainbridge. They have three sons.

    Alonzo J. Ely married Ruby Howard, and settled on the farm now owned by his son, Leander A. Ely. He died in 1857, aged forty-six. His wife died in 1863. They left a son and daughter.

    The second son, Rev. L. W. Ely, has been a member of the Methodist Episcopal church thirty-six years. He is an earnest student, a profound reasoner, and possesses mental capacity far above the average. He is regarded as one of the most efficient members of the Northern Ohio conference. He is now stationed at Mentor, Lake county. He married Miss Lorette Eddy, daughter of Elder Ira Eddy. Cyrus married Pamelia Brown, in 1842, removed to Meadville Pennsylvania, where he studied at Allegheny college about three years, with the intention of entering the ministry, but abandoned the idea, and returned to Bainbridge and settled on the homestead, which he sold after his father's death. He now resides at Chagrin Falls.
    * On the eighteenth of September, 1817, Simon Henry and family started from Washington, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, and arrived in what is now Bainbridge, on the first of November. The family consisted of himself, wife, and ten children -- Orrin, William, John, Rhoda, Nelson, Ann, Mary, Calvin, Milo, and Newton. Orrin and John came on the season before, cleared a piece of ground, raised some corn, and built a cabin to receive the family. They settled on lot fourteen, tract three, the first land being procured of Simon Perkins in exchange for the Massachusetts farm. Subsequent purchases were made from Medad Eames, and others. In Washington they were neighbors of George and Robert Smith, and John Fowler, who had preceded them to Ohio by a year or two. George Smith's family were their nearest neighbors, and when they parted with them it was without hope of meeting them again. Two years after the departure of the Smiths, they decided to try their fortunes in the wilds of Ohio, so, bidding good-by to their friends, they started on the wearisome forty days' journey.

    The last night of the journey they stayed at Hudson's Corners, in Chester. Between there and the center of Bainbridge there was but one house, and that without a tenant (built and afterwards occupied by Gideon Russell, of Russell township). Orrin, the eldest son, met them in Chester with two fresh teams,
    * From notes by N. C. Henry.

    138                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    and the Smiths and Fowler came up soon after and kept them company through the day. Their meeting with these friends can be better imagined than described. With George Smith and Simon Henry, especially, was this a glad meeting. They worked together while young men, clearing their rugged mountain farms, and when, after a separation which both thought final, George Smith rode up to them, those men of fifty years could only clasp hands, while the starting tears expressed what their tongues refused to tell. With the help of the fresh cattle their own jaded ones were enabled to be at nightfall within a half mile of their future home. This now smooth meadow was then a black-ash swamp, and after struggling over roots and through mud till about half way across, the wagon settled hopelessly down in the more, and in spite of all the drivers could do, had to be abandoned for the night.
    The mother and smaller children were carried to dry land by the grown up sons (the girls, and Calvin, a boy of nine), had been sent off before dark on the horses of their old neighbors, and were already among friends. Packing on their backs the necessary articles for cooking, they went on foot to the cabin which the sons had built, whose ample chimney gave them a view of the tree-tops waving in the November wind. They were the ninth family in the township, and with three young men and as many young women, made an important accession to the isolated settlement. When the sons came to want homes of their own, their father settled them on farms near himself. Orrin married. Densey Thompson, and settled on the farm west of and adjoining his father's. Still farther west, William and John settled. Calvin owned, but never occupied, the farm now occupied by Sullivan Giles; Nelson was to remain on the homestead with the parents, but feeling called to a higher work, he entered the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal church, and went to Missouri, where he married, and resided till his death, in 1853. He was a very able and devoted minister. Orrin, after about thirty years' residence where he first purchased, sold and removed to Iowa, and died about 1873; William and John both remained on their farms until their decease; John died in 1868; William, in 1860. After the removal of Nelson, Calvin married Lorette Jackson, of Auburn, and resided with the parents, though subsequently he also became a minister of the Methodist Episcopal church; he never removed his family from the homestead, where he died in 1853. He was highly esteemed as a minister and citizen. Milo married Chloe A. Osborn, and resided a few years on the farm now owned by Oscar Niece; from thence he removed to Illinois, and died near Nauvoo. Newton went to sea, and was mate of a whale ship at the time of his death. He was buried in the Pacific ocean. The three daughters married and spent most of their lives in Bainbridge. Rhoda married Robert Root, and is now (1878) the only survivor of the twelve who came from Massachusetts sixty-one years ago; Ann married Jasper Lacy, and died at Chagrin Falls in 1852; Mary married Elijah French, and died in Bainbridge in 1877. The mother, Rhoda, died in 1843, and the father in June, 1854, aged eighty-seven years. He was the second justice of peace elected in the township, and previous to his removal from Massachusetts he was elected representative to the legislature of that State. There are now forty grandchildren, about sixty great-grandchildren, and ten great-great-grand-children who are descendants of this couple, most of whom are residents of the western States and territories. Calvin left two children -- the daughter, Julia, married and resides in Newburgh; the son, Nelson C., married Mary Chase. He owns and occupies the homestead of his grandfather. K. W., the only surviving son of William Henry, resides on the farm where his father lived and died. He married Rose Case.

    His mother also resides with him. She was a daughter of Samuel McConoughey, of Aurora; is about seventy-eight years old, and very hale and vigorous.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  139

    Her three surviving daughters are married -- the eldest, Emerett, married A. S. Willey, and resides in Bedford; Caroline, married Carl Blair, and resides in Aurora; Florence, married Girdon Riley, and also resides in Aurora. Harrison, the second son, and two daughters, Jane and Ellen, died in youth, and Carlos, the eldest, at middle life. The farm of John Henry is occupied by his widow, and owned by her and her son, Charles E. Henry who resides in Cleveland. He is the well known detective in the United States mail service. Simon J. removed to Michigan some years since. The daughters married. The eldest, Maria, married S. P. Goodsell, and has resided for some years in Bainbridge. Martha Ann married Henry Brewster, and resides in Bainbridge. Eliza married James Brown, and resides in Newburgh. Newton, the second son, is a Methodist minister. He has no settled place of residence.

    The next arrival in the township, after that of the Henrys, was that of Jonas H. Childs, afterwards know as Deacon Childs. He was born in Becket, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, February 18, 1791; was married to Lydia Kingsley, of the same place, in 1811. In 1812 he was drafted into the army, and went to Boston; was soon discharged and returned home. In 1816 he visited Ohio, making most of the journey on foot, and returning in the same way. While here he purchased land from E. Wadsworth, in lot fifteen, tract two, to which he removed his family, in the winter of 1818. The family consisted of himself, wife and two boys, the eldest about three years old. Four children were born after their settlement in Bainbridge. On their arrival here they occupied the house of Enos Kingsley (a half brother of Mrs. Childs) while a cabin was being built on their place, to which they removed in the spring, and occupied several years, when a large brick house was erected on the corners nearly opposite the residence of C. S. Sanderson, where they resided until the marriage and removal from home of all their children. Being left alone, and unable to do the work of the farm, Mr. Childs, in 1852, sold to Artemus Howard and removed to the center of the township, where he resided about fifteen years, when he went to live with his daughter, Mrs. A. Howard, on the homestead where Mrs. Childs died, August 4, 1868. Two years later he went to Kirtland to live with his youngest son, where he died, March 18, 1875, at the age of eighty-four. He was a worthy member of the Congregational church about fifty-six years, and many years held the office of deacon. Jonas Milton, the eldest son, married Charlotte Beckwith, and settled in Russell where he now resides. Albert H. was married, in 1842, to Maranda Ely. They have four children. Mrs. Childs died in 1872, in Bainbridge where the family reside. Stephen, third son of Jonas Childs, married Nancy Warren, in 1841. Alanson married Charlotte Kingsbury, by whom he had two children. She died in 1860, and he married Sarah Walters, of Russell; they now live in Michigan. Amanda married Artemas Howard in 1846. They were parents of two children, and resided in Bainbridge till their demise. Abigail, second daughter of Jonas Childs, married Thedore Burgess, in 1846. They reside in Cleveland.

    Justus Bissell, a native of Middlefield, Massachusetts, came in February, 1818, and settled at the center, where C. Edick now lives. He moved from Aurora, where he settled ten years previous. P. D. McConoughey had cleared a few acres on the land at the center, with the intention of settling there, but sold to Bissell and bought in the northeast part of the township. Mr. Bissell kept the first post-office established in the township. He served as postmaster many years. The office is still known as Bissell's post-office. He also kept the first tavern in the place, for which purpose he built the house now occupied by Christopher Edick. Mrs. Bissell died in March, 1823. In June, 1825, Mr. Bissell married a Mrs. Calkins, who died in February, 1855. After the death of his second wife he sold his farm in Bainbridge, and spent the

    140                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    remainder of his life with his children. He died at the residence of his son-in-law, Benjamin Bidlake, esq., in Munson, September 22, 1874, at the age of ninety two years. He was a very estimable citizen. He was the father of ten children, none of whom are now residents of Bainbridge. The two eldest sons, Randall and Amariah, died each at the age of twenty-four. The eldest surviving son, Dr. Onzo, resides at Grand Rapids, Michigan. Pizarro and Lorenzo reside in Ashtabula county. The eldest daughter married Noel Forbes, and died a few years later. Sabrina married Benjamin Bidlake, and died in Munson, in 1878. Jane married Dr. Merchant Baldwin, and resides in Allegan county, Michigan. Dr. Baldwin died September 1, 1878. Nancy married Henry Foster, and removed to Michigan, where she died. Lavencia married Levant Johnson, and resides in Chardon.

    In the fall of 1818 the township received quite an addition to its population by the arrival of Daniel McFarland, sr., and Philip Haskins, with their families, and two men who came as teamsters, numbering seventeen persons. They were natives of Adams, Massachusetts, from which place they emigrated in April, and arrived in Bainbridge in November. They had no particular location in view, but thought to travel leisurely, and when they should find a place to meet their desires and expectation, there they would settle and make their future home. When passing through the central part of New York State, one of the men drove into a small lake to water the team. The bottom proved treacherous, and in turning to drive out the load of goods capsized, scattering beds, bedding, etc., in the water. They fished out all that could be found, spread them on the fence and bushes, and waited a day or two for them to dry. In this State they also stopped several weeks to visit friends. When they arrived at Saybrook, Ohio, they were favorably impressed with the location, and were nearly persuaded to purchase a tract of land from parties who claimed to be in possession of many hundred acres in that vicinity. As they considered the supply of water insufficient, they decided to prosecute their journey, which decision proved fortunate, as those who subsequently bought of the Saybrook company, could not obtain a good title, consequently lost the money they invested. From Saybrook the emigrant party directed their steps to Bainbridge, which they entered by the road running north from the center. As they approached the stream which intersects the road about a mile from the center, they paused to rest, and refresh the weary teams. At their feet, ran the clear, sparkling brook, and on either hand, rose gently sloping hills, covered with majestic forest trees. The beauties of the scene won the admiration of the weary band, and the father exclaimed, "This shall be our home," and there their home was soon afterwards made. They soon passed on, and reached, at nightfall, the cabin of Justus Bissell, then the only one at the center of the township. They remained with Mr. Bissell three weeks.

    Of the McFarlands who came at this time was Daniel, Sr., and wife, Clarrissa (then a young lady), three unmarried sons (Shaderach, Charles, and John), W. Abel, a married son, with wife and one child; their son-in-law, Phillip Haskins, his wife and three children. Two married sons came later. Immediately after their arrival, Daniel, sr., purchased two thousand acres of land of Lord and Barber, in tracts one and two, for which he paid two dollars and fifty cents per acre. Upon this, near the stream mentioned, he cleared a small piece, and built a double log house, which they all occupied a few weeks. During the first night which they spent in their new cabin, they were serenaded by a pack of hungry.wolves, by which the elder Mrs. McFarland (who supposed them to be Indians) was so badly frightened as to cause hemorrhage of the nose, which nearly cost her life, and from the effects of which she never fully recovered. Haskins built a cabin, and in February moved to a farm east of, and adjoining

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  141

    that of McFarland. Abel settled on the north part of his father's purchase. In 1820 Jonathan and Daniel, Jr., sons of Daniel, Sr., came on with their families. Jonathan settled north of his father's, on the farm now occupied by Lovina McFarland. Daniel, Jr., took the south part of his father's purchase, which he retained till his death in 1837. Joanna, his wife, died in 1836. They had four children: Lucy, John W., Jr., Daniel (third), and Louisa, none of whom are living. Lucy married Shadrach McFarland. John W., Jr., married Hester A. Vincent. He died in 1846, aged thirty-two years. His wife died in 1849, aged thirty-two years. They left one daughter. In 1844 Daniel (third) married Hannah Giles. Louisa married Pierce Whipple in 1846, and died in 1876, leaving three daughters and a son. The estate of Daniel, Jr., is now in possession of the heirs of his son, John W., Jr., and those of his daughter, Louisa.

    The children of Jonathan McFarland were Alanson, Ambrose, Sheubael, Missella, Miranda, Lorenzo D., and Eliza.

    Missella married Bennett Robbens. They have six children, and have resided in Bainbridge since their marriage. Sheubael married Arthusa Richardson,

    and settled on a farm on the opposite side of the road, from that of the homestead. He has four children, the youngest son remains on the homestead. Eliza married Joshua Burnett, and died in 1846, aged twenty-two. After the death of Eliza, Mr. Burnett married her sister, Miranda, who died in March, 1849, aged thirty-five. Lorenzo D. married Lovina Baker in 1856, and died in 1864, aged forty-nine. They had five children. Ambrose married in 1838, and died in 1839 at the age of twenty-eight. Alanson married, and died November 19, 1849, aged thirty-six.

    Jonathan, the father, died October 28, 1870, aged eighty-four; Hannah, his first wife, died February 3, 1845, aged sixty-one. All died of consumption. They were an intelligent, estimable family, and the early death of so many of its members was greatly deplored by the community. Sheubael and Mrs. Missella Robbens are the only survivors of the family; both reside in Bainbridge. Sylvia, second wife of Jonathan, died in 1876, aged seventy-four. Shaderach was three times married. From the first marriage were two sons -- D. Webster, and McKendre -- neither of whom are residents of Bainbridge. His second wife left one son, Albert, who resides in Pennsylvania. The father died in 1871. Abel had five children, none of whom are residents of Bainbridge. The only son, Lucien, is a resident of Lincoln, Nebraska. Charles died many years since; none of his descendants are in the place. John W., sr., married Betsey Griswold, and settled across the road from his father. John W., sr., and wife were the parents of seven children, viz.: Angeline, Lafayette, Jacob, Mahala J., Avis A., Elizabeth, and John W., Jr. Angeline married Hiram Black. Two children were the offspring of their marriage. Mrs. Black died in 1854, aged twenty-nine. Lafayette married Miss Caroline Gardner, daughter of the late A. C. Gardner, of Chagrin Falls. One daughter was born of their union. Lafayette died December 13, 1854, aged twenty-eight years. Jacob married Cornelia Gardner, of Chagrin Falls. He died February 26, 1854, aged twenty-six years. Lafayette and Jacob married sisters, and were partners in the mercantile business. Both were stricken by the same lurking, insidious foe, consumption, and died in the same year, the death of the younger preceding that of the elder brother by a little more than ten months. Each possessed the requisites for a successful business career. They were frank, generous hearted, intelligent young men, and their untimely death was universally regretted. Mahala married Oney R. Bliss, in 1853. They have three sons and two daughters. They reside on the farm formerly owned by John W., sr. Elizabeth married Charles Brainerd, and removed to Michigan, where she died in 1876, aged thirty-six.

    142                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Two children survive her. Arvis, unmarried, resides in Bainbridge. John W., a lad of six years, died in 1848.

    The death of the mother occurred in 1844, when she was thirty-seven years old. The father, John W., died February 15, 1867, aged seventy-two. He was among the most influential men in the township, held various township offices, and was three times elected to the office of justice of the peace. He died of consumption, as did also his wife and five children.

    The family of Philip Haskins consisted of his wife and three children; Henry, Albert and Tryphosa. After their settlement here three more were born, viz: Hiram, Perry and Mary. Mr. Haskins purchased land in tract one, lot eleven, on which he built a log cabin, and in which he resided a few years, while clearing and improving his farm, when he built a framed house, near the old one, and made subsequent purchases of land. He was a man of unquestionable integrity, and possessed a large share of sound, practical common sense. He resided upon his first purchase until his decease, which occurred August 24, 1846, at which time he was sixty-three years old.

    Lovisa, his wife, died November 22, 1869; aged seventy-three. She possessed more than an ordinary degree of intelligence, energy and decision of purpose, and was highly esteemed for her many virtues.

    We will relate an incident in Mrs. Haskins' experience, as showing her energy and ingenuity: In the fall of 1822 Mr. Haskins went to Massachusetts on business, leaving his wife and his two little boys to care for the farm and their small stock of cattle. One morning during his absence their cow could not be found. Diligent search was made, which was unsuccessful, and Mrs. Haskins concluded the cow had taken the trail that led to the Chillicothe road, and gone to Aurora. With the help of the boys, she yoked the oxen and put the younger boy, Albert, (then seven years old) astride of one ox, and sent him to Aurora, a distance of six miles, in search of the cow, which was found and returned after a hard day's ride of twelve miles.

    In 1838, Albert married Celestia Ely, and prepared a home in tract one, lot twenty-nine, where they have since resided. They have three sons. Henry has been twice married. First, to Mary Nettleton, who died in 1847, leaving one daughter. In 1848, he married Emily Wilder, who has one daughter. Mr. Haskins first purchased lot ten, in tract one, where he has since resided; having made many additional purchases. He has for some years been extensively engaged in agricultural pursuits.

    In 1841, Hiram married Minerva Shuart, and settled on lot twelve, tract one, where he remained several years, then removed to Russell, from whence he removed to East Cleveland, where he accumulated quite a large fortune. His mind became somewhat unsettled, and, in 1873, he committed suicide. A son and daughter survive him.

    Perry, the youngest son, married Cynthia Worrallo. Five children were the offspring of their marriage, of whom one died in childhood. Perry resides on the homestead, to which he has added several purchases.

    Tryphosa married Oliver Nettleton, in 1836. They resided a few years on land now in possession of Henry Haskins, from where they removed several years later. They have five children.

    Mary married Charles Burgess, and removed to Montville, where they still remain. They have two children.

    Clarrissa, the unmarried daughter, who came with Daniel McFarland, sr., married J. Jenks, and removed to Illinois, where she now resides. An elder sister, Polly, who also married a Jenks, resides in the same State. They are the only survivors of the family.

    Some years after the arrival of the McFarlands, Malatiah Hathaway came on

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  143

    from the east, and settled north of Philip Haskins. Hathaway married a daughter of Daniel McFarland. The date of his arrival we have failed to obtain. He died in 1839, at the age of sixty-five. Betsey, his wife, died in 1854, aged seventy-two. A daughter, Mrs. Miranda Carpenter, is the only one of the family remaining in the place.

    Joel S. Giles came from Warsaw, New York, to Bainbridge, and purchased one hundred acres of land, of Simon Perkins, for which he paid four dollars per acre. The farm is situated near the southwest corner of the township, in tract three, lot twenty-eight, a portion of it being part of the boundary of what was formerly known as Giles' pond, now known as Geauga lake. The family of Mr. Giles consisted of himself, wife, and four children -- Joel, Sullivan, Daniel B., and Julia. Joel and Sullivan married and built homes in the neighborhood of their father. Some years later Joel, Jr., removed to Orange, where he died, in the winter of 1867. Daniel remained with his father. Sullivan's first wife died, leaving two daughters and a son. He resided in Bainbridge until his death, which occurred in April, 1879.

    Joel Giles, sr., and wife, were members of the Baptist church, which was organized at an early day in that part of the township. Services were held first in private houses, and later in a school-house. The church prospered for a few years, but was eventually broken up by a wolf in sheep's clothing (Sidney Rigdon, of Mormon notoriety), who entered the fold, and the sheep were scattered abroad.

    Mr. Giles' house was a temporary home for ministers of the Baptist church, and also of other denominations in the early history of the township. Services were held in that part of the township by Methodist and Congregational ministers for several years, and much interest manifested. After the disruption of the Baptist church, Mr. Giles joined the Disciple church, of which he was for some years a minister.

    Mr. Giles died in 1857. His wife has been dead many years. Daniel B. now owns the homestead, which is intersected by a branch of the Atlantic & Great Western railway, the station known as Geauga Lake being but a few rods from the residence of Mr. Giles, and also very near the lake, which being easy of access by rail, has become, within a few years, a very popular place of resort during the summer months, for fishing, picnic, and excursion parties. For the convenience of such parties, Mr. Giles has recently erected a hall of considerable size near the lake. The surrounding grounds are kept clean and attractive, and, without exception, this is the most charming place to spend a leisure day to be found in this section. The Cleveland Ice company have located their buildings here, which are annually packed with many thousand tons of ice of the finest quality, which is mostly shipped to Cleveland for market during the warmer months.

    Those who settled near Geauga lake, at an early period, were: Joseph Witter, Sandford Baldwin, Joseph Mason, Grant Perkins, Nathan Seward, Jarvis McConoughey, Aaron Squires, and Daniel C. Goodsell (Mr. Goodsell and Mr. Squires are the only ones now living). Joseph Witter was a soldier of the Revolution, and was one of the guards at the execution of Major Andre, the British spy. He lived but a few years in Bainbride. He was buried in that part of the town, in the burial-ground near K. W. Henry's. None of his family remain here. Aaron Squires and family left the place about twenty-five years ago. He removed from here to Five Points, Warrensville, and from thence to Michigan, where he now resides. Jarvis McConoughey was a resident of the township several years. He first took up land in tract three, lot seventeen, where he made a small clearing. He next took up lot twenty-four, now owned by D. Root, after selling which he purchased in lot twenty-one, now owned by Gideon

    144                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Kent, from where he removed to Solon, where he died. He was one of the most famous hunters of the early times. It has been often stated that he had but one equal in that pursuit, and that was George Cooks, of Aurora.

    In the eastern part of the township several families settled, remained a few years and removed to other States. Among these were Seymour Dodge, who occupied the farm of J. Hopper. Daniel Bailey occupied a place south of Hopper, now a part of Mr. Abbot's farm. Horace Crosby owned the farm now owned by William Hurd. Park Brown purchased the David McConoughey farm, now in possession of Lucas Hurd. He came from the State of New York; was a resident of the place several years; himself and family were highly esteemed in the community. The eldest daughter married Joseph Chamberlain, who has since been a resident of the place. The second daughter married Cyrus B. Ely. The youngest, Laura, married Doctor Orville Vincent, and removed to Indiana. Mr. and Mrs. Brown died in Russell, where the eldest son, Franklin, still resides. At an early date, Enos Hollister settled south of the old burying-ground, on the west side of the road. He was a shoemaker by trade, probably the first one who located in the town. The exact time of his arrival we are unable to determine. Harvey Sloan also resided a few years on a portion of the farm now owned by Mr. Abbott. He was a brother of Norman Sloan. He removed to some one of the western States.

    In 1815 Johnathan Ely, then a young man, came into the place and entered land in lot nine, tract three, which he subsequently sold to John Fowler, and purchased in tract two, lot seven, of (now in possession of Henry Brewster) Jarvis McConoughey, who had made some improvement upon it. In 1821 he was married to Lucinda Howard, and settled at once on the farm he had purchased, where he remained till the spring of 1833, when he removed to the east part of the town, having sold his farm near the center to Deacon Joseph North, who came with his family from Marcellies, New York. Mr. Ely died in March, 1852. Three children survive him -- two sons and a daughter. Since his decease, Truman, the eldest son, died in 1865, and the daughter, in 1872. Lucinda, his wife, died in 1877. Mr. Ely joined the Congregational church at its organization, and remained one of its most faithful members till his death.

    In the summer of 1817 we note the arrival of Daniel C. Goodsell, a native of Connecticut. He stayed some time in Aurora, where he married Myra McConoughey, a daughter of Samuel McConoughey. He first settled in the southwestern part of town, near where Eggleston's mills were built. In 1837 he purchased one hundred and seventeen acres of land in tract two, near the center, which he has since occupied. He is now the oldest person in the township, being a few months over eighty-three years old. Though much of the time in feeble health, he has visited his native State since his eighty-third birthday. Mr. and Mrs. Goodsell were the parents of three sons and one daughter. The eldest son, Samuel, married Harriet Brewster in 1845, and died in Michigan in 1872. The second son, S. P., married Maria Henry. The daughter married Hudson H. Briggs, and resides on the homestead. George, a promising young man, died of wounds received in battle, in the war of the Rebellion.

    In the year 1818 or '19, the family of Asahel North came from the State of New York, and purchased the farm now owned by R. P. Osborn. There were eight sons and a daughter in the family, several of whom married and resided for some years in the township. The daughter, Sarah, married Frederick Clover, and died in Bainbridge in 1845. The sons were Alvin, Thomas, Asahel, Samuel, Jesse, Seymour, Myron, and George. Samuel lived a short time on the place now owned by Mrs. Hill, and from there moved west; Thomas first located on the farm now owned by H. H. Briggs, and later on the place recently owned by E. French; Myron resided many years in Kentucky; Alvin

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  145

    spent most of his life in Madison, Lake county; Thomas died in Illinois; Asahel occupied the homestead till 1847-8, when he removed to Chagrin Falls; -- he is now a resident of Clyde, Ohio, and is much esteemed as a citizen; Seymour went west, and is now deceased; Jesse remained in Bainbridge many years. He was a very eccentric individual, who ignored the counsel of the wise man, found in Proverbs xxv: 17. We presume there were few households in the county, thirty years ago, where Jesse had not made from four to forty visits, the length of which was in proportion to the amount of "goodies" placed before him. It is scarcely necessary to add that he was the butt of many practical jokes. Asahel, sr., died in 1845; his wife, Hannah, in 1844.

    In the fall of 1818, Josiah Nettleton, in company with six other young men, started on foot from Penfield, Monroe county, New York, with the intention of visiting the Allegheny region of country, where they designed purchasing land, should the location prove a desirable one. The young men were Timothy Fuller, James Moore, Hiram Washburn, Joseph Thompson, Paul Thomas, and Lewis Nettleton, a brother of Josiah. At the close of the third day, Fuller and Thompson were tired of the undertaking, and turned back. On the fourth day they met a man returning from the west, who told them they had better go no

    farther, as the climate was so cold near the Alleghenies, no one could succeed there in the business of farming. They inquired what the prospects were for emigrants in New Connecticut. After giving a very unfavorable report, he closed with the statement that "rattlesnakes were so numerous there that they dried them and used them for bean-poles." "Sam Hill!" exclaimed one, "I'm not going to any such country as that." The next morning two more of the adventurers took the back track. On the fifth day, at noon, Fuller and Thompson decided to return home, leaving Josiah to prosecute the journey alone. When he reached the Allegheny mountains the ground was covered with snow to the depth of four or five inches, and he decided to go to Ohio. After leaving the mountains he traveled ten miles through the dense forest, with no companion save his rifle. He arrived in Painesville in the latter part of November, where he stayed one night at a tavern kept by a man named Cowles. From Painesville he went to Chardon (at that time there were but two houses between the places), stayed over one night at a log tavern kept by Norman Canfield. The house stood on the site now occupied by the Chardon house. There were then four houses between Chardon and Punderson's mill, in Newbury. From Chardon Nettleton went to Auburn, where an uncle named Fuller had settled. He arrived at his uncle's cabin near the close of the fourteenth day of his journey, which was Sunday. Soon after his arrival he took up a piece of land in the eastern part of Bainbridge; cleared a small spot and built a cabin. During his stay he killed thirty deer, filled a barrel and a large trough (which had been used to store sap in), with venison, a part of which he hung in his cabin to dry. Previous to his return east, a grand hunt was planned, in which he participated. All the men in the townships of Russell, Bainbridge, Newbury, and Auburn, were to form a circle, the center of which was to be the point where the corners of the four townships meet, and the game not killed was to be driven towards that point. In accordance with that arrangement, they started out on the day appointed, some armed with pitchforks, and with clubs; and, all who could obtain one, carried a gun. When they met at the center, sixty deer had been killed, all of which were within sight from that point.

    Mr. Nettleton remained in the place about four weeks, and returned to New York State for the purpose of moving his family to Bainbridge, which he accomplished in the month of January, 1819. When he arrived at his cabin with his, family, they found it well supplied with dried venison, which was appreciated by the younger members of the group. They remained here about three years

    146                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    and removed to their old home in the east, where they remained five years and again came to Bainbridge.

    In the fall of 1819, Mr. Nettleton states, the first training of militia of the township took place; on the farm of Joseph Ely, two miles east of the center, where a company from Auburn met with them. After the companies were dismissed, Mr. Nettleton came very near being killed, by Edson Kent, who was about to salute the captain. Nettleton chanced to look around, and seeing Kent's gun pointing at his breast, instantly struck it down, and received the contents in his arm, instead of his breast. His clothing, being all of linen, was set on fire by the powder, and was torn from his person by P. D. McConoughey and Deacon Childs, which prevented his being fatally, though he was quite seriously, burned. Kent was a diffident, inexperienced boy of seventeen, and deeply regretted the occurrence, which was purely accidental.

    Mr. Nettleton was married when nineteen years of age, to Sally Fuller, of Penfield, New York. Nine children were born to them, viz: Mary, Martha, Fanny, Lewis, Tiffany, Daniel, Franklin, Sarah, and Lorette. Mary married Henry Haskins, and died in 1847. Martha married Rev. A. N. McConoughey in 1835, and resides in Illinois. Fanny married Jesse Robbins in 1841. They reside in Bainbridge. Eight children were the offspring of their marriage. Lewis married Maryette Eggleston, of Aurora. He died at Chagrin Falls in 1860. Tiffany married D. M. Burnett, of Russell. He is a resident of Michigan, as are also Daniel and Franklin. Sarah married William Bridgeman, and removed to Wisconsin. Lorette married Dr. H. Decker, of Newburgh, and now resides in Rome, Ashtabula county.

    Mrs. Nettleton died in the autumn of 1847. She was regarded as one of the most amiable and intelligent women in the community. In 1849 Mr. Nettleton married Marilla Howard, who died a year subsequent to her marriage. After the death of his second wife, Mr. Nettleton married Lucy Ann Worrallo, of Chester. Two daughters and a son were born of this marriage.

    Nettleton was quite a famous hunter. On one occasion, while on his way to the pigeon roosts of the Cuyahoga, in Troy, he shot a deer, and sat down for a moment's rest. Upon looking up he saw a deer, drew his rifle and fired, when two deer came toward him and fell, while a third started in the opposite direction and fell also. He killed four deer in a day several times, but could not go above that number, except at the time mentioned in connexion with McConoughey, when he killed five. He killed the last deer, bear and wolf, in his native town, and the last deer seen in Bainbridge was shot by him. He was in the war of 1812 a short time. He resides on the farm where he first purchased, and, at the present writing (March, 1878), he is eighty-one years and seven months old. He is able to drive his team all day, and take care of it at night.

    He has boiled sap during the day, and this evening related the foregoing incidents of pioneer life, with many others which we have omitted.

    He can read ordinary print without the aid of glasses; having never used them. He has never used tea, coffee, or tobacco.*

    In 1820, Watts Kingsley, a brother of Enos Kingsley, and a native of Becket, Massachusetts, came to Bainbridge, and located on the farm now owned by J. Fowler, where he remained until 1832, when he sold and removed to Windham, Portage county. He is now a resident of Oscaloosa, Iowa.

    In the winter of 1818, William R. Howard and John Bowles, young men of twenty-one, came from Washington, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, on foot, and stopped at the house of John Fowler, who was an uncle of Howard's. Bowles
    * On the twenty-second of June, 1879, Mr. Nettleton was stricken with paralysis, from which he died March 23, 1879; aged eighty-two years and seven months.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  147

    stayed a short time, and then returned to Massachusetts. Mr. Howard purchased land in lot fifteen, tract two, and in the spring went to Aurora, and worked for Moses Eggleston, and others. In the summer of 1819 he worked for Dr. Case, in Hudson. In December, following, his father died, making it necessary for him to return to Massachusetts. He started on his journey, with the intention of going through in eleven days. He reached Kirtland the first night, and stayed at Madison the second. He made the journey of five hundred and fifty miles in eleven and one-half days, having been detained one-half day, when near home, by a heavy snow storm. After leaving Madison, he ate but two warm meals before reaching home. He remained in Massachusetts a year and a half, settled the estate of his father, and made arrangements to remove to Ohio. In June, 1821, he was married to Miss Martha Codding, of Washington, and, on the third of July, with their stock of household goods packed in a covered lumber wagon, drawn by oxen, they started on their journey, accompanied by the mother of Mr. Howard, a younger brother, and three sisters. They arrived in Bainbridge on the fifth of August, having been delayed three days by one of the oxen giving out. After reaching their cabin in the woods Mr. Howard went to the brow of a hill, a short distance away, cut several large trees (standing nearly in a direct line), nearly down, so that a small force would compel them to fall. He then felled a large tree against one end of the row, when, one after another, they fell with a loud crash which was heard at a great distance, announcing to his neighbors his arrival. All within hearing of the falling timber came at night through the woods to welcome them. They lived on the farm where they first settled forty-one years. In the interval several additions were made to the original purchase, and a fine frame house took the place of the little log cabin. In 1862, Mr. Howard sold the homestead to his son William, and removed to a smaller one, near Chagrin Falls, where he died in January, 1867, at the age of seventy years.

    For many years he took an active part in the business of the township, served in its various offices, and was three times elected to the office of justice of the peace. He was an intelligent, public spirited man, respected by all. He was an attendant of the Congregational church till it ceased to be, when, with his family, he united with the Methodist Episcopal church. His wife survives him, honored and loved.* She is now (1878) in her eighty-third year. They were parents of four children. Artemas, the eldest, married Amanda, daughter of Deacon Childs, and settled near the old home, where he resided till his death, in 1873. He was a man of superior judgment, and regarded as one of the best financiers in the township. His wife died in 1877. Both were members of the Methodist Episcopal church. Phylena, eldest daughter of W. R. Howard, married Wm. Richards, and resides in Auburn. The second son, William, married Lorinda A. Osborn, and, at present, resides in Chardon. Martha married D. L. Fenkell, and settled at Chagrin Falls, where she died, in 1870, aged twenty-four years. She was a member of the Baptist church. At the birth of her youngest child, Mrs. Howard was fifty years and six months old.

    In 1820 or '21 Robert Root came to Bainbridge, and purchased land of Simon Perkins in tract three, where he built a cabin, and kept bachelor's hall a year or two.

    In January, 1822, he was married to Rhoda, eldest daughter of Simon Henry. He built a small frame house, to which he removed soon after marriage, and resided on the farm till a few years previous to his death, when he removed to a small place near the homestead, where he died June 3, 1866,
    * Mrs. Howard died at the residence of her son-in-law, Wm. Richards, esq., on the twelfth of May, 1879; aged eighty-two years and eight months.

    148                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    aged sixty-nine years. Mr. Root was a native of Connecticut, from whence he emigrated with his father's family to Aurora, Ohio, some three or four years previous to his settlement here. He was a man of commanding appearance, much intelligence and good business capacity. To Mr. and Mrs. Root seven children were born, two of whom died in infancy. The survivors are Harriet, who married C. R. Howard, and resides in Aurora; Norman married Nancy Miller, and resides in Bainbridge; Delos married Eliza Barton, and occupies the homestead; Nelson married Amarilla Collins, and resides on the farm formerly owned by R. G. McCartey; Lorette married John Hatch. Mrs. Root resides with her son, on the homestead, esteemed and loved by many friends. She is eighty years old, and in feeble health.*

    In 1822 Dexter Pease purchased the farm now owned by John Patterson, married Anna Parsons, of Aurora, and removed to his farm, where he remained till 1858 or '9, when he sold and went to Newburgh, where he died. He was married four times. His first, second and third wives died in Bainbridge. The fourth survives him.

    Joseph Chamberlain came into the township in 1825, with his mother, two brothers and a sister. They purchased in tract one, lot five. They came with two ox teams from East Haddam, Connecticut, and were six weeks on the road. Joseph carried on his mother's farm till 1838, when he bought the farm now occupied by C. R. Post, of Lord and Barber. While clearing, he kept bachelor's hall three years. In 1838 he was married to Louisa Brown. They have two daughters: Juliett, the eldest, married C. R. Post, and occupies the homestead; Medora married Oscar Davis, of Chagrin Falls. Mr. Chamberlain was a man of industrious and economical habits, and highly respected. He died March 25, 1877, aged seventy-four.

    In 1824 or '25 Eber Kennedy and family came from Aurora, and purchased where his son, Henry, now lives. He died a few years after his coming here. There were several sons, one of whom is a minister of the Baptist church. Mrs. Kennedy, after her husband's death, married Warren Little, of Aurora, where she now resides.

    Lewis and Daniel Miller, with their families, came in 1827. Lewis built a log house on land now owned by William Howard near Henry Haskins. Daniel purchased the place now in possession of A. Ely. In 1833 they sold, and went to Chester, where some of their children now live.

    Andrew Phillips came to Bainbridge from North Adams, Massachusetts, in 1830. He was a young man of more than ordinary intelligence, and had obtained a good practical education. In 1831 he taught school in Mayfield, Cuyahoga county. He became quite popular as a teacher, and followed the business of teaching till 1843. In May, 1842, he was married to Margaret Roberts, of Munson, and settled on a farm in the north part of the town, where he resided till his death, which occurred in May, 1877, when he was sixty-seven years old. He was a man of culture and influence. His wife, a daughter and two sons survive him.

    William Phillips, a brother of Andrew, came in 1832, with his wife and one child, and purchased of Horatio Fowler the farm now in possession of the heirs of Otis B. Bliss. This he sold, in 1833, to Otis Bliss, and purchased one adjoining that of his brother, where he resided till 1867 of 1868, when he sold to his son and removed to Chagrin Falls. None of his family are living in the township.

    There were many families of prominent citizens who came late, and can scarcely be accounted as pioneers, of whom we can make but brief mention.
    * Mrs. Root died February 3, 1879, aged eighty years and seven months.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  149

    William Burgess and family arrived in the township September 12, 1833, and settled on the place now owned by G. L. Maynard, and resided there till the death of the father, November 9, 1848. He was born in Pittsfield, Massachusetts, June 27, 1787, and married Esther Williams, of Lenox, Massachusetts, January 25, 1810. Mrs. Burgess died in Cleveland, March 10, 1872, aged eighty-one years. Their family consisted of nine sons, viz: John C., Allen, Joseph, Theodore, Charles, John W., Cornelius, Franklin, and Alvin, all of whom are living except the latter, who was for many years a minister of the Methodist Episcopal church, and at the time of his death was a presiding elder. He died at Greenville, Pennsylvania, in 1873. He was regarded as one of the most able and efficient members of the conference. He married Laura Howe, of Mentor, who survived him but a year or two. William Burgess was a blacksmith, and worked at the trade during his residence in the township. None of the family remain in the place.

    In 1835 Deacon Ebenezer Hopkins came into the place and located near the river, in the west part, and resided there till his death in 1850. He was an enterprising man, and one of the prominent members of the Congregational church. He had a family of five children, two sons and three daughters, none of whom remain in the township.

    In 1833 Otis B. Bliss came from North Adams, Massachusetts, with his wife and one child, Oney R., and settled on the farm now occupied by his widow, where he reared his family of nine children, seven of whom survived his death, which occurred December 5, 1873, when he was sixty-five. He served in various township offices, and was elected colonel of a militia regiment. He was for many years one of the most influential members of the First Baptist church at Chagrin Falls, and lived and died honored and respected by all.

    Ambrose, a brother of Otis Bliss, came about four years later, having married Miss Judith Pierce, of New Hampshire. He purchased of J. Converse the farm upon which he still resides in the northwestern part of the township. They have a family of seven children, two of whom are unmarried. Mr. Bliss is one of the most industrious and enterprising farmers of the place.

    Josiah Pettibone, with his only son, Rufus, and a daughter, emigrated from Norfolk, Connecticut, to Portage county, Ohio, and from thence to Bainbridge, where they settled in the summer of 1832, on the farm now occupied by Rufus and his son, Henry W. Mr. Pettibone, sr., resided on the farm till his death, which occurred in 1852, at which time he was seventy years of age. He was a man of strict integrity, and a worthy member of the Congregational church. In 1833 Rufus Pettibone was married to Betsy Dutton, of Auburn. They have a son and two daughters. An amiable and accomplished daughter died at twenty-two, and a son and daughter in infancy.

    In 1831, Seymour Niece, a stone mason by trade, settled near Eggleston's mills. In 1832 or '33, he removed to the northwestern part of the town. Mr. Niece had a family of twelve sons and one daughter, viz.: Myron, William C., Charles, Nathaniel, Seymour, Oscar, Sarah, Lafayette, John B., Henry, Franklin, and two whose names we cannot now recall. Nearly all of the family were school teachers, and several were among the most efficient in the county. Nine of them were teaching at the same time sufficiently near home to enable them to meet there at the close of each week. William C., who was one of the prominent men of the place, died in 1877. He left five sons and as many daughters; most of them reside in Bainbridge.

    William Chase, a blacksmith, from the State of New York, came to the place in 1831, and lived several year in the northeast part of the township, from whence he removed to the center a few years previous to his death, which took place in 1868. Several of his children reside here still.

    150                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    In 1832, Joseph Sprague came here and occupied the place for a few years, now owned by Mrs. Harpham. He sold to Dr. Shipherd, and purchased of Milo Henry the farm now owned by Oscar Niece. From there he removed to Auburn, where he died some years since.

    Alfred Thompson purchased the farm of Gamaliel Kent, Jr., in 1833, and in 1835 sold it to Jasper Lacy, Jr. Lacy occupied the place till his death in 1844. None of the family reside in the place. Mr. Lacy was a son-in-law of Simon Henry. Mr. Thompson was several times a resident of Bainbridge.

    In the spring of 1833 Deacon Joseph North bought of Jonathan Ely the farm which is now occupied by Henry Brewster. A son-in-law, Mark Enos, settled on the farm where Horace Cowles now lives, and to whom he sold it in 1839. After the death of his wife Mr. North returned to Marseilles, New York. His sons also left the place many years since. Deacon North was among the first members of the Congregational church.

    In 1834 Jeremiah Root purchased of Russell Osborn the farm now owned by Joseph K. Eggleston. He remained there a number of years, and removed to the Jasper Lacy place, from where he removed to Aurora in 1865, where he died about five years later. He was one of the most influential men of the place.

    William Harpham, a young man of twenty-two, came in 1833, and engaged as a clerk in the store of John Mayhew, at the center, where he remained four years, when Mayhew sold to William Smith. Mr. Harpham clerked for Smith a year, and went into the mercantile business for himself, taking J. Pettingail as partner. The partnership closed in a year. He then effected a partnership with J. Stafford, which closed in two or three years. In 1863 he sold to E. French, and engaged in farming the remainder of his life, which terminated in 1878. He was the second postmaster in the township, and held the office twenty years. He was married in 1841 to Rhoda Thompson, who survives him. He was regarded as a cautious and conscientious business man, and was honored by all.

    Shadrack Vincent, with his sons Chauncey and Jonathan, and Mr. Benjamin, father of H. H. Benjamin, came to Bainbride in May, 1833. H. H. Benjamin,

    his mother, and sister Eliza, came the following October. Nicholas Vincent came in February, 1834. Jonathan settled on the lot where C. M. Foot's residence now stands. His wife, Sally, died in July, 1833. Chauncey lived with Jonathan until fall, when he put up a log house on the farm, where he spent his subsequent life. Shadrack Vincent died in the October following his arrival. Nicholas settled on the farm now owned by John Harvey, where he died a few years later.

    Eliza Benjamin became the wife of Ira A. Foot, and the mother of C. M. Foot, esq. H. H. Benjamin, and father, settled on the farm which he occupied the remainder of his life. He married Caroline, daughter of Chauncey Vincent; a son and daughter were born to them. Mr. Benjamin was four times elected to the office of justice of peace, which office he held at his death, in 1876. He was a genial, generous-hearted, public-spirited man, universally respected.

    The Vincents were the first settlers in that part of the township. Jonathan Vincent drew up a petition and caused a road to be surveyed from the center of Bainbridge to Chagrin Falls. Likewise, one running northeast from and intersecting that. He served as justice of the peace four or five terms. During the first years of his residence here he was engaged in teaching school. He sold his farm in 1863, and now resides at Chagrin Falls. His son Augustus, and S. P. Vincent are the only ones of the name now residents of the township.

    The Sandersons, Marvin and Edward, came the same year as the Vincents. Later, a brother David came. None of them remain here now. Later still, the

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  151

    Moons settled in the neighborhood; also Bennet Robbins and Daniel Phillips.

    In 1833, Peleg Brown came to Bainbridge, purchased land, cleared a few acres, built a cabin, and returned to his home in Madison county, New York, and soon married Miss Adaline C. Barton, of Herkimer county, New York. In the winter of 1834, they came to make their future home on the farm which he has since occupied, and to which, from time to time, new purchases have been added, upon which he erected a fine brick residence, in 1854. Mr. and Mrs. Brown were parents of five children, one of whom (a son), died at eighteen. They also had three adopted children. Mrs. Brown died in 1873. She was a very superior woman. Her intellectual endowments were far above the ordinary She possessed a keen, delicate sense of honor and propriety, to which she was ever true. She was generous and sympathetic, and ever ready to assist the needy. As a friend, her fidelity and devotion were rarely equaled. Her influence was ever exerted to elevate and ennoble society. She joined the Methodist church when a young lady, and remained in its communion until her death. She was a true christian, and a noble woman.

    The family of Obadiah Bonney, of Madison county, New York, came and settled on the farm formerly owned by Rodney Parsons, in 1835. The family consisted of the parents, a son and two daughters. The son, Sidney O., occupies the homestead, his father having purchased and removed to a small farm adjoining it a few years since, where they still reside. Mr. Bonney is seventy-eight years old, and his wife a year his senior. They have been married over fifty years. Both are hale and vigorous for their years, and each able to perform quite an amount of labor.* Their children married, and settled near them. The son has five children. The youngest daughter, Mrs. Lorancy Vincent, resides in Bainbridge, and the elder one, Mrs. Russell, in Solon.

    Abner Ellis, also a native of Madison county, New York, came in 1834. He purchased the place now occupied by O. Bonney, where he worked for several years at the coopers' trade, and eventually sold, and removed to the center, where he died August 6, 1874. He was the father of six children, four of whom survive him. One only resides in Bainbridge, viz: Mrs. A. Chase. Mr. Ellis was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church about thirty-four years, and a class-leader many years.

    In 1834 the families of Norman Sloan and William Logan came from the State of New York, and purchased homes in the eastern part of the town. Mr. Sloan was a blacksmith, and built a shop on the corner, east of the residence of A. E. Kent, where he worked many years. He died in 1858. Mr. Logan purchased the farm now owned by Harmon Pardee, where he resided till his death in 1857. He had a family of nine children, only one of whom, viz: Paul, now resides in the place. Mr. Logan emigrated from Ireland to New York, and thence to Ohio. The only daughter of Mr. Sloan married John Mayhew, and died in Bainbridge four or five years later.

    In 1836 Paul Hannum came from Massachusetts with his wife and several children. He purchased of Frank Forbes, the farm now owned by J. W. Collins, where he resided till his death in 1860. Mrs. J. Collins, the only one of the family remaining in town, resides on the homestead. A son resides in Auburn, and one in Missouri.

    In 1836 Samuel Collins, one of the pioneers of Chardon, came to the town, and settled on the farm, now in possession of Eugene Kent. The year following the family of Cristopher Hayden came to the same neighborhood, and purchased the farm now owned by the heirs of W. Collins. None of the family now reside in the township. There were six daughters and a son -- the
    * Mrs. Bonney died December 8, 1878, aged seventy-nine years.

    152                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    latter, W. S. Hayden is well known as a teacher throughout the county. Of the family of Mr. Collins which consisted of eight children, but two survive, one of whom is now a resident of Bainbridge, viz: J. W. Collins, who is one of the prominent business men of the county, having served as one of the board of commissioners twelve consecutive years.


    * Dr. David Shipherd, the first resident physician of Bainbridge, was born in Castleton, Rutland county, Vermont, March 11, 1802. His father was born in Westchester county, New York. His father and mother were parents of five sons and one daughter, viz: Harry, Waight, Samuel, David, George, and Julia. David, at an early day, had a predilection for the medical profession. A medical school having been started in Castleton he wished to avail himself of this opportunity, but lacked the necessary means. A good opportunity for shingle making presented itself, and David, in company with Charles Styles, for a time engaged in the manufacture of shingles on the banks of the Screwdriver pond, taking shelter under the roots of a huge pine. The first money for educational purposes was earned in this way. David came to Ohio in the year 1826 or '27, where he taught school and continued the study of medicine. In the year 1828 he attended lectures on chemistry and pharmacy at the medical college at Cincinnati, under Prof. Elijah Slack. Here he was a classmate with Joseph Ray, At this time Ray cared little for anything but mathematics. Dr. Shipherd went to Euclid, Ohio, in the year 1829 or '30, taught school and studied with Dr. Farnsworth. Shortly afterwards he came to Bainbridge, and continued to be a constant resident of the township until his death. He was married to Sally, a daughter of Robert Smith, by Rev. J. Seward, on the twenty-fifth of December, 1832. Prior to this time he made his home at Gamaliel Kent's. He commenced the practice of medicine in 1831. Having been educated in the allopathic school, he continued in that practice until 1846, when he chanced to procure a work on homoeopathy, with a few remedies left him by Dr. Burritt with the request "to try them." After a careful examination of this new work, and a thorough trial of the remedies left him by Dr. Burritt, not only in his own family, but in numerous other cases which he was called to treat, the doctor was convinced that greater and more satisfactory results could be attained by this practice than by the old school, therefore he at once fully prepared himself to follow the practice of homoeopathy, and for many years previous to his death he ranked among the first physicians of northern Ohio. He was very cautious in the use of strong drugs and stimulants, and in the treatment of the various types of fever, as in many other dangerous diseases, he was remarkably successful, which was attributable to his knowledge of diagnosis and therapeutics. Dr. and Mrs. Shipherd were parents of seven children--five daughters and two sons, viz: Lorinda, Sarah C., Delia C., George C., Henry B., Eliza A., and Mary E. Lorinda married J. T. Wing, and subsequently Harry Bancroft, of Chagrin Falls, where they now reside. Sarah C. married Hiamsel Giles, and resides in Waterville, Minnesota. Delia married Clinton Stafford, of Auburn, where they now reside. George C. married Myra Howard, of Aurora, Ohio, and resides on the homestead, near Geauga lake. Henry B. married Carrie Campbell, of Orange township, and now resides at Arrow Rock, Saline county, Missouri. Eliza married Robert Clark, of Orange, and now resides with her sister, Delia. Mary E. died in her fifth year.

    The doctor's political ideas were more for men and principles than party. He was a Fremont man when he (Fremont) run for president. Since that time he
    * From biography by G. Shipherd,

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  153

    has generally acted with the Democratic party. He was no seeker for office. The highest position of trust held by him was that of county commissioner. His religion was quite liberal; he could accept no religion that must shake off science. He was a great admirer of "Renan's Life of Jesus." His library is composed mostly of medical and scientific works; though it contains those of a religious character. He died May 14, 1877, after extreme suffering for two years and eight months with disease of a urinarial catarrhal nature.

    Other physicians have resided for a short period in the township, among whom were Dr. M. Baldwin, O. Bissell, J. Harmon and Wm. Thompson. The latter studied with Dr. Shepherd, and was considered one of the most skillful physicians in this vicinity.


    The first saw-mill was built in 1820 by General Chauncey Eggleston, a wealthy farmer, living in Aurora. The following year he built a grist-mill. The heavy frame of oak timbers are now (1878) in a fair condition. The sawmill is now making better and more lumber per day than fifty years ago. The property is now owned by James Fuller.

    In 1822 Thomas Marshall built the first blacksmith shop in town. The shop was located a few rods above the mills.

    In 1826-7, General Eggleston sold the mills to Corning Eggleston, a relative. The latter, in a short time, built a distillery on the east end of the grist-mill, and over the mill-race. A Mr. Goodale was hired to superintend the process of manufacturing highwines and whiskey. The debts due the concern were written with a lump of charcoal on the rough inside walls of the building, and the numerous charges read like this: "A. to 2 galons of wiskey; N. S., 1 galon wiskey." Near the accounts was the following advertisement: "Wiskey for sail; 37 sents per bushel." After a few years of unsuccessful work, financially, the business was closed, the owner failed, and the mills and distillery passed again into the possession of General Eggleston. The distillery was pulled down and used for other purposes.

    The first tannery was started in 1823 by John and James Lowry. It subsequently changed owners from time to time, and was closed in 1867, and the buildings made into a cheese factory, known as Rocky Dell cheese factory, and owned by F. H. Brewster.

    In 1823 Harvey Waldo and T. Joiner built a saw-mill and factory for coloring and dressing woolen cloth, one and one-half miles below Eggleston mills. The enterprise had an unprofitable existence for four or five years, and failed.

    In 1835, Deacon Ebenezer Hopkins bought the mill site, and in due time built a spar dam and saw-mill. The spar dam soon proved a failure. The deacon took into partnership William A. Hopkins, and the firm soon built a substantial stone dam, and a grist- and flouring-mill. Soon after their completion the deacon bought William A.'s interest in the mills, and in 1837 hired E. L. Jones and Jehu Brainard to work up his lumber into furniture.

    Mr. Gamwell built a blacksmith shop at Hopkins' mills, and Uriah Ackley a tailor shop. Mr. Ackley was a son-in-law of Deacon Hopkins.

    In 1846, the fever and ague afflicted nearly every family within a radius of a mile from the mill pond. The year following, Hopkins was arrested for keeping a public nuisance, which caused great injury to the health of the people. After a long delay, during which time he cleared all the timber and flood wood out of the pond, in order to render it healthy, he stood a trial in county court, and was acquitted.
    * From notes by S. J. Henry.

    154                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    In 1845 Chauncey Carver built a saw-mill one mile below Hopkins' mill, and near the farm of G. H. Kent. One day, late in the fall, Mr. Kent was assisting Mr. Carver in sawing, and called his attention to the waste-gate, which had broken loose. Both went to the break in order to replace the gate. While at work Carver was caught under the gate, and pressed down, and either killed or drowned in a short time. Mr. Kent did all he could to rescue the unfortunate man, but, finding his efforts were useless, ran for help, and, in a short time, had men enough to raise the gate and get the corpse out.

    At the raising of the grist mill of General Eggleston, in 1821, quite a serious accident occurred. Most of the men who had been invited to assist in raising had arrived, and were waiting for the return of Nathan White, the carpenter, who had gone to the woods for a ridge pole. A man named Ralph McCartey conceived the idea that it would be a good joke on the carpenter to put up the frame in his absence. Accordingly, he obtained Eggleston's consent, called the men together, and ordered them to put up the frame. When they had raised the first bent about five feet high, the foot not being chained, slipped, and the bent came back and caught Jeremiah Root, a Mr. Taylor, and Nelson Henry, beneath it. The men were so greatly frightened, that when they raised the bent to release them, they omitted to detail any one to take charge of the injured, and Henry, who was lying just on the edge of a bank, rolled down several feet amongst rocks, and was taken up for dead (the others were not much injured). Dr. Owen, of Aurora, chanced to be present, and administered restoratives. He was carried to the house of Sanford Baldwin. It was found, upon examination, that one thigh was badly fractured. He was confined to his bed at Mr. Baldwin's six weeks, in the long, hot days of mid-summer. The men living near were required by the doctor to visit him each day and pull the fractured limb an hour, to prevent contraction.

    Previous to the building of the Hopkins, or Carver mills, the McFarlands built a saw-mill on the Plum Bottom creek, a few rods below the one now owned

    by J. Larue. It was built in 1825. All the McFarlands held an interest in it except Charles and Abel. It eventually passed into the hands of Jerome Southwick, who was killed while cutting ice from the flume.

    In 1830-31, Deacon Childs and son put up a saw-mill, on the same stream, and nearly a mile above the McFarland mill. It changed owners several times, and was finally purchased by Jude May, and pulled down and moved to Auburn. Some years later, Daniel Phillips built a saw-mill on a branch of the Plum Bottom. It was in operation but a few years.

    Of the the many mills and shops erected in the early history of the township, one only remains, and that was the first built, now owned by J. Fuller. At this date, 1878, there is scarcely a vestige to show where the Hopkins and Carver mills were located. Hugh Marshall is said to have been the first miller in the township.


    The soil of this town is especially adapted to grazing and the growing of stock. Having an abundance of pure water, the citizens have found the dairy business to be the most lucrative, and are extensively engaged in it, as statistics will show. There are five cheese factories in town. One in the north part built about fifteen years since, by Emery Stanhope, was the first in the town, and one of the first in the county. It is now owned by John Pugsley. The next was built by Edward Richards in 1865-6, and is now owned by Nichols and son. One in the southwest part of the town is owned by F. H. Brewster. There are also the Pebble Rock and the Howard factories which are owned by joint stock companies. The number of pounds of butter

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  155

    and cheese manufactured in the township in 1878, were: Butter, 96,205 pounds, and cheese, 520,300 pounds. Total for the years 1876, 1877 and 1878, butter, 241,688 pounds, and cheese, 1,405,706 pounds. Number of pounds of maple sugar in 1878, 46,255, gallons of syrup, 1,368.


    In 1871 Brewster and Reed put in operation a mill for making cheese boxes, located one mile south of the center. They also make spring beds, shingles, brooms, etc. Another mill and box-factory are owned by James Larne, to which he has added a cider mill and apparatus for making apple-jelly.

    The only blacksmith now in town is C. E. Chase.


    The following are the names of those who have engaged in the mercantile business since the settlement of the town: Daniel Leech, Dr. Loomis, John Mayhew, William Smith, Eggleston & Blossom, William Harpham, A. M. Treat and A. G. Kent.

    A. M. Treat has been engaged in the business at the center since 1844. A. G. Kent has recently sold out to the Johnson Brothers, one of whom succeeds him as P. M.


    Progressive Lodge No. 166, I. O. G. Templars, was organized in 1855, and continued three years, holding its sessions each Saturday evening, at the schoolhouse in district number two. It flourished about three years. Some years later, another lodge was organized, but continued only a short time.

    The Division No. 186, Sons of Temperance, was organized in the winter of 1874. The principal officers for the present quarter, November, 1878, are: S. J. Henry, W. P.; Mrs. Anna Brown, W. A.; Alice Cowles, R. S.; J. W. Collins, W. T. The membership is sixty-three. Meetings, Tuesday evening of each week, at the town hall. The division has a valuable library of about seventy well-selected volumes.

    Bennett Grange No. 976 was organized in 1874, with twenty-six charter members. The present membership is one hundred. The officers for 1878 are: K. W. Henry, M.; H. Scott, O.; Delos Root, S.; R. P. Osborn, P. A.; S. O. Bonney, treasurer. Meetings, first and third Saturday evenings of each month, at Edick's hall. The society is in a flourishing condition.

    STATISTICS  FOR  1878.

    Wheat, 217 acres, 3,844 bushels; oats, 475 acres, 16,861 bushels; corn, 332 acres, 11, 530 bushels; Meadow, 2,338 acres, 2,227 tons; potatoes, 67 1/2 acres; 5,791 bushels; orchards, 283, 1,249 bushels; butter, 96,205 pounds; cheese, 320,300 pounds; maple sugar, 46,255.


    The following are the names of the volunteers who served in the war of the rebellion. We regret that we are unable to give the Company and regiment to which each belonged:

    David E. Osborn,       Henry F. Marsh,
    Norman Eowler,       George Phillips,
    George Goodsell,       Sherman Logan,
    Hampton Kent,       Henry Kent,
    Evan Richards,       J. A. Osborn,

    156                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Eugene Kent,       Johnson Black,
    John Hatch,       McKendre McFarland,
    C. M. Foot,       Ransom Bliss,
    Frank Clover,       Wallace Fuller,
    Albert Fuller,       D. L. Fenkell,
    Albert Case,       Justin Fowler,
    Frank Covert,       Alden Hazen,
    Smitzer Ellis,       John Mining,
    Henry Logan,       John Barton,
    Charles E. Henry,       Edward Henry,
    P. S. Goodsell,       Miles Carpenter,
    Edwin Carpenter,       Carlos Henry,
    Daniel Nettleton,       Judson Greenfield.



    Auditor of Geauga County, was born in Bainbridge, Geauga county, November 7, 1833. His father, William R. Howard, of Washington, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, with Martha, his wife, removed to Bainbridge, Geauga county, Ohio, in the year 1821, where his aged and estimable widow now resides. The subject of this sketch, in early youth, evinced a desire for an education, and availed himself of the opportunities offered by the common schools for obtaining the same, supplemented by a few terms at a select school in the township and one at Oberlin. When his school days were ended, he continued to study and improve his mind, while engaged in labor upon his farm. He was married October 8, 1856, to Miss Lorinda A. Osborn, who for several years had been an efficient teacher in the schools of the county, and one of the most estimable young ladies in the township. In 1860 Mr. Howard had prepared himself for the study of medicine, and procured books for that purpose, but circumstances, beyond his control, seemed to render his immediately entering upon the study, impracticable, and he reluctantly abandoned his purpose to engage in that profession. He served a number of years as township clerk, and in 1870 was elected justice of the peace, in which office he served till elected to his present position, in the fall of 1877. For nearly twenty years he has taken a deep interest in matters of religion, and has for some years been a member of an Evangelical church, though utterly opposed to the narrow spirit of sectarianism, which characterizes many. In politics he has been a staunch Republican since the organization of the party, and has ever been an earnest advocate of, and worker in, the temperance cause, and all reforms which tend to elevate mankind. He is a man of uncompromising integrity, superior judgment and excellent business capacity. By strict adherence to his convictions of right he has won the confidence and esteem of the community, and has promise of many years of useful and honorable life.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  157


    son of Aden and Elvira Marsh, was born in East Herrick, Bradford county, Pennsylvania. When he was three years old his father died, and in his eighth year Henry became the step-son of Colonel P. D. McConoughey, of Bainbridge, Geauga county, Ohio. From this time Bainbridge was his home until he was nineteen, when he enlisted in company F, of the One hundred and fifth regiment, Ohio volunteer infantry. He was taken prisoner at the battle of Chickamauga, September 20, 1863, taken to Richmond, and kept in prison two months. While he, with other prisoners, were being transferred to Danville, Virginia, Henry escaped from the cars and came within five miles of the Union lines, but was re-captured and taken to Richmond again and kept in a dungeon two months, and then placed on Belle Isle, where he spent the winters of 1863 and 1864. In April, 1864, he was removed to Andersonville, where he spent the summer until September, when he was removed to Charleston, South Carolina, from which prison he escaped September 20, 1864, and reached the Union lines at Hilton Head, October 7, 1864. As soon as he was safely on board the man-of-war, from whose mast floated the Union flag, there came a relaxation of his physical powers, and for a time it was thought he would not recover. After two weeks he was taken to New York, where he remained two weeks in the soldiers' home, and was then brought to his home in Bainbridge. The exposure and ill treatment he received while in rebel prisons so much impaired his health that he was unable to endure much physical labor. In the spring of 1867 he graduated at the commercial college in Oberlin, Ohio, and in the fall of 1867 was nominated and elected treasurer of Geauga county. In September, 1868, he took his office, serving for the term of two years, and was re-elected in the fall of 1869, and had served one year of his second term when he became a victim to consumption, and died suddenly at the house of E. V. Canfield, Chardon, Ohio, aged twenty-eight years.

    Mr. Marsh was a young man of unquestionable integrity, with much more than ordinary business capacity, and highly esteemed by all who knew him. He was a gentleman of unusual independence and will power. Although during the last months of his sickness he was unfit to leave his room, yet by sheer determination he continued about the duties of his office, and only consented to be assisted to his room a few minutes before his death. Thus he avoided what he had dreaded most -- that in his last sickness he would be a burden to his friends.


    [ 158 ]

    A U B U R N.



    The geographical position of Auburn township is as follows: It is one of the south tier of townships in Geauga county, and is bounded, on the north, by Newbury; east, by Troy; south, by Mantau, and west, by Bainbridge. It was surveyed in an early day, and divided into three tracts -- numbers one, two and three -- extending east and west across the township. In tract number one was the Mills tract, in the northeast corner; next, was the Sanford tract; next, the Darling tract; and next, in the northwest corner, was another Mills tract. In tract number two, on the east, was the Cowles tract; next the Ely tract; next, the Kirtland tract; next, the Root tract; and next, reaching to the west line of the township, was the Miller tract. Tract number three, consisting of the south third of the township, was called the Atwater tract; the entire tract being owned by minor heirs, by the name of Atwater.
    This township is probably one of the best and most healthy in the county. The soil, generally, is clay loam; but along the streams is a sandy or gravely soil, and very productive. There are no lakes, ponds or marshes, and consequently no waste land. It descends gradually to the south and east, except a small territory in the southwest corner, which descends to the west; so that a small stream rising in that vicinity runs westerly, and empties into the Chagrin river. The principle stream of water in the township is known as Bridge creek, one branch of which rises in the northwest part of the township, and the other rises in Newbury, and makes into Auburn a short distance east of the north and south center road; takes a southwesterly course, and crosses the road a short distance north of the center, and, continuing about the same course, crosses the east and west center road a short distance west of the center, and unites with the branch rising in the northeast part of the township; thence, continuing its course in a south, and easterly direction, until it crosses the State road, one mile south of the corners, and from that point, takes a northwesterly direction, and again crosses the east and west centre road, east of the corners, and continuing in a northeasterly direction, crosses the east line of the township into Troy, about one mile north of the center road, and continues nearly in the same direction until it empties into the Cuyahoga river, near the north line of that township. There are several very good mill seats on this stream, only one of which is now occupied. There is another stream, known as Middle brook, which rises in the south part of the township, and runs in a northeastery direction, and empties into Bridge creek a short distance east of the State road. There is also another stream, known as Black brook, which makes into the township from Mantua; crossing the south line about eighty rods east of the State road, and, after running a short distance in a northerly direction, strikes off east keeping about the same distance from the south line of the township, until it crosses the east line into Troy. This, also, is one of the tributaries of the Cuyahoga river, which empties its waters into Lake Erie, at Cleveland, Ohio.

    This township, as found by the early settlers, was covered with a very heavy growth of timber, consisting of beach, sugar-maple, walnut, white, black, yellow

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  159

    and red oak; whitewood, cucumber, white and black ash, butternut, black walnut, birch, cherry, poplar, basswood, white and red elm, chestnut, and sassafras.


    Bildad Bradley was born in Massachusetts in 1780, and was married about 1809, to Emily Veasy, and they had four children; two died young. The names of the two living are Emily and William. Emily was born in Massachusetts, William in Auburn.

    Mr. Bradley came to Newbury about 1812 or 1813, and settled near where D. M. Allen now resides, and in the fall of 1814 he built a house on the Mills tract, on the north line of the township, or, rather, rolled up the logs for a house; and after doing so found he had built on the wrong lot, and in the spring of 1815 he took it down, moved it farther west, finished it up, and moved in. This was the first house built in the township. Where he first built was on the State road, as afterwards laid out. Mr. Bradley helped lay out the State road, and carried the front end of the chain. Said road was surveyed by Williard Beals. Mr. Bradley cleared up his farm and built the necessary buildings for comfort and convenience. Mrs. Bradley died on the same farm in 1859, aged seventy-seven years. Mr. Bradley died in 1865, aged eighty-five years. Thus passed away the two first settlers of the township. This farm is one of two farms in Auburn that is now occupied by the third and fourth generation.

    Abner Colvin was born in the State of New York in 1795, came to Auburn about 1827 or 1828, and was married about 1830 to Emily Bradley, daughter of Bildad Bradley. They had eight children, whose names were Alonzo, Milan, Alice, Lorinda, Millie, Mary, Myra, and Mina -- the last two were twins. Mr. Colvin first settled on the Kirtland tract, in the southwest part of the township; built a house, and lived there about two years, when he again sold out and purchased a farm in the northwest part of Hiram, Ohio. He cleared up his farm, and died there in 1847. His widow now occupies the old homestead where he died.

    Alonzo Colvin was born in Auburn, and was married in 1853 to Celia A. Wicks, daughter of Ebenezer Wicks, and they had four children, whose names were Bartlett E., Linacus A., Ora Anna, and John B. Ora Anna died in 1876, aged eleven years. Mr. Colvin owns and resides on the farm where his grandfather, Bildad Bradley, first settled.

    Daniel Wheelock was born in Tyringham, Massachusetts, came to Auburn with Zadock Reuwee in 1815, was married in 1829, to Betsey Belcher, and they settled south of Reuwee's on the Mills tract. Mr. Wheelock had two children by this wife, whose names were Hiland and Chauncey. Mrs. Wheelock died about 1835, and Mr. Wheelock married Lydia Hall, daughter of Job Hall, and they had three children, whose names we do not know. Mr. and Mrs. Wheelock resided on that farm several years, then sold out to Nathaniel Stone, and if we remember correctly, moved to Chardon, and remained there for several years; then moved to Hambden, where he now resides. We know nothing of his family since he left this township.

    John Jackson was born in Massachusetts, and there married Huldah Chadwick. They had seven children, whose names were James C., Mercy Ann, Lorette and Jennette (twins), John, Anson and Almeda. Mr. Jackson came to Auburn with his family in 1815, and purchased land on the Mills tract, being the same now owned by Gilbert A. Richards. Mr. Jackson built a house just south of where Richards' house now stands, and in 1816 built a frame barn, it being the first frame barn built in the township. He commenced clearing, up his farm, and in 1820 was elected justice of the peace, served one term, was re-elected, and died in 1824. Mr. Jackson was the second justice of the peace in the township.

    160                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    James C., eldest son of John Jackson, was born in Massachusetts, and came to Auburn with his parents. In 1833 he married Martha, daughter of Joseph Bartholomew. They had five or six children. Mr. Jackson owned the first farm, north of Alvirus Snow, on the east side of the road, where he built a nice house in 1837, lived there a few years, then sold out, and moved to Amherst, Ohio, where he now resides.

    John, Jr., second son of John Jackson, was born in Massachusetts, and came to Auburn with his parents. In 1836 he married Flavia Odell. Mr. Jackson resided in town some years, but now resides in Newburgh, Ohio.

    Anson, third son of John Jackson, sr., was born in Massachusetts, and came to Auburn with his parents. He was married about 1840, to Sophrona Stockwell. Mr. Jackson resided in town some years, sold out and went to Michigan, and died there several years since. They had a family of children, but we know not how many, or what their names were.

    Zadock Reuwee was born in Massachusetts in 1785, and in 1814, married Lury Snow, daughter of Oliver Snow, and they came to Auburn November 4, 1815. Mr. Reuwee had been in a few months before, and purchased some land in the northeast part of the township, on the Mills tract. When Mr. and Mrs. Reuwee came in, they had one child, whose name was Lorin S. Mr. Reuwee first built a log house some distance east of the State road, and commenced clearing up his farm. On the sixteenth of December, 1817, he left home on business, and in his absence his wife went to a neighbor's of an errand, leaving her child in the house asleep. She was gone but a short time, but coming in sight of the house, on her return, she saw that it was on fire. She reached the house as soon as possible, and some neighbors arrived at the same time, but all were too late to rescue the child, and it perished in the flames. The bones of the child were gathered up, and buried at the center of the township. Elder Seward, of Aurora, preached the funeral sermon. This was the first funeral in Auburn, and the sermon, so far as we can learn, was the first preached in the township. Mr. and Mrs. Reuwee, after this time, had three children: Franklin S., born 1819; Alvin T., born in 1829, and Lorenzo S., born in 1839. After the house mentioned above burned down, Mr. Reuwee built on the State road, west of where he first built, and occupied the same several years while clearing up his farm. He afterwards built a nice frame house. When he first purchased his land, there was some dispute between him and the party of whom he purchased about the title, and he was obliged to resort to legal proceedings in order to obtain his rights, and consequently commenced a suit in the court of common pleas at Chardon, with Peter Hitchcock, sr., as his attorney, and after several years of litigation he succeeded in gaining his suit and perfecting his title. This was the first suit instituted in the county court, from this township. Mr. Reuwee died in 1842, and Mrs. Reuwee died several years after.

    Franklin S., second son of Zadock Reuwee, was born in Auburn, and in 1841 he married Betsey Waterman, daughter of Curtiss Waterman, who was one of the first settlers of Auburn, but now resides in Troy. He died in August, 1842.

    Alvin T., third son of Zadock Reuwee, was also born in Auburn, and died in 1842, at the age of thirteen years.

    Lorenzo S., fourth son of Zadock Reuwee, was also born in Auburn, and in 1860 he married Paulina M. Crafts, daughter of Benjamin Crafts, and they have three children, whose names are Izetta L., Elsey C., and Frank B. He owns and resides on the old homestead, where his father and mother both died.

    William Crafts, fourth son of Edward Crafts, was born in Boston, Massachusetts. His father, Edward Crafts, was a major in the war of the Revolution, and done good service for his country in that memorable struggle of our forefathers

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  161

    for religious and political liberty. Soon after the close of the war, Major Crafts sold his property in Boston for the sum of thirty thousand dollars, and took the entire amount in continental money, and the result was that he lost pretty much all his property. Soon after this Major Crafts moved with his family to Bethel, Ontario county, New York, where he spent the remainder of his days, without accumulating much property. At the time of his arrival in Bethel, New York, he had four sons and five daughters. The sons were Edward, Jr., John, Thomas, and William. In 1812, William married Catharine Millspaugh, of Gorham, New York, and they had one child, whose name was Daniel M. Soon after the birth of this son, Mrs. Crafts died.

    In uncle William's history (as he was familiarly called), as written up by himself in 1868, and published in the Geauga Republican, he says he started from Gorham, Ontario county, New York, August 1, 1815, and reached Auburn, Ohio, the first of September, and purchased the whole of the Ely tract, being eleven hundred and seventy-six acres. He soon after started for home as he had come, on foot, and arrived in Gorham about the first of October, the same year.

    In January, 1816, Mr. Crafts married the widow Drusilla Hayes. She had one child by her first husband, whose name was [[Chester G.]] On the sixteenth day of February, 1816, Mr. Crafts, with his wife, these two little boys, and two nephews, Joseph Keyes and John Crafts, an ox team and wagon, and one cow, started from Gorham, New York, for Auburn, Ohio, to him, the land of promise. We wish we could give a full account of their journey, as given by Mr. Crafts in his history of 1868, but time and space forbids. Suffice it to say, they arrived safely in Auburn, after a journey of twenty-six days. Immediately on their arrival, Mr. Crafts selected a place for a house, and in just nine days they built a house, moved in, and set up their household gods.

    This house stood a half mile south of the corners, on the east side of the road. After a few years Mr. Crafts sold this house and one hundred acres of land to Hiram Webster, and built another house a short distance south of the corners, on the west side of the road, where he lived for many years. Mr. Crafts not being successful in getting some of his neighbors in New York to come on with him and take some of his land, was obliged to give up all of his first purchase, except four hundred acres for himself, and two hundred acres for his brother-in-law, Keyes, making six hundred acres, which was a trifle more than half of his first purchase. After Mr. and Mrs. Crafts came to Auburn they had six children, whose names were Jeremiah, Harriet, Almira, Edward, Hosea, and Eveline. Jeremiah was the first child born in the township.

    Mr. Crafts cleared up his farm, during which time he built a large frame barn, cow sheds, etc., and in 1835 built a frame dwelling house, the largest in town. Mr. Crafts lived in this house until 1845, when he sold the old homestead to his two youngest sons, Edward and Hosea, and divided up the most of his property among his children. After selling out, he purchased a farm on the east line of the township, where he lived a few years, after which he made two or three changes, and finally settled on a small piece of land half a mile east of the corners, where he lost his wife in 1868. He again married in 1870, at the age of eighty years, and died in 1876. His widow soon after married, and now resides where Mr. Crafts died.

    Daniel M., son of Uncle William Crafts, by his first wife, about 1833 married Diantha Wright, daughter of Ephraim Wright, and they had one child, a daughter, named Mary. Mr. and Mrs. Crafts separated, and, after having obtained a divorce, Mr. Crafts, about 1837 or 1838, married Miss Damia Mott, daughter of Elihu Mott. Mr. Mott settled on the north line of Auburn, near where Lewis May now resides, and Damia was born

    162                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    there in 1816, being the first female child born in Auburn. By this marriage a daughter was born, whose name is Samantha C. Mr. Crafts settled a half mile east of the corners, built a nice frame house, and the necessary out buildings, and several years since rented this farm and purchased one in Troy, where he now resides.

    William H. Richmond, son of Alonzo Richmond, of Chardon, came to Auburn in 1857. He enlisted in the service in the early part of the war of the Rebellion, was wounded, and discharged on account of disability. He came home, and in 1865 married Mary J. Crafts, eldest daughter of Daniel M. Crafts, and they have no children. They now own and reside on the farm formerly owned by Nicholas Silvernail.

    Ozro Truman, third son of Lyman Truman, of Troy, was born in Troy. In September, 1864, Mr. Truman enlisted in the naval service, Mississippi squadron, and shipped on board of the United States steamer "Argosy," and served on that ship until the close of the war. Mr. Truman was discharged at Cairo, Illinois, and returned home, and in 1865 married Samantha C. Crafts, daughter of Daniel M. Crafts, and they have no children. They now reside on the east township line, one mile south of the east and west center road.

    Jeremiah, eldest son of Uncle William, by his second wife, was born in Auburn, and, as above mentioned, was the first child born in the township. About 1840 he married Miss Fidelia Moore, and they had two children -- Oscar and Renette. Soon after their marriage Mr. Crafts purchased a farm on the east line of the township, where they remained for several years, but finally sold out and moved to Cuyahoga Rapids, where he now resides.

    Edward, third son of Uncle William, was born in Auburn, and in 1845 married Helen B. Johnson, daughter of Seth Johnson, of Newbury. They have three sons -- Clayton E., Pitt M., and Stanley C. Clayton E. and Stanley C. are lawyers by profession, and reside in Chicago, Illinois. Mr. Crafts and his wife reside on the old homestead, where Uncle William first settled; and their son, Pitt M., resides with them, and carries on the farm. In 1879 he married Miss Eva L. Wilber, daughter of William Wilber.

    Hosea, fourth and youngest son of Uncle William, was married several years since, and resides in Michigan.

    Harriet, eldest daughter, died about 1835.

    Almira, second daughter, is unmarried, and resides in Auburn.

    Eveline, youngest daughter, married Phileman Johnson, as mentioned in the history of the Johnson family.

    Chester G. Hayes, the little boy mentioned by Uncle William Crafts, as the son of his second wife, who came to Auburn with them in 1816, was born in Canada, in 1812, and at the age of eighteen years, left the parental roof, and returned to his grandfather's, in New Hampshire. After staying there a short time, he went to Canada, staid there four years; then returned to New Hampshire again, and in 1834, married Susan Jewell. They had two children; both died in childhood, and his wife died in 1838. Soon after her death he returned to Auburn, and, after a three years' stay, engaged in chopping and clearing land, he went into the State of Pennsylvania, where he engaged in lumbering and wood-chopping, and, after carrying on that business about four years, again returned to Auburn. In 1848, he married the widow of Nathan Ethridge. Mr. Hayes, a short time previous to his marriage, had purchased a farm in Troy, previously owned by Amos Palmer, and they took up their residence there, and remained a number of years; during which time Mr. Hayes was elected justice of the peace, and served in that capacity for twelve years. He sold his farm to Daniel M. Crafts, the other little boy mentioned by uncle William Crafts, as the son of his first wife, and returned to Auburn again, for the fourth time. He

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  163

    now resides just east of the corners, in sight of where he spent his boyhood days.

    Daniel Goodwin was born in New Hampshire, came to Middlesex, New York, in middle age, and was married to Polly Crafts, sister of Uncle William Crafts,

    in 1795, and they raised eight children -- Mary, Edward, Daniel, Hannah, John, Sally, Richard, Nancy and James.

    Mr. Goodwin moved to Auburn with his family about 1819. He first settled just east of the corners, and, in 1832, lived near Bridge creek, on the north side of the center road. He died about 1856, and his wife died in 1855.

    David Smith, sr., was born in Connecticut, in 1763, and was married, in 1785, to Lucy Prindle; they had five children -- Lucy, Anna, Charry, Irena and David. Mr. Smith lost his wife in 1812; married again, in 1814, to Hannah Orton; came to Auburn, in 1816, and settled on the Ely tract. In 1823, he was appointed postmaster (he being the first in Auburn), and served fifteen years, when he resigned. Nathan Ethridge was then appointed. Mr. Smith's was the fifth family, and he built the fifth house in town. He died on the old homestead, in 1852, aged eighty-nine years, and Mrs. Smith died there, in 1854, aged eighty-two years.

    David Smith, Jr., was born in Connecticut, in 1802, and came to Auburn, with his father, in 1816; and, in 1822, was married to the widow Wilcox, whose maiden name was Betsey Orton). They raised no family. He purchased twenty-five acres of land of his father, and of others joining him, until he owned one hundred and forty-one acres. He cleared up his land and built all the necessary buildings. In 1854, he sold out and moved to Bainbridge, where he lived about ten years, and from there moved to Chagrin Falls, where he now resides. During Mr. Smith's residence in Auburn, he served three terms as justice of the peace; was township clerk several years, and assessor seven years. Mr. Smith lost his wife, in 1867, and, in 1868, he married Miss Nabbie L. Hickox, of Burton, Ohio.

    Morgan Orton was born in Connecticut. He came to Burton, Ohio, in 1815; resided there about one year; came to Auburn in 1816; was married to Rebecca Moore about 1819; and they had six children -- Belinda, Permelia, Corington, Anna, Albert, and Wesley. Mr. Orton settled on the north part of the Ely tract in 1816. About 1817 he sold out to Benjamin Woods, and went a short distance west of the center and bought on the Kirtland tract, where he lived for several years. Then he sold out to Culver and the Barneys. He then came back to the State road and settled near where he settled in 1816, and lived there several years, during which time he built a nice framed house and barn, and cleared up his farm. In 1850 he sold this farm to Jonathan Burnett, and moved to Iowa. Mr. Orton belonged to the Methodist Episcopal church, and was the first Methodist that settled in Auburn.

    Hervey Bassett was born in Connecticut; came to Auburn first in 1831, and taught school in Twinsburgh in the winter of 1831 and 1832; went back to Connecticut in 1832, and returned to Auburn again in 1845 and purchased a farm of Willis Woods, north of the corners, and in 1847 was married to Hannah Coats. They had four children -- Mary E., Alice M., Lucy C., and Chattie I. Mr. Bassett resided in Auburn until 1860, when he sold out and purchased a farm near Chagrin Falls, where he now resides. Mary E. died at the age of seventeen years. Mr. Bassett brought the first lucifer matches into Auburn. Mrs. Bassett died in January, 1880.

    Austin Richards was born in the State of Massachusetts in 1789. In 1811 he married Miss Sally Chadwick. They came to Auburn in 1816, and settled on the Mills tract, half a mile west of the State road. Mr. and Mrs. Richards had nine children, the four eldest being born previous to their arrival in Auburn.

    164                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    The names of their children were, John C., Lorrin W., Sarah J., Orton T., Harriet, William, Julia M., Gilbert A., and Almeda M. Mr. Richards cleared up his farm, built a frame house and barn, and remained on the same farm until 1850, when he sold out to his son, Gilbert A., and moved to Chardon, settling near the center of that township. He died in 1867. In 1869 his widow returned to Auburn, with her son William, and died in 1877. Mr. Richards was elected justice of the peace in 1828, and held that office five terms in succession, during his residence in Auburn.

    John C., eldest son of Austin Richards, was born in Tyringham, Massachusetts; came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1837 married Sarah M. Ensign, daughter of Jacob Ensign, and they had four children -- Sarah M., Jacob A., John L., and Joel C. He settled a short distance west of his father, cleared up his farm, built all the necessary buildings for comfort and convenience, and he and his wife are now enjoying the full benefits of their industry.

    Sarah M., only daughter of John C. Richards, married Alanson Knox, several years since, and they have one son, named Adelbert. They reside in Auburn.

    Jacob A. married an only daughter of Cornelius Stafford, and they reside in Hambden, Ohio. John L. married Miranda Green, and they reside in Leroy, Lake county, Ohio. Joel C. married Theresa Hartson, daughter of James Hartson, of Troy. He resides with his father, and helps to carry on the farm.

    Lorrin W., second son of Austin Richards, and Harriet, second daughter, died young. Sarah J., eldest daughter, married a Mr. Harmon, of Bainbridge. They had three children -- one son and two daughters. Gilbert, the son, is married, and resides in Bainbridge. The father and mother both died several years since. Orton T., third son, married about 1845, and died several years since.

    William, fourth son of Austin Richards, was born in Auburn, and in 1850 married Philena Howard, daughter of William R. Howard, of Bainbridge. They had four children -- Austin H., M. Emerette, Alta D. Ettie, and William. M. Emerette died at the age of eight years, and William died in infancy. Mr. Richards settled near the center of Chardon, in 1850, and remained there until 1869, when he returned to Auburn, and purchased the farm formerly owned by Hiram Brewster, and now resides at that place. During his residence in Chardon he was elected justice of the peace, and served three terms in succession.

    Austin H., only son of William Richards, married Miss Ellen Johnson, of Mentor, Ohio. They have one child, a daughter, and reside in Kansas.

    Alta D. Ettie is unmarried. She resides at home, and follows teaching school.

    Gilbert A. Richards, fifth and youngest son of Austin Richards, was born in Auburn. In 1849 he married Mehitable Snow, daughter of Lorin Snow. They had four children -- Eliza, Ella, Lorin, and Laura. Laura died young. When Mr. Richards was sixteen years old he bought his time of his father, and commenced working out for wages, which continued until he was twenty-three years old. Soon after his marriage he bought the old homestead of his father, consisting of twenty-five acres, and he and his wife commenced their married life at that place. Mr. Richards next purchased twenty-seven acres of land adjoining Ebenezer Wicks, on the west, and soon after purchased twenty-two acres joining Wicks, on the north. In 1857 he sold the two last mentioned pieces, and purchased the old Oliver Snow farm, containing one hundred and ninety-two acres, which with the twenty-five acres he first purchased of his father, made him two hundred and seventeen acres. To this Mr. Richards has added piece after piece, until he now owns five hundred and forty-five acres of land. He now resides on the old Snow farm, two miles north of the corners, where

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  165

    he and his wife are enjoying the full benefit of their hard earnings. Mr. Richards has held the office of township trustee several times, and is at the present time one of the board of trustees.

    Almeda M., youngest daughter of Austin Richards, went to Chardon with her parents in 1850, and there married a man by the name of Clough. She died in 1859, and Mr. Clough died soon after.

    Benjamin Woods was born in the State of Massachusetts in 1770, lived there until he was twenty-five years of age, then came into the State of New York, and purchased some land in Palmyra, in that State. In 1798 he married Miss Mahitable Marble, and they had nine children: Tirzah, Willis, Silas, Charles, Willard, William, Theodocia, and Cynthia. He remained there some years, cleared up his farm, and by his industry and perseverance, accumulated quite a large property. In the fall of 1816, Mr. Elihu Mott, then a neighbor of Mr. Woods, hired him to take his team and move him to Newbury, Ohio. After arriving at Newbury, Mr. Woods liking the country, concluded to purchase some land before he returned home, and accordingly came to Auburn, and looked over the Root tract, but there were no roads laid out on that tract, and, in fact, none laid out in town, except the State road. Mr. Woods told William Crafts he would like to buy some land on the State road. Mr. Crafts told him he thought he could buy out Morgan Orton, who then owned some land on the north part of the Ely tract. Uncle William went with him, and he soon made a bargain for the land, and the next morning, started for home. Later in the fall he returned to Auburn again, and this time, brought back four men with him, their names being Charles Hinkley, Amasa Turner, Philip Ingler, and James Benjamin, all looking for land. Mr. Woods again returned home, and as near as we can learn, in the spring of 1817 he sold his farm in Palmyra for six thousand dollars, about half of which he lost in consequence of one of the parties, to whom he sold, breaking down. During the summer he settled up his business, and in the fall, took his family, and came to Auburn, bringing with him some stock of different kinds. He, not having a house prepared for his family, took up lodgings with David Smith, sr., and in a very short time, built a house a short distance north of the corners, and moved into it. The above differs from Uncle William Crafts' history as to dates, but we think we are correct. Soon after Mr. Woods moved in, he purchased all of the Cowles tract, containing one thousand acres, all of which went back on account of losing his money in Palmyra, except one hundred acres, which he afterwards sold to John Hoard. He was a very industrious man, and also very benevolent, never turning a deaf ear to those in want, which was a great benefit to his neighbors in those early days. His wife was also possessed with the same spirit of benevolence, and did her full share in relieving the wants of the needy. Mrs. Woods was a physician of the Thompsonian school, and did good service in relieving the sick in Auburn, and the surrounding townships, frequently riding long distances on horseback, through the unbroken wilderness, in the night time, to attend to calls from the sick and suffering. Mr. Woods, although quite old when he came to Auburn, lived to clear up his farm, and for several years after, Mrs. Woods died in 1834, and Mr. Woods died in 1853. Both were buried on the farm a short distance from where they built their house in 1817. The motto of Mr. Woods was, to never let the sun go down on his wrath.

    Willis, oldest son of Benjamin Woods, was born in the State of New York, and came to Auburn about 1817. He was married in 1820, to Rachel Colvin, and they had seven children: Lucina, Jane, Tuezie, Betsey, Marble, Lorenzo, and Jerome. In the spring of 1845 he sold and moved west with his family, and was killed there by the falling of a tree.

    Charles Woods, third son of Benjamin Woods, was born in the State of New

    166                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    York. He came to Auburn with his parents in 1817, and in 1833 married Sarah Johnson. They had nine children, viz: Mary, Alanson B., Willard C., Henry G., Lurana M., Laura A., Nelson R., Frank R., and Emma D., all born in Auburn. Mr. Woods lived with his father, and helped clear up the farm. He took up the blacksmith trade in his younger days, and built a shop, where he did his own work and considerable for his neighbors. About 1873 his health failed him, and he soon gave up working at his trade entirely. He continued to fail in health until his death, which occurred in 1878, on the old homestead, where his father settled in 1817. His widow is still living, and resides on the old homestead.

    Alanson B., eldest son of Charles Woods, lived at home until of age, then went to Iowa. When the war of the Rebellion broke out, he was in Fairbault, Minnesota, and, in the fall of 1861, enlisted in company L, first regiment, Minnesota sharpshooters, called "Berdan's sharpshooting volunteers." They were stationed at St. Paul in the winter of 1861 and '62, and in the spring of 1862, was ordered to Washington, District of Columbia, where they joined the army of the Potomac. Mr. Woods was in the battle of the Wilderness, and there slightly wounded. He was soon after attacked with paralysis, and totally deprived of his speech. In this condition he was taken to Philadelphia and placed in the hospital. After he had been there awhile he recovered so as to be able to talk a little, and his nurse learned from him where he belonged, and wrote to his father, stating his condition. His brother, Henry G. Woods, started after him as soon as possible, and on arriving at Philadelphia, found him, as supposed by his physician, in a condition to come home. After starting, he began to grow worse, and on arriving at Pittsburgh was unable to come farther. His brother came home, and his mother started immediately for Pittsburgh, and on her arrival foundhim worse, and he died September 25, 1862, two days after her arrival. Mrs. Woods brought him back to Auburn, and he was buried in the cemetery at the corners, in sight of where he was born. Thus he, like five hundred thousand and more, gave his life for his country -- and his country appreciates the sacrifice.

    Willard C., second son, enlisted, in 1861, in company B, Second Ohio volunteer cavalry, for three years, served in that company until September 30, 1862, and was discharged at Fort Scott, Kansas. In 1863 he was appointed paymaster's clerk, on the United States steamer "Osage," Mississippi squadron, and June 16, 1864, was transferred to United States steamer "Fort Hindman," served on that steamer until the thirtieth day of October, 1864, and was then discharged from the service and returned home. In 1870 he went to Council Bluffs, Iowa, hired out to the American Express company, and was in their employ seven years, during which time he was in several different States. In 1875 Mr. Woods was in Missouri, and there married Miss Sarah E. Meeder. They have two children, named Frank and Mabel. Mr. Woods returned to Auburn with his family in 1878, and resides a few rods north of the corners, near where he was born.

    Henry G., third son, in 1861, when the war broke out, enlisted in the three months' service, served out his time and returned home. He had previously rented and carried on his father's farm, and continued to do so after his return. In 1867 he married Miss Mary L. Ensign, daughter of Chardon Ensign, of Middlefield, Ohio. Mr. Woods died on the old homestead in 1877, and his wife died in 1879.

    Nelson R., fourth son, enlisted in the war of the Rebellion, in 1862, in the naval service, and served about eleven months, when he was taken sick and discharged. In 1864 he enlisted again in the One Hundred and Ninety-sixth Ohio volunteer infantry, and served until the close of the war. He returned home,

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  167

    and engaged in different occupations. In 1877 he went to Evansville, Indiana, and, in 1878, married Sarah Vickery, of that place. Mr. Woods is a Free Methodist minister, and now resides at Howard, Knox county, Ohio.

    Frank R., fifth son, is unmarried. His home is in Auburn, but is engaged in business that keeps him from home most of the time.

    Lurana M., daughter of Charles Woods, is unmarried; spends most of her time in Cleveland, Ohio.

    Emma D., youngest daughter, married George Ridge, and now resides in Troy, Ohio.

    Lewis L. Webster is the only son of Lucius Webster, and was born in Kingsville, Ohio, and there learned the harness-maker's trade. Came to Auburn in 1853, and worked about one year for Oliver P. Hayes, who was carrying on business at the corners at that time. In 1855 Mr. Webster commenced business for himself; worked in different shops about the corners, and in 1864 he married Laura A. Woods, and they have three children -- Arthur W., John W., and Charles W. Soon after their marriage, Mr. Webster purchased a house and lot joining his father-in-law, Woods, and carried on harness making at that place until 1877, when he sold his tools, rented his shop, and moved into the old Benjamin Woods' homestead, and is now occupying the same. Mrs. Webster is one of the third generation who has occupied the same farm, and their children are the fourth. This farm, and the Bildad Bradley farm, now occupied by Alonzo Colvin, are the only two farms in Auburn that are now occupied by the third and fourth generations.

    William, fifth son of Benjamin Woods, was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1831 married Almira Hall, daughter of Russell Hall, sr. They had four children -- Lorin, Almeda, Edwin, and Tryphena. Mr. Woods settled north of his father's, on the State road, partially cleared up his farm, and lost his wife, in 1843. He married again, the same year, Miss Maria Wright. They had three children -- Caroline, Emery and Emily (twins). Mr. Woods traded farms with Peter O. Hall, in 1845. Moved on to that farm, and lived there a few years; then traded farms with Lines S. Pope, and moved on to the east town line road, where he remained a few years; then sold out, and purchased a farm in Newbury, known as the Abraham Woodard farm. and died there, very suddenly, about 1870. His two daughters, by his first wife, are both dead. Lorin, his second son, married several years since, and resides in Huntsburgh. Edwin also married several years since, and resides in Garrettsville, Ohio. His eldest daughter, by the second wife, married James Thrasher, and resides in Troy. Emily married George Mumford, and resides on the farm where her father died. Emery married a Miss Burroughs, of Troy, and they reside in that township.
    Pardon Wilber was born in the State of Rhode Island; was married to Rebecca Bowler, and they had three children -- George, William and Rebecca. Mr. Wilber came to Auburn, with his family, in 1817, and settled [in the] west of the township, on the Root tract; built a house and barn, partially cleared up his farm, and sold out, about 1836, and moved to Chardon, Ohio, and died at that place several years since. His wife came back to Auburn after the death of her husband, and died a few years since, near where they first settled.

    Mr. Wilber held several different offices, while living in town, among which was that of justice of the peace.

    George Wilber, son of Pardon Wilber, came to Auburn with his parents, and shared with them the hardships and privations of pioneer life. An incident or two in the life of George, as related by his son, William Wilber, will serve to break the monotony of this history. In the first place, a description of the wagon, or the thing used in those early days in place of a regular wagon, which

    168                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    was made as follows: The first thing in order was to find a crotched tree, fall it, and hew from the crotch far enough for a tongue; then hew out the crotch sufficiently small to be light, and still strong enough for all practical purposes, put some boards across the crotch, and you have the wagon. With this kind of a conveyance, and a pair of oxen attached, George was sent down to Captain Seth Harmon's in Mantua, after a quarter of beef; and on the way back, after getting a little way into Auburn, and it getting a little dark, George was startled by hearing a wolf howl but a short distance behind him, and soon after another one howled, and by this time George began to hurry up the cattle and at the same time, also, the wolves began to show themselves, and manifest a great desire for a chunk of beef. George whipped and hurried up the cattle as fast as possible, but the wolves kept getting closer to the beef, and George concluded that terra firma was no place for him. With a bound, he mounted the vehicle, ran up the tongue between the cattle to the yoke, and by a very severe demonstration, in the way of whipping the cattle and whipping at the wolves, he succeeded in reaching, in safety, a house that stood near where A. A. Snow now resides. Here he put up for the night, and the next morning went home with his beef. George told his associates, a few days afterwards, that it seemed to him that his hair stood up a great deal straighter than common.

    Another little incident which occurred in that early day with Mr. Wilber and three or four of his associates, some years after the above occurrence, is somewhat amusing, and shows, with all, that good whiskey (for it is said they had no other in those days) did then, as now, confuse the human brain to some extent. One warm evening, in the spring of the year, Mr. Wilber and some of his neighbors started out to catch some fish, and as they were going along towards the creek, they came across a large rattlesnake, which they killed and took along with them. After arriving at the creek, and fishing awhile without much success, they kindled up a fire, got a long stick, tied the snake by the tail to one end, and stuck the other end in the ground, in a position so the snake would hang over the fire, and while he was roasting, it is fair to presume, they indulged just a little in the "oh-be-joyful," and after getting quite mellow, and the snake getting quite mellow by being thoroughly roasted, and their appetites getting a little sharp withal, a proposition was made by one of the party to eat the snake, and they all fell to and devoured the old fellow instanter. They soon after wended their way home, and after going to bed and taking a short nap, one of them awoke and complained of a very bad feeling in the region of the diaphragm, and it took a very lengthy argument to convince him that the delicious meal of snake and whiskey that he had partaken the night before, was not the true cause of the terrible state of his bowels.
    Mr. Wilber was married in 1828 [sic -1826?], to Rachel Smith, daughter of Robert Smith, one of the first settlers of Bainbridge, Ohio, and they raised eight children -- Charlotte, Charles, William, Eliza, Mary, Rebecca, Albert, and Anna. Mr. Wilber held several offices while he resided in Auburn, among which was trustee, justice of the peace, and postmaster. He resided west of where his father first settled, built a nice dwelling house and other out-buildings, and after a residence of over fifty years in Auburn, sold out to John Quinn and moved to Aurora, Illinois, where he now resides.

    William Wilber is the son of George Wilber, and was born in Auburn; was married in 1858 to Lucia Case, and they have two children, named George and Eva. Mr. Wilber resides on the center road, near the west line of the township, on lands owned in an early day by Eli McConoughey, and is at the present time one of the board of trustees of the township.

    Amaziah Keyes came to Auburn from the State of New York in 1817, was married to Nancy Crafts, sister of William Crafts, and they raised nine children,

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  169

    named Nancy, Betsey, Joseph, Sally, Vivalda, Amanda, Eunice, Oliver, and William. Mr. Keyes died in 1824, and his wife in 1840.

    Joseph Keyes, oldest son of Amaziah Keyes, came to Auburn from the State of New York in 1816, with William Crafts; was married to Ruth Colvin, and they had six children -- Amaziah, Anson, Lucy, Cordelia, Nehemiah, and Drusilla. Joseph Keyes lived in Auburn several years, and then moved to Troy, Geauga county, where he died in 1871. His widow is still living.

    Vivalda Keyes, second son, came to Auburn with his father in 1817; was married about 1835 or '36, to Hannah Goodwin, and they raised two children, named Alonzo William, and Annette. They moved to Wisconsin, and from there back to Pioneer, Ohio, where they died a few years since. Oliver, third son, lives in some western State. William, fourth son, married several years since, and now resides in Louisville, Kentucky. He enlisted in the war of the Rebellion, and did good service for his country.

    Jeremiah White was born in Canada, and was married in the State of New York, in 1816, to Sally Keyes, and came to Auburn in 1818. They had eight children--Nancy, J. Van Ranslear, Mary, Sarah M., Laura Ann, Harriet A., Nathaniel, and William N. Mr. White first settled on the State road, south of Auburn corners, having purchased some land of his father-in-law (Mr. Keyes), and built a house where Israel Johnson now resides; lived there a few years, cleared some land, sold out to his father-in-law, and moved into Troy, and purchased some land of Jacob Welsh; cleared about fifty acres, and finally lost the land and all his labor in consequence of the land being mortgaged by Welsh, and he could not get a good title. Mr. White then purchased some land in what is known as Auburn valley, of one Marsh; built a house on the same, cleared up that land and lived there several years; then sold out and moved back on the State road, north of the corners. Sold out there, and moved back on to the land where he first settled; lived there a short time, and then moved a little farther north; from there a half mile west, and from there to Auburn corners, where he now resides. Mr. and Mrs. White have lived together sixty-three years, and are the only couple now living in Auburn who have lived together for that length of time.

    William N. White was born in Auburn, is the third son and youngest child of Jeremiah White. He obtained a good education, and for a number of years he was engaged in teaching school. In 1862 he married Louisa M. Messenger, daughter of Clement Messenger, sr. They have two children: India A. and Willie N. Soon after his marriage, Mr. White started a shoe shop in the building, which he now occupies as a dwelling house, a short distance west of the corners. After carrying on the business of shoemaking for two years, he purchased a small stock of groceries, and for the next two years carried on both branches of business in the same building. He then purchased the north part of the building at the corners, known as O. S. Crain's tinshop, which increased

    his facilities for carrying on his business. He remained there something over three years, then sold out and purchased the building known as the John Mayhew store, where he is now located, and is still engaged in mercantile business.

    Cornelius Bowerman was born in Canada in 1791; came to the State of New York in early life, and married Ruby Hamilton, in 1816, they having three children--Addison, Hamilton, and Stephen. Mr. Bowerman came to Ohio in 1818, and settled in Medina county; lived there about four years, and then came and settled in Auburn valley. They then had three children. He built a house, chopped, and got some land ready to burn the brush, and while burning the same, his wife went out to help, and left her infant child asleep on the bed, and, before they were aware of it, the house caught fire by the flames running under it, and burned to the ground. The child could not be rescued Mr. Bowerman

    170                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    moved back to Medina county in 1837, and his wife died there about 1856. He then moved to Michigan.

    Abraham Gilmore, we think, was born in the State of New York, came with the Canfields, Antisdale, and Harrington, in 1818, and he married Phebe Antisdale, sister of George W., sr., and they had eight children -- David, George, Dury, Hiram, Lyman, Mary, Woolcot, and Abram. Mr. Gilmore settled west of Harrington, on the Root tract, cleared up his farm, and in 1840 sold out and moved to Wisconsin.

    Elliot W. Crafts, son of John and Abagail Crafts, was born in the State of New York, in 1799. He was married in 1818, to Cynthia Rice, and they came to Auburn in 1818. They had seven children -- Eliza, Elisha, Cynes, Sophia, Clarissa, Cillinda, and Cynthia. Mr. Crafts first settled southeast of the corners, on the Ely tract, and afterwards on the Cowles tract, east of the corners, where he lived several years; sold out there, and moved to Auburn valley, and there lost his first wife. After a few years he moved to Newbury, married again, and lost another wife in that town. Soon after this he moved to Thompson, and there married a widow lady, named Mrs. Stearns. Mr. Crafts, by this marriage, had one child, a son. After living in Thompson several years, he died in 1878. His widow, and youngest son, still reside in Thompson.

    Elisha, eldest son of Elliot Crafts, was born in Auburn, in 1819; was married about 1840, to the widow of Franklin S. Reuwee (whose maiden name was Betsey Waterman). They have but one child, a son, whose name is William. Mr. Crafts resided in Auburn valley several years, finally sold out, and moved into the southeast part of Mantua, where he now resides.

    Cyrus, second son of Elliot Crafts, was born in Auburn, in 1822; was married about 1838, to Samantha Spaulding, and they had one child, a son, named Mortimer. Mr. Crafts died soon after the birth of his son, and the son died several years since.

    John B. Scudder was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn in 1832, and in 1835 was married to Eliza Crafts, daughter of Elliot Crafts, and they had one daughter, Sarah M. Mr. Scudder first purchased some land in Troy, but, soon after his marriage, sold out, and purchased some land on the east township line in Auburn; lived there a few years, then sold out and purchased a farm in Auburn valley; moved there, and lost his wife in 1869. He soon after broke up keeping house, and went to live with his daughter, Mrs. Oliver F. Snow, and died there in 1877, after a long and painful illness.

    Isaac Butts was born in the State of New York in 1807, came to Auburn with the Antisdales in 1818, and in 1829 married Cynehia Woods, daughter of Benjamin Woods. They had seven children: Olive, Lorette, Mahitable, Corlintha, Charles, Sarah; and one child died young. Mr. Butts settled on the first north and south road, west of the corners, cleared up the farm, and resided there until 1876, when he sold out, and purchased lands in Newbury, formerly owned by A. C. Gardner, where he now resides.

    Charles Butts, only son of Isaac, is married, and has one child. He resides with his father, and helps to carry on the farm.

    Edwin Parks, son of Nathaniel Parks, was born in Chardon; came to Auburn in 1849, and in 1850 married Olive Butts, daughter of Isaac Butts. They had one child, named Lenora. Mrs. Parks died in 1852. In 1858 he married for his second wife, Lorette, daughter of Isaac Butts. Mr. Parks resided in Auburn the most of the time from 1849 until his death, which occurred in 1868.

    Arnold Harrington was born in the State of New York, came to Auburn in 1818, when a young man, and married the widow of George W. Antisdale, and they had five children: Adison, Seth, William, Thomas, and Sally. He settled in the woods, west of the Canfield's and Antisdale's, on the Root tract, cleared

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  171

    up his farm, and resided there for many years; finally sold out and moved to Troy, Ohio, where he and his wife died several years since.

    Oliver Snow, son of Oliver and Elizabeth Snow, was born in, or near, Boston, Massachusetts, in 1748, and in 1774 was married to Rebecca Wadsworth, and they had six children -- Oliver, Jr., Roxana, Franklin, Charlotte, Hastings, and Rebecca. Mr. Snow lost his wife in 1784, and was married the same year to Roxana L. Taylor, and they had five children -- Electa, Lorin, Lucy, Alvirus, and Lucina. Mr. Snow came to Auburn with his family in 1822, and purchased a large tract of land on the Mills tract, in the northeast part of the township, cleared up the same, and built the first frame house in the township, where Gilbert A. Richards now resides. Mr. Snow was a Universalist in belief, and is the man mentioned by A. G. Riddle, who used to meet Uncle Benjamin Woods in the road, about half way from the corners to where Mr. Snow lived, and hold very lengthy arguments upon the Bible; always meeting and parting as friends, but frequently wishing each other dead, as a kind of parting salute. Mr. Snow's second wife died in 1836, and Mr. Snow died in 1841. He was the oldest person who had died in Auburn up to that time, being ninety-three years of age.

    Jonathan Burnett was born in the State of New York; came to Newbury with his parents in an early day, and in 1831 married Lucina Brayman, she at that time having two daughters by her first husband. Their names were Mariette and Henriette. Mariette died soon after her mother's second marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Burnett had two children, a son and daughter, both of whom died young. Mr. Burnett worked for Mr. Snow some nine years previous to marrying his daughter, and after they were married they continued to live there; and some seven years previous to the death of the old gentleman (Snow), Burnett bought the farm, and took care of Mr. Snow until he died. He remained on the farm until 1850, when he rented it and moved to Auburn corners; resided there seven years, during which time he sold his farm to Gilbert A. Richards. Mr. Burnett soon after sold out at the corners, and bought out Morgan Orton; moved there in 1857, and died in 1859. Mr. Burnett held several different offices in town, among which was that of justice of the peace, and was serving his third term in that office when he died. Soon after the death of her husband, Mrs. Burnett sold the farm and purchased the John Mayhew place at Auburn corners, where she and her daughter Henriette now reside.

    Lorin Snow, eldest son of Oliver and Roxa Snow, was born in Massachusetts, in 1706, came to Auburn, in 1818, and was married, in 1822, to Cyrintha Burnett, daughter of Joshua M. Burnett, of Newbury. They had five children -- Delos, Harriet, Mehitable, Eliza and Frank C. Harriet died young; Delos died at nineteen; Eliza died at the age of nine years. Mr. Snow first settled on the State road, opposite his father, Oliver Snow, on the Mills tract. He first purchased fifty acres; next purchased ninety acres, on the east and west road, near by; next, thirty acres, one-half mile west; next, purchased one hundred and twelve acres in Troy, known as the Bishop lot, and lastly, purchased twenty-five acres adjoining the first piece he bought, on the east, making the homestead seventy-five acres. Mr. Snow died, in 1863, on the farm where he first settled, and his wife died, in 1865, at the same place.

    Alvirus, youngest son of Oliver Snow, was born in Massachusetts. In 1821, at the age of twenty-three, he started west to seek his fortune, with a man by the name of Walters. At Auburn, New York, they formed the acquaintance of a man and his family by the name of Wicks, who were also coming west. They continued to travel together until they reached Ashtabula, Ohio. Here Mr. Snow stopped a few days with some cousins. From there he went to Fowler,

    172                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Warren and Windham; stopping at the last place, with a half-sister (a Mrs. Jager). From there he went to Mantua, where he had some half-brothers; stayed with them a few days, then started north, and came to Auburn with his brother, Franklin, and stopped with his brother, Lorin, who had been here some two years. Alvirus had about one hundred dollars. He bought thirty acres of land where he now resides, chopped and cleared five acres that season, and sowed it to wheat.

    In 1823, his father came on from the east, and brought with him about two hundred dollars; it being money that he had earned, and left in his father's care. With this he purchased, of Lewis Finley, fifty-nine acres, which joined his thirty acres, on the south; making, in all, eighty-one acres. Mr. Waterman moved into his house and he boarded with him nearly two years. At the age of twenty-six he married Mary G. Reed, daughter of William Reed, of Pierpont, Ohio. One year after this he moved his wife to Auburn, where she found in waiting a new house, which they occupied -- the same place where he now resides. They have had five children; one died young. The names of those now living are: Alonzo A., Oliver F. and Taylor. Cordelia died in 1853.

    After Mr. Snow was married he commenced business in earnest, and by his industry and perseverance has added to his possessions, until he is now the owner of ten hundred and seventy-two acres of land, lying in Auburn, Troy, Burton, and Newbury. He had ninety-five acres in Willams county, Ohio, but sold that about one year since.

    Alonzo A., eldest son of Alvirus Snow, was born in Auburn. In 1845 he married Miss Abigail M. Smith, daughter of James Smith. They had four children -- Emeroy O., Mary L., Tida M. and Alvirus J. Mary L. died young, and Tida M. died at the age of fourteen years.

    Soon after their marriage Mr. Snow purchased some land south of the corners, on the Atwater tract. This land was first taken up by Ethan Brewer, and he built a small log house near where Mr. Snow's house now stands; and, it is believed, this was the first house built on the east side of the State road, on that tract. Mr. Snow has cleared up his farm, built a nice dwelling-house, barns and other out-buildings, and he and his wife are now enjoying the benefits of their industry and perseverance.

    Oliver F., second son of Alvirus Snow, was born in Auburn, and, in 1861, married Sarah M. Scudder, daughter of John B. Scudder. They have two children -- Alena L. and John G. Mr. Snow now owns and resides on the farm formerly owned by Russell Hall, and has buildings enough for a small village.

    Taylor A., youngest son of Alvirus Snow, was born in Auburn, and, in 18 -- married Miss Ella M. Callendar, of Milton, Ohio. They have three children -- Albert T., James C. and Adin C.

    Soon after their marriage Mr. Snow moved to Austin, Cook county, Illinois, where they now reside. Mr. Snow is a lawyer by profession.

    Oliver P. Hays came to Auburn in 1845, and in 1848 married Cordelia Snow, daughter of Alvirus Snow, and they had two children -- Mary E. and Laura C. He was a harness maker by trade, and lived at the corners, where his wife died in 1853. He married again, and in a few years sold and removed to Mantua station, where he now resides.

    James A. Nooney was born in Mantua, and is the son of Hezekiah Nooney, one of the first settlers of that township. He came to Auburn in 1878, and married Laura C., daughter of Oliver P. Hayes. They now reside at their grandfather Snow's, and help carry on the farm.

    Jacob Line was born in Pennsylvania in 1839, came to Auburn in 1859, and in 1861, at the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion, he enlisted in the Second Ohio volunteer cavalry, and served for three years. He was engaged

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  173

    in the following named battles: Knoxville, Bulls Gap, Blue Springs, Strawberry Plains, Morristown, Rutledge, Rogersville, Carter Station, Bean Station, Blaine Cross Roads, Cumberland Gap, Dandridge, and several other battles of less note. After the close of the war Mr. Line returned to Auburn, and in 1875 he was married to Emeroy O. Snow, daughter of Alonzo A. Snow. They have one child, named Josephine A. Mr. Line is engaged in manufacturing cheese, and owns what is known as the "Old Hood Factory," in the south part of the township, which was the first cheese factory built in Auburn.

    John Morey was born in Massachusetts, came to Auburn in 1817 or '18, and was married soon after to Dorcas Antisdale, daughter of George W. Antisdale, sr. They had the following children: Washington, Sylvenas, Linas, Franklin, Betsey, and Mary. Mr. Morey first settled in the north part of the township; changed places a few times; last settled on the State road, where Charles Crocker now resides; sold out to Rufus Pope; purchased a farm at Maple Grove, in Troy, and died at that place a few years since. His widow now resides at Cuyahoga Rapids.

    Rodger W. Antisdale came to Auburn in 1818. He was previously married to Elizabeth Butts. They have one daughter, whose name is Betsey. Mr. Antisdale settled on land just west of his brother, George W., on the Kirtland tract; cleared up his farm, and built the necessary buildings for comfort and convenience. He died on the same farm in 1853, and his wife died in 1865.

    George W. Antisdale came to Auburn, from the State of New York, in 1818. Mr. Antisdale married Polly Payne, and they had eight children -- Waterman, George W., Lucretia, Dorcas, John, Sophronia, Joseph, and Mary. Mr. Antisdale settled in the woods, on the south part of the Kirtland tract. He built a house and commenced clearing his land, but was taken sick and died in 1820, about two years from the time he first arrived. He was the first man that died in the township, and his funeral was the second in the township.

    Waterman, eldest son of George W. Antisdale, came to Auburn with his parents, and settled at the center, where he built a house and remained until his death, which occurred in 1854. He was a bachelor.

    George W., Jr., second son, also came to Auburn, with his parents, and in 1827 married Sally Greeley, daughter of Clark Greeley. They had thirteen children -- Silas G., Julius O., Lucretia E., Julian, Albert, Laura, Frances, Sally, Augusta E., Ozeas D., Betsey, Wallace, and Mary. Julian died at the age of nine years; Wallace, at the age of twenty-one years; Albert, in 1879, at the age

    of forty-two years. He had a family, and resided at Chagrin Falls, Ohio. George W. Antisdale continued on the farm where his father died; cleared it up; built a nice house, and all the necessary out-buildings, and remained there the most of the time, until 1865, when he rented his farm and moved to Chagrin Falls, where he now resides. Mrs. Antisdale, previous to her marriage, followed teaching school, in Auburn and the surrounding townships, and became quite noted in her profession in that early day.

    John, third son, also came to Auburn with his parents, and about 1834 married Mary Ann, also a daughter of Clark Greeley, and they had no children. Mr. Antisdale settled a short distance west of the center, and remained there until about 1871, when he rented his farm and removed to Chagrin Falls, where he now resides.

    Joseph, fourth son, married Miss Harriet Morse, of Concord, Ohio. They had two children -- Philo and Emily. Mr. Antisdale settled in Middlefield, and now resides in that township.

    Roswell Rice, was born in Cherry Valley, New York; was married in 1807 to Nancy, daughter of Amziah and Nancy Keyes, and came to Auburn in 1819. Was a blacksmith by trade. He purchased some land at the corners and built

    174                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    a shop, and worked there four or five years, then sold out and moved to Mantua; purchased some land and built a shop, and continued to work at his trade there until 1842, when he sold out. He came back to Auburn and purchased the old homestead, where his father-in-law, Keyes, first settled. Mr. Rice had ten children -- Edward C., Phila Ann, Porter, Nancy, Roswell, Harvey, Henry, Martha, Mary L., and Martin. He died in 1861.

    Joseph Bartholomew came to Auburn from the State of New York in 1819. He married Thankful Turner, and they had nine children, whose names are Mary, Martha, Sherman, Susan, Cyrenus, Sylvester, Drayton, Zerelda, and Lorette. Mr. Bartholomew settled first west of the center; moved from there to the farm since owned by William Quinn, sr., and from there farther east, and finally settled on the Kirtland tract, opposite the farm now owned by George W. Antisdale, built a house and barn, cleared up his farm, sold out in 1837 or '38, and moved to Michigan, where he died years since.

    Elijah Canfield, brother of Henry, was born in the State of New York; married Sally Decker, and they had one child, whose name was Sally. Mr. Canfield came to Auburn with his family in 1819, and settled in the woods on the Kirtland tract, a little east of where his brother Henry settled, cleared up his farm, and built all the necessary buildings for comfort and convenience. They died on the same farm several years since.

    William Crafts, third son of John Crafts, was born in the State of New York in 1801, came to Auburn about 1820, and married one Sarepta Colvin, and they raised one daughter -- Aurilla. Mr. Crafts settled in Auburn valley, cleared up his farm, and was killed in 1839, near Punderson's mill, in Newbury, by being thrown from a horse. Mrs. Crafts died in 1871.

    Joseph Webster was born in Massachusetts, and came from there to Auburn in the spring of 1820; was married in 1815 to Sally Webster, the widow of one of his brothers. Her maiden name was Sally Whaley. They raised nine children, whose names were Huldah, Arcena, Cyrintha, Stephen, James, Melinda, Susan, and Almeda. Mr. Webster settled in the northeast part of the township, on the Mills tract, and cleared up his farm. He died on this place in 1854, and his wife died about 1865.

    Hiram Webster came to Auburn with his step-father, and was married about 1830 to Elizabeth Upham, of Newbury, and they raised six children, whose names were Horace, Stephen, Eliza, Lucy Ann, Amos, and William. Mr. Webster purchased some land on the south side of the William Crafts farm, built a house and barn, and lived there for a series of years; finally sold out and moved to Michigan. His wife died there several years since.

    Lyman Webster also came to Auburn with his step-father, and purchased land in Newbury; was married about 1834 to Rachel Ann, daughter of Nicholas Silvernail. They raised several children, the names of the four oldest being Catharine J., William H., Hiram D., and Elizabeth A. There were two or three others, but we do not recollect. Mr. Webster traded his Newbury land for land in Auburn valley, and after occupying that several years, sold out to John B. Scudder, and moved with his family to Michigan, where he and his wife have since died.

    Ephraim Wright was born in the State of New York, and there married Lydia Le Munyon. They had nine children, whose names were Morrison, Diantha, Lester, Hannah, Alonzo, Edward, Plimpton, Maria, and Laura. Mr. Wright came to Auburn with his family in 1820, and settled at the center. He remained there until 1836, when he sold out to Gilbert Hinkley and moved to Michigan.

    Lester Wright, second son of Ephraim Wright, was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn with his parents in the fall of 1819, and in 1836 married

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  175

    Pauline Hayes, daughter of Eli Hayes, of Burton, Ohio. They had two children, whose names were Ephraim and Eli. Mr. Wright left Auburn in the fall of 1836, and settled in Michigan, where his wife died in 1843. He married again, and in 1867 his second wife died. He then came back to Burton and married a niece of his first wife; returned to his home in Michigan, and in 1874 she was killed by lightning. In 1875 Mr. Wright returned to Auburn again, and in 1877 married the widow of William Crafts, and now resides a half mile east of Auburn corners, on the place where Mr. Crafts died.

    Henry Canfield was born in the State of New York; was married in 1807 to Rachel Kent, and they raised a family of ten children, whose names were Hiram, Barton, Tyrus, Nathan B., Charles G., Hannah, George W., Henry, Jr., Henry K., and Albert B. He came to Auburn with his family in 1821, and purchased land southwest of the center, on what is known as Bridge creek. On this creek was a very good mill-seat, where he built the first saw-mill in Auburn He was a carpenter and joiner by trade, and worked at that business more or less, while clearing up his farm. In those early days the wolves and bears were plenty, and people used to make pens to shut up their sheep in during the night, to keep them from being killed. Mr. Canfield having some sheep, built a pen on the south side of his log house, making the house one side of the pen. One night, just before dark, the boys drove up the sheep, and put them in the pen as usual. Mr. Canfield being away, working at his trade. Some time, during the night, Mrs. Canfield heard a great commotion among the sheep, and getting out of bed as soon as possible, she opened the door, and to her horror, saw a huge bear in the pen with the sheep. She went back into the house, went up the ladder into the loft, where the boys were sleeping, and tried to wake them up, but in trying to wake them without making such a noise as to scare away the bear, she did not succeed very well, but supposing she had made them understand the situation, she went down to see how the sheep and bear agreed, and behold old bruin had got out of the pen, and left, minus his sheep, and, no doubt, minus the contents of three well loaded rifles which were in the house at the time, provided the boys could have been waked up in time. Another time, when Mr. Canfield was away at work, Mrs. Canfield woke up one night, and found the house on fire. The fire was in the chimney, which was built on the outside of the house, of stone and sticks, and plastered over inside and out with mud. In this case the sticks took fire, and as soon as Mrs. Canfield could wake up the boys, they commenced operations to put out the fire. There was water in the creek close by, but it was so extremely cold that they could not get it, and it was evident that the house must burn up, but just as that critical moment, her oldest son, Hiram, conceived the idea of prying off the stick part of the chimney, and in a moment he was up there with a hand spike, and by an almost superhuman effort (being then almost frozen) succeeded in prying off the burning sticks which fell into the snow beneath, and thereby saved the house from burning up. By this time, Mrs. Canfield was almost frozen to death, but by getting into bed with her children, she succeeded in saving her life; these were some of the hardships and perils of pioneer life in Auburn. Mr. Canfield sold his farm and mill in 1834, to Jude May, and went to Cuyahoga Rapids, where he purchased some land, built a house, a saw and grist-mill, and in 1837 or '38 sold out and moved to Medina, but soon after, returned, and purchased a farm in Mantua; lived there several years, and finally sold out and returned to Auburn, purchased a farm on the north and south center road, south of the center, and Mrs. Canfield died there in 1868, and Mr. Canfield died at the same place in 1869, about one mile southeast of where they first settled forty-eight years before.

    Hiram, eldest son of Henry Canfield, was born in the State of New York;

    176                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    came to Auburn with his parents, and, about 1828, was married to Sally Robinson, daughter of Asa Robinson, of Newbury. Mr. Canfield first purchased the farm now owned by S. L. Castlow, in the west part of the township, but soon sold out, and purchased some land at Cuyahoga Rapids; lived there a few years and then sold out, and purchased land in the Atwater tract, south of the corners, where he lived for many years; raised quite a large family, whose names were Francis, Henry, Henrietta, Mary, and Wade H. Mr. Canfield sold out in 1874 or 1875, and moved to Austin, Illinois, where he now resides.

    Barton, second son, died young.

    Tyrus, third son, came to Auburn with his father, and was married, in 1833, to Betsey, daughter of Rodger W. Antisdale, and they had seven children -- Adolphus G., Celestia E., Terrestia, Wellington D., Hannah E., Nathan B., and Lin‘us T. Soon after his marriage Mr. Canfield built him a house just west of his father-in-law, Antisdales, and resided there until his death, which occurred on the night of May 15, 1858, in the following tragical manner: There was a family in the neighborhood of doubtful character, and Mr. Canfield, and other neighbors, had tried to get them away, by buying them out, and, after every effort to get rid of them peaceably had failed, the neighbors consulted together, and finally concluded to remove them at all hazards; and with this object in view, they met at the dwelling place of this family on the night above mentioned, and, while in the act of carrying out their plans, Mr. Canfield was shot, by some unknown person in the house, and died in a few moments.
    Adolphus G., eldest son of Tyrus Canfield, was born in Auburn, and in 1860 married Augusta E., daughter of George W. Antisdale. They have two children -- Seneca E. and Cora H. Mr. Canfield now resides on the farm formerly owned by Joseph Bartholomew.

    Wellington D., second son of Tyrus, was born in Auburn, and in 1867 married Melissa, daughter of Emerson Parker, of Bainbridge. They have two children -- Mertie and Henry. Mr. Canfield now resides in Kansas.

    N. Byron, third son of Tyrus, was born in Auburn, and in 1873 married Julia F., daughter of G. L. Sprague. They have one child -- Estella. Mr. Canfield resides in the old homestead, where his father died.

    Lineaus T., fourth son, is unmarried, is a dentist by trade, and now resides at Chagrin Falls, Ohio.

    D. N., son of Nathan B. Canfield, was born in Hiram, and was married in 1858 to Mary L., daughter of J. Parker Bartholomew. They have two children -- Wade H. and Effie. Mr. Canfield now resides near Thorp's mills, in the southeast part of the township.

    Nathan B., was married at Cuyahoga Rapids, to Lucy Ann Blair, but left there many years since, and now resides in some western State.

    Charles G. married Laura Olds, about 1840, and now resides in Troy.

    George W. married Jenett Merryfield, and now resides in Cleveland, Ohio.

    Henry, Jr., was born in Auburn. When about two years old he went with his brother to the State of New York on a visit; while there he was taken sick and died, and was buried by the side of his brother Barton, who had previously died in that State.

    Henry R. was born in Auburn. He married a daughter of Chester Reed. They had one child -- Ora E. Mr. Canfield died suddenly while at work in the harvest field, many years since.

    Albert B., we think, married in Auburn, but now resides in some western State.

    Francis, eldest son of Hiram Canfield, married Mary Harmon, of Mantua. They had two children -- Hattie and Frank. Frank died when about two years old. Mr. Canfield settled west of his father, on land formerly owned by Charles

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  177

    Hinckley, and lived there a few years. In 1872 he sold out and moved to Austin, Illinois, where he now resides.

    Henry married Emily, daughter of Elias H. Fish. He died, about 1864, in the State of Indiana. His widow married Orestes F. Wood, and she now resides in Brookfield, Missouri.

    Wade H. married some years since, and now resides in Cleveland, Ohio. He is a lawyer by profession.

    J. Palmer Bartholomew was born in the State of New York; was married in 1821 to Mary Wilson. They had thirteen children, nine of whom are now living. Their names are Alvirus P., Perleyett, Julia Ann, Chauncey A., Nelson S., Betsey A., Mary L., Alonzo D., and Thomas C. Mr. Bartholomew came to Auburn in 1821, and settled on the Mills tract, in the northwest part of the township, built a house, lived there one year, and sold out. He next purchased some land farther south, on the Root tract, where he lived three years. He then sold out and purchased land near Henry Canfield's mills, on the Kirtland tract, and lived there eight years. Sold out again, and purchased lot number thirty-seven, on the Atwater tract, and there made a final stop. Mr. Bartholomew was a blacksmith by trade, and while clearing up his land worked more or less at his trade. He in due time cleared up his farm, built a nice dwelling house, and other necessary buildings for comfort and convenience, and died in 1863.

    Alvirus P., eldest son of J. Palmer, was born in the State of New York, came to Auburn with his parents, was married several years since, and moved to some western State.

    Chauncey A., second son, was born in Auburn; was married several years since to a daughter of Chauncey Winchell, and we think they have no children. They reside in Mantua, Ohio.

    Nelson S., third son, was born in Auburn; was married in 1865 to Eliza Webster, daughter of Hiram and Elizabeth Webster. They have raised three children, whose names are Henry D., Emma G., and Mary E. Mr. Bartholomew resides on the first east and west road from the south line of the township, on the old homestead where his father died, and his mother resides with him. His first wife died in 1870, and he was married again in 1872 to Amy P., daughter of Ransom Brown. Mr. Bartholomew was living in the State of Michigan at the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion, and enlisted in the Fifth volunteer cavalry, of that State, in 1862, and served until the close of the war. He was in the battles of Winchester, Gettysburg, and in all the battles fought by Kilpatrick; was in the battle of the Wilderness, Winchester, Dinwiddie Courthouse, etc. In all, he was in eleven hard fought battles, beside several severe skirmishes; had two horses killed under him in action, was wounded once in the leg slightly, and very severely wounded in the shoulder at the battle of Dinwiddie Courthouse, from which he has never fully recovered, although he has never applied for a pension. Soon after the close of the war Mr. Bartholomew returned to Auburn, and is located as above stated.

    Alonzo D., fourth son of J. Palmer, was also born in Auburn; was married several years since, and now resides in some western State.

    Thomas C., fifth and youngest son, was also born in Auburn. He was married in 1860 to Addie J. Quinn, daughter of John Quinn. They have two children, whose names are Zeno S. and Grant P. Mr. Bartholomew now resides west of the center, and owns the farm formerly owned by Luke Barney.

    Charles Hinckley was born in the State of New York, in 1793; was married about 1816 to Nancy Turner, and in 1822 came to Auburn. Settled first on the Kirtland tract, west of the corners; lived there a few years, and then sold

    178                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    out, and purchased a farm on the second east and west road, south of the corners; cleared up his farm, and in 1838 sold out to Daniel Washburn, and purchased a farm in Troy, at what was known in those days as "Fox's corners." Mr. and Mrs. Hinckley had seven children -- Horace D., James B., Porter L., Avery W., Nancy C., Leonara B., and Gilbert T. Mr. Hinckley died in 1842, and Mrs. Hinckley in 1866. Mr. Hinckley was the second justice of peace elected in Auburn.

    Horace D. was born in the State of New York, in 1817; came to Auburn with his parents, and married Sylvia, daughter of Moses Bradley. He now resides in Mantua.

    James B. was born in the State of New York, in 1818; came to Auburn with his parents, and married (we do not know the lady's name); has a family of several children, and now resides in Minnesota.

    Porter L., third son of Charles Hinckley, was born in the State of New York, and came to Auburn with his parents in 1822. Married Louisa Robinson for his first wife, and his second wife was Abigail Curtis, of Chester. Both died without heirs, and are buried in Auburn. Mr. Hinckley went to Iowa many years since, and there married his third wife. They had two children -- Louisa A. and Nancy E. Mr. Hinckley died in Minnesota, in 1877.

    Avery W. was born in the State of New York, and came to Auburn with his parents, in 1822. Married Jane Wright, and had one child -- Clara. He died in Mantua in 1862, and is buried in the cemetery at Auburn corners.

    Gilbert T. was born in 1835. In 1859 he married Emily A., daughter of Dudley Fox, of Troy. They have no children, and now reside at Mantua corners.

    Erastus Eggleston was born at Hebron, Washington county, New York, January 7, 1779, and was married in Middlesex, Ontario county, New York, October 26, 1817, to Mary E. Goodwin. They came from Middlesex to Auburn in November, 1823, and settled on what is known as Auburn valley. They raised a family of eleven children -- Lucy Ann., Almira S., Samuel G., Mary J., Eliab D., Daniel E., Alvirus F., Alvira L. Edwin R. Susan L., and Oceana R. Mr. Eggleston lived in Auburn valley several years, and finally sold out there and purchased a farm a short distance southeast of the corners. While he was boiling sap in a caldron kettle, one spring, beside a log, as was the custom in early days, one of his children (Alvirus) jumped upon the log and ran along by the kettle, slipped and fell in, and was so burned that he died within a few hours. Mr. Eggleston remained at this place a few years, then sold out and moved to Pioneer, Williams county, Ohio, and died there in 1862. We learn that his widow is still living at that place, and the most of the family live near her.

    Samuel G. Eggleston, eldest son of Erastus Eggleston, was born in Auburn, Ohio, April 10, 1824. He learned the cooper trade of his uncle, Daniel Goodwin -- if we remember right -- worked at his trade a few years, and was married

    September 4, 1845, to Mary Silvernail, and soon after turned his attention to farming, following that business successfully until his wife's health failed. He then moved from Auburn to Pioneer, Williams county, Ohio, purchased a piece of land there, cleared it up, and built a house and other necessary buildings. His wife's health gradually failed, until October 1, 1868, when she died. Mr. Eggleston married again, and we learn has some children, but we do not know their names.

    Russell Hall was born in Rhode Island, and at the age of seven years went with his parents to Massachusetts. About 1806 or 1807 he married Polly Orcutt. Remained there a short time after he was married, and then moved to Chenang, New York; lived there awhile, then moved to Ontario county, New York, remaining there until 1817, when he moved with his family to Ohio,

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  179

    stopping first in Chardon and remaining there six weeks; then started south with horses and wagon, going the first day as far as Judge Vene Stone's; started second day in good season, and arrived that night at Mantua, near the north line. He then moved to the center of Auburn, being in the year 1824. He then purchased land on the Kirtland tract, near the center, and remained there three years. Sold this land to David Wright, and soon purchased a farm on the State road, north of the corners, of Isaac Mills, it being the farm now owned by Oliver F. Snow. Mr. Hall remained on this farm until 1839, when he sold it and purchased another on the center road, east of the corners, of Elliot Crafts, and died there in 1861. His widow remained on the old homestead until her death, which occurred in 1869, she having lived there thirty years.

    Peter O., eldest son of Russell Hall, was born in Massachusetts, and came to Auburn, with his parents, in 1824. In 1839 he married Lucy Ann, daughter of James Dutton, and they had five children -- Lewis S., Lucina, Zack, Corwin and Wallace W. After Mr. Hall was married he bought his father's farm, and lived there until 1844, when he traded farms with William Woods, moved on the same, and has resided there ever since. He has purchased other lands until he now has three hundred and twenty-three acres.

    Lewis S., eldest son of Peter O. Hall, was was in Auburn, and in 1863 married Abbie Donaldson. They had two children -- Harry and Bert. Mr. and Mrs. Hall, not living very happily together in their marriage relations, mutaully agreed to separate. Mr. Hall obtained a divorce, married again, and now resides in Madison, Lake county, Ohio.

    Lucina, only daughter of Peter O. Hall, was married, in 1871, to Alfred Fowler, of Bainbridge; they have two children, and they now reside Newbury, Ohio.

    Zack was born in Auburn, and in 1877 married Lillian E., daughter of William A. Messenger. They have two children.

    Mr. Hall now resides on the farm where his grand parents died.

    Corwin was born in Auburn, and in 1879 was married to Miss Ella H. James. They have no children. Mr. Hall resides with his father, and helps to carry on the farm.

    Wallace W. is unmarried, and resides at home with his parents.

    Russell Hall, Jr., second son of Russell H., was born in Mantua, came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1849 was married to Charlotte, daughter of Benjamin Crafts. They have two children, whose names are Lydia and Lorenzo. Mr. Hall first settled on the old homestead (where his father and mother died), and remained a short time, then purchased a farm in Auburn valley of one John Dinturff, and resided there several years. He sold out and moved back on the old homestead farm, and stayed two years; then sold the farm to his brother, Peter O., and moved to Chagrin Falls, where he now resides.
    Benjamin Barney was born in some eastern State, and probably married in the State of New York, as he came from that State to Auburn, with his family, about 1825, and purchased land on the Kirtland tract. Mr. Barney had a daughter, whose name was Nancy, and we think other children, but do not remember certain. Mr. Barney lived in town until about 1839, when he sold out to Walter McLouth and moved to Dayton, Ohio, and we believe they are both dead.

    Luke Barney, brother of Benjamin, was also born in some eastern State, and was married in Ellisburgh, New York, to Matilda Gore, sister of Luke Gore, of Newbury, Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Barney had fifteen children -- Benjamin, Leverett, Lemuel, Lorancey, Miranda, Mariah, Margett, Cyrintha, Melissa, Lucus, Clarissa, Emily, Orrissa, Lafayette W., and Livingston. All of the male part of this family of children are now dead.

    180                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Luke and Benjamin both came to Auburn about the same time, and settled

    near each other. Luke remained here until about 1862, when he sold out to Julius Howard, and purchased land west of Cleveland, at or near Rocky river, and they died there several years since.

    Leverett, eldest son of Luke Barney, was married to Emeline Wing, daughter of Tyler Wing, about 1340. They had four children -- Montgomery, Lemuel, Franklin, and Tyler. Mr. Barney left town several years since, and died in Ashtabula county, Ohio. His widow resides in Iowa.

    Curtiss Luther came to Auburn several years since, and married Lorancey Barney, daughter of Luke Barney. They had two children -- Marian and Helen. Mr. Luther resided in several different places in town for several years, and finally moved to Michigan, and now resides in that State.
    In 1825 Benjamin F. Chamberlain moved into Auburn and settled on the east and west center road, near the west line of the township. He came from the State of New York here, but was born in the State of Connecticut. He was married in 1822, to Lydia Hungerford, and they raised seven children -- H. G., William H., Louisa M., Lydia B., Clemenza, Addison B., and Spencer F. 'Mr. Chamberlain's mother, and his brothers, John and Joseph, and his wife's father and mother, all came from the State of New York together -- came through with teams, there being no other way to travel at that time. The roads were very bad, and they made very slow progress from where they started to Buffalo, and much slower from there to the end of their journey. His account of the journey from Buffalo is as follows: "They started in the morning, crossed Buffalo creek and traveled three miles and put up for the night. The next day they traveled about four miles, and the next morning got ready to start and were told they could not get through the Cattaraugus swamp on that road, so they turned to the left and took a circuitous route through the woods, and at night came to an Indian village, of the Cattaraugus tribe. There was a mission house at that place. Some slept in the wagons over night, and some slept with the Indians in their log huts; they were well treated by the Indians, and had a good night's rest. They started again the next morning, and some of the Indians volunteered to go with them, and show them where to cross the Cattaraugus creek. They reached the creek during the day, and under the guidance of the Indians forded the same in safety, and reached the lake shore road again that night, having traveled but a short distance that day, the roads being very bad. The next day they pursued their journey, with the same results -- short distance traveled and very tired when night came -- and so they traveled on until they reached Leroy, where there had been some land located for Mr. Chamberlain, which, on viewing, he did not like, and soon traded it for land in Bainbridge; sold that soon after, and purchased land and settled in Auburn, as above stated."

    There was a small log house on the land when Mr. Chamberlain purchased it, and after moving in, and sleeping over night, he got up early in the morning, and, as Mr. Chamberlain stated it, the first business of importance that he did that day was to cut his foot so bad that he was confined to the house until the first day of April following -- something over five months -- and to add to his misfortune, about the time he cut his foot, he was attacked with a violent fever, and obliged to go back to the State of New York, where he came from, and that lasted him four years before it broke. But, notwithstanding all his misfortune, he kept at work clearing his land, paid for his first purchase, and, by his industry and perseverance, he has added to his possessions, until he now owns five hundred and seventy acres of land, and his is one of the farms owned in Auburn that has not changed hands for the past fifty-three years. Mr. Chamberlain's wife died in 1869.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  181

    William H. was married several years since, and now resides in Russell. One of the daughters married Harvey Washburn, and, we think, died several years since.

    Addison B. is unmarried. Resides with his father, and helps to carry on the farm.

    Spencer F. was born in Auburn; was married in 1870, to Lucinda Durfee, and, about a year and six months after their marriage, she went to an orchard some distance from the house, after some apples, and, while there, was attacked by a vicious bull, and so badly injured that she died in a few hours after.
    Gadadias Stafford came to Auburn from the State of New York in 1827, was married to Ludia Stafford about 1815, and they had nine children -- Reuben, Elmer, Abram, Zilpha, Huldah, Hannah, Anson, Joshua, and Susannah. He purchased land of Perkins, just east of the center, on the Kirtland tract, and resided there until 1838, when he sold out and moved to Chardon, and from there to Michigan, where he died in 1865, and his widow died in 1879. We believe this family of children all reside in the western States, except Reuben, who is now living in Chardon, Ohio.
    James Dutton was born in the State of New Hampshire; went from there to the State of Vermont, and, in 1812 married Miss Clarissa Lathrop. After their marriage, Mr. Dutton moved to St. Lawrence county, in the State of New York, where he remained for several years. He then moved to Canandagua, Ontario county, where he remained a year or two, and, in 1829, came to Auburn, with his family, and first stopped on a farm on the first east and west road, south of the corners, owned by John Morey, where he remained about four months. He then moved a short distance farther west, on to the farm then owned by the heirs of George W. Antisdale, where he remained two years and a half. He then purchased a farm, west of the corners, of Leicester Perkins, and as part pay for said farm he built for said Perkins the building at the corners, now known as the "old red store." Mr. Dutton was a carpenter and joiner by trade, and worked at that business the most of the time, leaving his sons at home to carry on the farm. Mr. and Mrs. Dutton had a family of nine children, whose names are: John H., Betsey H., Lucy Ann, Charles O., Rufus, James T., George E., Clarissa E., and William C. In the winter of 1833-34, Mr. Dutton prepared the east room of his dwelling-house for a school-room, hired a teacher, and his own children, together with a few of the neighboring children, composed the school. This was the first select school taught in Auburn. Mr. Dutton followed working at his trade until about 1847, when his health began to fail, and he turned his attention to matters at home, where he built a new dwelling-house and other necessary buildings for convenience. He died in 1858. His widow remained on the old homestead the most of the time after his death; but while living with her daughter, Mrs. Rufus Pettibone, in Bainbridge, in 1863, she died.

    John H., eldest son of James Dutton, was born in Vermont; came to Auburn with his parents, and, in 1834, married Miss Prudence Wheeler, of Burton, Ohio. They had three children, whose names were: James B., Ellen and Frederick. Mr. Dutton was a moulder by trade, and, while working in Cleveland, in 1857, was taken sick and died. His widow and family soon after moved to Michigan, and she and the eldest son died there some years since. Mr. and Mrs. Dutton were both brought back to Auburn, and were buried in the cemetery, at the center of the town.

    Charles O., second son, was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn with his parents, and, in 1840, was married to Miss Tempa L. Barnes, daughter of Hosea Barnes. They had five children, whose names were: Merritt, Antoinette, Myron H., Fayette and Ann L. Mr. Dutton, after his marriage, first

    182                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    settled north of his father's, on land owned in an early day by Isaac Butts, and lived on that farm nine years, when he sold out to his father, and purchased a farm on the State road, of one Nathaniel Stone; moved on to that farm, and his wife died there in 1863. In 1864, Mr. Dutton married, for his second wife, the widow of William Ferris, of Newbury, Ohio, and they remained on the farm until 1872, when he rented his place to his sons, Myron H. and Fayette, and moved to Chardon, O., where he now resides. Mr. Dutton held several township offices while residing in the town, among which were: constable, trustee, assessor, and clerk. Mr. Dutton learned the carpenter and joiner's trade of his father, and now follows that business for an occupation.

    Rufus, third son, was born in the State of New York, and came to Auburn with his parents. His autobiography will be found in another part of this history.

    James T. was born in the State of New York, and came to Auburn with his parents in 1829. He was married in 1845, to Harriet C., daughter of Hosea Barnes. They had two children: Eleanor D. and Clarance H. Soon after they were married, they settled north of the center, on the farm now owned by E. Y. Hannum, lived there two years, then purchased a farm a short distance east of the center, moved there, and lived nine years; sold out and purchased a farm on the State road, south of the corners, of one Asahel Green, moved there, and were living on that place when Dr. Dutton died in 1869. His widow, daughter and son still reside there, and the son carries on the farm. Mr. Dutton held several township offices, among which were constable, trustee and assessor.

    George E. was born in the State of New York, and came to Auburn with his parents. In 1852 he married Sophia A., daughter of Benjamin Crafts. They had two children whose names were Byron G. and Clara S. Clara S. died young. Mr. Dutton lived in several different places in the township, after his marriage, and worked at the carpenter and joiner's trade. In 1856 he purchased the old homestead, and turned his attention to farming, which he has followed ever since. He has held the office of justice of the peace two terms, and the office of assessor one term.

    William C., youngest son, came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1854 was married to Lima A. Ellis, daughter of Horace Ellis. They have no children. Mr. Dutton purchased his farm, on which he now resides, of his brother, Charles O. Dutton, being the first farm on the first north and south road, west of Auburn corners.
    Merritt Dutton, eldest son of Charles O. Dutton, was born in Auburn. When the first call for seventy-five thousand men was issued by the president to put down the rebellion down, Mr. Dutton enlisted, but before the company in which he enlisted got ready to report at headquarters, the seventy-five thousand had responded, and Mr. Dutton was discharged, and came home. Not being satisfied with his experience, on the call for three months' recruits, the same year (1862) he again enlisted in the service, and was taken prisoner at Harper's Ferry; and after some two months or more, was paroled, and again returned home. This was in the fall of 1862. In 1863 he engaged in the government service, and went to Nashville Tennessee, where he remained until August, 1864, when he again enlisted, and went into the naval service, "Mississippi squadron," and was stationed a short distance above New Orleans, where he remained until the close of the war. He then returned home, and in 1866 married Jennett A. Mott, daughter of Zebdial Mott. They have had four children, one of whom died young. The names of the three living are Charles M., Dial M., and Frank A. Mr. Dutton lived in different parts of the township until 1869, when he moved to the State of Missouri, where he remained until 1876; he then returned with his family, and now owns and resides on a farm in the southeast part of Troy.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  183

    Myron was born in Auburn. He married a Miss Blair, daughter of Roswell Blair, of Newbury, Ohio. They now reside in Newbury, and have one or two children.

    Fayette was born in Auburn. In 1872 he married Ellen M. Ward, daughter of Marcus Ward, of Russell, Ohio. They have two children, whose names are Sarah A. and Jesse F. Soon after their marriage, Mr. Dutton rented his father's farm, two and a quarter miles north of the corners, and there lost his wife in 1878. He married, for his second wife, Miss Malinda Woodard, and they have one child, whose name is C. O. Mr. Dutton still resides on his father's farm.

    Byron G., only son of George Dutton, was born in Auburn, and in 1877 was married to Mary C., daughter of Lyman G. Sprague. They have one child, whose name is Lepha J. Mr. Dutton resides with his father, and helps carry on the farm. He is now serving his second term as township clerk.
    Daniel Butts was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn in 1829, and was married in 1832 to Eunice Keyes, daughter of Amaziah Keyes. They had four children, all born in Auburn, whose names were, Rosina M., Aldrich F., Ambrose A., and Almina N. Mr. Butts first purchased a farm on the center road, east of Auburn corners, built a house, and lived there some three or four years. In the spring of 1833 he sold out to William Crafts, and purchased one hundred acres of land on the State road, south of the corners, built the necessary buildings for comfort and convenience, cleared up his farm, and paid for it by his own industry and economy. He died in 1874. Mr. and Mrs. Butts lived together almost forty years, with their family circle unbroken.

    Aldrich F., eldest son of Daniel Butts, was married to Augusta King in 1850. They have no children. They now reside in St. Thomas, Canada, where Mr. Butts has a good position as superintendent of schools.

    Ambrose, second son, was married in 1863 to Libbie Henderson. They had one child -- Dio W. Mr. Butts was reputed to be the strongest man that ever lived in Auburn, having lifted the enormous weight of two thousand seven hundred and thirty-seven and three-fourths pounds dead weight. He died in 1870.
    Daniel R. Bray was born in the State of New York; came to Ohio, and first settled in Russell township. He was married in 1854 to Rosina M. Butts, daughter of Daniel Butts. Soon after his marriage he came to Auburn, and purchased a farm on the first east and west road, south of the corners, where he resided several years. They had three children, one of whom died quite young. The names of those living are Gilbert A. and Daniel S. Mr. Bray rented his farm a few years since, and purchased a house and lot at Auburn corners, where he now resides.

    Ashley Crafts, eldest son of Thomas Crafts, was born in the State of New York, and about 1829 married Clarissa Scuddew, and, we think, came to Auburn the same year, and settled in the valley, half a mile north of the east and west center road. Mr. and Mrs. Crafts had one child, whose name was Susan. Mr. Crafts was a carpenter and joiner by trade, and worked at that business some years. About 1833 or '34 Ashley, Alanson T. and Benjamin Crafts, built a saw-mill on Ashley's land, and a few years after Ashley built a furnace near the saw-mill, and carried on the furnace business several years, during which time he invented the "Rising Star" cooking stove, got it patented, and made considerable money in manufacturing that and other kinds of stoves, plows, hollow-ware, etc.

    About 1834 Mr. Crafts experienced religion, and joined the Protestant Methodist church, but after a few years left that church and joined the Free Will Baptists, and became a noted preacher of that denomination. Mr. Crafts left Auburn several years since, and we do not know where he now resides.

    Alanson T., second son, was also born in the State of New York, and about

    184                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    1830 married Ann Hoard, daughter of John Hoard, and we think came to Auburn the same year, and settled in the valley, near his brother, Ashley. Mr. and Mrs. Crafts had eight children -- Jeffrey T., Sarah, Lovena, Olive, Malvina, Lorette, Charlotte, and Susan. Mr. Crafts sold out several years since, and purchased land at Cuyahoga Rapids, and now resides at that place.

    Arastus R., third son, was also born in the State of New York, and about 1831 married Betsey Fairbanks, came to Auburn the same year, and also settled in the valley, where he lived a few years, then sold out, and also moved to Cuyahoga Rapids. Mr. and Mrs. Crafts had three children -- Darwin, Alvira and Leona. Mrs. Crafts died in 1879.

    Benjamin, fourth son, was also born in the State of New York, came to Auburn in 1829, and married Elsey H. Whitcomb, daughter of Israel Whitcomb, who was one of the first settlers of Troy (then Welshfield). They had eleven children -- Charlotte P., Sophia A., Miles, Abram H., Martha J., Paulina M., Milas B., Ellen M., Susan R., Alice C., and Jerome. The first Miles, and Jerome, the oldest and youngest sons, died young.

    Mr. Crafts first settled on the east and west Center road, east of the corners; cleared up his farm, and built a nice dwelling-house and buildings. In 1845 his house took fire and burned to the ground. He soon built another on the same spot, and remained there until 1859, when he sold out to his two sons and purchased the farm formerly owned by Dr. A. B. Hoard -- moved there and remained until 1857; sold again, and purchased thirty acres of the old farm where he first settled, in 1830; moved and lived there until 1872, when he again sold, and purchased the farm north of the corners, formerly owned by Morgan Orton, where he now resides.

    Abram H., second son, was born in Auburn, and was married, in 1858, to Marion E., daughter of Dudley Fox, of Troy. They had two children -- Addie P. and Seigel A. Soon after his marriage he purchased the old homestead of his father, and died there, in 1866.

    Miles B., third son, was born in Auburn, and in 1864 married Julia F., daughter of Augustus Gilbert, of Newbury, Ohio. They have one child -- Arthur. Mr. Crafts first settled on a part of the old homestead -- lived there a few years, then sold, and purchased the farm where his father now resides, which he sold to him in 1872, and from there moved to Austin, Cook county, Illinois, where he now resides.

    Ellen M. is unmarried, and lives at home with her parents. The rest of the daughters are all married, and but two of them, Sophia and Pauline, now live in this township.

    Martha J. married Stephen Houghton, and they now reside in Newburgh, Chio.

    Susan R. married Henry Webber, and they now reside in Iowa.

    Alice C. married C. Kellogg, of Troy, and resides in Parkman, Ohio.
    Jacob Ensign, son of Jacob and Polly Ensign, was born in Pittsfield, Massachusetts, in 1787; was married, in 1812, to Lucy Brooker, and they had nine children -- Sally M., Harvey N., James B., Lucy J., Joel R., Hannah M., Harriet P., Clarissa M. and Zilpha L. Mr. Ensign came to Auburn, with his family, in 1828, and settled on the State road, one mile and a quarter north of Auburn corners, and resided on the same farm until 1873. His wife died, March 4, 1873, on the old homestead. Soon after her death he sold out, and ever since has resided with his children. He is now ninety-two years of age, and bids fair to live a number of years yet; being almost as spry as a boy, and twice as jovial. He has never called a doctor but three times for himself, up to this date (September, 1879), and was never laid up with sickness, only a day or two at a time, in his whole life.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  185

    Hervey N. Ensign, eldest son of Jacob Ensign, was born in Massachusetts; came to Auburn with his parents, and, about 1836, was married to Diana, daughter of John Hoard. They had one child -- Patience O. Previous to their marriage Mr. Ensign purchased land, on the Mills tract, in the north part of the township, on which they settled. Mrs. Ensign died there in 1874. In 1877, Mr. Ensign married, for his second wife, Vielda Smith, whose maiden name was Sweet, daughter of Henry and Joicy Sweet, and they now reside on the same farm where Mr. Ensign first settled.

    Leonard Hopkins was born in Parkman, Ohio; came to Auburn several years since, and married Patience O., daughter of Hervey N. Ensign. They have one child, a son, but we do not remember his name. They now reside in Middlefield, Ohio.

    James B., second son of Jacob Ensign, was born in Massachusetts; came to Auburn with his parents, and, in 1837, married Miss Abigail Hoard, daughter of John Hoard, and they have four children -- John H., Nancy M., Sally Ann, and Theresa M. Mr. Ensign purchased a farm in Auburn valley, soon after he was married, and remained there until about eight or ten years ago, when he rented his farm to his son, and moved to Chagrin Falls, and now resides at that place.

    John H. Ensign, only son of James B. Ensign, was born in Auburn, and was married in 1868 to Jennie P. Hopkins, daughter of Matthew A. Hopkins, of Parkman, Ohio. They have two children, Nellie J. and Ernest. Mr. Ensign resides in Auburn valley.

    Joel married Sabra Smith, daughter of James Smith, of Newbury, Ohio. They had a family of children, but we do not know their names. Mr. Ensign moved to Michigan with his family several years since.
    John Hoard, if we remember correctly, was born in Rhode Island, came to the State of New York in an early day, and there married Patience McNeer. They had eight children, whose names were Alva B., Celestia, Anna, Charles, Diana, Abigail, Amos, and Nancy, He came to Auburn with his family about 1830, and settled in Auburn valley, on the Cowles tract, where he remained until 1848, when he sold out, and moved west of the State road, and lived with his youngest son until he died in 1854. Mrs. Hoard survived her husband a number of years, but died several years since.

    Alva B. Hoard, eldest son of John Hoard, was born in the State of New York in 1808; was married in 1831, to Betsey Silvernail. They moved to Auburn in 1832, and took up their residence in Auburn valley. They had four children, whose names were James M., Eliza J., Mary M., and Charles H. Mr. Hoard was a physician of the botanic school, and had an extensive practice in Auburn and the surrounding townships. Dr. Hoard manufactured a liniment which was known in those early days, as Hoard's liniment, and was called one of the best liniments then in use. The doctor lost his wife in 1847, and was married again the same year, to Mary E. Wells. They had one child, whose name was William R. Dr. Hoard resided in Auburn until 1857, when he sold out, and moved to Wisconsin and Iowa, where he practiced several years, when he returned to Ohio, and is now practicing medicine at Chagrin Falls, Ohio.

    Charles Hoard came to Auburn with his parents, and was married in 1836, to Lucy J., daughter of Jacob Ensign. They had five children, whose names were Permelia, John R., Charles N., Clarissa, and Frank. Mr. Hoard lived in different places in the township for several years, finally sold out and moved to Newbury, and died there in 1862. His widow is still living, and resides in Michigan.

    Amos Hoard came to Auburn with his parents, and was married about 1845, to Susan Higley. He moved to Mantua about 1855, and was killed by lightning soon after taking up his residence in that township.

    186                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    John Brown came to Auburn from New York or some eastern State; was married to Polly Hayden, and they raised nine children, whose names were Harriet, Maria, Jacob, William, Laura, William, second, Jacob, second, George, and Mary. Mr. Brown came to Auburn about 1830, and settled on the same road with the Antisdales, only farther west, on the Kirtland tract, cleared up his farm, and built a nice house and barns. Mr. and Mrs. Brown both died on the old homestead--Mr. Brown in 1871, and Mrs. Brown in 1875 -- having lived there upwards of forty years.

    Henry Capron was born in some eastern State, came to Auburn about 1835, and about 1838 married Laura Brown, daughter of John Brown, and they had three children -- Sabrina, Lovina, and Julia. Mr. Capron settled on the north part of the Root tract, cleared up his farm, built a nice dwelling house, barns, etc, and died in 1866. His widow has died since. Mr. Capron held several different offices while living in town, and if we remember correctly, was one of the acting justices at the time of his death.
    Leicester Perkins was born in the State of Massachusetts. He came to Ohio with his parents in 1806, and they were forty days on the road. They came by the way of Pittsburgh, and were on the Alleghany mountains on the day of the great eclipse in that year. The old gentleman, Perkins, and family, put up with Judge Atwater (where Mantua station is now located), on the night of the thirty-ninth day of their journey, and next day arrived at Aurora, the place of their destination, and settled some two miles northeast of the center. Leicester worked for his father and helped to clear up his farm, and at the age of eighteen years his father gave him his time, end he commenced chopping and clearing land by the job, and at the end of five years he had earned and laid by the sum of one thousand dollars. At the age of twenty-three he married Nancy Blish, she being the twelfth child in her father's family. They have four children -- Matilda, Harriet, Lorette, and Paulina, all of whom are now living. Mr. Perkins came from Aurora to Auburn in 1830, and settled on the east and west center road, west of Auburn corners, farmed it for three years, then sold out to James Dutton, and in 1832 he built what is known as the "Red store," at the corners; moved his family into the west part of the building, and rented the east part to Charles Woods, for a store, which he occupied for one year. Mr. Perkins then went into the mercantile business himself, sold goods there ten years, then sold out and purchased the farm joining the one he first owned, on the west, and now resides at that place. Mr. Perkins, by his industry and economy, has gained quite a fortune, and he and his wife are enjoying the full benefits of it in their old age. It will be seen by the above that Mr. Perkins was great on the chopping and clearing, and he offers to lay a wager of fifty dollars that he himself, individually, has chopped and cleared more land than any man in Geauga county. Some years since Mr. Perkins served one term as county commissioner.

    Job Warren was born in the State of New Jersey, was married in 1825 to Eliza Burden, and they had thirteen children -- Nancy, George, Thomas, Mahlon, Charles, Job, Eliza, Patience, Adaline, Emmor, Edith, Sarah, and Samuel. Mr. Warren came to Auburn in 1830, and settled in the northwest corner of the township, cleared up a large farm, built a large house and barns, and now resides on the same farm. His wife died in 1866, and Job married again, but was not much comforted.

    Charles Warren was accidentally killed by his brother Mahlon, in 1849, under the following circumstances: They were out in the woods, north of the house, hunting, and came to a small stream of water. Charles walked across the, stream on a log, and just as he stepped off the log, and Mahlon was in the act of stepping on to cross over, his gun went off and killed Charles, almost instantly.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  187

    Mahlon lived some years after; married Amy, daughter of Ransom Brown, and died, without heirs, in 1855.

    Job Warren, Jr., enlisted in the war of the Rebellion, in 1861, and was killed in action the same year, at Bloomfield, Missouri.

    Emmor Warren was born in Auburn, and in 1869 was married to Kate Page; they have had four children -- Edward J., Frederick J., Enfield J., and Lucy M. He now resides on the old homestead, and his father resides with him.

    Samuel, youngest son of Job Warren, is married, and resides in the west part of the township.

    Nehemiah Webster was born in Massachusetts in 1791; was married in 1819 to Sally Steadman; came to Ohio in 1821, and settled in Fowler, Trumbull county; sold out there in 1831, came to Auburn, and settled in Auburn valley. They had three children -- Gilbert, Huldah and Alvira. About 1850 Mr. Webster sold out and moved into Troy; then to Cuyahoga Rapids, and to Thompson, where he lost his wife, in 1875. Mr. Webster soon after sold his farm there, and now resides with his daughter, Mrs. Moody White, at Mantua corners, Portage county, being now eighty-eight years of age.
    John Barber came to Auburn with old Uncle William Quinn, from Pennsylvania, in 1831. He built a house on lot seven, Atwater tract, which was one of the first built on that tract. When John came in he brought a very large white bull with him, well broke to harness. One day John harnessed up the old bull, hitched him to his one-horse wagon, and went up to Auburn corners after some articles for the use of his family, and, on the way home, the old bull got on a rampage, either from seeing some other cattle that he was anxious to get with, or some other cause, John never could exactly tell, the old bull, however, made a break and ran, throwing John out of the wagon, and tearing things to pieces generally. On being interviewed next day by his neighbors, as to his calamity, John said he pulled on the lines as hard as he could, and kept saying "whoa, Bully! whoa, Bully!!" but old Bully didn't whoa worth a cent. John left the town years ago, and whether he took old Bully with him or not we are unable to say. John had three sons, and, we think, one of them remained in town some years after his father left, and was taken sick and died at Elijah Canfield's.

    Numan Wadsworth was born in Middlebury, Vermont, in 1788; came to Middlesex, New York, with his parents, in 1797, and, in 1811, married Patty Blodgett, daughter of Ludim Blodgett, of Gorham, New York. They had six children -- Maria, Spencer L., Maryett, Annis B., Martha G., and Eliza M. Mr. Wadsworth first settled, after his marriage, in Middlesex; lived there a few years, and then sold out and purchased a farm in Gorham, where he remained until 1820, when he again sold out and moved to Harbor Creek, Erie county, Pennsylvania. He purchased a farm there; but, not liking the country very well, disposed of his property and, in 1832, came to Auburn, Ohio. He first settled in Auburn valley; lived there a few years, then sold out and purchased a farm on the east town road, where he lived several years. He then sold out and moved to Hiram. From there he moved to Mantua, then moved to Claridon, and, in 1856, again returned to Auburn, and died, near the corners, in 1873, aged eighty-six years and ten months. His widow still survives him, and now resides in Chardon, Ohio. Mr. Wadsworth was a volunteer in the war of 1812, and obtained a land warrant for his services, but was not in the service long enough to entitle him to a pension. Under the act passed March 9, 1878, his widow became entitled to, and is now drawing a pension.

    Maria, eldest daughter of Numan Wadsworth, married James M. Hoxter. She died in Troy, in 1851.

    Spencer L., only son of Numan Wadsworth, was born in the State of New

    188                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    York; came to Auburn with his parents, and, in 1835, married Betsey, eldest daughter of Amos Palmer, of Troy, Ohio. They had four children--Oscar, John F. H., Sarah M., and George W. Oscar died young, and John F. H. died, at the corners, in 1860, at the age of twenty-one years.

    Sarah M. is married, and resides in Cleveland, Ohio.

    George W. resides in Cincinnati, Ohio.

    Mr. Wadsworth has resided in Auburn over forty years; has resided at or near the corners for the past twenty years; has held several different township offices, among which were: constable, township clerk, assessor, and justice of the peace. He now resides at the corners, and holds the office of postmaster.

    Maryette married Ulysses Spink. She died in 1838.

    Annis B. also married Ulysses Spink, and now resides in Ravenna, Ohio.

    Martha G. married Wooster Shaw, who died. She then married Dwight C. Kellogg, and now resides in Chardon.

    Eliza M. married Robert Denel, and now resides in Auburn.
    Christopher Stafford, son of Jonathan and Phebe Stafford, was born in the State of New York; was married, in 1830, to Emily Rockwell, and they have seven children -- Orrin P., Cornelius, George W., Perry C., William H., James A. and Mary Ann; all born in Auburn. Mr. Stafford came to Auburn in 1832; bought land in the northwest part of the township, on the Darling tract; cleared up the same; built the buildings necessary for comfort and convenience, and he and his wife are now enjoying the benefits of their hard labor; having lived together forty-nine years, with their family circle unbroken.

    Orrin P., eldest son of Christopher Stafford, was born in Auburn, in 1833. He married Emily Barney, daughter of Luke Barney, and they now reside at Rocky river, west of Cleveland, Ohio. At the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion Mr. Stafford lived in Iowa, and enlisted in the service from that State; came back after the war closed, and resides at the place above stated.

    Cornelius, in 1853, married Lurana L. Gifford. They have two children -- Norman G., and Mary E. Mr. Stafford was in the war of the Rebellion, and belonged to the Ninth Ohio battery. They now reside in the northwest part of the township, on the Mills tract.

    George W., in 1865, married Harriet, daughter of Horace Ellis. They have no children. In 1871, Mr. Stafford and George W. Barnes built a steam sawmill, a short distance northwest of the center of Auburn. In 1873, he bought Mr. Barnes' interest, and, in 1874, the mill took fire and burned to the ground. He soon after put up a temporary mill on the same site, sawed out the lumber and timber for another mill, and built the saw-mill, a few rods west of the center, and has since attached an extensive cheese-box factory, known as the "Auburn box works," together with planers, matchers, and a mill for grinding feed for horses and cattle. Mr. Stafford keeps a number of men in his employ, and manufactures from twenty-five to thirty thousand cheese boxes per annum, besides doing an extensive business in sawing, planing, matching, etc., etc. Mr. Stafford has held the office of township treasurer several years in succession.

    Perry C. in 1871 married Mary Messenger, daughter of William A. Messenger, and they have no children. Mr. Stafford belonged to the Forty-secord Ohio volunteer infantry, and did good service in the war of the Rebellion. He now owns and resides on the farm for many years owned by Uncle Job Warren.

    William H. in 1866 married Edith Warren, daughter of Job Warren, and they have no children.

    James A. in 1868 married Florence Hickox, daughter of the present wife of Henry Sweet. They have no children. They now reside at the center, and Mr. Stafford is engaged in the mercantile business, and is also postmaster of

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  189

    Bridge Creek office, located at that place. Mary Ann, the only daughter, married

    Charles A. Mills.

    Charles Stafford came to Auburn from the State of New York in the fall of 1832, and settled at Auburn corners; was a blacksmith by trade. He was married in 1835 to Eunice Ann Marble, daughter of John Marble. The same year she died by reason of her clothes taking fire from a kcttle of hot varnish, which had taken fire from overheating. She lived seven days after the accident, in great agony, when death came to her relief. In 1836 Mr. Stafford married again for his second wife Martha Smith, daughter of Jeremiah Smith, and they had two children -- Helen A., and Louisa. Mr. Stafford carried on blacksmithing for a number of years at the corners, then went into the furnace business, and manufactured plows, stoves, etc. He finally sold out, and next engaged in the mercantile business; carried on that business for a number of years. He died in 1871, near where he first settled, at the corners.

    Ransom Brown was born in the State of New York, and was married in 1819 to Hannah Washburn. They had six children -- Mary, Barnabas, Rowena, Amy, Ransom, and William. Mr. Brown came to Auburn in 1832, and settled on the center road west of the center, having purchased his land of one Joseph Woodard. Mr. Brown cleared up his farm, built a nice dwelling house and other necessary buildings, and died in 1875, he and his wife having lived together almost fifty-six years. His wife is still living, and resides on the old homestead, which is situated at the last four corners on the center road going west, and has been known for forty-five years as Brown's corners.

    Barnabas Brown, eldest son of Ransom Brown, came to Auburn with his parents, and was married about 1842 to Henriette Briggs. They had two children -- Marian M., and Henry. Mr. Brown resides in the southwest part of the township.

    Ransom, Jr., second son, is married, and resides near the center.

    William married Eliza Carr, daughter of Gabriel Carr. They had two children -- Arthur H., and John. Mr. Brown resides in the west part of the township.
    Frederick Weston came from Bainbridge to Auburn in 1875. He married Marian M. Brown, daughter of Barnabas Brown. They had one child -- Henry C. Mr. Weston resides on the farm, owned in an early day, by Huntington Trescott, one and a half miles north of Brown's corners.

    Elihu Pettingill was born in Norwich, Connecticut, and was married to Susannah Waldsworth, in 1791. They had ten children. He moved with his family to Auburn in 1832, and first settled where W. H. Mills now resides. Stayed there five years, and then sold out and purchased the farm where his son-in-law, Luther Maynard, now resides, and died there in 1843. He is the man Pettingill mentioned by Hon. A. G. Riddle, in the Cleveland Leader, but was not exactly the man there represented, so far as the Sunday was concerned.

    Nathan L. Reed was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn in 1832, and was married about that time, to Almira Stafford, and they had four sons -- Abram M., Marlan R., Leeman M., and Duane R. Mr. Reed first settled near the center, but soon sold out and purchased a farm on the first east and west road, south of the corners, where he lived until 1853, when he sold out and moved to Michigan, and now resides in that State.

    Leeman M., son of Nathan L. Reed, was born in Auburn, went to Michigan with his parents in 1853; came back a few years after, and married Betsey, daughter of John Dinturff, and widow of Edward Frazee, who accidentally shot himself (an account of which is given in another part of this history.) Mr. and Mrs. Reed have but one child, a daughter -- Hattie. Mr. Reed resided in the northeast part of Troy for several years, and now owns a farm where his

    190                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    father-in-law, Dinturff, died. A few years since Mr. Reed rented the farm and moved to Cleveland, where he now resides.

    Levi Cook was born in Rhode Island, and there married Amy Hardy. They had eight children -- Alanson, Emma, Stephen, Clarissa, Seth, Harriet, Abigail, and Millie. He came to Auburn, with his family, in 1831, and settled in the west part of the township, where he lived for many years. Mr. and Mrs. Cook died several years since.

    Erastus Coats was born in Massachusetts, and there married Polly LaMunion. They had three children -- Carlos, Hannah, and Silas. He came to Auburn in 1832, and settled a short distance north of the center. He was a cooper by trade. Mr. Coats died in 1855, and his wife died in 1877. Carlos, their eldest son, married Millie Cook, and they have several children. They now reside in Newbury.

    Huntington Trescott came to Auburn about 1832, and settled in the northwest part of the township, on the Darling tract. His father came with him, and, after a short residence, was taken sick and died, and, by his request while sick, was buried by the side of a log, or tree that had fallen down, some distance from the road, with his head to the north. His son, Huntington, lived there a few years after his father's death, then sold out and moved west, with his family, and we do not know where he now resides.
    W. Homer Mills, born in Nelson, Portage county, Ohio, is a son of Asahel and Cynthia W. Mills. After the death of his mother in 1812, he lived with Judge Elias Harmon, of Manuta, and in 1832 was married to Sarah Granger; took up his residence in the south part of Auburn, on the Atwater tract, and was one of the first settlers on that tract. Mr. and Mrs. Mills had two children: Francis H. and Mary H. Mary H. died young. By industry and perseverance Mr. Mills succeeded in clearing up his farm, and many years since, built a nice dwelling house and all the necessary out-buildings, and he and his wife are now enjoying the fruits of their industry in their declining years.

    Francis H. Mills, son of Homer Mills, was born in Auburn in 1833, and was married in 1856, to Ellen Hood. They have one child, whose name is Mary E. Mr. Mills now resides on the farm formerly owned by Elijah Canfield.

    Nicholas Silvernail was born in the State of New York; was married about 1804 to Elizabeth Cole. They had nine children -- Catharine, Henry W., Peter, Polly, Betsey, Rachel Ann, Daniel W., Philip D., and Hiram. Mr. Silvernail came to Auburn with his family in the fall of 1832, and purchased some land of Jeremiah White, on the Mills tract, built a house and cleared up his farm, and lost his wife in 1845. After a few year he married the widow Kingsbury, of Troy, and resided in that township several years. About 1864 Mr. Silvernail went to live with his eldest son, Henry, in Burton, and died there in 1868. His second wife died a few years since.

    Peter Silvernail, second son of Nicholas Silvernail, was born in the State of New York, came to Auburn with his parents in the fall of 1832, and in 1835 married Minerva Hall, daughter of Russell Hall, sr. They have no children. Mr. Silvernail, soon after his marriage, settled in the southeast corner of Newbury; lived there two years, then sold out and moved into Auburn, and rented a farm joining his father's, on the west, and lived there two years, when he purchased some land on the east town line road, and built a log house, in which they remained for several years. He then built a nice frame house and several out-buildings, and he and his wife are now enjoying all the comforts of life in their old age.

    Daniel W. was born in the State of New York, came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1839 married Lydia M., daughter of Virgil Lampson, of Troy. They had two children -- Alvira and Ellen. Mr. Silvernail lived in Auburn

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  191

    until 1861, when he sold out and went to Newbury, where he is now residing.

    Philip D. was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn with his parents, and was married, in 1846, to Julia Higley. He remained here a few years after his marriage, then moved to Michigan, and died there several years since.

    Hiram, youngest son, was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn with his parents, and, in 1847, married Mary Ann Spaulding, daughter of Almon Spaulding, who once resided in Troy. They had no children. Mr. Silvernail, about 1850, purchased the old homestead of his father, and, after a few years, built a nice framed house. He died in 1860. His widow married Rev. B. C. Warner, and they now reside in Williamsfield, Ashtabula county, Ohio. Mr. Warner belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church.

    John Dinturff, was born in the State of New York; was married, in 1828, to Polly Silvernail, daughter of Nicholas Silvernail, and they had one child -- Betsy. Mr. Dinturff came to Auburn, in 1835, and purchased a farm of John Clark, on the Mills tract, in the northeast part of the township, built all the necessary buildings, and lived there several years; finally sold out and purchased a farm just over the line, in Troy, where he lived until his death, in 1858. His widow is still living, and occupies the house where he died.

    William A. Messenger was born in Connecticut in 1805, came to Mantua, with his parents, and in 1830 married Elizabeth Skinner, daughter of William Skinner, who was one of the first settlers in Mantua; came to Auburn in 1832, and settled on the first north and south road west of the corners, on the Mills tract, where he now resides. They had five children -- William J., Lucia E., Maria, Horace, and Mary. Mrs. Messenger died in 1848. For his second wife he married the widow Godfrey, daughter of John Douglass. They had four children -- Linaeus E., Lillian E., Franklin A., and Hattie A. Mr. Messenger recollects, when a boy, of going up on the State through to Punderson's mill, in Newbury, when there were but three families on the road through Auburn, viz.: William Crafts, David Smith, sr., and John Jackson.

    William J., oldest son of William A. Messenger, married several years since, and now resides in Michigan.
    James B. Godfrey was born in the State of New York. He came from there to Ohio when quite young, and lived with his grand-parents, John and Achsah Douglass, who resided several years in Troy and Parkman, In 1869 he married Hattie E. Harrington, daughter of Ziba Harrington, of Troy, and they have one child -- John N. Mr. Godfrey came to Auburn in 1878, and rented a farm east of the corners, owned by the heirs of Abram H. Crafts, and now resides at that place.

    William Quinn was born in the north part of Ireland, in the year 1786; came to America when sixteen years of age, and landed in New York. His first occupation was that of a baker. Not liking that business, he learned the trade of rope making, and worked in New York until the year 1806, when he was married to Margaret Jacobs, daughter of Samuel Jacobs, of New York, and, in 1808, they moved to Philadelphia, and lived there until 1811, when they moved to Pittsburgh, making the journey over the mountains in a lumber wagon, drawn by four big Dutch horses. When he arrived at Pittsburgh he had two dollars in money left. He there worked at rope making, and there made the rope and cordage for Perry's fleet, helped to get the same across the country on heavy lumber wagons, made for that purpose, from Pittsburgh to Erie, and helped to rig the ships comprising the fleet, which so successfully fought and won the battle on Lake Erie, September 10, 1813. Mr. Quinn resided in and near Pittsburgh until 1832, when he came to Auburn and purchased some eight hundred acres of land, some of which he sold, to different parties, but retained enough for a good farm for himself, which is located on the east and west road, a short

    192                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    distance west of what was known, in the early days, as "May's mills." Soon after he had taken up his residence there, he built a rope-walk, and worked at rope making, more or less, for several years. Mr. and Mrs Quinn raised ten children -- Eliza, Ellen, Nancy, William, Jr., John, Mary Ann, Rebecca, Sarah Jane, Isabel, and Samuel. Mrs. Quinn died in 1847. Soon after her death, Mr. Quinn let his farm to his son, Samuel J., and resided with him until 1849, when he married Mrs. S. S. Walker, of Parkman, Ohio. He carried on his farm again for a few years, and then moved to Chagrin Falls; lived there a few years, then moved back to his old home in Auburn, and died there, in 1862, aged seventy-six years.

    William, Jr., eldest son of William Quinn, sr., was born in Pennsylvania, and came to Auburn with his parents; was married about 1836, to Jane Nannah, and they had seven children -- John, Rebecca, William, Joseph, Sarah E., Robert, and Martha Jane. Mr. Quinn settled in the southern part of the township, and cleared up his farm. He died about 1873. His widow resides now in Burton.

    John was born in Pennsylvania, came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1842 married Harriet Hawkins. They had three children -- Adelaide, Henry, and Nellie M. Mr. Quinn, soon after his marriage, settled on lot number seven, Atwater tract, and remained there three years, and chopped and cleared forty acres on that lot He then sold out and purchased a small piece of land near May's mills, where he and his father built a rope-walk and manufactured ropes together for about three years. John then purchased a piece of land a short distance farther east, moved the rope-walk on to that, and manufactured ropes there several years, during which time he built a nice framed house and the necessary out-buildings. In 1861 he sold this place and purchased a farm west of the center, of Elias Fish (known as the Pardon Wilber farm), where he resided five years. He then purchased a farm of George Wilber, adjoining his first purchase, which made, in all, two hundred and thirty-seven acres, and moved on to the George Wilber farm in 1866, where he now resides.
    Henry, only son of John Quinn, was born in Auburn, and in 1873 married Kate Dickson, of Kirtland, Ohio. They have two children -- May and Effie. Henry lives with his father and helps to carry on the farm.

    Samuel J. Quinn came to Auburn with his parents in 1832, and in 1856 was married to Laura E., daughter of George Antisdale. They have two children -- Albro J. and Gertrude. He resides on the old homestead, where his father first settled; has recently built a nice house, and is now with his family enjoying the full benefits of their labor and industry.

    John, eldest son of William Quinn, Jr., was born in Auburn. He enlisted in the war of the Rebellion, and was killed. William was born in Auburn, was married several years since, and lives on the farm formerly owned by Thomas Hattery, in the western part of the township. Joseph was born in Auburn, and is unmarried. Robert is married, and resides in Newbury, Ohio.

    Thomas B. Hoard was born in the State of New York, came to Auburn in 1832, and after a few years he came to the corners, and learned the blacksmith's trade of Oliver Gilson. In 1853 Mr. Hoard bought out Mr. Gilson, and the same year married Fannie D. Spaulding, daughter of Almon Spaulding, of Troy. They have one child, whose name is Blanche A. Mr. Hoard remains in the same place, and carries on his trade.

    Alfred Thompson married in Ellisburgh, New York, and came to Auburn with his family about 1832, and settled on the Miller tract. They had a very large family, some of their names being -- Dorcas, Rhoda, Nelson, Alfred, Louden, Betsey, Mary, Rachel, James, and ten others, whose names we do not know. Mr. Thompson sold his farm to Jesse Garrad about 1858, and left the

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  193

    State for a while, but finally returned and settled in Bainbridge; lived there some time, and we believe went to Michigan and died there several years since. Several of Mr. Thompson's sons resided in Auburn for years, but have all gone west. Several of his daughters married in this township, some of whom are now dead, and some are living in other parts.

    John Douglass came to Auburn with his family in 1832, and settled on the center road, west of the corners, on the Kirtland tract; lived there four years, then moved to Parkman, and from thence to Troy, Geauga county.

    Thomas Hood was born in Pennsylvania; was married in 1828 to Ellen Quinn, daughter of William and Margaret Quinn. They have seven children -- William, Robert, Eliza Jane, Ella, Samuel J., John E., and Mary E. Mr. Hood came to Auburn with his family in 1832, and settled in the southwest part of the township; cleared up a large farm, and died, suddenly, December 3, 1850. The circumstances of his death are as follows: On the day above mentioned, he and his wife started for Cleveland, Ohio, with his team (he being in good health at the time), and after entering the city a short distance, his wife saw that he had dropped his lines and was falling from his seat. She picked up the lines and stopped the horses as soon as possible, then took hold of Mr. Hood and partially raised him up, and he died in about twenty minutes. Physicians were called as soon as possible, and, after a careful examination, they decided that a blood-vessel had broken near the heart, which caused his death. His widow is still living, and resides on the old homestead with her son, Samuel J. Hood.

    William Hood, eldest son of Thomas Hood, was born in the State of Pennsylvania, came to Auburn with his parents, and was married in 1853 to Lucinda Cowles, daughter of Horace Cowles, of Bainbridge. They have two children -- Louis M. and Cora B. Mr. Hood lived for years in the southwest part of this township, on the Atwater tract, but sold his farm in 1868 and moved to Mantua, and now resides at that place.

    Robert was born in Pennsylvania. In 1856 or '57 he married Caroline Osborn, and they have one son, Thomas C. He resided in the southwest part of the township for several years, and carried on the farm, where his father first settled; finally sold out, and he and F. H. Mills built the first cheese factory in Auburn, now known as the "old Hood factory." He manufactured cheese for several years, then sold out, and moved to Austin, Illinois, where he now resides.

    Samuel J. was born in Auburn, and married Lorette Osborn. She died in 1872. He married for his second wife, Amelia Giles, daughter of Orlando Giles, of Bainbridge. They have no children. Mr. Hood now resides on the farm, where his father lived previous to his death, and his mother is living with him.

    John E., was born in Auburn. In 1870 he married Isadore Rhodes, of Mantua, Ohio. They have no children. He resided in the southwest part of the township a few years, finally sold out, and moved to Manuta station, Ohio.
    Thomas Hattery was born in Virginia, and in 1828 was married to Nancy Quinn, daughter of William Quinn, sr. They had seven children: Andrew J., John Q.. William M., Mary Ann, Judas, Marjarette, and Susan. Mr. Hattery settled in the southwest part of the township, cleared up his farm, built a nice house and other buildings, and there lost his wife. About 1871 or '72 he sold out and moved to Aurora, Illinois, and now resides with his children at or near that place.

    Seth Brewster was born in the State of New York, and was married in 1792, to Abigail Walsworth, and they had eight children: Lyman, Jesse, Olive, Eunice, Seth, Jr., Mary, Hiram, and Calvin. He came to Auburn with his family in 1833, and settled in the northwest part of the township, on the Darling tract,

    194                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    being lands previously purchased by his son, Calvin; built a house and other buildings, and helped to clear up the farm. He died in 1844, and his wife died in 1847.

    Lyman Brewster, eldest son of Seth Brewster, was born in the State of New York, and in 1819 was married to Roby Brewster. He came to Auburn in 1834, and settled on the Mills tract, in the northwest part of the township, being the farm now owned by George Squires. Mr. and Mrs. Brewster had seven children: Betsey Ann, Myranda, Lydia, Lyman S. T., Mary, Roby, and Maria. Mr. Brewster cleared up his farm, built the necessary buildings for comfort and convenience, and died in 1847, and his wife died in 1869.

    Jesse Brewster came to Auburn about the same time that his brothers came.

    He married Ann Harpum [sic Harpham?], and they had six children: Harriet, Henry, Olive A., Charlotte, Cornelia, and John. He died in 1865.

    Seth Brewster, Jr., settled in Munson, raised a family there, but sold his farm several years since and now resides in Chardon.

    Hiram was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn in 1832, and purchased land in the northwest part of the township, and was married before, or soon after, to Lucy A., daughter of George I. Bowler, and they had three children -- Eunice C., Annice C. and Hiram E. Mr. Brewster cleared up his farm, built a nice house and barns, and died in 1866. His wife married again, and, for aught we know, is still living.
    Calvin was also born in the State of New York, came to Auburn with his brother Hiram, in 1832, and purchased the land on the Darling tract on which his father settled, as above mentioned; lived there with him some years, and helped clear up the farm, and, being very well educated, was employed as clerk in the store of A. C. Gardner, of Newbury for some years. He was married in 1839 to Betsey H. Burnett. They had three children -- Edna L., Calvin C. and Betsey H. Mr. Brewster carried on the farm some years previous to the death of his father, and in 1845 he lost his wife. In 1846 he married Wealthy Foster, and they had four children -- Altha C., William D., Milton F. and Hattie. Mr. Brewster left his farm for awhile and engaged in the mercantile business at Mantua corners, and, after trading there a few years, moved back on his farm, where he died, in 1867, after a lingering illness. Mr. Brewster held several different offices in town, such as trustee, assessor, and justice of the peace. His widow resides at Chagrin Falls.

    Bradley Gorham came to Auburn in 1832 or 1833, and married Mary, daughter of Seth Brewster, and they had one child -- Francis A. Mr. Gorham lived near his father-in-law, Brewster, for several years, when he sold out and moved to Iowa.

    James Pennell also married a daughter of Seth Brewster, and settled near them. Mrs. Pennell died in 1842, and Mr. Pennell died in 1858.

    Lyman S. T. Brewster, only son of Lyman Brewster, was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn with his parents, and resided with them until the death of his father, in 1847. He being an only son, remained on the old homestead, and carried on the farm, but, finally, all the heirs sold out, after which he went into the western country, with the view of settling there, but, about that time the war broke out, and the western country, where he was at the time, being somewhat divided upon the war question, he concluded to return to Auburn, but, on getting back into the State of Minnesota, where the people were for war to the knife, and the knife to the hilt, Mr. Brewster enlisted in the Second Minnesota volunteer infantry, and was with that regiment in the hard fought battle of Perrysville, and some seventeen others of less note. After the war Mr. Brewster returned to Auburn, and in 1867 married Miss Amanda Giles, of Bainbridge, and purchased a farm in that township, where he now resides.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  195

    Edward Y. Hannum was born in Massacusetts, came to Bainbridge in an early day with his father, Paul Hannum, and in 1840 married Betsey Ann, daughter of Lyman Brewster. They had one child--Flora A. Mr. Hannum came to Auburn in 1854, and purchased a farm north of the center of one James Adams, and now resides on the same.

    Lucius Foster was born in Vermont and came to Mantua, Ohio, in an early day. In 1860 he married Edna L., daughter of Calvin Brewster. They have one child -- Lucy B. Lucius came to Auburn in 1860, and settled on land formerly owned by Oliver Pennell, but now resides on the old homestead of his father-in-law. His mother came to Auburn with him (his father having died some years previous), and she died at his house in 1861.

    Ebenezer Johnson was born in Massachusetts; was married to Martha Burch; moved to Auburn in 1833, and lived some years on the east town line road. They had eight children born to them -- Russell, Ann, Cornelius, Hosea, Rachel, Israel, Levant, and Phileman. Ebenezer died in 1864.

    Israel Johnson, son of Ebenezer Johnson, came to Auburn in the fall of 1832, and in 1836 was married to Nancy White, daughter of Jeremiah White, and they had eight children -- Russell E., D. Austin, Lorinda M., Lorette N., Byron L., Clayton D., Octavius, and Burdett. Only four of the above children are living. D. Austin enlisted at the breaklng out of the war of the Rebellion, and died of sickness while in the service of the United States. Levant married several years since, raised a family, and now resides in Chardon. Phileman married Eveline, youngest daughter of William Crafts. They had three sons, two of whom are now living -- Huron and Volney -- both of whom are married and reside in Parkman. Mr. Johnson worked at shoemaking at Auburn corners for a few years, and then purchased a farm of his father-in-law,
    Crafts, on the east line of the township, farmed it there several years, finally sold out and moved to Parkman, and died there several years since.

    William Arnold came to Auburn in 1834, and was married the same year to Rachel Johnson, daughter of Ebenezer Johnson, and they had two children- - Franklin M. and Livonia. Mr. Arnold lived in different parts of the township for several years, then sold out and moved to Middlefield.

    Reuben Brown was born in the State of New York, and there married Deborah Eno, and they had nine children -- Reuben, Jr., Thomas, James and Minerva (twins), Harriet, Nelson, Jane, David, and Ellen. Mr. Brown came to Auburn with his family in 1833 or 1834, and settled on the east line of the township, on the Cowles tract; remained there a few years, then sold out and moved to Burton, and afterwards moved to Michigan.

    Reuben, Jr., oldest son of Reuben Brown, was born in the State of New York, and came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1842 married Oricy Whitcomb, daughter of Israel Whitcomb, who was one of the first settlers of Troy (then Welshfield). They had four children -- Lenora, Nettie, Frank, and Wesley. Mr. Brown lived in Troy several years after his marriage. In 1850 he came to Auburn, and lived in different places in the north part of the township until 1864, when he purchased a farm in Auburn valley, known as the John Dinturff farm, where he died in 1879. His widow and children remain on the old homestead.

    Harvey Gilbert was born in Massachusetts, married there, and had four children -- Charlotte, Amanda, Edwin, and Austin. He buried his wife there and married again; came to Auburn in 1833 and settled in the northwest part of the township, on the Darling tract. By his second wife he had eight children -- Fidelia, Diantha, Samuel, Sylvester, Howard, Byron, Eleanor, and Elmer. Byron and Diantha died very young. Mr. Gilbert died on the farm where he first settled, several years since, and his widow now resides in Chardon. We

    196                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    have no information at hand in regard to the whereabouts of any of their children.

    Chandler Merryfield came to Auburn with his family in 1833, and first settled on the south town line road; sold out in a short time and purchased land in the southeast corner of the township, of one Pinney, on which there was a saw-mill, established a rake factory, and carried on the business of manufacturing hand rakes a few years; sold out and moved to Mantua Station, Ohio. He lost his first wife about that time, and afterwards married Amanda Keyes, daughter of Amaziah Keyes. They had two children -- Mary and Martin. Mr. Merryfield's second wife died in 1838, and he then moved to Michigan, where he now resides.

    William McClintock came to Auburn in 1852, and married Mary Merryfield, daughter of Chandler Merryfield. They had two children -- Mary E. and Clara A. Mr. McClintock resides in the west part of the township.

    George I. Bowler was born in Massachusetts, and moved from there to the State of New York; was married to Susan Barber, and they had twelve children -- Susan, Rebecca, Phebe, Mary, Joseph, Lucy Ann, Nathan P., Nancy, William, Jennett, George I., Jr., and Nathan B. Mr. Bowler lost his first wife about 1830, and about 1831 was married to Lucy Barber, sister of his first wife, and they had two children -- Charles and John. In 1833 Mr. Bowler came to Auburn with his family, and purchased some land on the Darlington tract, in the north part of the township; cleared up the same, and built all the necessary buildings for comfort and convenience. He lost his second wife in 1863, after which time Mr. Bowler sold his farm and lived with his children until his death, which occurred in Parkman, in 1868.

    Two of Mr. Bowler's sons, by his first wife, reside in Cleveland, and are engaged in the iron business. George I., Jr., moved to some western State several years since. Nathan B., we think, resides in Solon. Charles and John enlisted in the war of the Rebellion. Charles was killed. John came back and now resides in some western State.
    Walter McLouth was born in, or near, Manchester, New York, and married a sister of John Stafford. They came to Auburn about 1833; purchased a farm west of the center, on the center road, and resided there until March, 1842, when his house took fire in the night, from some unknown cause, and McLouth, one of his children, a little girl some ten years old, and a boy, some sixteen years old, by the name of Stafford, all perished in the flames. Mr. McLouth at the time had three children, all girls. The two oldest slept in a bed-room in the southwest corner of the house, his wife slept in a bed-room in the northwest corner, and his bed-room was between them. Mrs. McLouth had an infant child in bed with her, and when she heard the cry of fire by her husband she got out of bed, took her child and tried to get out of her bed-room door but could not on account of the fire. She then raised a window; threw out the pillows and some of the bed-clothes; threw out her babe, and then climbed out herself; went round to the little girls' bed-room; got in by some means, and after being almost suffocated with smoke, she succeeded in finding one of the little girls and carried her out to where she had left her infant, and succeeded in saving herself and two of her children from perishing in the flames. On inquiry by the mother, the little girl said, her father came into the bed-room, took her little sister by the hand and led her right into the fire. There was a mystery in regard to the fire, that caused so great a calamity, which no one was able to solve, and probably it never will be solved until the great day of accounts.

    Daniel Frazer was born in New Jersey, and, in 1819, married Miss Rachel Schmuck (pronounced "smoke"). They had six children -- Daniel J., Mary Ann, Sarah, Edward, John, and Horace. Horace died young. They resided in New Jersey for several years after their marriage, and from there moved to

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  197

    the State of New York, where they lived until 1833, when they came to Auburn and settled on the State road, a half-mile south of the corners. Mr. Frazier cleared up his farm, and built a framed house and barn. He died there in 1844. His widow remained on the old homestead almost thirty-three years after his death, and, until three or four years previous to her death, kept house by herself, and did her own work. She belonged to the Quakers; having embraced that faith in early life, and her precepts and examples were christian-like and worthy of imitation. She died in 1877, after a lingering illness, aged eighty-five years.

    Daniel J., eldest son of Daniel Frazier, came to Auburn with his parents, and about 1845, married Miss Perlyett Bartholomew, daughter of Palmer Bartholomew, and now resides in Troy, and will probably be noticed in the history of that township. Mary Ann, eldest daughter, married Lucius Way, son of Arad Way, of Newbury, and he died about 1873 or '74. In 1876, she married Aaron Williams, of Burton, Ohio, and resides at Chagrin Falls, Ohio. They have no children. Sarah is unmarried, and resides at Auburn corners. Edward came to Auburn with his parents, and, about 1850, married Betsey Dinturff, daughter of John Dinturff. They had no children. Mr. Frazer was killed, in 1857, by the accidental discharge of his gun, while out hunting. John came to Auburn with his parents, and, in 1852, married Martha J., youngest daughter of Roswell Rice, and they have one child -- Ava Bell. Mr. Frazer owns and resides on the old homestead, where his father and mother both died.

    John H. Ross came to Mantua in an early day, from the State of New York, and was a cabinet-maker by trade. He built a shop in Mantua, on the State road, near the south line of Auburn. Soon after he purchased some land in Auburn, and moved his cabinet shop on said land. For a number of years he worked at his trade (and in the mean time cleared up his land), making most of the coffins for people who died in Mantua and Auburn. He being then a bachelor, and somewhat advanced in years, came to the conclusion that it was not "good for man to live alone" (or for him at all events), and finally married Mary M. Fisk in 1856; they have two children: Royal H. and Ida M. He built a nice house some years since, where they now reside.

    Elenezer W. Ross, brother to John H., was born in Norwich, New York; was married to Almira Leach in 1832, and came to Auburn in an early day. He settled on the State road, half a mile north of the south line of the township, on the Atwater tract. He has cleared up his farm, and built all the necessary buildings. In 1872 he buried his wife, and in a year or so married for his second wife, the widow of David Nelson. They now reside on the old homestead, where Mr. Ross has lived ever since he took up his residence in Auburn, being some over forty years.
    Thomas Wilson was born in the State of Pennsylvania, came to Auburn in 1834, and in 1837 was married to Harriet Maynard, daughter of Moses Maynard. They have raised three sons, whose names are George Wm., James, and Lawson W. Mr. Wilson purchased his land of Harrison Rogers in the northwest part of the township, on the Sanford tract; has cleared up his farm, built all the necessary buildings for comfort and convenience, and he and his wife are enjoying the benefits of their industry in early life.

    George Wm. married Amanda Hinckley, widow of Van Wagner Hinckley, in 1872, and they now reside in Chardon, Ohio. He obtained the position of mail agent on the Painesville and Youngstown railroad, and was transferred from that road to the Lake Shore and Michigan Southern some two or three years since, and, we understand, has become one of the most efficient and popular agents on that road.

    Lawson W. was married some years since, to Elizabeth Bates, daughter of

    198                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    John Bates, and she died soon after. He married again, and now resides in this township. He is a carpenter and joiner by trade, and follows that business.

    James is unmarried, resides with his parents, and carries on the farm. These three sons were all born in Auburn.

    Gabriel Carr was born in New Jersey, went to the State of New York when a young man, and was married in 1826 to Denarzy Goldsmith. They had three children, only one of whom is living, a daughter -- Eliza. Mr. Carr came to Auburn in 1834, and settled on the first east and west road south of Auburn corners, just east of the north and south center road, where he lived for forty-four years. He died in 1877, and his widow still lives on the old homestead.

    Horace Ellis was born in the State of Massachusetts; was married in 1832 to Abigail Ober, and came to auburn in 1834; purchased some land of Parker and Bartlett in the north part of the township, on the Sanford tract. He cleared up his farm several years since, and built a nice dwelling house and outbuildings, and now remains on the same farm. They have had five children, but only three of them are now living -- Lima A., Emma L., and Harriet M. He is one of ten who now reside in the township on the same land where they first settled in an early day.

    Julius Coons came from Hambden, Ohio, to Auburn in 1872, and married Emma L., youngest daughter of Horace Ellis, and they have one child. Mr. Coons resides with his father-in-law, Ellis, and carries on the farm.
    Moses Maynard was the son of Ebenezer Maynard, and was born in Westboro, Massachusetts, July 16, 1767, and in 1796 married Lucy Davis, daughter of Paul Davis, and they had fourteen children -- Martha P., Elisha D., Harriet, Arista, Jabez, Moses, Betsey, Orrin, Luther, Lucy, Orrin, Orrinda, William B., and one that died young. The first Orrin also died young. Mr. Maynard came to Auburn with his family in 1835, and at that time was sixty-eight years of age. he first settled on land now owned by Harvey N. Ensign, where he resided until too old and infirm to take care of himself, after which he and his wife lived with their children until their deaths. Moses died in 1865, aged ninety-eight years and three months, he and his wife having lived together sixty-seven years. Mrs. Maynard died in 1877, aged ninety-nine years eleven months and twenty-three days. The aggregate age of this couple was one hundred and ninety-eight years two months and twenty-four days. They were the oldest couple that have ever died in Auburn, and probably the oldest that have ever died in the county. Ten of this family are still living, the youngest being fifty-seven years old.

    Jabez Maynard, second son of Moses, was born in Massachusetts, came from there to the State of New York, and in 1832 came to Auburn. He was married in 1834 to Lovina Barton, and they had two children -- Mary L. and Theodore F. Jabez settled in the woods in the north part of the township, on the Sanford tract, a half mile west of the east and west center road. He cleared up his farm, built the necessary buildings for comfort and convenience, and lost his wife in 1867. He soon after married the widow Walden, and lived on the same farm until 1869, making in all thirty-seven years. He then purchased a farm of David W. Russ, on the same road, east of the center road, where he now resides.

    Luther was born in Massachusetts in 1814; came to Auburn in 1874, and was married in 1839 to Hannah O., daughter of Elihu Pettingill, and they have two children -- Lucinda and Clara V. Mr. Maynard resides on the first north and south road, west of the corners; has cleared up his farm, built a house and some out-buildings, and he and his wife are enjoying the fruits of their early industry, in their declining years.

    William B., youngest son, came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1845

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  199

    married Julia M., daughter of Austin Richards, and they have one daughter -- Florence R. Mr. Maynard is a shoemaker by trade, and now resides at Auburn corners.

    Theodore F., only son of Jabez Maynard, was born in Auburn, and was married in 1862 to Elsie Walden, and they have one child -- Vernie. Mr. Maynard now resides on the old farm, where his father first settled in 1832.

    Elias C. Luce was born in Kingsville, Ohio, is the only son of Jeremiah Luce, of that place. About 1858 he married Lucy, daughter of Jabez Maynard, and they have two children -- Frank R. and Ada E. Mr. Luce came to Auburn, with his family, in 1878, and now resides on the farm formerly owned by David Russ.

    Forence R., only daughter of William B. Maynard, married Philip E. Haskins, of Bainbridge, and they have two children -- Albert A. and William L. They now reside in Newbury.

    Henry, son of Benjamin and Louisa Sweet, was born in Marcellus, New York, in 1807, and was married in 1831 to Joicy, daughter of Jonathan and Deborah Baker. They had seven children -- Jonathan B., Orpha L., Martha C., Henry H., Vialda A. and Franklin B. Mr. Sweet came to Auburn in 1835, and purchased land on the Sanford tract; lived there several years, cleared up his farm, purchased another farm of Roland Potter, on the opposite corner; then another still farther north of Lilly Stafford, and moved on to that farm in 1864. His wife died there in 1865. Mr. Sweet was married again in 1866 to Permelia Hickox. Left his farm in 1871 and moved to Auburn corners; purchased a place of George W. Mayhew, just north of the corners, where he now resides. Mr. Sweet lost a son by accident, in the following manner: The little fellow was on the fence, and a cow ran towards him; he jumped off, striking on an elder, which entered his body nine inches, causing his death in forty-eight hours.

    Benjamin F., only son of Henry Sweet, was born in Auburn; married in 1870 to Carrie E. Clark, and they have one child -- Pearl R. Mr. Sweet resides on the farm that his father purchased of Lilly Stafford, on the north and south center road, near the north line of the township.
    Robert Stearns was born in England, came to Auburn in 1854, and in 1859 was married to Lovina, daughter of Henry Sweet, and they have three children Martha L., Edmund R., and Mira M. Robert Stearns owns and resides on the farm where his father-in-law, Sweet, first settled, in 1835.

    Levi Cook came to Auburn with his family, from the State of New York, in an early day, and lived in several different places in the western part of the township; raised a family of children, whose names were: Seth, Emma, Clarissa, Harriet, Abigail, and Millie. He and his wife died several years since. Seth, son of Levi Cook, came to Auburn with his parents. He married Julia Hovey, and they raised four children -- Sullivan S., Amy E., Frank C., and Ellen E. Mr. Cook died in 1866. Sullivan S., eldest son of Seth Cook, married some years since, and moved to Michigan; but has since returned, and is now a resident of this township. Frank C. was married, in 1874, to Myrtie Neice, and they have two children -- Marian E. and Pearl. Mr. Cook resides on the east and west center road, west of the center, and owns the cheese factory, known as "Clover Dale factory."

    Jabez Boomer moved from Rhode Island to the State of New York, where he married Miss Hannah Mason, and they had twelve children -- Phebe, Aaron P., Eliza M., Chester L., Ruth, Angeline, Joshua M., Emeline D., Edward J., Andrew D., and Jeremiah M. Mr. Boomer came to Auburn, in 1835, and settled, in the north part of the township, on the Sanford tract, and cleared up his farm. His wife died in 1839. In 1841, he married Miss Achsah Bailey. They had

    200                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    no children. Mr. Boomer died in 1868, aged eighty-four years. He was a minister of the regular Baptist persuasion, and preached more or less for fifty years. Jeremiah M., youngest son of Jabez Boomer, came to Auburn with his parents, and, in 1862, enlisted in the Ninth Ohio battery, and served until April, 1863, when he was discharged, on account of sickness, and returned home. In 1864, he married Corientha Butts, and they have one child -- Quincy J. Mr. Boomer owns and resides on the old homestead where his father first settled, in 1835.

    Joshua Stafford was born in Rhode Island in 1798; came from there to the State of New York, and about 1820 was married to Lucretia Gibson. Mr. Stafford and his family came to Auburn about 1835. He first purchased a farm one mile north of Brown's corners, on the Root tract; cleared up the same, and built a large frame house. They had nine children -- Ambrose, Louisa, Clinton, Almira, Harriet, Fanny, George, Ellen, and Harmon. Mr. Stafford lost his wife in 1849, and some years after married again. He then sold out to his son, Clinton, and purchased a small farm on the diagonal road to Chagrin Falls, of one Mrs. Sanderson; lived there several years, and died in 1876.

    Clinton, son of Joshua Stafford, came to Auburn with his father, and was married, in 1860, to Delia C. Shipard, daughter of Dr. Shipard, one of the early settlers of Bainbridge, and a very eminent physician. They have no children. He owns and resides on the farm where his father first settled, in the western part of the township, one mile north of Brown's corners. Harriet is unmarried, and resides at Auburn corners.
    Daniel Etheridge was born in Connecticut in 1784; married Miss Abigail Hinckley in 1808, and they had ten children -- Sarah M., Nancy, Nathan H., Orlando H., Charles, Albert G., Lucy Ann, Cortland, Denison, and Ann, all born in the State of New York. Mr. Etheridge came to Auburn with part of his family in 1836, and purchased the hotel and about thirty acres of land at the corners, where he kept hotel for several years. Mrs. Etheridge went to St. Paul, Minnesota, on a visit, and was taken sick and died there in 1850. Mr. Etheridge died on the old homestead in 1859.

    Sarah M., eldest daughter of Daniel Etheridge, was born in the State of New York, and there married Andrew Chase. They had six children -- Almira, Laura, Orlan D., Charles F., John J., and Nathan E. Mr. Chase died in the State of New York. Soon after his death Mrs. Chase came to Auburn with her family, and took up her residence at the corners, near her father. Her four sons enlisted in the war of the Rebellion, and did good service for their country. This was the only family in the township where all the sons enlisted. John J. contracted a disease while in the service, of which he died some years since and was buried at the corners. Mrs. Chase is still living, and now resides with her son, Orlan D., in Cleveland, Ohio.

    Nathan H. came to Auburn with his parents, but soon returned to his native place and married Miss Louisa Caldwell. He returned to Auburn and went into the hotel with his father, where he remained about two years, when he built a house on the south side of the road, opposite his father's, and took up his residence at that place. Mr. Etheridge was appointed postmaster in 1837, and was the second in the township. He held the office but a year or two, and resigned in favor of Harvey Harrington, who received a commission, and was the third postmaster in the township, he holding the office until he sold out to John Mayhew, who was his successor to that office. Mr. Etheridge was a carpenter and joiner by trade, and followed that business while he lived. Mr. and Mrs. Etheridge had two children -- Annie M. and Medora M. He died in 1845, and his widow married Chester G. Hayes, as mentioned in another part of this history.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  201

    Annie M. was born in Auburn; is unmarried and resides with her step-father, C. G. Hayes. She is a dressmaker by trade, and has a shop on the old Etheridge homestead, just west of the corners, and carries on business at that place.

    Medora M. was also born in Auburn, and is married, as stated below.

    Lucian C., youngest son of Silas Turner, was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn in 1861, and in 1865 married Dora M., daughter of Nathan H. Etheridge. They have one child, whose name is Frank E. Lucian enlisted in the war of the Rebellion, and did good service for his country. In 1875 he moved to Burton, where he now resides, and is engaged in the sale of meats, vegetables, and groceries, at that place.

    Albert G., fourth son of Daniel Etheridge, came to Auburn with his parents, and, in 1849, married Frances Halen, of Newbury, Ohio, and they had no children. He kept the hotel at the corners, during the whole of his married life. He died in 1864, and his widow now resides in Cleveland, Ohio. Courtland resides in Olympia, Washington Territory. Dennison went to Mt. Vernon, Ohio, in 1848, and there married Miss Josephine Church, and they had two children -- Albertine and Blanche. After their marriage, he went into some western State, was there taken sick; came back to Auburn with his family, and died on the old homestead, at the corners, in 1858.
    Jude May was born in Connecticut; moved to Auburn in 1836, and purchased a farm of Henry Canfield. The following year, 1837, he built a saw-mill near the site of one previously built by said Henry Canfield, which was the first saw-mill built in Auburn. Soon after he finished his saw-mill, he built a gristmill, which was the first built in the township, and the one now owned by Wm. Thorpe. He was a man of much business, and was readily distinguished by his size; being six feet seven inches in height, and well proportioned. His common weight was two hundred and fifty pounds. His wife's maiden name was Rispah Durfee. They had five children, all born in Connecticut -- Henry, Maria, Oliver, Lucy, and Jude, Jr. Soon after Mr. May took up his residence in Auburn, he was elected justice of the peace, and served one term. He died in 1873, and his wife in 1876.

    Henry came to Auburn with his parents, and, in 1844, was married to Sally M. Canfield, daughter of Elijah Canfield, and they had five children -- Leanora, Orzette, Rispah, Faith, and Eva. Mr. May died in 1864, and his widow, soon after his death, moved to Chagrin Falls, where she now resides.

    Jude, Jr., was born in Auburn; was married, in 1867, to Eleanor Bartlett, and they had two children born to them -- John and Alice. Mr. May resided on the old homestead with his father, and died there in 1871. His widow married Merritt Smith for her second husband, and they reside on the farm where her first husband died. They have one child.
    Henry E. Andrews, is the son of Enoch Andrews; was born in the State of New York; came to Auburn in 1845, and, in 1851, married Sarah Maria May, and they had three children, all of whom died young. Mr. Andrews resides near where his father-in-law (May) lived and died.

    Calvin Bush was born in Bainbridge, Ohio; came to Auburn in 1855, and was married, in 1856, to Lucy S. May, daughter of Jude May, and they have two children -- Jude M. and Geo. B. M. Mr. Bush resides on the north and south center road, half a mile from the south line of the township.

    Elias H. Fish was born in 1792 at Schodack, New York, and was married in 1811 to Betsey Van Wagner. They had ten children -- Rachel L., Nicholas, Charles L., Alexander, Elias A., Job, Mary Ann, John, Emily, and Elizabeth, all born in the State of New York. Alexander died young. Mr. Fish came to Auburn with his family in 1836, and purchased a farm of Pardon Wilber, on the east and west center road, west of the center, where he resided ten or eleven

    202                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    years. He then sold out and moved to Florence, Erie county, Ohio. He resided there twelve years, then sold out and moved to Burr Oak, Michigan, where he died in 1867. His widow is still living, and resides at that place.

    Nicholas was married in 1841 to Matilda A., daughter of Leicester Perkins. They have no children. Mr. Fish settled on the east and west center road, west of the corners, where he now resides. He purchased his land of Ezekiel Hall and his father-in-law, Leicester Perkins. He has held the office of township clerk a number of terms. Charles L. in 1843 married Susan Stewart. They have one child -- Charles. Mr. Fish is a lawyer by profession, and resides in Cleveland, Ohio. Charles A. in 1848 married Mary Gurney, of Chester, Ohio. They have one child -- Mary. Elias A. now resides in Greenville, Michigan; is a physician of the homoeopathic school, and has an extensive practice there. Job was married about 1853 to Anna E., daughter of George A. Peabody. They have eight children -- Florence, Williston and Josephine (twins), Mary, Job, Jr., John, Albert and Alice (twins). Job, sr., now resides at Florence, Ohio, and is a school teacher by profession. John taught school in different localities until 1855, when he married Mary S., daughter of George A, Peabody, and they have four children -- Betsey, Rachel, Matilda, and John. Soon after their marriage Mr. Fish commenced the study of medicine, and graduated at the Homeopathic college, at Cleveland, Ohio. Not being fully satisfied with that practice, he studied the allopathic system. At the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion he enlisted, and was promoted to surgeon, and continued in the service until mustered out at the close of the war. He is now located in the west part of Auburn, is practicing medicine, and has an extensive ride in Auburn and the surrounding townships. Mary Ann, daughter of Elias H., married Albert Judson, and resides at Berlin Heights, Ohio. Emily married Henry, son of Hiram Canfield. He died about 1864, and she married for her second husband Orestus F. Wood. They now reside in Brookfield, Missouri. Elizabeth married Charles Powers, and they reside in Colon, Michigan.
    William Mills moved to Auburn from the State of New York in 1836 and purchased land on the north and south center road, in the north part of the township, on the Sanford Tract. He was previously married to Abigail Burnett, and they, at that time, 1836, had a family of nine children -- Burnett, Jemima, Abigail, Eunice, William, H. Maribee, Windsor C., Andrew J., and Mary P. In 1840, Mr. and Mrs. Mills went to a funeral on horseback; and on the way home the horse on which Mrs. Mills was riding took fright from some boys who were concealed in the corner of the fence on the side of the road, threw her off backwards, and broke her neck. Mr. Mills married again, and died on the same farm in 1859.

    William H. Mills, second son of William Mills, was married in 1836 to Mary E. Spargur, and came to Auburn in 1837, and settled on the same farm with his father. Mr. and Mrs. Mills had five children -- William, Edward S., Charles A., Warren H., Arthur B. and Allen, all born in Auburn. William enlisted in the war of the Rebellion, and died in the hospital at Louisville, Kentucky, July 31, 1863.

    Mr. Mills tells the following story: One night, just before bed time, when the country was new, he heard a shrill scream in the woods north of his house, and after hearing it two or three times, he made up his mind that it was some person lost, or some wild animal, and concluded to go in search of it; about that time some of the neighbors heard the noise and got together, and, after obtaining lights, started in the direction of the noise, but Mr. Mills had previously started on, and as he went, groping his way in the dark, he kept hearing and answering the screams, and after going a half mile or more, he found a woman sitting on a log with a baby in her arms, and the water about up to her

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  203

    knees. About this time the party following came up with their lights, and a short distance from where Mr. Mills found the first woman and baby they found another woman in the water, and little farther on they found a boy with a pair of oxen and wagon, also in the mud and water, and the oxen were so well stuck in the mud that they had to unyoke them to get them out. On inquiry, these women were found to be Mrs. Leeland and Mrs. Corother, of Huntsburgh, who had started with the oxen and wagon (that being the mode of traveling in those days), and when they got to Punderson's Mill (it being then dark), they inquired for their friends, Maynards, and were told to take the second right hand road, which led up through by Uncle Bildad Bradley's, but instead, they took the first road, that led up by Captain Amplias Green's, and after going up that road to a point about opposite Maynard's, they undertook to cross over through the woods, got lost, and were found in the condition above described. And now, to go on with the story, after they had got the women, boy, baby, and oxen, all on dry land, Mr. Mills took the baby, and all started through the woods for Maynard's, and arrived there in safety, about eleven o'clock at night; and Mr. Mills thinks to this day that was the heaviest baby he ever carried.

    Edward S. was married in 1873 to Melissa, daughter of James Pickering, and they have one child -- Metta Z. Mr. Mills is a carpenter and joiner by trade, and follows that business in the summer and teaches school in the winter.

    Charles A. was married in 1869 to Mary A., daughter of Christopher Stafford, and they have no children. He resides at the center, and occupies his time, mainly, in teaching school, and is at the present time one of the acting justices of the peace in the township.

    Warren H. was married in 1869 to Emma, daughter of James Pickering, and they have three children -- Lillie M., James P. and Ena G. He resides near his father-in-law, Pickering; owns and resides on the farm formerly owned by Mrs. James Pennell.

    Allen is unmarried, and resides at home, with his parents, and helps to carry on the farm.
    Hosea Barnes was born in the State of Vermont. He married Hannah Brewster, and they had nine children -- Alanson E., Fayette, Sarah Ann, Tempa L., Juliette, John, Harriet, Timothy, and George W. Mr. Barnes came to Auburn, with his family, in 1836, and settled on the north and south center road, half a mile north of the center; he cleared up his farm, built a nice framed house, and the necessary out-buildings, and died there in 1854; his wife died at the same place in 1873.

    Alanson was the oldest son of Hosea Barnes, and was born in Vermont; came to Auburn in 1832, and was married in 1840 to Corlentha Findley, and they had one child, a daughter -- Ellen. He now resides in Cleveland, Ohio.

    Fayette was born in Vermont; came to Auburn in 1839, and was married to Elizabeth Young. They had two children. Mr. Barnes died in 1843.

    John was born in Vermont, and came to Auburn with his parents. In 1845 was married to Lydia, daughter of Arad Way, and settled at the corners. Lived there a few years, then moved on to his father's farm, north of the center. They had three children -- Alice, Annie, and John. Mrs. Barnes died in Auburn, and Mr. Barnes married for his second wife Lydia Spaulding, of Munson. Soon after this he moved to Wisconsin, and we know but little more about him, except that he was in the war of the Rebellion, and did good service for his country.

    Timothy was born in Vermont; came to Auburn with his parents, and left Auburn for the far west in 1852, and has never returned.

    George W. was born in Vermont; came to Auburn with his parents in 1832, and was married in 1854 to Mary, daughter of Hiram Canfield. They had three

    204                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    children -- Nettie, Frank, and Fred. Frank died young. Mr. Barnes left Auburn in 1874, and now resides in Cleveland.

    Hiram Everden was born in the State of New York; was married in 1827 to Emma Cook, daughter of Levi Cook, and they have one child, a daughter -- Abigail. Mr. Everden resides a short distance north of the center.

    Lucius Redfield came to Auburn from the State of New York, about 1836; was a wagon maker by trade. He married Sally Canfield, and they had seven children -- William, Eliza Jane, Henry, Agnes M., Sally Ann, Julia M., and Emogene. Lucius Redfield settled south of the center; carried on a small farm and worked at his trade for several years. He lost his first wife there, and he married again soon after; worked at his trade there several years, and lost his second wife. Mr. Redfield, then somewhat advanced in years, and his health being poor, gave up working at his trade, and lived with his children, at different places. He died at Niles, Ohio, in 1876.
    Gilbert Hinkley was born in Connecticut; came to the State of New York, and there married Betsey Turner. They had eleven children -- Charles D., Harry, William, Nathan, Lewis, Mary Ann, Nancy, Jerome, Emily, and Martha, all born in the State of New York. Gilbert Hinkley came to Auburn with his family in 1836, settled at the center, and died in a few years after. His widow died in 1871.

    Charles D. Hinkley, son of Gilbert Hinkley, was born in 1808; was married in 1835 to Margaret Van Wagner; came to Auburn in 1836, and settled a short distance east of the center. They had seven children, all born in Auburn, only two of whom are now living, viz: Darwin J. and Eugene J. Mr. Hinkley was a mason by trade, and worked at that business, more or less. After his father died he sold his farm, on the north side of the road, to his son, Darwin J., and purchased the old homestead, on the south side of the road. He lost his wife in 1867, after which he resided on the same farm with his children until his death, which occurred in 1873.

    Darwin J., eldest son of Charles D., was married about 1860 to Ann Independence Esty, she being born on the fourth day of July. They had one son -- Levi. Mr. Hinkley sold his farm in Auburn a few years since, and moved to Chagrin Falls, where he now resides. He is a mason by trade, and follows that business.

    Van Wagner, fourth son, was married in 1868 to Amanda Ragan. Van Wagner died in 1870, and his widow married William Wilson; and now resides in Chardon, Ohio. Eugene J., fifth son, was married in 1871 to Flora A., daughter of Edward Y. Hannum, and she died without heirs in 1872. Eugene J. owns the old homestead at the center, where his father and grandfather died.

    Jerome, youngest son, came from the State of New York to Auburn with his parents, and about 1847 married Mary A., daughter of Lucius Redfield, and they had no children. Several years after their marriage, Jerome moved to Auburn corners, and engaged in the mercantile business until 1869, when he sold out and gave up the business. He then took a journey to find employment, was taken sick, and died at Ravenna, Ohio, in 1870. Jerome, during his residence in Auburn, held the office of clerk, treasurer, justice of the peace, and postmaster.

    John Stafford was born in the State of New York, and there married Margaret Orr. They had seven children -- Samantha, Maria, Everson, Sanford, Eliza, William, Philo, and Mary. Mr. Stafford came to Auburn with his family about 1837, and settled on lot twenty-six, Atwater tract. They both died at that place about 1850. Their family all reside in the western States.

    Lilly Stafford, son of Jonathan Stafford, came to Auburn about 1837, and married a daughter of Esquire Patch, of Troy. Lilly settled on the center

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  205

    road, in the north part of the township, and had quite a family; sold out and moved to the western part of the State several years since. The mother of Christopher, Cornelius, and Lilly came to Auburn with her son Cornelius, and died in 1869, being eighty-eight years of age. Cornelius Stafford, son of Jonathan Stafford, came to Auburn in 1837, and settled on the Mills tract; was married in 1839 to Phebe F. Whitney, daughter of John Whitney. They had four children -- Olive S. Luzern D., Royal M., and Lionel B. Cornelius now resides on the farm where he first settled. He built a nice house and barns some years since, and he and his wife are enjoying the benefits of their industry and perseverance in their declining years. Lionel B. married a daughter of Madison Frost some two years ago. Luzern D. died several years since, and Royal M. is married, and resides in Ashtabula, Ohio.

    Lewis C. Reed, eldest son of Chester Reed, who was one of the first settlers of Mantua, came to Auburn in 1838, and settled on the State road, Atwater tract, one-half mile from the south line, and was married in 1835 to Mary E. Bump, of Mantua. They had three children -- Philip C., Luton L. and Henry E. Mr. Reed cleared up his farm, built a nice dwelling house, and died in 1865. Mr. Reed was elected County Commissioner in 1861 or 1862, and served one term.

    Luton L., son of Lewis C. Reed, resides with his mother, on the old homestead where his father died; he was married in 1861 to Irene C. Chapman, daughter of Orsaurus Chapman, of Newbury, Ohio. They have two children -- Lee J. and Luton R.

    Ovil Reed was also the son of Chester Reed, moved into Auburn in 1838, and also settled on the State road, Atwater tract, near the south line of the township; was married the same year to Sarah F. Miller, and they had four children -- Gilbert O., Triphena H., Almira R. and Eugene M. Mr. Reed cleared up his firm, built all the necessary buildings for comfort and convenience, and died in 1862.

    Eugene M., son of Ovil, resides on the old homestead where his father died, and his mother resides with him. He was married in 1869, to Millie L. Davis, of Newbury, Ohio. They have one child -- Wert E. Reed.
    Oliver W. Ludlow, son of Francis Ludlow, was born in Seneca, Cayuga county, New York, in 1800, and moved with his parents to Westfield, New York, in 1807. At the age of nineteen, with a few shillings in his pocket, he started on foot for Painesville, Ohio, and there engaged in teaching. In 1822 he went to Burton, Ohio, where he taught school with good success until 1824, where he commenced the study of medicine with Dr. Goodwin. In 1825 he went to Chardon, Ohio, where he continued his medical studies with Dr. Denton; also taught school there with much credit to himself. In 1827 he married Miss Harriet Metcalf, of that place. They had eight children -- Maria A., Linaeus C., Benjamin F., Washington I., Lycurgus, Louisa M., Harriet E. and Oliver E. In the fall of 1829 he went to New York to attend the New York Medical college; during the winter of 1830 he went to Geneva and taught school in order to defray his expenses through college. August 17, 1830, he received his diploma from the New York Medical academy. That fall he returned to Chardon and moved his family to Newbury, Ohio. In 1831 he began the practice of medicine in that and surrounding townships. In 1838 he moved to Auburn corners, where he practiced medicine until his death, which occurred in 1865. He died very suddenly, after having visited several patients on the day of his death. The cause of his death was a rupture of the left ventricle of the heart. Dr. Ludlow, during the last thirty years of his life, was not a religious man, in the ordinary sense; he believed in humanity, a common brotherhood and friendship for the stranger; he believed in less creeds and formalities, and

    206                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    in mere acts of benevolence, and his life was a testimony of the sincerity of his belief. He was very benevolent, often taking provision and clothing from his own home to supply the wants of the poor, and in several cases has given doctor's bills as high as sixty dollars, and furnished money to move poor families to western lands. Deeply interested in education, he was ever stirring to introduce modern improvements into the common schools, and when people were so indifferent to new books, he was often heard to say, "that he was one hundred years in advance of his time." Astronomy was a favorite study of his, and he lectured on that subject several years. As a physician, he was very successful. His professional labors were very arduous, seldom a day passing without finding him giving faithful attendance to the duties of his profession. A close student, when not on duty he was absorbed in study. Literally, he gave his life to humanity, and totally ignored self. The community mourned his loss, and, in testimoney of their respect, erected a monument to his memory, in the cemetery at Auburn Corners. Mrs. Ludlow, wife of the Doctor, was one of the best of women, and was highly respected by every one that knew her. She survived him a number of years, and, after a lingering disease of cancer in the stomach, death came to her relief. She died in 1870.

    Linaeus C., eldest son of Dr. Oliver W. Ludlow, was born in Newbury, Ohio, came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1857 he married Helen A. Stafford, daughter of Charles Stafford, and they have six children -- Wallace, Arthur, May; Linaeus C., Irving, and Helen. Mr. Ludlow resided in Auburn a short time after his marriage, and was then elected to the office of county recorder, two or three terms, and then moved to Cleveland, where he now resides. Benjamin F., second son, was born in Newbury; came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1862 married Delia Messenger, and they have three children -- Louis E., Clement O., and Oliver L. Mr. Ludlow resides on the old homestead where his father and mother both died. Washington I. was born in Newbury, and is, by profession, an inventor, and has obtained over twenty patents of his own inventions. He is probably one of the most successful inventors in the State. Mr. Ludlow is unmarried, and consequently has no particular abiding place; comes to the old homestead, in Auburn, occasionally, but spends the most of his time at other points. Lycurgus married in Cleveland several years since, and now resides in that city. Maria A., eldest daughter, married Ranson P. Hodges, and they have several children, but we do not know their names. They now reside in Cleveland, Ohio. Louisa M., second daughter, is unmarried, and also resides in Cleveland. Harriet E., third daughter, married William H. Reed, of Newbury. They have several children, but we do not know their names. They now reside in Burton, Ohio, and Mr. Reed is engaged in carrying mail.

    Oliver E. Ludlow was born in Auburn; was married in 1876 to Eliza Richards, daughter of Gilbert A. Richards, and they have one son -- Hoyt. They now reside on the farm formerly owned by Lorin Snow.
    Archibald Hazlett was born in Pennsylvania, and was married in 1817 to Margaret Kennedy. They had four children -- Ann, Sarah, Thomas and James. Mr. Hazlett came to Auburn, with his family, in 1837, and settled in the south part of the township, on the Atwater tract, where he lived a few years, then sold out and purchased land in the southwest part of the township, on lot twenty-five, Atwater tract, where he now resides. Mrs. Haziett died several years since.

    Thomas came to Auburn with his parents, and was married several years since, and now resides in the southeast part of the township.

    James came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1850 was married to Susan Line, and they had six children -- Martha M., Minn, Emma, George, Frank and Ida Bell. Mr. Hazlett, soon after his marriage, purchased the farm where Hannah

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  207

    Dodge now resides, lived there a short time, and sold out to Hannah Canfield, and lived in different places until 1855, when he purchased a farm of William Arnold, and others, on the east line of the township; cleared up his farm, put up good buildings, and died in 1872. His widow now resides at Auburn corners.

    Robert McBay was born in Pennsylvania, and came to Auburn in 1832; went west and married, lost his wife, and returned to Auburn several years since, where he now resides. He is a carpenter and joiner by trade.

    John and David Robinson, brothers, came to Auburn in 1837. They were shoemakers by trade, and commenced business at the corners, at Barnes and Harrington's old store. The same building is now owned by Thomas B. Hoard, and used for a blacksmith shop. It then stood on the northeast corner. John, we believe, was married before he came to the corners. His wife's name was Mary, daughter of Joseph Bartholomew. David, soon after, was married to
    Betsey Wilber. John built the house now owned by Daniel R. Bray. These brothers carried on business together several years. John, after a few years, removed to Chagrin Falls, and, probably, now resides in Russell. David continued business for a few years after his brother left, but finally gave that up and engaged in the furnace business with Charles Stafford. They also manufactured plows quite extensively for a few years, and then engaged in the mercantile business, in the old red store. They carried on that business a year or two, and then dissolved partnership. About this time Mr. Robinson lost his wife. While he was engaged with his brother in shoe-making, and with Stafford in the furnace and plow business, he resided north of the corners, on the place now owned by Dr. B. F. Ray, but at the time his wife died, he owned and resided in the place now owned by Mrs. W. N. White. Mr. Robinson married his second wife while living at the corners, and soon after sold out and purchased a farm in Russell, about one mile northeast of Chagrin Falls, and now resides at that place.

    Henry Capron came from New York to Auburn in an early day, and about 1838 married Laura Brown. They had three children -- Sabina, Louisa, and Julia. Mr. Capron purchased land one mile north of Brown's corners, where he built him a nice house and out-buildings, and remained until his death, which occurred in 1866. His wife died a few years since.
    Almon Lamb was born in New York; came to Mantua, Ohio, in an early day; came to Auburn in 1839, and purchased land in lot thirty-five, on the Atwater tract; was married in 1844 to Sophia Pierce. They have two children -- Malinda and Wallace A. Mr. Lamb resides on the south township line road, and on the north and south center road, and his son, Wallace A., is unmarried and resides with him. Several years since Almon Lamb had a severe attack of small-pox, which made a great excitement in the township. Mrs. Lamb died in 1879.

    Adorno Blood was born in Massachusetts; married Maryett Dormon, and had four children -- Emily O., Clark, Adorno, Jr., and Elsipher. Mr. Blood came to Auburn about 1840, and engaged in manufacturing rakes, and carried on that business first in the southern part of the township, at a saw-mill, built in an early day by the Pinney Brothers, on a stream known as Black brook; from there he moved to the west part of the township, and started a rake factory at the saw-mill built by one Harvis, known afterwards as Barney's mill, where he manufactured rakes a few years, then turned his attention to farming. Mr. Blood lost his first wife several years since; married again, and now resides at Pope's corners, in Troy.

    William Green came from England. He was married about 1840 to Sarah Marshall, and they had seven children -- Thomas, William, Lavina, Odessa,

    208                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Emma, Frank, and Burt. Mr. Green came to Auburn about 1843, and resided in different parts of the township until the war of the Rebellion. In 1864 he enlisted in the service, and served until the close of the war. Soon after, he removed to Michigan with his family, where he died in 1874. His family (except his son William), still reside in that State. William Green, Jr., was born in Aurora, Ohio. He was married in 1875 to Maria Clatworthey. They now reside at the center of Auburn.

    Ebenezer Wicks was born in Massachusetts, and was married in 1830 to Arista Maynard, daughter of Moses Maynard. They had four children -- Ebenezer J., Celia, Lewis A., and Henry. Mr. Wicks was a blacksmith by trade, came to Auburn with his family in 1840, and settled in the north part of the township, built a shop, and commenced manufacturing axes and other edged tools, but soon after went to Auburn valley, and engaged in the furnace business, in company with Ashley Crafts. He worked there a few years at his trade and the furnace business together; then went back to his home where he first settled, was taken with the rheumatism, and after four years of intense suffering, two of which he was entirely helpless, he died in 1854. His widow is still living and resides with her children.

    Ebenezer J., son of Ebenezer Wicks, was born in Massachusetts, came to Auburn with his parents in 1840, and in 1857 was married to Rebecca Crosby, daughter of Julius Crosby, of Troy. They have three children -- Oliver L., Bert, and Elbertine. Mr. Wicks resides on the old homestead where his father died. Ebenezer J. is a carpenter and joiner by trade. Lewis A. came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1858 married Celestine Pettengill. They have a family of four children -- Clarence E., Clara B., Estelle C., and Francis E. Mr. Wicks is a blacksmith by trade, and his residence is at the center, though he spends most of his time in Cleveland shoeing race horses. Henry, third son of Ebenezer Wicks, was born in Massachusetts, and was married several years since. He now resides in Ashtabula county, Ohio.
    Rodolphus Odell was born in the State of New York, married Amy Akin in 1835, and came to Auburn in 1843. They had six children -- Henry C., Hiram L., Horace G., David W., Hannah F., and Mary C. Mr. Odell is a cooper by trade, and worked at that business for several years after arriving in

    Auburn, until his health began to fail, when he turned his attention to farming, and now resides in the southwest part of the township. Henry C. married a Miss Mansfield, and resided in Auburn several years, when he sold his farm and moved to Wisconsin, where they now reside. Hiram L. married Amelia Colvin, daughter of Abner Colvin, and they have two children. They now reside in Mantua. Horace G. is married, and resides in Michigan. David W., fourth son, married in Burton, and now resides in some western State.

    George A. Peabody was married in 1833 to Ann Spencer, and they came to Auburn in 1847, from Rhode Island. They have eight children -- Ann E., Sally B., Mary S., Martha B., Rebecca W., Charles F., George E., and Henry L. Mr. Peabody purchased his land of Alfred Thompson, on the east and west center road, a short distance west of where the diagonal road branches off from the center road, in the direction of Chagrin Falls; built a house and blacksmith shop, working at that trade, and resided there several years; then sold out to his son-in-law, John Fish, M. D., and moved a short distance farther east, where he now resides, and has worked at blacksmithing ever since he has lived in Auburn. Mr. Peabody was appointed postmaster in 1849, and served in that capacity eighteen years. The office was known as Bridge Creek. After the railroads were established and mail routes changed, this office became worthless, and Mr. Peabody notified the department of the fact, and the office was discontinued.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  209

    James Pickering came from England to Bainbridge, Ohio, and married Miranda M. Goddard in 1846, and soon after came to Auburn. They had five children--Emma M., Melissa A., Julia E., Ada M., and Lina R. Mr. Pickering is all music, and his children partake largely of his musical qualities, which makes his home pleasant and enjoyable. He now resides in the northwest part of the township, on the farm owned in an early day by Elihu Gorham.

    Zeb Dial Mott, son of Elihu Mott, was born in the State of New York, and came to Ohio, with his parents, in 1816. In 1838 he was married to Sophia, daughter of Israel Whitcomb. Mr. Whitcomb and Elihu Mott were among the first settlers of Troy, at that time called Welshfield. Z. D. Mott moved from Troy to Auburn in 1848, and settled on the east town line road. They had two children -- Caroline and Jennette. After a few years he sold his farm on that road, and bought one in the west part of the town on the east and west center road, owned by heirs of Walter McLouth. In 1874 he and his wife went to Missouri to visit a married daughter living in that State, and while there Mr. Mott was taken sick and died, quite suddenly. His wife returned to Auburn immediately, with his remains, which were buried in the cemetery at Auburn corners.

    Milton Zweifel came to Auburn in 1860, and was married the same year to Caroline, daughter of Zeb Dial Mott, and they have one son -- George. He owned the east half of the McLouth farm, and lived with his father-in-law until his death; then he purchased the balance of the farm of the heirs, and now resides on the place, and his mother-in-law resides with him. Jennette married Merritt, son of Charles O. Dutton, as mentioned in the record of the Dutton family.
    Parker Howland was from New York, and there married Eliza Ann Mix. They have only one child now living -- Lucy Ann. He came to Troy in 1837, and in 1850 came to Auburn, and settled in the southwest part, on the Atwater tract, where he now resides. About 1834, a man by the name of Johnson, occupied the same farm, and his dwelling-house took fire, and two of his children perished in the flames.

    John Thomas came from the State of New York to Streetsboro, with his parents, and in 1852 came to Auburn, and married Lucy Ann, daughter of Parker Howland. They had three children -- Fred W., Floretta M., and Mary E. Mr. Thomas has lived in different parts of the township, and during the war of the Rebellion he enlisted, and did good service for his country; he died in 1878, after a lingering illness. His widow and children still reside in the township.

    Tyler W. Wing came from Vermont, and was married, in 1815, to Martha Rogers. They had seven children -- Henry R., Emeline O., Martha M., John F., Benjamin A., Alexander T. and Martha E. During the war 1812, they lived near Plattsburg, New York, and Mrs. Wing remembers hearing the guns when the battle was fought at that place, and recollects seeing Generals McComb, Scott, Wilkinson, Hampton, and several other officers of less note. They moved to Streetsboro, in an early day; came from there to Auburn in 1830, and settled on the first north and south road west of the center. Mr. Wing died in 1874; he and his wife having lived together fifty-nine years.

    Alexander T. came to Ohio with his father; married in Streetsboro, and lost his wife. Came to Auburn, in 1856, and was married, in 1859, to Frances L. Stafford, daughter of Joshua and Lucretia Stafford. They have had four children, only two of whom are now living -- Willie S. and Ella E. Mr. Wing purchased his father's farm several years since, and now resides where his father lived and died. His mother is still living, and resides with him.

    Joseph Dodge came from New York, about 1838; was a mill-wright by trade,

    210                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    and was married, in 1841, to Hannah P. Canfield, daughter of Henry Canfield. They had six children -- Henry B., Julius H., Hiram M., Martin E., Rosa R., and Lillian J. Henry B. died when about twenty-one years of age. Mr. Dodge settled permanently in Auburn, in 1851, on the first east and west road from the south line of the township, on the north and south center road; worked at his trade more or less for several years, and worked a gang of hands on the Cleveland and Mahoning railroad, while that road was being built. If we remember correctly, he made one trip to Idaho in the interests of a mining company. On his return home he turned his attention principally to farming, and died in 1878. His widow and youngest danghter now reside on the old homestead, where he died.

    Julius H. was born in Mantua, Ohio; came to Auburn with his parents, and was married, in 1868, to Ella M. Rice, daughter of Edward C. Rice. They had one child -- Frank H. Mr. Dodge resides on the diagonal road, in the southwest corner of the township, on the farm formerly owned by William Watterman. Mrs. Dodge died, of typhoid fever, in November, 1878, after a lingering illness.

    Hiram M. was born in Auburn, and was married, about 1869, to Orra E. (Canfield) Beeler. After his marriage he resided in Auburn until the fall of 1876, when he moved to Kansas, and now resides in that State.

    Martin E. was born in Auburn. By industry and perseverance he obtained a good education; taught several district and graded schools, and some four years since turned his attention to the study of law, and in a short time was admitted to the bar, and is now one of the most promising young lawyers of the city of Cleveland, Ohio.

    Rose R. was born in Auburn; was married, some two years since, to Dr. John M. Crafts, of Mantua, and they have one child. They now reside at Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio.
    John Mayhew came from New York to Ohio about 1833, and married Elizabeth Sloan, of Bainbridge. Soon after their marriage they located at Bainbridge, doing a mercantile business at that place several years. They had two sons -- Monroe and George W. Mrs. Mayhew died in 1839. Mr. Mayhew, about 1840, went back to the State of New York and married Roxey Martin, and soon after sold out at the center and moved to Chagrin Falls, and continued in the mercantile business for a time, where he and Bliss carried on the milling and mercantile business together about three years. By the second wife he had four children -- Mary, Austin, Henry, and John. The two oldest died at that place. Mrs. Mayhew also died there about 1848. He soon after married Judith Martin, sister of the second wife; sold out at the Falls and moved to the center of Troy, where he built another store, and sold goods at that place until 1852. In the fall of 1851 he purchased a store at Auburn corners, from Henry Harrington; moved there, and in the spring of 1852 moved over the balance of his goods to that place. In 1852 he built the dwelling house now owned by Mrs. Lucina Burnett, having previously purchased the land from Edward Crafts. By this last wife he had two children, a daughter and son -- Mary J. and William M. He sold out his goods to Boswith and Parkman, and discontinued the business. His health continued to fail and he died in 1864. His widow married Gardner A. Fobes, and now resides in the State of New York. Mr. Mayhew was postmaster several years, and his son, George W., was his successor.

    Monroe, eldest son of John Mayhew, died in Auburn in 1874. George W. married Louisa, daughter of Charles Stafford. They have four children -- Florence H., Maud M., Mary O., and William J. Soon after their marriage Mr. Mayhew engaged in the mercantile business, in the store then owned by his father, and continued in that business until 1874. He left Auburn in 1875, and now resides in Cleveland, Ohio. Henry H. went into some western State; married,

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  211

    and died in Detroit, Michigan, in 1874. John W. married Hannah, daughter of Tyrus Canfield, and they have two children -- Maggie M. and Mary. They now reside in Auburn. Mary J. married Aristus A. Kingsbury, and they had three children -- John H., Brayton, and Lucy A. Brayton died in 1879. They now reside at Chagrin Falls, Ohio. William M. married Ella Green, of New Lisbon, Ohio, in 1877. They have one son -- Ira W. They now reside in Bryan, Ohio.

    Homer Frost was born in Mantua, and in 1852 was married to Mary E. Hickox, daughter of Dr. Benjamin Hickox, of Newbury, and they had three children -- John B., Lida C., and William. The latter died young. Mr. Frost came to Auburn in 1852, and purchased the saw-mill property of Mott and Mason, and now resides at that place. John B., son of Homer Frost, was born in Mantua, came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1876 married Ella McClintock, daughter of William McClintock. They have one child, and now reside in Mantua. Lida, only daughter, is unmarried, and lives at home with her parents.

    Charles R. Almy was born in Connecticut, and was married in 1822 to Rebecca Dorrence, and they had five children -- Mary Ann, Jane, George, Maria, and Jonas R. Mr. Almy came to Mantua in an early day, and moved from there to Auburn in 1852; settled on the south line of the township, and died there in 1878. His widow still survives him.

    Jonas R. Almy, son of Charles R. and Rebecca Almy, came to Auburn with his father from Mantua, in 1852; was married several years since, and has two children -- Cora and Charles D. Mr. Almy resides on the old homestead, and his mother lives with him.
    John King moved from Mantua into Auburn in 1852, and purchased a farm on the State road, south of the corners, of Rufus Pope, it being the farm where Charles Crocker now resides. Mr. King had a family, and one night while he was away from home, his house took fire from some hot ashes that had been thrown down in the wood-house (as was supposed), and burned to the ground. Two children that were asleep in the chamber could not be rescued, and consequently perished in the flames. Mr. King soon after sold out, and we believe returned to Mantua.

    James Thomas was born in the State of New York in 1816. In 1829, at the age of thirteen years, he came to Streetsboro, Ohio, with his parents, lived there a number of years and helped to clear up their farm. He worked at his trade, which was that of a carpenter, until his health failed, and by the advice of his physician he commenced driving stage, and followed that business two years. In 1848 Mr. Thomas was married to Maria L. Smith, of Ashtabula county. He came to Auburn in 1852 and purchased of one Joshua Russell, a partially improved farm in the Atwater tract, and has lived on that place since 1852. This land is said to be the first that was taken up on that tract, and was purchased by Daniel Butts. A house built by his brother Shaderath, was the first built on the tract. Mr. Thomas and wife have two children -- Osman J. and Frank E. He finished clearing up his land several years since, has put up good buildings, and now in their declining years himself and wife are enjoying the benefits of their industry.

    Osman J., eldest son of James and Maria L. Thomas, was married in 1874 to Sarah Murphy, of Ashtabula county, Ohio. They have one child -- Orville B. They now reside in Mantua, Ohio. Frank E. resides with his parents and helps to carry on the farm.

    Cyrus Rice came from New York to Mantua in 1822; was married in 1832 to Sarah Nooney, daughter of Hezekiah Nooney, who was among the first settlers of Mantua. They had five children -- Henrietta, Sylvester C., Harrison H.,

    212                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Cynthia A., and Austin C. Cyrus came to Auburn with his family in 1853, and purchased a farm of Chester Reed, on the State road, south of the corners, where he now lives. Henrietta married and lives in Michigan. Sylvester married some years since, and has two children; he now resides in Hiram, Ohio. Harrison H. married Julia Messenger, and resides in Missouri. Cynthia A. married Daniel Dean, and now resides in Auburn. Austin C., youngest son of Cyrus Rice, married Laura E. Foster, daughter of William Foster, of Mantua, and they have one child -- Ella May. Austin resides with his father, and carries on the farm.

    Zeno K. Eggleston was born in Aurora, and is son of Chauncey Eggleston, who was one of the first settlers of that township. Zeno K. was married in 1853 to Olivia May, daughter of Jude May, and they have five children -- May, Arthur, Addie, Ernest, and Claude. May and Arthur died young. Mr. Eggleston purchased a farm of his father, a short distance west of his father-in-law's, which consisted of the farm formerly owned by Arnold Harrington, which was on the Root tract, and also purchased the famous Eggleston sugar camp, being on lot sixteen, Atwater tract, known as the most extensive sugar camp in the State, not only for the number of trees it contained, which, if we remember correctly, was between three and four thousand, but for the quantity and quality of the sugar manufactured there. Chauncey Eggleston, or General Eggleston, as he was more familiarly known, purchased this land in an early day and opened up this extensive sugar camp, and continued to make sugar there until he sold out to his son. The General was the inventor of the plan of hanging up the bucket on the spout to catch the sap, which plan has become general throughout the township, thereby saving all the sap that runs. Zeno K. run this farm and sugar camp successfully until about 1869, when he rented his farm, moved to Chagrin Falls, and engaged in the mercantile business. Mr. Eggleston sold this farm in 1874, and has become a permanent resident of the Falls, and we learn is one of its most popular and successful merchants.

    Edwin Knight came to America in 1852, and was married in Bainbridge the same year, to Mary Marshall. They have no children. Mr. and Mrs. Knight came to Auburn in 1853, and, with the exception of a short time spent in Michigan, have resided here. Mr. Knight enlisted in the Second Ohio heavy artillery in 1864, and did good service for his country until the close of the war of the Rebellion.
    Clement Messenger came to Mantua with his parents in 1816. In 1832 he married Pleaides, daughter of William Skinner, who was also one of the first settlers of that township. They had seven children -- Sabra, Clara, Ruth, Delia, Mary L., Julia E., and Clements. He came to Auburn in 1854, and purchased a farm of David Smith, Jr., one mile north of the corners, and soon after taking possession, his daughter Sabra died, aged twenty-four years. He remained there several years, during which time he purchased one-half of the farm where Willis Woods first settled, built a house there in 1877, and now resides at that place. Clement, Jr., was born in Stow, Ohio; he came to Auburn with his parents, and in 1872 married Mary E., daughter of Oliver P. Hayes, and they have one son -- Arthur C. He now resides on the farm where his father first settled in 1854.

    James Green came to Auburn with his brother William in 1855, and was married in 1857 to Frances, daughter of George W. Antisdale. They have three children -- Miranda J., Levi J., and Wallace D. He enlisted in the Second Ohio heavy artillery in 1864, and was in the service until the close of the war of the Rebellion.

    Francis W. Hazen was married in 1853 to the widow Pettingill, (was Mary E. Harpum [sic Harpham?]). They came from Munson to Auburn in 1855, and purchased the

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  213

    farm formerly owned by Rupert Hall, north of the corners; lived there a few years and then sold out and went to the corners; purchased a house and lot on the northeast corner, and lived there until the death of Mr. Hazen, in 1865. His widow resides at Auburn center with her daughter, Mrs. Lewis A. Wicks.

    Charles Crocker moved from Mantua to Auburn in 1857, and settled on the State road two miles south of the corners; was married in Mantua to Louisa H. Holbrook, and she died, without heirs, in 1864; was married again to Anna M. Hough about 1866, and they have two children -- Eddie A. and Lottie M. Mr. Crocker lives on the farm formerly owned by John Morey.

    George Squire was born in Mantua, and is the son of Ezekel and Clara Squire. The father of Mr. Squire was a practicing physician, and his ride extended over Mantua, Russell, Newbury, Chester, Aurora, etc. In 1822 he died, and his wife died in 1852. George was married in 1850 to Mary C. Palmer, daughter of Nathan H. Palmer, who resided in Newbury, in an early day, and was also a practicing physician, whose ride extended over Newbury, Auburn, Welshfield (now Troy), Burton, etc., etc. They have had four children -- Alice C., Arthur. G., Cora L. and Orris G. Mr. Squire came from Aurora to Auburn, in 1838, and purchased a farm in the northwest part of the township, which was formerly owned by Lyman Brewster, on which he now resides. Alice C., his daughter, is married and resides in Solon. Arthur G. is married and resides in the southwest part of the township. Cora L. and Orris G. are unmarried, and live at home with their parents.
    Madison Frost was born in Mantua, and is the son of John Frost, one of the first settlers of that township. Mr. Frost married Maria Powell, and they have three children -- Cynthiana S. M., Luna I., and Henry L. Mr. Frost moved to Auburn in 1859, and purchased a farm on the east and west center road, west of the center, (the farm being owned in an early day by one Thompson), and, by his industry and perseverance, he has added on, piece after piece, until his farm contains over four hundred acres.

    Lucius N. Parker, son of Emerson Parker, came to Auburn in 1862, and was married in 1868 to Terestia L. Canfield. They have no children. They have, since 1872, resided in Auburn.

    Thomas Thorpe came from Ireland in 1800, and was married in 1836 to Eliza Heron, and they had twelve children, six of whom are now living -- William, Frederick, Jennie, Julia, John S. and Edward C. Mr. Thorpe emigrated to Ohio in 1845, and is a carpenter by trade. After working in many places, he came to Parkman. In 1869 he came to Auburn, and now lives with his son William, who owns the mills formerly owned by Jude May.

    Adolphus Eggleston was born in Bainbridge. In 1869 he was married to Eliza Robbins, and they came to Auburn the same year, and purchased a farm in the northwest part of the township, formerly owned by Harvey Gilbert, on which they now reside. They have two children--Lena and Frank G.

    Edwin Robinson, Jr., is the son of Edwin and Almina Robinson, of Newbury, and was born in 1838; was married in 1863 to Lola L., daughter of Welcome A. Jenks, of Newbury. They have one child -- Harry A. Mr. Robinson came to Auburn in 1868 and settled on the farm formerly owned by Dr. A. B. Hoard, which is now known, under Mr. Robinson's administration, as "The Valley Farm."

    John K. Stewart came from New York to Chagrin Falls in 1861; was married in 1862 to Esther A. Lampson, daughter of Virgin Lampson, of Troy, and they had two children -- Freddie O. and Cora M. John K. Stewart came to Auburn in 1868 and purchased a house and lot from Eliza Horton; lived there until 1876, when he sold out and moved to Spring, Pennsylvania. He soon returned to Auburn again and purchased the building at the corners, known as

    214                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    the old "Red Store," and is now engaged in the mercantile business at that place.

    Gideon L., Jr., son of Gideon L. Sprague, came from Massachusetts in 1818; came to Ohio with his parents, and in 1844 was married to Jennett, daughter of George I. Bowler. They had five children -- Dwight W., Byron, Julia, Walter, and Mary. Gideon L. Sprague resided in Bainbridge from 1830 to '65, when he sold out there and purchased a farm in Auburn, from Alanson E. Barnes, containing about four hundred acres of land. Mr. Sprague resided on that farm about ten years, and then purchased the farm formerly owned by Hosea Barnes, containing about two hundred acres of land, and now resides on that place. Dwight W. was born in Bainbridge; came to Auburn with his parents in 1865, and in 1872 was married to Lenora Parks, daughter of Edwin Parks. They have one child. Mr. Sprague resides on the farm that his father purchased of Alanson E. Barnes.

    John Whitney, son of William Whitney, was born in Massachusetts in 1788; was married, in 1813, to Olive Mason, and they had six children -- Eliza A. Phebe P., Luther T., Lydia M., Harriet E., and George W. John Whitney came to Auburn with his family, in 1833, and settled on the Sanford tract. He and his wife died a few years later. There is but one member of the family living in town at present, at the present time, and that is the wife of Cornelius Stafford.
    Charles D. Carlton was born in Mantua; was the son of Dudley Carlton, who was one of the first settlers of that township. Charles D. was married, in 1840, to Deline Reed, and they had four children -- Caleb C., Henry C., Lydia L., and Elmer M. Mr. Carlton settled in Mantua, but, in 1863, he sold his farm there, and came to Auburn and rented a farm in Auburn valley, which he subsequently purchased. In a year or two he sold it, and again rented it, and lived there until his death, in 1878.

    Caleb C. Carlton was born in Mantua, and came to Auburn with his parents. In 1870, he married Marion E., daughter of Dudley Fox, and the widow of Abram Crafts. They have one child -- Lewis. They now reside at Chagrin Falls, Ohio.

    Henry C. Carlton was born in Mantua, and came to Auburn with his parents, and, in 1867, married Lizzie Black. They have one child -- Charles J. Henry C. Carlton resides on the same farm where his father died. Lydia L. only daughter of Charles D. Carlton, was married, in 1866, to Henry St. John, and died in 1878. Elmer M. also came to Auburn with his parents, and, in 1874, married Alice, daughter of Reuben Dayton, of Burton, and resides in Newbury.

    Benjamin F., son of William and Sophia J. Ray, was born near Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1843; came to Ohio with his parents, who located in Newburgh. Benjamin F. kept constantly in school, lacking only one year from graduating in the collegiate course at Baldwin University, Berea. He read medicine under Dr. David G. Stretor, of Bedford, Ohio, and Robert E. Strong, a celebrated surgeon, of Cleveland, Ohio. Next he entered the medical department of the University of Michigan, and, after finishing a course, immediately entered the army as a private, and in a few weeks was promoted to surgeon, in which capacity he remained until mustered out at the close of the war. In 1865, he commenced the practice of medicine in Warrensville, Ohio, where he remained some six months. In September, 1865, he located at Auburn corners, to attempt the arduous labor of filling the void made vacant by the death of Dr. Oliver W. Ludlow. As to how well he has performed this duty, time must be the arbiter. In 1867, Dr. Ray married Jennie, daughter of David C. and Jane Bacon, of Northfield, Ohio, and they have two daughters -- Sophia S., and Jennie G. The doctor graduated at the Cleveland Medical college, class of 1869-70;

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  215

    is now practicing, and has an extensive ride in Auburn and the surrounding townships.

    Christopher A. Hunt came from New York, where he married Roxana L. Wright, and they had five children -- Austin, Sally M., Ina, Asher M., and Ai A. He came to Auburn with his family in 1870, and purchased the hotel at the corners, where he now resides.

    Morris E. Haskins came from New York. He enlisted in the early part of the war of the Rebellion, was severely wounded, and discharged from the service. He married Sally M. Hunt, and they have two children -- Luella and Nellie. Mr. Haskins now resides at Auburn corners.

    George P. Sutliff was from Shalorsville, and was married in 1870 to Florence K. Hall. They have one child -- Emma N. Mr. Sutliff came to Auburn in 1871, and now resides a half mile west, and a half mile north of the corners.

    Ransom E. Parker, son of Emerson and Chloe Parker, was born in Bainbridge; was married in 1869 to Cora Brown, came to Auburn in 1871, and lived in different places until 1874, when he purchased the farm near Thorp's mill, known as the John Brown farm, where he now resides. They have one child, a son -- Ernest.
    Dorrance A. Egbert came from Hudson, Ohio, and in 1872 married Marian Parks, daughter of Lewis Parks, of Burton, and they have three children -- Glenn P., Allen N., and Lewis H. Mr. Egbert is a blacksmith by trade, and resides a few rods west of the corners, where he has a shop and works at his trade.

    Henry M. Kent was married in 1873 to Nellie M., daughter of John Quinn. He was from Hudson. They have one child -- Ray B. Mr. Kent lives on the farm formerly owned by Henry Capron, one mile north of Brown's corners.

    Charles W. Stroud was from New York. When the war broke out in 1861 he was in Meadville, Pennsylvania, and there enlisted in the three months' service, served his time out, was discharged, and came home to Streetsboro, Ohio. In 1862 Mr. Stroud enlisted in the Ninth Ohio battery for three years, or during the war. This battery was in several skirmishes, and in the battles of Franklin and Triune. After the battle of Triune they followed the enemy for several days in succession, performing long and wearisome marches, undergoing great hardships and privations, through all of which he came out safely, and was honorably discharged at Chattanooga, Tennessee. He soon returned home to Streetsboro, and in 1867 married Margaret, daughter of Aaron Meach, of that place. Mr. Stroud is a carpenter and joiner by trade. In 1873 he came to Auburn and settled a short distance north of the corners, where he now resides. They have four children -- Bertie C., Herman H., Ervia M., and Raymond R. Mr. Stroud continues to work at his trade in this and adjoining townships.

    Benton C. Frost, son of John Frost, one of the first settlers of Mantua, was married in 1871 to Olive P. Gallia, and they have one child -- Francis. He came to Auburn in 1873, and purchased a farm of Francis Canfield, one mile from the south line of the township, it being the same farm owned in an early day by Charles Hinckley, and by him sold to Daniel Washburn, and by Washburn sold to Francis Canfield.

    William F. Balke was from Germany, where he learned the tinner's trade. He came to Auburn corners in 1869, and rented a tin-shop of Orvil S. Crain and commenced business for himself. He worked in that shop for two years, and then purchased the school-house, rented a piece of W. N. White at the corners, moved the building there and fitted it up for a shop, and is now carrying on business at that point. In 1879 he purchased a house and lot just south of his shop (being the same formerly owned by Charles Stafford), and married Clara, daughter of William Class, of Akron, Ohio.

    216                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    S. L. Costlow was from New York. He resided in Bainbridge previous to 1874, and was married about that time to Kate Sweeny; came to Auburn and purchased the farm in the west part of the township, formerly owned by Parsons White. They have two children -- Eliza J. and Mary E.

    Frank F. Pease came to Auburn in 1874, and in 1876 married Amelia E., daughter of Chardon Ensign, of Middlefield, Ohio. They have no children, and now reside at Auburn corners.

    Alfred C. Brintzenhoff came from Pennsylvania, and there learned the trade of harness-making; came to Auburn corners in 1876; worked for Lewis L. Webster until the fall of 1877, when he purchased Webster's tools, hired his shop, and commenced business for himself. In 1878 he purchased a shop, and is now located a short distance north of the corners, and doing a good business. He is a young man and unmarried.

    Correll C. Payne was married in 1876 to Alice C. Wells, and they have no children. He lives on the State road, two miles south of Auburn corners, on the Atwater tract, and owns the land originally taken up by David Eggleston, and was, if we remember correctly, one of the first lots taken up on that tract.
    Henry W. Murray came from Pennsylvania. When the first seventy-five thousand men was called for by President Lincoln, in 1861, to put down the Rebellion, Mr. Murray responded, and enlisted for three months; served out his time and was honorably discharged. The Rebellion not being put down at that time, and more men being called for, Mr. Murray re-enlisted for three years, and was assigned to the army of the Potomac. He fought under all the generals who commanded that army, up to the latter part of the year 1863. He was in ten hard fought battles, as follows: Yorkow, Fair Oaks, Peach

    Orchard, Savage's Station, Malvern Hills, Wideoak Swamp, Antietam, Fredericksburgh, Chancelorville and Gettysburgh. At the last named battle, when the loyal Union army had overpowered the rebels, and they were retreating, Mr. Murray was hit in the left eye by a rebel bullet, which passed through behind the right eye, and flattened against the right cheek bone. The last man or men Mr. Murray saw, or ever will see on earth, were rebels, and they were retreating.

    After a long period of intense pain and suffering, Mr. Murray finally recovered from the effects of his wound, and in 1867 he married Miss Hannah W. James, daughter of Samuel James, of Camden, New Jersey. Soon after the marriage he moved to Wayne county, Ohio, and lived there until the spring of 1876. Then he came to Auburn, and purchased the first farm in Auburn valley, north of the east and west center road, and now resides at that place. Mr. and Mrs. Murray have four children -- John A., Lizzie, Harry W. and Clyde.

    Cassius N., eldest son of David N. Egbert, was born in Hudson, Ohio. In 1877 he came to Auburn, and in 1879 married Nora Cook, of Akron, Ohio. He has a shop at the corners where he manufactures wagons, buggies, cutters, furniture, of all kinds; and, in fact, is an expert at most all kinds of mechanical work.

    Frank D. Hollis was born in Claridon, Ohio, and is the second son of Stephen Hollis, of that township. In 1873 Mr. Hollis married Alice Deuel, daughter of Robert Deuel, formerly of Mantua, Ohio. They have one child -- Lynn D. Mr. Hollis came to Auburn in the spring of 1879, and purchased the cheese factory a short distance east of the corners, known as the Crafts' factory, where he now resides, and is engaged in manufacturing cheese.


    The first school in Auburn was kept in the dwelling-house of David Smith, sr., in the summer of 1816, and was taught by Mrs. Betsey (Orton) Wilcox. She

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  217

    afterwards became the wife of David Smith, Jr. The first winter school was taught by Jacob Van Duzen, in the winter of 1817-18. The first school-house built was located a short distance north of the corners, near where the dwelling-house of Charles W. Stroud now stands. This house, as near as we can learn, was built in the summer of 1817. The first frame school-house must have been built in 1827 or '28, and was located on the west side of the State road, nearly opposite the one lately built, and was then, as now, district number one. The second frame school-house was built in 1834, and was located a half mile east of the corners, in what was then, as now, district number two. Nice frame school-houses have been built since, as they were needed.


    It appears from the township records of May 26, 1827 (and that is the earliest records we now have), that on that day the trustees met and altered the school districts, there being at that time only four districts in the township. Other districts were established from time to time, as the township increased in population, until May 30, 1838, when the trustees met and divided the township into nine school districts. School districts numbers five and nine have been divided and attached to other districts, so that at the present time there are seven whole districts, and two fractional districts in the township.

    The inhabitants have always taken a lively interest in educational matters; securing, from time to time, the very best teachers in the district schools. Since the organization of the township, there have been several select schools taught by different teachers, among whom were: Job Fish, Wesley Vincent, Rufus Dutton, and W. N. White.

    There has been quite a large number of scholars sent from this township to Hiram, Oberlin, Hillsdale, and other institutions of learning throughout the country, none of whom have as yet, to our knowledge, been elected governor of any State, or president of the United States; but we presume many of them have educations suitable for either.


    Since the first settlement of the township there have been five churches organized, as follows:

    Methodist Episcopal -- Organized about 1821. Morgan Orton and George W. Antisdale were the most prominent male members in 1832. This church, at that time, had a very large membership. They built a church at the center about 1842, which was sold several years since and taken away. The town house now stands on the same ground. This denomination is still in existence, and now occupy the Free Will Baptist church, at the corners, where they have preaching each alternate Sabbath.

    Close Communion Baptist -- Organized in 1832. Elder S. Root preached the sermon, and Elder T. B. Stephenson gave the right hand of fellowship. Benjamin and Luke Barney were the most prominent male members of this church. The members of this church about 1840 were quite numerous, but at present there is no church organization of that name in the township.

    Protestant Methodist -- Organized in 1833. Elder Richardson and Dr. Bell, if we remember correctly, were the officiating clergymen at its organization. Ashley Crafts, Alanson T. Crafts, Russell Hall, and Peter Silvernail, were the most prominent male members in this church. About 1834 they built a log church in the valley, and held meetings there for several years, but no such denomination exists in the township at the present time.

    Disciple -- Organized by Elder A. S. Hayden in 1841. Ransler Granger, John Brown, and Jonathan Burnett, were the most prominent male members. The

    218                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    number of members belonging to this church at one time was between seventy and eighty. They built a church at the center about 1846, and occupied the same for many years, but no such church organization now exists in the township. Their church is kept in repair by the citizens of the township, and is used on funeral occasions. It is also used, at the present time, by the Universalists, who have preaching there every other Sabbath.

    Free Will Baptist -- Organized in 1839 or '40. If we remember correctly, Elder Miller was the officiating clergyman at its organization. Ashley Crafts, Alanson T. Crafts, David Thomas, and Numan Wadsworth, were the most prominent male members. This denomination built a church at the corners in 1840, and have occupied it ever since. One year since they made a thorough repair, and it is now about as good as new. The number of members belonging to this denomination at the present time is sixty. Rev. L. D. Boynton, from Hillsdale, Michigan, is their present pastor, and preaches each alternate Sabbath.

    We are now through with the history of the inhabitants, schools, churches, etc., of the township, since its first settlement. We have obtained our information from all available sources at our command at the present time, and have no doubt committed some errors, but hope they are few. As to the leading men who have resided in the township since its organization, the civil roster which follows will disclose.


    The following is a record of township officers elected in Auburn since its organization in the spring of 1817. All records being lost from the year 1817 to the year 1827, we are only able to give the names of the justices of the peace elected between those years. And it appears, from Uncle William Crafts' record, that at the first election, Bainbridge and Auburn were one election precinct, and voted together at the first election, which was held at the residence of Ethan Brewer, at Auburn corners:

    1817. Justice, Ethan Brewer. The first elected in the township. At this election Auburn and Bainbridge voted together.

    1820. Justice, John Jackson. This was the first justice elected by Auburn alone.

    1823. Justice, John Jackson. Re-elected, and died in 1824.

    1824. Justice, Charles Hinckley.

    1827. Justice, David Smith, sr. Served part of the term and resigned. The balance of officers elected that year were as follows: Trustees, Charles Hinckley, Joseph Webster, and Roger W. Antisdale; treasurer, William Crafts; clerk, Lorin Snow; constable, William Squire.

    1828. Justices, Austin Richards and Pardon Wilber; trustees, B. F. Chamberlain, Pardon Wilber, and William Crafts; treasurer, Elisha Gorham; clerk, George Wilber; constables, Ethan Brewer and George W. Antisdale.

    1829. Trustees, Joseph Woodard, Lorin Snow, and Charles Hinckley; treasurer, William Crafts; clerk, George Wilber; constables, Ransler Granger and Hiram Canfield.

    1830. Trustees, Zadock Reuwee, Elisha Gorham, and Daniel Wheelock; treasurer, Alvirus Snow; clerk, David Smith, Jr.; constables, Jonathan Burnett and Hiram Canfield.

    1831. Justices, Austin Richards and B. F. Chamberlain; trustees, Leicester Perkins, Ransler Granger, and Willis Woods; treasurer, William Crafts; clerk, James T. Dutton; constables, S. E. Lacy and Jonathan Burnett.

    1832. Trustees, Austin Richards, Thomas Page, and Zadock Reuwee; treasurer, William Crafts; clerk, Lorin Snow; constables, Hiram Canfield and J. C. Jackson.

    1833. Trustees, Benjamin Barney, Daniel Wheelock, and Jonathan Burnett; treasurer, William Crafts; clerk, David Smith, Jr.; constables, Peter O. Hall and George Wilber.

    1834. Justices, George Wilber and Austin Richards; trustees, Ashley Crafts, Stephen Oliver, and B. F. Chamberlain; treasurer, William Crafts; clerk, Jonathan Burnett; constables, James C. Jackson and Eli H. McConoughey.

    1835. Trustees, Charles Hinckley, J. C. Waterman, and Lorin Snow; treasurer, William Crafts; clerk, Hervey Harrington; constables, Jonathan Burnett and Ransler Granger.

    1836. Trustees, David Stafford, Lyman Brewster, and David Smith, Jr.; treasurer, Hervey Harrington; clerk, William Crafts; constables, Ransler Granger and Jonathan Burnett.

    1837. Justices, George Wilber and Austin Richards; trustees, David Smith, Jr., Charles Hinckley, and Joshua Stafford; treasurer, A. E. Barnes; clerk, Hervey Harrington; constables, Ransler Granger and Jonathan Burnett.

    1838. Trustees, David Smith, Jr., Joshua Stafford, and Amos Mason; treasurer, William Crafts; clerk, Hervey Harrington; constables, Ransler Granger and James C. Jackson.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  219

    1839. Trustees, David Smith, Jr., Joshua Stafford, and Jude May; treasurer, A. E. Barnes; clerk, Hervey Harrington; constables, Jonathan Burnett and Hunting Trescott.

    1840. Justice, Austin Richards; trustees, Hiram Canfield, Jonathan Burnett, and Alfred Thompson; treasurer, A. E. Barnes; clerk, Hervey Harrington; constables, Anson Jackson and Henry Capron.

    1841. Trustees, Jonathan Burnett, Hiram Canfield, and Joshua Stafford; treasurer, William Crafts; clerk, David Smith, Jr.; constables, Anson Jackson and Henry Capron.

    1842. Justice, Jude May; trustees, Jonathan Burnett, Hiram Canfield, and Joshua Stafford; assessor, David Smith, Jr.; treasurer, Leicester Perkins; clerk, David Smith, Jr.; constables, Alonzo Miller and Leverett Barney.

    1843. Justice, David Smith, Jr.; trustees, Hiram Canfield, Austin Richards, and Thomas Hood; assessor, Jonathan Burnett; treasurer, David Robinson; clerk, James C. Jackson; constables, Lines S. Pope and Tyrus Canfield.

    1844. Trustees, Austin Richards, Hosea Barnes, and Lorin Snow; assessor, Jonathan Burnett; treasurer, David Robinson; clerk, James C. Jackson; constables, Tyrus Canfield and P. O. Hall.

    1845. Justice, B. F. Chamberlain; trustees, Hosea Barnes, Lorin Snow, and Harvey Gilbert; assessor, Henry Capron; treasurer, David Robinson; clerk, James C. Jackson; constables, Charles Stafford and George Johnson.

    1846. Justice, David Smith, Jr.; trustees, Collins Y. Capron, Samuel S. Philips, and Elias H. Fish; assessor, David Smith, Jr.; treasurer, David Robinson; clerk, James C. Jackson; constables, Charles Stafford and David C. McConoughey.

    1847. Trustees, C. Y. Capron, P. O. Hall, and J. C. Jackson; assessor, A. E. Barnes; treasurer, Jerome Hinckley; clerk, Charles O. Dutton; constables, David C. McConoughey and John H. Barnes.

    1848. Justice, D. C. McConoughey; trustees, P. O. Hall, John H. Ross, and Henry Capron; assessor, John Quinn; treasurer, George Johnson; clerk, C. O. Dutton; constables, Oliver P. Hayes and Leverett L. Barney.

    1849. Justice, David Smith, Jr.; trustees, David Stafford, Jonathan Burnett, aud John Quinn; assessor, Ransler Granger; treasurer, Charles Stafford; clerk, Nicholas Fish; constables, James T. Dutton and George Harpham.
    1850. Trustees, Leicester Perkins, Jude May, and J. C. Jackson; assessor, Edward Crafts; treasurer, C. D. Hinckley; clerk, John Quinn; constables, O. J. Bissell and Clinton Stafford.

    1851. Justice, D. C. McConoughey; trustees, George Wilber, J. C. Jackson, and Hiram Canfield; assessor, Tyrus Canfield; treasurer, James T. Dutton; clerk, Nicholas Fish; constables, S. L. Wadsworth and Seth Cook.

    1852. Justice, Jonathan Burnett; trustees, Edward Crafts, John Quinn, and George Wilber; assessor, George Wilber; treasurer, David Robinson; clerk, Jerome Hinckley; constables, S. L. Wadsworth and L. L. Barney.

    1853. Trustees, John Mayhew, Homer Mills, and Calvin Brewster; assessor, S. L. Wadsworth; treasurer, Albert G. Etheridge; clerk, Jerome Hinckley; constables, William C. Dutton and Lyman S. T. Brewster.

    1854. Justices, Calvin Brewster; trustees, Homer Mills, A. B. Hoard, and Henry May; assessor, David Robinson; treasurer, A. G. Etheridge; clerk, Nicholas Fish; constables, William C. Dutton and L. S. T. Brewster.

    1855. Justice, Jonathan Burnett; trustees, Benjamin Crafts, Tyrus Canfield, and C. O. Dutton; assessor, David Robinson; treasurer, A. G. Etheridge; clerk L. C. Ludlow; constables, L. S. T. Brewster, and Ezra Luther.

    1856. Trustees, C. O. Dutton, William Crafts, and Zeno Eggleston; assessor, Edward Crafts; treasurer, Charles Stafford; clerk, Jerome Hinckley; constables, Charles Stafford, and L. S. T. Brewster.

    1857. Justice, Calvin Brewster; trustees, Edward Crafts, Hiram Canfield, and Peter O. Hall; assessor, O. P. Hayes; treasurer, Charles Stafford; clerk, J. Hinckley; constables, George W. Stillwell, and S. L. Wadsworth.

    1858. Justice, Jonathan Burnett; trustees, A. A. Snow, E. Y. Hannum, and George A. Peabody; assessor, Henry Capron; treasurer, John Spencer; clerk, W. C. Dutton; constables, James T. Dutton, and G. W. Stillwell.

    1859. Trustees, Lewis C. Reed, Russell Hall, and John Quinn; assessor, Nicholas Fish; treasurer, David Robinson; clerk, T. F. Stafford; constables, G. W. Stillwell and S. L. Wadsworth.

    1860. Justice, Henry Capron; trustees, Russell Hall, Francis Canfield, and Calvin Brewster; assessor, George Dutton; treasurer, John Mayhew; clerk, S. L. Wadsworth; constables, G. W. Stillwell, and A. J. Barney.

    1861. Trustees, Francis Canfield, W. C. Dutton, and Benjamin Crafts; assessor, A. T. Wing; treasures, John Mayhew; clerk, S. L. Wadsworth; constables, G. W. Stillwell, and Ambrose A. Butts.

    1862. Justice, Jerome Hinckley; trustees, Benjamin Crafts, Clement Messenger, and A. A. Snow; assessor, Henry Rice; treasurer, Charles Stafford; clerk, W. N. White; constables, A. A. Butts, and George W. Stillwell.

    1863. Justice, Henry Capron; trustees, George Squire, Clement Messenger, and Benjamin Crafts; assessor, F. Canfield; treasurer, Jerome Hinckley; clerk, W. N. White; constables, A. T. Wing, and S. L. Wadsworth.

    1864. Justice, S. L. Wadsworth; trustees, Francis Canfield, Daniel R. Bray, and W. C. Dutton; assessor, William Hood; treasurer, Jerome Hinckley; clerk, W. N. White; constables, L. L. Webster and G. W. Stafford.

    1865. Justice, A. T. Wing; trustees, Francis Canfield, William Hood, and Clinton Stafford;

    220                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    assessor, A. A. Snow; treasurer, Jerome Hinckley; clerk, W. N. White; constables, Thomas Hoard and D. J. Hinckley.

    1866. Trustees, William Hood, J. T. Dutton, and L. S. Reuwee; assessor, John Frazee; treasurer, Jerome Hinckley; clerk, W. N. White; constables, N. C. Keyes and S. S. Eggleston.

    1867. Justice, S. L. Wadsworth; trustees, William Hood, J. T. Dutton, and W. H. Mills; assessor, B. F. Ludlow; treasurer, Jerome Hinckley; clerk, W. N. White; constables, Willis Chase and Merritt Dutton.

    1868. Justice, David W. Russ; trustees, A. T. Wing, Francis Canfield, and J. T. Dutton; assessor, B. F. Ludlow; treasurer, Jerome Hinckley; clerk, H. H. Rice; constables, Merritt Dutton and T. C. Bartholomew.

    1869. Justice, George W. Wilson; trustees, A. T. Wing, G. A. Richards, and A. A. Snow; assessor, Charles O. Dutton; treasurer, W. N. White; clerk, George W. Stafford; constables, Byron W. Sprague and Merritt Dutton; real estate assessor, A. A. Snow.

    1870. Justice, S. L. Wadsworth; trustees, A. A. Snow, G. A. Richards, and S. S. Eggleston; assessor, A. T. Wing; treasurer, W. N. White; clerk, George W. Stafford; constables, J. M. Boomer and Edwin Robinson, Jr.; real estate assessor, A. A. Snow.

    1871. Trustees, S. S. Eggleston, A. Colvin, and F. Canfield; assessor, A. T. Wing; treasurer, W. C. Dutton; clerk, G. W. Stafford; constables, T. F. Maynard and E. Robinson, Jr.
    1872. Justice, George W. Wilson; trustees, Francis Canfield, S. S. Eggleston, and P. O. Hall; assessor, George W. Mayhew; treasurer, William C. Dutton; clerk, G. W. Stafford; constables, P. C. Stafford and John M. Stillwell.

    1873. Justices, S. L. Wadsworth and George Dutton; trustees, A. T. Wing, F. H. Mills, and W. C. Dutton; assessor, G. W. Mayhew; treasurer, G. W. Barnes; clerk, G. W. Stafford; constables, A. H. Richards and E. Robinson, Jr.

    1874. Trustees, A. T. Wing, F. H. Mills and W. C. Dutton; assessor, H. E. Andrews, treasurer, G. W. Stafford; clerk, C. A. Mills; constables, A. H. Richards and J. A. Stafford.

    1875. Trustees, H. E. Andrews, Clinton Stafford and E. S. Mills; assessor, Byron W. Sprague; treasurer, G. W. Stafford; clerk, C. A. Mills; constables, J. A. Stafford and Adolphus G. Canfield.

    1876. Justices, C. A. Mill and George Dutton; trustees, L. S. Reuwee, T. F. Maynard and A. T. Wing; assessor, L. L. Webster; treasurer, George W. Stafford; clerk, Nicholas Fish; constables, L. N. Stafford and E. Robinson, Jr.

    1877. Trustees, A. T. Wing, H. E. Andrews and T. F. Maynard; assessor, S. L. Costlow; treasurer, George W. Stafford; clerk, Byron G. Dutton; constables, E. Robinson, Jr., and Homer M. Andrews.

    1878. Trustees, William Wilber, A. T. Wing and W. C. Dutton; assessor, H. E. Andrews; treasurer, G. W. Stafford; clerk, C. A. Mills; constables, H. M. Andrews and A. G. Canfield.

    1879. Justices, C. A. Mills and S. L. Wadsworth; trustees, H. E. Andrews, Ozro Truman and G. A. Richards; assessor, H. E. Andrews; treasurer, Spencer F. Chamberlain; clerk, Byron G. Dutton; constables, H. M. Andrews and Pitt M. Crafts; real estate assessor, William C. Dutton.
    The following are the names of persons who have held the office of postmaster since the organization of the township, viz.: David Smith, sr., Nathan H. Ethridge, George Wilber, Hervey Harrington, George A. Peabody, John Mayhew, George W. Mayhew, Jerome Hinckley, George W. Butler, S. L. Wadsworth, and James A. Stafford. The two last named are the present postmasters. S. L. Wadsworth is postmaster at the corners, known as Auburn post-office and James A. Stafford is postmaster at the center, known as Bridge Creek postoffice.


    A. A. Kingsbury, naval service.       John Mayhew, naval service.
    John L. Richards, 41st O. V. I.       Ransom Brown, 9th O. B.
    Job Warren, Jr., killed.       Cornelius Stafford, 9th O. B.
    Perry Stafford, 42d O. V. I.       Orvil Stafford.
    Morris Brewster, 42d O. V. I. Died.       Orvil Stillwell, 2d O. C. Killed.
    William A. Stillwell, 105th O. V. I.       Charles Bowler, 7th O. V. I. Killed.
    John Bowler, naval service.       John Brewster, 2d O. C.
    Edwin Knight, heavy artillery. William Green, heavy artillery.
    O. D. Antisdale, " "       James Green, " "
    John Kimpton, naval service. Died.       Geo. W. Wadsworth, naval service, and 2d O. V. I.
    Adelbert Crain, " "       Nelson R. Woods, " "

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  221

    Orland Chase, 2d O. C.       Charles Chase, 2d O. C.
    John Chase, 2d O. C.       Nathan Chase, 2d O. C.
    William Hattery.       Lyman Brewster.
    Lemuel Barney, O. V. I.       Howard Reed.
    William Mills, 9th O. B. Died.       J. M. Boomer, 9th O. B.
    Ira Fish.       Jacob Line, Co. G, 2d O. V. C.
    Henry Higley, Co. G, 2d O. V. C.       W: L. Alberts.
    D. A. Johnson, died in Nashville.       Sutten Quinn. Died.
    Otis Canfield. Died.       Frank Canfield.
    Alfred Thompson.       John Thomas.
    Harry Rice.       Charles Pomeroy.
    Joseph Stafford, 42d O. V. I.       William Quinn.
    Alonson B. Woods. Died       Barney Brown.
    Walter Fobes, Co. G, 2d O. V. C.       W. C. Woods, Co. G, 2d O. V. C.
    Nelson S. Bartholomew.



    son of James and Clarissa Dutton, was born in Norfolk, St. Lawrence county, State of New York, January 20, 1821. When six years old the family moved to Canandaigua, New York, where they resided until the spring of 1829, when they moved to Auburn, Ohio. His boyhood here was spent at home on the farm until he was thirteen years old, during which time he enjoyed such limited advantages for an education as the common schools of the country at that time afforded. The summer of 1834 he was hired by Edson Kent, of Bainbridge, to work on his farm for four dollars per month, and in the fall of the same year worked for his brother John, in a foundry in Leroy. The following spring he went to work with his father to learn the trade of a carpenter. He worked at this trade with his father, except the winter months of the year, until he was twenty years old. During the winter of 1837 and '38, he, with three of his brothers, attended school in the "Ransom Brown district." The school was taught by the late Joseph W. Gray, founder and editor of the Plain Dealer, of Cleveland. For three years and a half before this winter he had attended school less than four months in all. His father's circumstances were such at the time as to require all the assistance that both he and his older brother Charles, who also worked at the trade with him, could render. Gray taught the best school that at that time had ever been kept in Auburn. He and his brothers, besides doing the "chores" at home, walked, in going to and from school each day, over four miles, and when there was an evening school -- a not unfrequent occurrence -- over eight miles; yet he has often said that he never made more rapid progress in his studies than he did that winter.

    The next season his father built a house for Dexter Pease, in Bainbridge. While at work on this house both he and his brother Charles hired to teach

    school for the winter. Rufus taught in the district west of Bainbridge center. The school-house was a log one, as was at that time nearly every dwelling house in the district, but there was then no scarcity of children in number for a school. His average attendance of scholars was forty-six. After working with his father the following spring and summer, he left home for the first time to attend a select school. He carried with him to pay board, tuition, and expenses for books, only twenty dollars, and that was borrowed money. A rather small sum it would seem at the present time to pay all the expenses of nine or ten weeks'

    222                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    schooling. But it did not cost as many dollars then as now to pay the expenses of an education. For board, lights, and washing, in a private family (a Baptist minister's), he paid one dollar a week. The school he attended was one opened that fall at Streetsboro, by Mr. and Mrs. Osgood. Mrs. Osgood was the daughter of Benjamin Barney, formerly of Auburn. The winter of 1839 and '40, he taught a school at Bainbridge center. A part of the following season he went to school again in Streetsboro, and the next winter taught in Euclid. After studying the next spring and summer with Mr. Abels, of Troy, he, with John Barnes, of Auburn, left his home September 20, 1841, intending to get situations as teachers, near Dayton, Ohio. Leaving Auburn Monday morning, they arrived at Dayton the Saturday following. Six days now would seem a long time to make that journey; but then there could be no traveling by cars, for there was not one mile of railroad in the State of Ohio. After remaining a few days in Dayton without making any great effort to find positions as teachers, they started with the intent of going to Kentucky, where they heard teachers were in demand and better wages paid than in Ohio. Arriving in Cincinnati early one foggy morning, they, while walking along the steamboat landing, came to a boat which had up steam, and sign out, "For St. Louis this morning at nine A. M." Dutton proposed to Barnes that they go to St. Louis. This proposition was made thoughtlessly, and as thoughtlessly accepted. Acting from the impulse of the moment, they, boy like, went on board, and being informed by the captain that they had barely time to get their trunks before the steamer would start, hastened to get them on board. The boat did not, however, leave the wharf for more than twenty-four hours afterwards. This gave them time for reflection, and they would gladly have left the boat and resumed their journey to Kentucky, but they had paid their fare, and there was no getting back their money, and they had not enough to go without it; so they were reluctantly compelled to abide by the choice they had made.

    Owing to the low stage of the Ohio river, the boat frequently getting aground, they were eight days in making the passage. From St. Louis they went to Alton, Illinois, and thence up into the country to the little village of Jerseyville. Here they remained a couple of weeks, Barnes working upon the farm, and Dutton at finishing the house of the landlord with whom they put up. After they had replenished a little their very scanty funds, and finding nothing to do that offered inducements to stay there, they returned to St. Louis, and then went by steamer to Memphis, Tennessee. Here they landed, November 19th, one thousand, three hundred miles, by river travel, from home, among entire strangers and with hardly a dollar in their pockets. They now began to feel that matters were getting a little serious with them. They started back into the country, on foot, to try and find situations, but in this were unsuccessful. Returning again to Memphis, they sought work there; for work they now must have. Memphis, at that time, was divided into two rival sections, viz: North Memphis, and South Memphis or Fort Pickering. Fort Pickering was preparing to celebrate the first anniversary of the founding of that part of the city, and, as was often the custom at the south, at entertainments of this kind, a barbecue was to be given. Finding the ground had been staked off for trenches, they proposed to the officer in charge of the preparations, to dig them for the moderate sum of one dollar and seventy-five cents. Their proposition was accepted with the generous offer to give them two dollars and fifty cents instead of the sum asked, and, in addition, the gentleman took them home to dine with him. A barbecue, as is well known, is made by roasting, whole, an ox, sheep, or hog, one or all, as the case may require. This is done by digging one or more trenches (in this case two were made) some twenty or thirty feet long, two feet wide at the top, and eighteen inches deep. The trenches are then filled with wood, which is burned

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  223

    until it becomes a mass of coals, when iron bars are laid across them, upon which the animals, after being killed and dressed, are placed, and turned from side to side until they are roasted. It will be apparent that from this method of cooking any degree of rare or well-done meats can be cut to suit the tastes of the most fastidious.

    The next day after the barbecue, Dutton succeeded in hiring out, to work at his trade, after which, by pledging his trunk and clothes, he borrowed ten dollars which he let Barnes have to get back up the river with.

    Remaining in Memphis until the next June, he was taken sick with the fever, but was fortunate enough to get away before he became too ill to travel. He was obliged, however, to leave the most of his earnings (one hundred dollars) to be collected for him by an agent, who, unfortunately never collected or paid to him a dollar. The journey up the Mississippi and Ohio rivers was to him, sick as he was, a long and tedious one. The steamer was ten days in making the

    trip from Memphis to Beaver. Arriving at home, he was confined to his bed several weeks, and it was a long time before he fully recovered from the effects of the fever.

    The following winter he, with two brothers and his sister, attended school at Cuyahoga Falls, and the next season he attended the Painesville academy, teaching part of the day to pay his expenses. The academy was then under the charge of Mr. and Mrs. Stevens. Mrs. Stevens formerly taught the school in Streetsboro.

    The winter of 1844 and 1845 he taught a select school at Auburn corners, and in the following spring went again to Memphis to try and get what was due him for work done three years before. But the company he had worked for, in the meanwhile had failed, and the hotel upon which he worked, and which, when he left Memphis, in the summer of 1842, was the best and most fashionable hotel in the city, had been turned into a negro pen for keeping slaves to be sold at auction. The contrast presented by these poor creatures in the large dining-hall of the hotel, covered with dirt and filth, waiting, like so many cattle -- and, apparently almost as unconscious -- their time to be brought to the auction block and sold, compared with what was taking place in the same hall three years before, when the elite of the city, with all the display and parade so common then at the south, came there to dinner, can be better imagined than described.

    Returning to Auburn, Dutton remained there only a few weeks, when, on account of his ill-health, he left for the east, and, after spending a few weeks at Saratoga, went to New York city. Arriving there, with only a few dollars in his pockets, he had thought of making a trip to sea, but he soon satisfied himself, from what he saw, that the life of a sailor, even for a single short trip, would not be to him agreeable, so he had sought again, what he had found before his never-failing friend in time of need, viz: work at his trade. This he succeeded in getting, taking work by the piece, as he was unable, from ill-health, to do a full day's work. He remained in the city, working, as he was able, at his trade, until the fall of 1846, when, after obtaining one of the two scholarships of the University of the City of New York, belonging to the Mercantile Library association, of which he had become a member, he offered himself, and, passing examination, was admitted into the sophomore class. The first two years of his course he supported himself by working at his trade out of college hours, studying at night and early morning to keep up with his class. The last year of his course his brother George loaned him money to pay his way. Graduating in the summer of 1849, he returned to Auburn, when, after spending a few weeks with his friends, he went to Dayton, Ohio, to take the position as principal of one of the public schools. He taught there in the public, and, afterwards,

    224                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    in a private school, until the close of 1851. Some of his friends were at that time talking of going to Oregon to settle, and desiring to get more accurate information of the country than was then to be obtained from published accounts, he volunteered to go there and bring back a report. Resigning his position, he made preparation for the journey, intending to be absent ten months.

    Leaving Dayton April 1, 1851, he went by stage to Cincinnati, thence by steamer to Independence, Missouri, where he purchased a horse, and rode across that part of the State known as the Platte purchase, to St. Joseph. Here he joined in company with two young men, and with them purchased an outfit for their journey across the plains. The people of the border, who furnished "emigrants with outfits," were a set of sharpers, resorting to almost any kind of deception or fraud to sell their goods. Many an unfortunate emigrant, after spending all his money for an outfit, found, to his sorrow, after being out a few days on the plains, that both the team and wagon which he had been induced to purchase from the representations of persons pretending to speak from experience, were unfit and worthless for the journey. None but the soundest and hardiest animals were suited for the journey, as they had to depend entirely for food upon the grass found along the way, which was often both inferior in quality and deficient in quantity. In consequence of deficient food, the teams, after a short time, became poor and weak, and it became necessary to lighten the loads in every way possible, even by throwing away of the outfit every pound that could be possibly dispensed with. As was natural, people were very reluctant to part in this way with goods which they believed would be important to their comfort at the end of their journey. Thus, it often happened that goods were carried too long for the strength of the teams, and not thrown aside until after it was found impossible to transport them further. As a consequence, the road or pathway, after the first one or two hundred miles, was strewn along the entire length with articles which had been thrown aside, from time to time, as the teams became too much worn out to draw them further. The road sides often presented some very interesting sights, from the great variety of things found lying along the way. A complete printing press was found standing by the road side near the top of the Rocky mountains. Some enterprising editor had, doubtless, purchased it, with the intention of "starting a paper on the Pacific coast," and, after hauling it over the long distance from the States to the Rocky mountains, found it impossible to carry it further. Even

    within seventy miles of the settlements in Oregon, on the Cascade mountains, five cooking stoves, seven wagons, with their loads, were found in one place. The year before, many, said not to be less than fifty thousand, started to cross the plains. That year the cholera broke out among them. Many died, and their graves were numerous along the road side. In most cases, the graves had been dug into by jackalls. The small party Dutton traveled with most of the way -- nine in all -- made the journey without the loss of any of their number, though only five entered the settlement in Oregon together. The sufferings of the preceding year prevented many from attempting to cross this season, so that the journey was made with comparatively small loss or suffering. Only eighteen emigrants were killed by the Indians,* this year, of all that started on the journey. As Dutton was going to Oregon solely to see and examine the country, and expected to return in the fall to the States, he desired to make his journey across the plains as short as possible, so that he would have more time for that purpose in the settlements. To expedite the journey, he, with his party, would travel with one train a few days, then push on to another in advance, and so on
    * The term emigrant was applied to all who crossed the plains.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  225

    until they got in advance of all the others, so that his small party traveled alone over the most dangerous portion of the road, from Soda springs across the Blue mountains, and finally five of their number, whom he described in his letter to his friends in Dayton as "wayworn travelers, descending from the western slope of the Cascade mountains, and coming out of their dense forests, saw for the first time for ninety-six days cultivated fields, houses, and other evidences that they were now in a civilized country." Dutton remained nearly four months in Oregon. During this time he made a journey through the Willamette valley on both sides of the river of that name, and went as far south as the Umqua river. Sickness prevented him from going to Washington territory, which was included in his plans.

    Having remained in Oregon as long as he intended, he left Portland for Astoria, by steamer, November 25th, and thence to San Francisco. After remaining in San Francisco four days he left in the steamship "Golden Gate," her first downward trip, for Panama. The voyage lasted twelve days, including twenty-four hours stoppage at Acaculpa, to take on coal. From Panama he, with some other passengers, walked to Gorgona, from which village they made the passage in a row-boat down to Chagres river, a distance of sixty-five miles to Chagres. The railroad across the Isthmus was not then completed. From Chagres he went to Havanna, and thence to New Orleans. At New Orleans he engaged passage to Cincinatti. The winter of 1851 and '52 was very severe, and the Ohio river froze over nearly the whole length. A few miles above Cairo the steamboat was stopped by the ice. As it seemed probable the boat would be detained there for a long time, Dutton, with two others, undertook a journey by land, of over three hundred miles, to Louisville, Kentucky. After they had walked two days, through deep snow, they stopped for a day; made a "yankee jumper" and purchased a horse and part of a harness, with a small rope for lines. Thus equipped they completed the journey to Louisville in ten days from the time they left the steamer. From Louisville he reached Cincinnati by way of Lexington and Covington, the river being still frozen over. From Cincinnati to Dayton by railroad (which was completed during his absence). He arrived in Dayton the last day of February, after an absence of ten months. In 1852 he, with Mr. Stevens, formerly his teacher in the Painsville academy, took charge of the agricultural department of the works of E. Thresher & Co., now Barney, Smith & Co., of Dayton. Mr. Stevens retired from the business in 1854, when Dutton purchased the entire interest of this department, and in 1855 built a manufactory for the purpose of making mowers and reapers. He commenced breaking ground for his work August 20, 1855. On the first day of December he had his buildings completed, machinery put up, and one hundred men at work. The previous year he had made, for John S. Wright, of Chicago, four hundred reapers, known as the "Atkins' Reaper." For the harvest of 1856 he made one thousand of these machines under contract for Wright. He made, on his own account, for the harvest of 1857, eight hundred, and the same number for the harvest of 1858. Wright failed to meet his obligation as agreed under his contracts for 1855 and '56. Partly owing to this, and partly owing to his losses in financial crisis of 1857, he was compelled to sell out his business in Dayton.

    He spent a portion of the winter of 1860 and '61 in Washington during the exciting times preceding the war. In the winter of 1862 he went to New York city, and made arrangements there with R. L. Allen & Co. to introduce into the market his (Dutton's) new mower, known as the Clipper mower. He remained with the Allens until the fall of 1866, during which time there were made and sold several thousand of his machines. This machine being now well known and established, there was organized the Clipper Reaper and Mower

    226                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    company at Yonkers, New York, for the purpose of making them more extensively and better supplying the demand. This company, during the time Dutton was connected with it until 1873, manufactured under his supervision about eighteen thousand Clipper machines. These were sold throughout the United States and Canada; also quite a number found market in Europe and South America. Those farmers who have used the Clipper mowers are well aware of its superior qualities. The Clipper was not financially a success, and, after Dutton left it, the stock continued to decline until it has become valueless. After leaving the Clipper, he has been engaged in perfecting a mower, known first as the New Clipper, and afterwards as the Haymaker, and now as the New Champion. The Champion company, of Springfield, Ohio, having bought the right, they are now manufacturing them extensively at their works.

    In connection with his business, Dutton has been quite an experimenter, having given careful attention to perfecting his machines, striving always to have them occupy the front rank among machines of this kind. In pursuit of this object, he has obtained between thirty and forty patents on his inventions. But, like too many inventors, others have received much of the fruits of his labors.


    [ 226 ]

    N E W B U R Y.

    BY  E.  JENKS.


    The township of Newbury is situated in range eight (8), town seven (7). It is the second tier from the south and the second from the west, being in the southwest part of Geauga county. It is laid out in three (3) tracts, known as tract one, tract two and tract three.

    Tract one is composed of a strip two (2) miles wide across the north side of the township.

    Tract two consists of one mile wide, through the center of the township, on both sides of the east and west center road.

    Tract three is the balance of the township, being two miles wide across the south side of the township.

    Tract one is laid out into thirty-six (36) lots, of about two hundred acres each, commencing at the southwest corner of the tract, running north three lots, then back and forth across the tract, bringing lot thirty-six in the southeast corner of said tract.

    Tract two is laid out in eighteen lots, commencing at the northeast corner, running west on the north tier, and east on the south side of the center road, bringing lot eighteen south of lot one on the east side of the township.

    Tract three is divided into forty-four lots, of one hundred and sixty acres each, beginning with number one in the northwest corner of the tract, running east to the line of the township, to tract eleven, then west on the second tier, and back and forth, bringing lot forty-four in the southwest corner of the township.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  227


    The northern and western part of the township is somewhat rolling and hilly, the central and southern more level, but undulating. There is but very little waste land, the hill land being good grazing, and the low lands are excellent grass or mowing lands.

    There are four bodies of water or lakes in the eastern part of the township. The first, known as Houghton's pond, is situated on lot four, in tracts two and twenty-four, in tract one. The second, or Synair's pond, on lot three, on tract two. Then there is a little pond on lot thirteen, tract two. The Big pond, or as known in later years as Emerald lake, lies in lot seventeen, tract two, and lot ten, in tract three, which is the largest body of water in the county.


    Houghton's pond finds an outlet to the northwest through Coe's brook, where it finds its way to Chagrin river, near the northwest corner of the township, and then to Lake Erie near Willoughby.

    Synair's pond, about one-fourth of a mile east of Houghton's, finds its way to the head of Emerald lake, thence southeast out near the corner of the township to the Cuyahoga river, to Lake Erie at Cleveland. So water that starts so near together wanders a long distance before uniting again in Lake Erie.

    Silver creek, in the southwest part, flows north of west, and enters Chagrin river near the center of Russell.

    The township is very well watered, except the central southern portion, where living water on the surface is somewhat scarce.


    The soil and timber in the township are somewhat diversified. The soil varies from a black muck to gravel and heavy clay, but is generally of a good quality, raising good crops of corn, wheat, oats, etc. Grass grows in all parts, and is the principal crop. The inhabitants are mostly engaged in dairying and stock-raising. But little grain is raised for export, except potatoes.

    Nearly all kinds of timber of our climate are represented. Beech and maple predominate, but in some parts of the township oak and chestnut are plenty; also, hickory, elm, basswood, whitewood, cucumber, black and white ash, black walnut, butternut, etc. The township was well timbered with heavy timber. In early days what was known as the great windfall passed through the north part of the township, doing a great amount of damage to the timber. In 1812 another hurricane passed through the township, entering near Fullertown and passing in a southerly direction, passing by north of center, and then down the pond, blowing down the house of Mr. Royce to the chamber floor, and laying waste a wide scope of country. It felled nearly every tree in its track, some of the way making a clean sweep. The land came into briers, and finally a second growth of timber sprang up, growing very straight and thick, and by the time the old logs had rotted and gone the land was well timbered with small trees.


    The first improvements in the township of Newbury is supposed to have been made by Judge Stone, near North Newbury, about 1802. Judge Stone settled in the township of Burton, but cleared land in both townships about the same time. Soon after Mr. Lemuel Punderson came from Connecticut as a land agent for some eastern land companies, and commenced making improvements.

    In 1808 Mr. Punderson and Mr. Hickox entered into partnership to build a grist-mill, a saw-mill and a distillery near the foot of the big pond. During this year they cut the road west from Beard's saw-mill, and to the lower end of

    228                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    the pond. During the summer of 1809 they got out the timber (Mr. Punderson being a carpenter) for their buildings, and cleared the land to build on, and also built the dam. Soon after letting the water against the dam, there came a flood and carried off their dam, causing them a loss of several hundred dollars. They rebuilt immediately, and successfully too. The mill irons were brought from Pittsburgh overland, and the millstones were made by a Mr. Parks, of Burton, from hardhead stones. In the year 1810, they completed the mill and distillery; then commenced making whiskey, and feeding cattle and hogs. Those mills proved a success and a benefit to the sourrounding country, whiskey then commanding a good price and a ready sale.

    A Mrs. Royce kept the house and did the cooking for Mr. Punderson, and his men andMr. Royce worked on the mill, and was the first miller in the town.

    About 1816 or 1817 Punderson built the saw-mill. They first attempted to take the water from the upper dam in the race that they cut in the east bank of the hollow, but it being of a soapy clay, it would not stand. So the neighbors around the country built the present dam, and moved the mill, taking their pay in sawing at the mill as they wanted the lumber to use on their barns or houses. For a fuller account, see the personal sketch of Punderson.

    In 1818 Mr. Marcena Munn commenced erecting a saw-mill in the west part of the township, but dying soon after its completion, it was occupied by Mr. Thomas A. Munn, his son.

    In the month of July, 1810, Mr. Lemuel Punderson and wife moved from Burton (where they had lived most of the time since their marriage in 1808) and settled where the Punderson homestead now stands, near the foot of the lake, and commenced improvements in earnest, where he had previously built their mill and distillery.

    From that time the settlement of Newbury became a reality, and family after family came into town from the eastern States.

    Among the settlers from 1810 to 1815 we find the names of Johnson and Uri Hickox, Samuel Barker, Moses, Niger, and Bildad Bradley, Hamlet Coe, Capt. Elezer Patchin, Samuel Davidson, and, perhaps, some others, the Bradleys and Coe settling south of the mill, and Barker, Patchin, and the Hickoxes going north from the mill.

    In the spring of 1815 Joshua M. Burnett and Harry Burnett came from Massachusetts, and bought out Bildad Bradley, and he moved to the township of Auburn, being the first family in that town, but John Jackson chopped the first land, and rolled up the first log house body.

    Soon after their arrival, came Solomon Johnson and Seth, his son, who bought land west of Punderson's, and commenced improvements.

    The forepart of July following, Joshua Burnett returned to Massachusetts, returning in the fall with his family, and in company, came Welcome Bullock and John Cobb with their families, arriving in Newbury on the fifth day of October, 1815, after a journey of forty-one days' length.

    The next spring (1816) Jonah Johnson and John Earl came with their families, and also the family of Solomon Johnson.

    Among the settlers of 1816, 1817 and 1818, we find Elisha Talcott, John Bacheldor, Eliphalet Gay, Sherry Burnett, Justin Alexander, John Randolph, David Walker, Cutler Tyler, Jo Morton, John Hunt, John Brown, Marcena Munn, T. A. Munn, Asa Robinson, Samuel Hodges, Mr. Stockman, Abel Fisher, Noah Morton, Thomas Riddle, Lovel Green, Jonas Ward, Thomas Manchester, Hamilton Utley, Jothan Houghton, John and Jo Fisher, Uphams, Adams, Patchins, Smiths, Elisha Mott, a quack doctor, Black, Brownell, Hobert, Roswell Manchester, Frederick Rima, Bosworths, David Burnett.

    About 1816 the settlement began to spread. Talcott, Gay, Sherry Burnett,

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  229

    Johnsons, Bullock, going west on Music street; Bacheldor and Cobb going west on south road; Houghton going on center road, west from Hickox's; and later, Alexander Hunt, Munns, Robinsons, Stockman, Riddle, Green, Ward, Utley, Hodges, etc., settled west of Punderson's mills; Patchins, Smith, Black, Noah Morton, and others, going north and northwest from the mill; Jo Morton, Randolph, Walker, Tyler, Brown, and others, going west on the south road.

    Among the early marriages in the township we find that of Moses Bradley to Miss Celia Parks, of Burton; married by Esquire Hickox, May, 1816. Eliphalet Gay to Miss Calista Bennett, September 4, 1816, by John Ford, esq. Josiah Bennett to Miss Diadama Johnson, June 21, 1818, by Lemuel Punderson. Elisha Talcott to Urana Johnson, December 3, 1818, by Rev. L. Humphrey. Levi Savage to Tripehena Alexander, February 24, 1820, by L. Punderson. Benjamin Hosmer to Orindo Robinson, April 11, 1820, by L. Punderson. Levi Patchin to Emeline Fowler, September 28, 1820, by J. Brooks. Seth Johnson to Saloma Curtiss, March 18, 1821. Jothan Houghton to Clarissa Loveland, May 6, 1821, by L. Punderson. Jeremiah Evans to Laura Munn, February 24, 1822, by L. Punderson.

    The first birth in Newbury was a daughter to Mrs. Royce, by the name of Evelina. She was born on the twelfth day of November, 1811.

    The first white boy was Samuel Punderson, who was born January 7, 1812, and the next was Daniel Punderson, who was born February 6, 1814.

    It is supposed that the first death in Newbury was a child, from two to three years old, belonging to Bildad Bradley, and buried in South Newbury burying ground. The next was a boy by the name of Bowers, killed by the fall of a tree. Lemuel Punderson died August 30, 1822, and was buried in the same yard. Probably Marcena Munn was the first person buried in the Munn burying ground, out west; and, I believe, Uncle Calvin Chase was the first buried in the grave-yard at the center of the township.

    In the year 1812 the State road was cut through to Chardon. The contract was to cut all timber less than eight inches, and clear out the road. The larger timber was girdled so it would die.

    In 1820, Welcome Bullock, J. M. Burnett, Lemuel Punderson, Jonah Johnson, and others blazed the trees and cut the brush from Burnett's tavern to Chagrin Falls, there meeting a company from Cleveland at work on the same undertaking. They all camped a few rods north and east of the Falls. The next morning, after breakfast, they separated, each company going home over their own road.

    Geauga county was set off from Trumbull county, in the year 1806, and one of the first orders of its commissioners was for that part of Middlefield lying in Geauga county, embracing the twelve southern towns, to be made a township, and to be known as the township of Burton, with orders for the qualified voters to assemble at the academy and elect its officers.

    In the year 1817 the present township of Newbury was set off from the township of Burton by the commissioners, and an election ordered to be held at the house of Lemuel Punderson, on the first Monday of April, 1807, for the purpose of electing township officers. The following was the election: Lemuel Punderson, moderator; John Cobb; clerk; L. Punderson, Solomon Johnson, Joshua M. Burnett, trustees; Hamlet Coe, Thomas Manchester, overseers of the poor; Eliphalet Gay, Moses Bradley, fence viewers; Seth Johnson, John Bacheldor, appraisers and listers.

    In the summer of 1815 Grandpa Burnett very generously gave the use of his back parlor in his log house for the purpose of holding school. Here Miss Chloe Humphrey gathered her orphanless children around her, as a hen gathers her chickens, to try to instil into their youthful minds good and wholesome

    230                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    truths and ideas that would be of use to them in their older and more sober days. And this was the beginning of common schools in Newbury, then a dense wilderness, more than sixty years ago, many of the scholars having to go miles through an unbroken woods, with nothing but blazed trees to direct on their narrow path.

    In the year 1816 the first school-house was built just north of the old Parker barn or the South Newbury cheese factory, on what is known as the Gilbert garden, now owned by Henry Hodges. It was built without any tax being levied or collected.

    The first frame school-house was built by Ithiel Wilber, in 1820, just north of Gilbert's tannery, in South Newbury.

    After this the Riddle, Utley, Hickox and other school-houses were built, as the necessity of the people required. Some were built of logs and some framed, and there have been schools supported in them every year since. When one was worn out and whittled up or burned down, another has been built on or near the same site. So all have had an opportunity for a good common school education. Perhaps no country town in the county took greater interest in the education of their youths than did the new settlers of Newbury. The early inhabitants being mostly of New England origin, the subject of common schools was kept uppermost in their minds. Not only have there been district schools, but select schools have been very common in different parts of the township, and always well supported.

    Among the early teachers are remembered the names of Miss Chloe Humphrey, the first teacher in the township; Mrs. Stockman, the first teacher out west; Daniel Houghton, the first teacher in the Riddle neighborhood, he having taught one term of school in Uncle Jonah's old house; Miss Calistia Burnett, Thalia Beard, Eunice Harmon, Hamilton Utley, Mrs. Fisher, the Fisher girls, Amaziah Wheelock, Dr. Rawson, Dr. Russell, Dr. Cowles, Dr. Ludlow, A. G. Riddle and brothers, Mary Barney, Lovina Stone, Susan Bartholomew, Sylva Bradley, Mary Walker, Caroline Stone, the Wilder girls, Emeline Coe, Julia Beebe, the Vincents, Tylers, Gilberts, Greens, Johnsons, etc.

    In 1814 Lemuel Punderson built the first frame barn in the township (the barn south of the old homestead) -- a bank barn covered with white oak boards and chestnut shingles. Mr. Punderson, being a mill-wright, built a mill in what is now Portage county, and afterward rented the mill and did the sawing for his mills, barns and other buildings, drawing his lumber from the southeast for a number of miles. In the above barn Rev. Thomas Punderson, of Connecticut, preached the first sermon ever preached in the township, he being an Episcopalian minister.

    In 1816 Newbury, for the first time, publicly celebrated the Fourth of July. The whole community assembled on the hill, where Daniel Punderson's house now stands, and had a general jollification, by firing Sibley's old anvil, splitting logs and stumps with gun powder, etc. Mr. Welcome Bullock delivered a very eloquent oration.

    In 1819 Joshua M. Burnett returned to Massachusetts, received pay for property sold, and came back, bringing with him material for building, and that season employed David Hill, of Burton, to erect him a frame house, it being the first frame house in the township. People gathered from all this and neighboring townships to the raising. They came early and stayed late, it being a new era in the new settlement. The building was named, after the custom of those days, "The Farmers' Delight," by Mr. Hamlet Coe, after which the bottle of whiskey was thrown from the top of the house to the center of the road without breaking, which was considered a good omen, and called forth loud huzzas. The house is the one now occupied by Mr. D. M. Allen.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  231

    Mr. Burnett was the first keeper of a public hotel in Newbury. In those days the neighbors thought it a great treat to gather around the bar of Uncle Josh and tell stories, sing songs, and interview the strange traveler, who might perchance have come from some of the old homes of the settlers. But he had to drink and answer questions, whether he was acquainted or not. He was from the east, and that was enough. He was common property for the evening. Those were joyful days, and every stranger was warmly welcomed, whether rich or poor.

    Afterwards followed Parker's, Hickox's, Si Burnett's, Shumway's, Black's, Willoughby's, and other taverns.

    Dr. Joel Burnett was the first resident of the township to practice medicine. He was soon followed by Drs. Rawson, Palmer, Scott, Russell, Cowles, Ludlow, Bell, Draper, and others. Later came Burlingame, Fisher, Hiccock, Strickland, McGraw, etc.

    From all that can be learned, Fullertown seems to have been a separate province, and settled independent of the rest of the township. The first house seems to have been built of split whitewood logs, by Roswell Manchester, on lot two, tract one, in 1816, but was never occupied on that site. It appears from the best record that can be found that a man by the name of Frederick Rima built a house in 1818, a little east of the old mill by the bridge, on the east side of the river. It is probably that Mr. Rima has the honor of being the founder of Fullertown in 1818.

    In 1820 Mr. Thomas Fuller and a Mr. Allison purchased lot three, in tract one, containing two hundred acres, at four dollars per acre, to be paid for in a term of years, in oxen, at the following price agreed upon: Fifty dollars per yoke, each ox to girth six feet; and for each additional inch any ox should girth, one dollar should be added to his price. They commenced work on the gristmill the same season, boarding with Mr. Rima.

    The following spring Mr. Fuller moved his family into a house which they had built, and the same season raised the Fullertown mill. A Mr. Parks, of Burton, worked the mill-stones out of some hardhead rocks, and they were drawn by oxen on what were called "chronicles" (crotched trees) around by Maple hill through the woods to the mill, where they were put to work without roof or siding, so eager were they to have a mill running. Mr. Allison, becaming discouraged, soon sold out to Mr. Fuller, for so much wheat, leaving Mr. Fuller with the mill to finish and the land debt to pay off. Mr. Fuller, being a man of much nerve, often run his mill day and night for three or four days in succession to keep up with the custom grinding. He succeeded in paying off the debts, and built a saw-mill upon the opposite side of the river, and also put carding works into the upper part of his mill, and after a few years he built a woolen-mill, about thirty rods below the grist-mill, where he continued wool-carding until he was over ninety years of age. He tore down the old grist-mill and built a new one about one-half a mile down the stream, but still taking the water, in a race, from the same dam.

    On the center road, west from Hickox's, the settlement commenced early, but scattering. Jothan Houghton made an opening, about one mile east of the center, about 1816 or '17. Soon after this the Fishers, John and Joseph, commenced in the west part of the township, with Upham and others along the road. Then came John Bosworth, who settled near Jothan's. In 1818, Harman Bosworth commenced, a little east of the center, and occupied the same place until he died, in 187-. In 1819, Jenks and Dunham came and took the place occupied by John Bosworth. Here Jenks and Dunham and two Bosworths formed a copartnership, and kept a bachelor's hall, and run it on principles of fun, strictly, for a few years, when Jenks and Dunham, becoming disgusted with frontier life,

    232                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    abandoned their western home and prospects, and returned east. So goes life.

    Mr. Alexander, better known as "Uncle Alex." was one of the earliest preachers to hold meetings in the school-houses in different parts of the township. He was assisted in the good cause by Revs. Bigalow, Jones, Williams, and others.

    In the year 1832 the Methodist church was organized in William Morrow's barn, consisting of David Walker and wife, Elisha Talcott and wife, Nester Young and wife, and Mrs. Stockman. For many years they used to hold preaching meetings once in two weeks, at the Riddle school-house, and the alternate Sunday prayer-meetings at Brother Jenks' near by.

    In the year 1842 Mr. Dutton and sons, of Auburn, built a church, one mile south of the center of the township, where there have always been meetings held.

    The Baptist church was formed July 27, 1832, with the following members: Elijah Hawes, Sarah Hawes, Parley Wilder, Mr. and Mrs. Daggett, Mrs. Taylor, Lucy Bosworth, and Mahitable Shaw. They held their meetings at the center school-house generally, until 1845, when they united with the Univeralists, and built a union church at the center of the township, but they did not keep up meetings, and in a few years a good share of the members had moved out of the township, and the Baptist church is among the things that were.

    The Congregational church was organized by Rev. Chester Chapin April 15, 1832. It consisted of five males and seven females: Males -- Gideon Russell, John Batcheldor, Amplius Green, Rufus Black; females -- Pamelia Barker, Gemima Russell, Sarah Russell, Sarah Bacheldor, Polly Barker, Lucy Willson, and Lucy A. Willson. They held meetings in the school-houses at the State road and on the south road until the Methodist church was built, when they occupied their house one half the time, until after the brick church was built by them in 1851.

    After Punderson's and Munn's saw-mills we find in 1822, Fuller's mill, then Alexander's and Samuel Bittle's mills, each doing a good business for a while; then the creeks became uncertain, and then came the age of steam-mills, and we had the steam-mill built in the southeast part of the township, about the year 1850, which succeeded in nearly breaking up every company which took hold of it. It changed hands most every year for some years, and finely came out ahead, and no one would trade for it. And the same was true of one out west.

    Then came the Ober Boy's mill which was burned, as the property of Mr. Brown. At present there is the steam-mill, three-fourths of a mile west of Newbury center, known as Hodges' and Neve's mill, owned by W. C. Hodges and Thomas Neve, who are doing a large business in cheese boxes at the present time.

    The old steam-mill at the State road that has laid still so long, is again running by Mr. Wesley Brown.

    The first thing that we find on going south from Burnett's tavern, is the woolen works of Hamlet Coe, established about 1815 or 1816, on the banks of Niger's creek. Here Mr. Coe was ever ready to help lessen the labors of the women, by being ready to dye and dress all sorts and kinds of woolen cloths and flannels. To Mr. Coe must be given the honor of introducing those beautiful teazels growing so majestically on every farm in the township -- and, probably, will always stay with us--he having to use them in some process of dressing cloth, and, by raising his/own, could save the expense of importing them. After a few years Mr. Coe removed his factory to a more powerful water power, northwest of the center of the township.

    One of the earliest mechanical enterprises was Bradley's furniture works, situated on the water power of Niger's creek. There the early settlers procured their splint-bottom chairs, spinning-wheels, reels, looms, four-post bedsteads,

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  233

    rolling-pins, potato-mashers, tables, light stands, etc. Mr. Bradley erected shops and warerooms on the south side of the road, but his turning lathe and machinery were on the creek, on the west side of the road.

    Next in importance were the asheries. Every man had a small establishment of his own, where he could convert the ashes from his fallow into black salts, and sell them at any store in the country, taking their pay in goods. But the first commercial ashery was built by Amos Parker, near Burnett's corners, where was carried on the manufacture of black salts, potash, pearl ash, and saleratus. Now the inhabitants could find a ready sale for their ashes, taking their pay in pins, needles, thread, saleratus, combs, and such other goods as the ash peddler could carry in a little old tin trunk. What happy days were those for the women when they saw the ashman come--could point to the pile of ashes in the corner of the fence with an air of dignity, which said, "these are mine!" After Parker's ashery, there came Gardner's, Willoughby's, Chase & Clark's, Worrallo's, and others, scattered over the township, all doing a flourishing business for a time, but they are now among the things that were, but are not.

    About 1828 Augustus Gilbert built his tannery, a little north of Burnett's tavern, where he carried on a flourishing business. The founder (Gilbert) died about 1850, since which time it has been carried on by different parties, at present being the property of J. H. Hodges.

    In 1834 John Jackson started the wagon business, on the State road, and continued in business until 1845, when he moved his works to Chagrin Falls. Since then there have been Whalen's, Centre's, Redfield's, Ober's, Luther's, and others, but at the present time there is no shop running successfully in the township.

    Among the early blacksmiths we find such names as Samuel Sibley, Roswell Royce, Palmer Bartholomew, Perry Brothers, Parley Wilder, Hyde, Owen, Piper the Dutchman, Chase & Johnson, Arad Way, Bill Chase, Don Austin, Woodin, Boyington, Wheeler; and, later, we had Jo. Gilbert, the Hawes boys, Frank Craft; and now we find such names as John Weller, Lime Smith, J. Huff, Buffington Warwick, etc.

    For coopers we had Nathan Willson, Cole Williams, Joseph Baker, Briant Clark, James Russell, Black Willoughby, and a host of others, but now there are none but Coats found who can shave a stave or drive a stray hoop.

    As shoemakers we find Jonas Ward, Caleb Smith, Marb Weaver, John Howard, Alpheus Hawes, John Robinson, A. Gilbert, John Ferris, Charles Woodward, Hi. Clark, Thomas Bittles, Sol. Burnett, Andrew Burnett, and a host of others.

    About 1825 John O. Granger established a stage line from Fairport, on Lake Erie, to Ravenna, there connecting with stages south and elsewhere. Among the first drivers were found Daniel Allshouse, Lew. Turner, and others of note as early drivers. They changed horses at Hickox tavern, and stopped at Chardon, North Newbury, Auburn, Mantua, and Shalersville. Thus a direct and convenient route of travel was opened from the lake to the interior part of the State.

    At this time all cattle were transported east to New York and Philadelphia by driving on foot over the mountains, and all produce was wagoned to the Ohio river for the southern market. Those were great days when a train of six to fifteen wagons, loaded with pork or cheese, started for Wellsville, making the trip in from eight to ten days. Then was the time the fool in the crowd was to be pitied, if no other time, for he was sure to have to bear the fun of them all.

    The first post-office was established in 1820, and Mr. David T. Bruce was the first postmaster, followed by Gardner, Hayden, Matthews, Canfield, and is now held by Mrs. P. M. Burnett, within a few rods of where it was first established.

    234                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    In 1840 the post-office was established at North Newbury. Colonel Shumway was appointed postmaster.

    The center of the town was not settled until 1834. Sylvester Black commenced on the northeast corner, and L. C. Willoughby on the northwest corner the same year. Esquire Warrallo opened a store and hotel soon after on the southeast corner. In 1835 the school-house was built on the north side of the square. In early days there was a nice square laid out at this place where the militia of Newbury used to gather every September, to drill and make ready for general training, to be held at Burton, Auburn, or some other large town near by. But after the woods were cut away, letting the sun shine into Jugville, the common has nearly shrivelled up to just a four corners -- no square to be seen.

    Ford post-office was established at the center of the town in the year 1852, or thereabouts. Mr. Welcome Bullock was appointed the first postmaster, there being no other person near about there who held to the same political faith as the administration. But Mr. Bullock never saw the inside of the post-office, he being too feeble to go there; so he had to do all his business through deputies.

    On the evening of December 31, 1838, Mr. Paddock and wife, who resided two miles west of the center, went to make an evening visit. When they returned their house was burned down, and in it perished their four boys. Mr. John Zethmayr says he gathered up the remains of the four children and buried them in a seven by nine glass box, on the southeast corner of lot nine, in tract two.

    On the twenty-third of May, 1870, Mr. Frank W. Kinney, a son of Ira Kinney, of Fullertown, was struck by lightning and killed. I believe this is the only person ever killed by lightning in the township.

    At the present time there are eight school districts in the township, and schools in all.

    The first temperance organization in the township was in 1831. Almond Riddle was president of the society. After a few years, what was known as the old Washingtonian society was formed, and had a run. Somewhere about 1849 or '50, Uncle Lucas Shaw, who had been quite a drinking man in his day, went through the township with a temperance pledge, presenting it to every man, woman and child, and asking them to give him encouragement in his good undertaking.

    On the twenty-ninth day of June, 1850, Newbury division No. 119, Sons of Temperance, was organized at the center of the township, in the hall of Leonard Aldrich, where they met until winter, when they were burned out. They then met in the church and in the school-house, and then at what was known as Hy Clark's shoe-shop, a little room seven by nine, for a few nights. Then they finished off the chamber of George Centre's wagon-shop, and had a very comfortable division room. The next year they built the Sons' hall, where they continued to meet until after the war broke out. The following is a list of the charter members: Jonas Allshouse, Anson Reed, Dr. J. M. Burlingame, Chris. Ellsos, James Gilbert, Horatio A. Smith, Isaac Moneysmith, George R. Parker, Leonard Aldrich, and Simon Gould.

    In the winter of 1854 and '55, Geauga Lodge No. 72, Good Templars, was organized in the brick church, and did business for a number of years. Mr. James H. Gilbert was the first worthy chief.

    On October 15, 1856, a lodge of good templars was formed at the center, with the following charter members: Nelson Parker, Joan Parker, C. P. Bail, Edmund Sanborn, Elizabeth Sanborn, Leonard Parr, Rachel Parr, W. E. Parr, Harriet Parr, William and Louisa McKee, Homer Sanborn, Alpheus and Sarah

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  235

    Williams, Aaron and Angeline Williams, William and Caroline Davis, Sarah and Louis Black, Perry and Charley Williams, and Lyman Parker.

    Both lodges did a flourishing business for a time, but finally went the way of all the earth.

    South Newbury division No. 197, Sons of Temperance, was organized February 23, 1875, with Johnson Way, W. P., and the following as some of the charter members: J. B. Watterton, Silas Coats, R. H. Ober, Miss E. Pinney, J. J. Smith, Lidia Smith, Ray Munn, John Reeves, N. Mathews, and others.

    On the eighth day of April Crystal Division, No. 158, Sons of Temperence, was instituted at the center, with the following as officers: W. P., W. C. Blair; W. A., Florence Andrews; R. S., Gains Munns; A. R. S., Viett Andrews; T., Perlie Munn; T. S., S. C. Clark; C., T. C. Neave; A. C., Ella Blair; I. S., Ellen McNish; and O. S., A. D. Dickinson.

    While speaking of secret societies we will notice Newbury Council, No. 496, of what was termed "Know Nothings," instituted September 22, 1854, with the following members: Orange Fisher, president; E. Hayden, vice-president; Anson Reed, secretary; Patrick Ladow, treasurer; R. K. Munn, instructor; John Cutler, marshall; G. O. Blair, inside guard; Alen Parks, outside guard; Martin Stone and William L. Smith.

    On January 12, 1874, the Woman's Sufferage Political club was organized, with Ruth Munn, as president; Joel Walker and D. M. Allen, as vice-presidents.

    On July 1, 1876, Centennial Grange was organized, with William M. Briggs as master, and fourteen members.

    About 1831 A. C. Gardner opened a general store near Burnett's farm, and did a large trade for many years, taking all kinds of produce in exchange for goods. But finely he sold out and moved to Chagrin Falls, since which time the mercantile business has been in the hands of such men as Weston & Doolittle, E. Hayden, Johnson, Ben Williams, Mr. Warrallo, Anson Mathews, Col. Shumway, Clark & Chase, Herrick Brothers, Canfield, and Coferth. Mrs. Burnett being the only one engaged in the business this centennial year.

    After the opening of the Ohio canals there was a chance for our inhabitants to take the benefit of the southern market. It being a great grass township, the people entered largely into the dairy business, every family making their own butter and cheese. Such men as Henry, Harmon, Kent, Hurd, Williams, Willmott, Herrick Brothers, buying the cheese of farmers, paying from three to eight cents per pound, and shipping to New York, Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, New Orleans, St. Louis, etc., sometimes making, and at other times loosing money. After awhile the factory system started. The factory man collected the curd every day from the farmers, paying so much per pound for the curd, and making cheese of a uniform size and quality. But this plan did not prove a success, and after a few years it was abandoned.

    About 1865 the factory system broke out in a new form; the factories taking the milk every day and manufacturing it into butter and cheese. Now we have five cheese factories in the township, as follows: South Newbury, Gore's Webber's, Baker's, and Gould's; and we also have a number near the township lines, which take large quantities of milk from the township. The benefits claimed for the factory system are, first, it is a great saving of labor for the women; second, making cheese of uniform size and quality, it commands a ready sale, and more uniform price; and it also has a number of other reasons in its favor.

    In speaking of early times, we should notice the distilleries. We had three. The first was Punderson's, a little southwest of the grist-mill; then Parker's, near Burnett's tavern, and one built by Harry Burnett and Ithel Wilber, in the west part of the township. These distilleries opened a market for the surplus rye and corn, which the people exchanged for whiskey, which they could use,

    236                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    or exchange for goods at any of the stores in the country. This stimulated the settlers to the raising of crops which they could not before, for the want of a market, as it was impossible to transport their grain to more distant markets over the almost impassable roads that were so common at the time.

    In an early day Wilber & Burnett built a mill, in connection with their distillery, and Loveland & Bullock also built a grist-mill about three miles northwest of the center.

    About 1848 or 1850, J. B. Lawrence opened a foundry, one-half mile west of the center, for the manufacture of plows and general castings. He did a flourishing business for a number of years, then sold out to Mr. J. J. Smith, who moved the shops to the next road south, where he still carries on the business in all its branches, doing a good business at the present time -- being the only foundry and plow shop in this county.

    In the year 1818 the first military training was held. It took place south of Punderson's, and opposite the tannery. Mr. Thomas Shepherd was the captain.

    Among the early things to be remembered were the singing schools of Thomas Riddle, where were to be seen such persons as Amos Upham and wife, Hamlet Coe, "Aunt Polly" Johnson, Sam Hodges and wife, Mrs. Riddle, Loren Snow, and many others; when they used to sing such tunes as "Old Hundred," "Windom," "Haddam," "Coronation," "Bridgewater," "Sherbourne," "Mortality," "Ocean," "New Durham," "Exhortation," "Stafford," "Northfield," "Plymouth," "America," "Florida," "Concord," "Greenefield," and other tunes that used to be full of real, genuine music. Those were times that never were forgotten as long as any of them lived. They thought nothing of going miles on foot or on horseback to enjoy one of those pleasant gatherings, and they used to sing as if they were in earnest and meant their time should not be lost.

    The tax-payers of Newbury, for the year 1817, were as follows:
    Bullock, Welcome 		1 	$0 10
    Brownell, Gideon 	1 	1 	40
    Bacheldor, John 		1 	10
    Brown, John 		3 	30
    Bradley, Moses 		5 	50
    Burnett, David 		3 	30
    Burnett, Joshua M 		7 	70
    Barker, Samuel 	1 	3 	60
    Black, Rufus 	2 	1 	70
    Bosworth, John 	1 		30
    Cobb, John 	1 	1 	40
    Coe, Hamlet 		1 	10
    Earl, John 		1 	10
    Gay, Eliphalet 		1 	10
    Hobert, Benjamin 	1 	1 	40
    Hickox, Johnson 	1 	7 	40
    Johnson, Solomon 		1 	10
    Johnson, Seth 		2 	20
    Johnson, Jonah 		3 	30
    Manchester, Thomas 	1 	1 	40
    Manchester, Roswell 		1 	10
    Mott, Elisha 		1 	10
    Morton, Jo 		1 	10
    Patchin, Eleazar 	1 	7 	100
    Punderson, Lemuel 	2 	13 	190
    Savage, Ebenezer 		2 	20
    Talcott, Elisha 		1 	10
    	-- 	-- 	-----
    Total 	12 	67 	$1030
    So we see in 1817 the whole taxable personal property in the township of Newbury was twelve horses and sixty-seven cattle, and the whole personal property tax was ten dollars and thirty cents.

    Uncle Jo Wilber used to doctor clocks and watches on the Oakhill road half a mile east of the grist-mill.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  237

    John Earl was a man who could make any thing he ever saw, and do a nice job at it, so he was a very handy man to have in any new community.

    Welcome Bullock was one of the greatest hunters ever in the township. He used to furnish his own and neighboring families with meat a great share of the time.

    Hamilton Utley was a famous school teacher, he having taught school twenty-one winters in succession. He was also a great story-teller and singer of songs. He and nearly every one of his sons were good fiddlers.

    So we see that what was an unbroken forest in 1808 has now, after a space of seventy years become as one of the old settled countries, every farm in the township settled and cleared. For a number of years, we have hardly seen a fallow burned. Timber that was a drug, and used to be burned in log-heaps, now finds a ready sale at a fair price.

    Farms that, forty years ago, had no lot that could be well plowed for the stumps and roots that were in the way, are now clean. A few years makes an old country of a wilderness.


    The following officers have served in the township of Newbury, since its organization, in 1817:

    1817. Lemuel Punderson. 
    1820. Lemuel Punderson. 
    1822. Hamilton Utley, Abel Fisher. 
    1825. Hamilton Utley, Cutler Tyler, Vene Stone. 
    1828. Cutler Tyler. 
    1831. Thomas A. Munn, Alborn C. Gardner. 
    1837. A. C. Gardner, Jeremiah Evans. 
    1840. David Stearns, Marsena Warrallo, A. C. Gardner. 
    1841. Jeremiah Evans, John P. Smith. 
    1843. Hamilton Utley, Marcena Worrallo. 
    1845. Anson Reed, Vene Stone. 
    1846. Hamilton Utley. 
    1847. Grove Curtiss. 
    1848. Alexander McNish. 
    1849. Hamilton Utley. 
    1850. Anson Shaw. 
    1852. Hamilton Utley. 
    1853. Anson Shaw. 
    1854. Alexander McNish, Lucius Bartlett, Anson Matthews. 
    1857. Martin Stone, Lucius Bartlett. 
    1859. William Munn. 
    1862. William Munn. 
    1864. Henry Bartlett. 
    1865. Daniel Johnson. 
    1367. John Sanborn. 
    1871. Daniel Johnson. 
    1873. John Sanborn. 
    1874. Daniel Johnson. 
    1876. Edward Bosworth. 
    1877. Gains Munn. 
    1879. Edward Bosworth. 


    1817. John Cobb. 1818. John Cobb. 1819. Hamilton Utley. 1820. Hamilton Utley. 1821. Hamilton Utley. 1822. Hamilton Utley. 1823. Hamilton Utley. 1824. Hamilton Utley. 1825. Hamilton Utley. 1826. Amos Upham. 1827. Amos Upham. 1828. Harmon Bosworth. 1829. Harmon Bosworth. 1830. Hamilton Utley. 1831. Hamilton Utley. 1832. Hamilton Utley. 1833. Cutler Tyler. 1834. Cutler Tyler. 1835. Cutler Tyler. 1836. Reuben K. Munn. 1837. R. K. Munn. 1838. Cutler Tyler. 1839. Cutler Tyler. 1840. Thomas A. Munn. 1841. Jose M. Riddle. 1842. Luke Gore. 1843. William Munn. 1844. Luke Gore. 1845. William Munn. 1846. Leonard Aldrich. 1847. R. K. Munn. 1848. R. K. Munn. 1849. R. K. Munn. 1850. Leonard Aldrich. 1851. Franklin Dickinson. 1852. Franklin Dickinson. 1853. Martin Stone. 1854. Martin Stone. 1855. B. C. Herrick. 1856. B. C. Herrick. 1857. William W. Munn. 1858. William W. Munn. 1859. William W. Munn. 1860. William W. Munn. 1861. R. A. Gains. 1862. Edward Bosworth. 1863. Homer Hawes. 1864. Edward Bosworth. (He has held the office every year up to and including 1879.)


    238                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 


    1817. Seth Johnson, John Bacheldor. 
    1818. Seth Johnson, Ezra Summers. 
    1819. Jonas Ward, T. A. Munn. 
    1820. Jonas Ward, Seth Johnson. 
    1821. Hamilton Utley, Seth Johnson. 
    1822. Hamilton Utley, Jonas Ward. 
    1823. Hamlet Coe, T. A. Munn. 
    1824. T. A. Munn, Cutler Tyler. 
    1825. Amos Upham, T. A. Munn. 
    1842. J. M. Riddle. 
    1843. Solomon Johnson. 
    1844. J. M. Riddle. 
    1845. Asa Cowles. 
    1846. Eldridge Hayden. 
    1847. Eldridge Hayden. 
    1848. Roswell Riddle. 
    1849. Samuel H. Hewes. 
    1850. Luther Andrews. 
    1851. John Sanborn. 
    1852. Luther Andrews. 
    1853. John Sanborn. 
    1854. Eldridge Hayden. 
    1855. Roswell Riddle. 
    1856. Roswell Riddle. 
    1857. William Munn. 
    1858. Henry Bartlett. 
    1859. Luke Gore. 
    1860. Daniel Johnson. 
    1861. Daniel Johnson. 
    1862. Hiram Covil. 
    1863. Erastus Hodges. 
    1864. J. B. Lawrence. 
    1865. Daniel Johnson. 
    1866. Hiram Covil. 
    1867. Roswell Riddle. 
    1868. Gains Munn. 
    1869. Gains Munn. 
    1870. William Munn. 
    1871. Gains Munn. 
    1872. Harvey Ferris. 
    1873. D. A. Gates. 
    1874. Johnson Way. 
    1875. Johnson Way. 
    1876. M. H. Dutton. 
    1877. M. H. Dutton. 
    1878. E. J. Jenks. 
    1879. Nelson Matthews. 


    1817. Lemuel Punderson, Solomon Johnson, Joshua Burnett. 1818. Eleazor Patchin, Hamlet Coe, John Bachelor. 1819. Hamlet Coe, John Bachelor, Thomas Riddle. 1820. Thomas Riddle, Abel Fisher, Amos Upham. 1821. Thomas Riddle, Hamlet Coe, Cutler Tyler. 1822. Cutler Tyler, Thomas Riddle, Amos Upham. 1823. Amos Upham, T. A. Munn, Thomas Riddle. 1824. Amos Upham, T. A. Munn, Vene Stone. 1825. Harmon Bosworth, Cutler Tyler, Jonas Ward. 1826. Jonas Ward, Uri Hickox, Harmon Bosworth. 1827. Uri Hickox, Harmon Bosworth, Apollas Hewit. 1828. Uri Hickox, Cutler Tyler, Ansel Savage. 1829. Levi Patchin, Henry Burnett, Apollas Hewit. 1830. David Stearns, Joseph Wilber, Jeremiah Evans. 1831. Thomas Munn, Thomas Billings, David Stearns. 1832. T. A. Munn, Thomas Billings, Dudley Loveland. 1833. Harmon Bosworth, Hamilton Utley, D. Loveland. 1834. Harmon Bosworth, Hamilton Utley, Vene Stone. 1835. Harmon Bosworth, Vene Stone, Jeremiah Evans. 1836. Vene Stone, Jera Evans, Thomas Billings. 1837. Amos Upham, Cutler Tyler, Jonathan Luther. 1838. Vene Stone, John Slater, Anson Reed. 1839. Vene Stone, Sam H. Hewes, Moses Hayden. 1840. Harmon Bosworth, Jonathan Luther, Amplias Green. 1841, Harmon Bosworth, Jonathan Luther, Amplias Green. 1842. Clark Robinson, Asa Cowles, Charles Chase. 1843. Clark Robinson, Daniel Punderson, Franklin Stone. 1844. Clark Robinson, James Russell, George Wilson. 1845. Ithiel Wilder, J. Luther, Elbridge Hayden. 1846. Ithiel Wilber, H. N. Wyekoff, E. Hayden. 1847. Ithiel Wilber, John Chase, Isaac Moneysmith. 1848. Ithiel Wilbert, John Chase, Nelso Parker. 1849. Ithiel Wilber, Amos Green, Samuel Bittles. 1850. Anson Reed, Sam. Bittles, Nelson Parker. 1851. Ira Kinney, J. Luther, Anson Reed. 1852. Roswell Riddle, Ira Kinney, J. Luther. 1853. Roswell Riddle, Charles Bullard, David Bayley. 1854. O. Chapman, D. Johnson, A. Knowles. 1855. John Sanborn, Henry Bartlett, A. G. Smith. 1856. W. W. Munn, A. G. Smith, Martin Stone. 1857. Martin Stone, Roswell Blair, J. B, Clark. 1858. Martin Stone, Alexander McNish, Hiram Covel. 1859. Hiram Covel. A. McNish, John Cutler. 1860. Hiram Covel, John Cutler, C. P. Bail. 1861. John Cutler, Patrick Ladow, C. P. Bail. 1862. E. J. Jenks, C. P. Bail, R. K. Munn. 1863. R. K. Munn, E. J. Jenks, Ira Kinney. 1864. Ira Kinney, George Morton, Sam Bittles. 1865. Sam Bittles, George Morton, Luke Gore. 1866. George Morton, Sam Bittles, Luther Hawes. 1867. George Morton, Sam Bittles, U. C. Hickox. 1868. George Morton, Ira Kinney, Ashley Parker. 1869. Ira Kinney, Ashley Parker, Harvey Ferris. 1870. Ira Kinney, Ashley Parker, Harvey Ferris. 1871. Ira Kinney, Ashley Parker, Harvey Ferris. 1872. David Gates, Ira Kinney, G. H. Ober. 1873. J. B. Lawrence, Ira Kinney, A. J. Parks. 1874. J. B. Lawrence, D. A. Gates, Gains Munn. 1875. J. B. Lawrence, D. A. Gates, Gains Munn. 1876. J. B. Lawrence, Gains Munn, Hiram Potter. 1877. J. B. Lawrence, Gains Munn, Hiram Potter. 1878. J. B. Lawrence, M. H. Dutton, Perry Morton. 1879. J. B. Lawrence, Elijah Baker, B. F. Hodges.


                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  239


    1817. Joshua M. Burnett, 
    1818. Lemuel Pundersen. 
    1819-20. Eleazer Patchin. 
    1822. Andrew Paterson. 
    1822 to 1827, inclusive. Abel Fisher. 
    1828-29. Harmon Bosworth. 
    1830-31-32. Lovel Green. 
    1833-34-35. R. K. Munn. 
    1836-37-38. T. A. Munn. 
    1839-40. William Munn. 
    1841 to 1844, inclusive. Anson Reed. 
    1845 to 1847, inclusive. T. A. Munn. 
    1848. William Munn. 
    1849-50. Roswell Blair. 
    1851 to 1855, inclusive. Simon Gould, 
    1856. Ira B. Clark. 
    1857. R. K. Munn. 
    1858. R. K. Munn. 
    1859. R. K. Munn. 
    1860. R. K. Munn. 
    1861-62-63-64-65. I. B. Clark. 
    1866. Franklin Dickinson. 
    1867. I. B. Clark, 
    1868 to 1879, inclusive. Henry Bosworth. 


    1817-18. Benjamin Hobart. 1818. Benjamin Hobart, Elisha Talcott. 1819. Samuel Hodges, Seth Johnson. 1820. John Randolph, Seth Johnson. 1821. Henry Burnett. 1822. Jonas Ward, Henry Burnett. 1823. Charles M. Squire, Seth Johnson. 1824. C. M. Squire, Abiather Alexander. 1825. John Randolph, A. Alexander. 1826. J. Randolph, Ansel Savage. 1827. J. Randolph, Ansel Savage. 1828. John Robinson, Linson Patchin. 1829. Linson Patchin, Wm. Taylor. 1830. L. Patchin, T. A. Munn. 1831. John Robinson, L. Patchin. 1832-33. L. Patchin, Wm. Munn. 1834. Elbridge Haydon, Detroit Burnett. 1835. E. Haydon, Ithiel Wilber. 1836. John M. Slater, Daniel Punderson. 1837. Daniel Punderson, Hiram Havens. 1838. Daniel Punderson, David Robinson. 1839. Daniel Punderson. 1840. John Randolph, Winslow Shaw. 1841. Henry Utley, I. B. Clark. 1842. Henry Utley, James M. Moore. 1843. Ira B. Clark, Roswell Blair. 1844. Andrew Burnett, I. B. Clark, Orrin Parsons. 1845. Roswell Riddle, John M. Slater, Sam. Dunning. 1846. Alfred Utely, Roswell Riddle, Sam Dunning. 1847. Alfred Utley, Jas. Ferris, Sam. Dunning. 1848. Ira B. Clark, Ira Kinney, John Coe. 1849. Ira Kinney, John Walker, John A. Bishop. 1850. Alpheus Chase, Elijah Littlefield, V. S. Bastion. 1851. James Whaley, John T. Coe, E. E. Littlefield. 1852. I. B. Clark, Jno. Curtis, Erastus Hodges. 1853. C. P. Bail, Almon T. Coe, Franklin Croft. 1854. Perry Morton, Sam. Dunning, O. H. Parsons. 1855. O. H. Parsons, C. A. Jones, Henry Redfield. 1856. H. Redfield, Wm. McNish, O. H. Parsons. 1857. H. Redfield, Wm. McKee, James M. Bullock. 1858. H. Redfield, Wm. McKee, James B. Lawrence. 1859. J. B. Lawrence, Wm. McKee, Benjamin Luther. 1860. B. F. Luther, Wm. McKee, Gains Munn. 1861. Gains Munn, Wm. McKee. 1862. Wm. McKee, John Cutler. 1863. John Cutler, Wm. McKee. 1864. John Cutler, Lyman Hill. 1865. Levings Gould, Henry Clark. 1866. O. V. Chapman, Levings Gould. 1867. Edwin Robinson, Jr., O. V. Chapman. 1868. Edwin Robinson, Jr., O. V. Chapman. 1869. O. V. Chapman, Frank Plumb. 1870. Frank Plumb, S. B. Chapman. 1871. W. B. Cole, Henry Reed. 1872. Wm. Bagley, W. B. Cole. 1873. W. W. Cole, O. L. Davis. 1874. Wm. B. Cole, Henry Reed. 1875. E. J. Jenks, Monroe Bittles. 1876. E. J. Jenks, W. C. Blair. 1877. W. C. Blair, E. J. Jenks. 1878. W. R. Munn, W. C. Blair. 1879. W. R. Munn, W. C. Blair.


    The following is a list of soldiers from Newbury in the civil war:
    Amos M. Parker, 	Ed. Patchin,
    D. D. Tucker, 	Henry Osmond,
    Anson Green.


    240                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Marynes Kelley, 9th Regiment.
    E. R. Hawes, 23d Regiment.
    C. C. Webber, 	H. C. Webber,
    W. H. Gilbert, killed. 	John Jones,
    Leroy Patchin, 	R. P. Burnett, killed.
    J. C. Smith, died. 	John Whitlam,
    George Wilder, killed. 	W. W. Munn, killed.
    Walter Meed, 	William C. Hodges,
    Francis Ferris, 	Hurbert Fisher,
    Orange Fisher, 	Shubal M. Neave,
    Delos Morton, 	George Patterson,
    Burnett Parks, 	Homer Andrews, died.
    Leonard Hammond, 	John Cutts,
    William Farrell, 	Fletcher Andrews,
    Amos A. McNish, 	Luman Harrington, died.
    William Harrington, 	Hubert Harrington,
    C. P. Bail, 	Adison Smith,
    Guy Smith, 	A. J. Hill,
    Daniel Bartlett, 	Levings Gould,
    John Good, 	Charley Williams, killed.
    Sylvester Ladow, 	Harlow Pelton,
    William Buck, killed. 	Albert Kinney, died.
    George L. Bartlett, killed. 	Lewis Fuller,
    George Hill, 	Frank Savage,
    William Hall, died. 	D. C. Morton, died.
    Levi Dunning, 	Curtis Dunning,
    Charles Danforth, 	E. M. Sanbourn,
    George H. Hickox, 	David R. Bartlett.
    D. A. Gates, 42d Regiment.
    Lewis Andrews, 	Josiah Andrews,
    Willson Russell, 	Abner Pease,
    Charles Bittles.
    William Alexander, 87th Regiment.
    Walter Strickland, 	Avril Way, died.
    Ed. Patchin, 	David Patchin,
    Stephen Patchin, 	D. D. Tucker,
    William Allshouse, 	S. Sanborn,
    Jonas Allshouse, 	Jared Bulton,
    Justin Bulton, 	Eugene Hayden,
    Elmer Russell, 	Byron Pease, killed.
    Samuel Pease, 	Testus Alexander, died.
    Dexter Knox, died.
    Herbert Osmond, 	Alanson Knox,
    W. C. Hodges, 	Osmond Chase.
    Albert Thayer.
    Thomas Chase, Heavy Artillery, died.
    Pliny E. Hill, 6th Cavalry.
    A. Lampson, 	B. Lampson, died.
    Adison Hawes, 	John Tyler,
    Arthur Gilbert, 	J. H. Hodges,
    R. S. Knox, 	Frank S. Torrey,
    Wallace Stone, 	J. J. Smith,
    B. L. Smith, 	Roswell Riddle,
    John Cutler, 	W. C. Blair,
    C. B. Beswick, 	Cyrus Hunt,
    Harvey Ferris, 	Anson Perkins,
    F.M. Zethmayr, 	Clifford Hayden,
    Henry Clark, 	Stephen Bosworth,
    Henry Bosworth, 	Almon Russell,
    Lyman Bosworth, 	Orson Barker,
    James McNish, 	B. F. Luther,
    George Bail, 	S. B. Chapman,
    John Buck, 	Henry Mansfield,


                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  241

    Henry Davis, 	Aaron Williams,
    Ira Bidlake, 	W. W. Chapman,
    O. V. Chapman, 	M. B. Cook,
    J. Naughton, 	A. L. Savage,
    G. W. Torrey, 	H. H. Woods,
    J. A. White, 	C. A. Green,
    Almon Green, 	S. H. Morton,
    Wesley Strickland, 	Frank Thayer.



    was born in New Haven, Connecticut, June 4, 1782. "Boys should know well the value of labor," was a belief held by the thrifty and well-to-do classes of the east. From one of the first families in New Haven, the youth named started out to learn the carpenter's trade, and was master of it, under the training of such skillful workmen as John and Elias Ford. The well kept account books, written in his own hand, signify that he had some early mental training, and a fair share of schooling. When twenty-one, he appeared in Poland, Ohio -- this was in the year 1803 -- and afterwards went to Warren, where he made acquaintances, and engaged to build a house for General Perkins, the land agent. His ability was assured from the first, or he could not have secured the job of building a mansion for this first family.

    Settling his accounts in the east, in February, he started for Ohio, with the purpose of making a settlement there, and arrived in Burton early in 1807. Esquire Law had employed him to build a house and barn on the lot near the Beard house, which were put up that summer. The building of a saw-mill for Esquire Law at the Cuyahoga rapids -- finds mention on the books in a credit to "Andrew Durand, for rounds to trundle-head to saw-mill, April 12, 1808, $1.50." It may have been begun in the fall and winter of 1807. It was run in the spring of 1809, and Seth Harmond and Amzi Atwater are charged with boards, to pay them for work done on the mill. Esquire Law is charged with $50, April 25, 1808, to pay John Ford towards finishing the college. Hay in 1808 was sold at the rate of $7.50 per ton, Simeon Moss and Thaddeus Bradley being charged for it at 37 1/2 cents per hundred. It is not intimated whether this was wild grass or timothy. The first notice of Burton as a county seat occurs under date of May 2, 1808, where he charges Law with the day, "waiting on committee to look at Burton for county seat." Punderson favored Burton, and kept this committee away from Chardon hill in the woods below, looking a long time, but one of them persisted, and he finally said if they could find the way on to the hill, he would go with them. The ascent began, and when once on top, the stakes were set, and the county seat located. October 12th is charged "two days time and one and a half gallons of whiskey, given to get the Cuyahoga cleared from lower to upper bridge."

    Into the wilderness of Newbury, he went, also, in 1808, with mind full of plans for the building of a grist-mill, and a distillery, at the foot of the "Big Pond," just over the eastern line of the township. Of this enterprise, in which Eleazer Hickox joined with him, the general history of the township gives an interesting account. Purchasing a large tract of land surrounding this inland lake, that he might forever control it to the high water mark, it became known

    242                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    as Punderson's pond. Southward, by a big spring, was built a cabin, in the woods, for the men while building the mill. This busy man questioned his own heart as to who should keep this cabin of the forest, when the hands were gone. Sybil, the sister of Hickox, had put the house of her brother, in Burton, in order, and it had not escaped notice that it was well done. Of her spirit and courage there was no doubt. Looking for Hickox one night, the Indians came to her bed, and, seeing their mistake, said: "Squaw, squaw!" and went off. The dancing frolics and yells of the savages used to cause her some alarm. It is not told of the oftentimes Punderson went round to this house of her brother, by special invitation, to a Sunday dinner, and how the afternoons in her society passed quickly. Burton square was a wild garden of blackberries, and the shining fruit, picked by her own hand, was fresh on the table.

    One autumn day, October 20, 1808, there were two weddings -- Lemuel and Sybil, Eleazer and Stella; and after this, for nearly two years, Sybil kept house in the brother's store-building. Her husband must have been much of the time from home, at the mills and at the Rapids. Not strong in health, her will more than compensated for the loss, and when the mills were up, July 12, 1810, the wife moved into the cabin, completing the home, and it became the radiating center of a great work.

    Punderson, a strong, heavy man, of full height, cared more for business than style, and went with sleeves rolled up and barefoot. Eastern people coming in would inquire of this stalwart man for Punderson. He would answer, "He's 'round about somewhere," and with a merry twinkle in his eye would say, "Come in," and then pass to them the courtesies of the house, a draft of whisky in a tin cup, with compliments of Mr. Punderson. Once in Warren, it is told of him, as going barefoot into a store, and the clerk would not sell him goods. He went to another store, where he was known, his credit being high, and was busy trading, when in came the owner of the first store to apologize for the slight offered by his clerk. Punderson laughed, but went on buying, all the same.

    Once lost in the woods of Mantua, on the low banks of the Cuyahoga, he was so chilled in the night as to feel that he would die. Near morning he was aroused by the howling of the wolves. The blood started in his veins, and mounting his horse, he rode off, ever after having a friendly feeling for the wolf, believing their howls had saved his life.

    His barn, built in 1814, has on it still the same oak siding fastened with wrought nails.

    He went extensively into the selling of lands, and was agent for Andrew Hull, Jr., for Henry Thorndike, and a Mr. Ely, of Massachusetts, and also for William Law, whose account figures largely on his books. Hickox looked after this camp, while Punderson was away constructing Law's mill at the Rapids.

    When the family had possession of the cabin it was the first permanent settlement in town, and fixed near the outlet of the beautiful lake, where the crystal waves of spring water pass on beds and roll on shores of sand. In this day, to the woods of these shores come the tourists and anglers of the cities and towns and set up their tents for the summer vacation, and in the generous kindness of Daniel, the eldest son, and the Pundersons, are permitted to hunt and fish at will. Here, where the pure brook starts off to the sea, at the cabin and beside the young wife, Punderson studied, and mapped out a wide field of work. In the great brain of this active man were surveyed and dotted compass points, that seemed touched with the foresight of prophecy. In the outlook on the advancing civilization that was so soon to convert the wilderness into pathways of commerce, and into lots teeming with the busy hands of agriculture, he comprehended, more than any man of the region, where the great centers of business would be fixed, and the ships of the inland seas would come and go, laden with

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  243

    the wealth of the world. Perhaps the masts and the harbor of New Haven grew large on the imagination, and he painted, in visions, her shipping in ports of the west. Years have proved the vision true. He had lands in Painesville, and over two hundred acres in Cleveland, on the north side of Euclid, now the finest residence street in all the great west, and also tracts in other localities. His real estate transactions were on a liberal scale, commensurate with the ideas of the man. When the war had passed by, the land business increased, and the agency for first owners was extensive. He felt the stringency of the times, foresaw danger, and began wisely preparing to meet it. A letter, written to his father, so well expresses the condition of the currency then, and is so good a showing of a large business, in those days, that a portion of it will be of interest here. It bears date at Newbury, November 12, 1819, and says:

    "I begin to feel alarmed on account of the scarcity of money in this country. The little we have is not good for anything abroad; is not worth much at home, as there is but little of it that is redeemed at the banks.... I have thought best to make you a true statement of my situation, that you might judge of the propriety of assisting me in case it should be convenient for you.

    Demands against me, now due 	$4,704 57
    In addition, demands due in one year 	990 79
    " " " " " two years 	523 63
    " " " " " three years 	726 00
    Total 	$6,944 99
    I have been so particular as to cast the interest upon 
    all my debts up to the time they became due.
    Due me at this time 	$ 6,489 10
    " " one year from this date 	2,243 32
    " " two years " " " 	1,391 14
    " " three years from this date 	466 29
    " " four years from this date 	726 00
    " " from the store concern 	4,000 00
    In the hands of Mr. Phelps, for lands sold 	2,000 00
    I have in bank 	900 00
    Asa Gilbert's note 	500 00
    Total 	$18,715 85
    Home farm, 250 acres, 140 of which is well cleared, and with the 
    grist-and saw-mills, barns and other buildings, ought to be worth 
    $9,000, but we will say $8,000 00
    373 acres of first rate timber land in this township, @ $5 00 
    per acre 	1,865 00
    1075 acres in different parts of this county, @ $3 00 
    per acre 	3, 225 00
    Neat cattle, horses, sheep and hogs, now on the farm 	1,136 00
    150 yards of fulled cloth, at $2 50 per yard 	375 00
    Making in the whole 	$33,316 85
    Subtract what I owe 	6,944 96
    Balance in my favor 	$26,371 86
    He adds, that he believes the above statement is within bounds, and that he has between two and three hundred bushels of wheat, and as much corn, besides hay and oats, to keep all the cattle, thirty acres of wheat sown, cart, wagon, plows, drays, etc. His credit had been good, and he did not like to sacrifice property now, nor to destroy a good reputation by forcing a collection of debts due him. In such cases property was sold at sheriff's sale, and was usually bid in, by the creditor at his own price, and he did not want to get property in that way, or to risk his own going so. The indebtedness was small, compared with large, though unavailable, resources.

    Here was the foundation of an extensive fortune, and in the hands of this large-minded man, would have proved a public blessing. Not only were the mills and land business attended with care, but he was prompt to aid in cutting roads, and cleared a way over and by the hills, leading the travel to the settlement by the mill. In 1820 he helped to open the road to Chagrin Falls. He was the first justice of the peace, the first postmaster, and was the leading and foremost man of all that region.

    244                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    The breath of the Destroyer was in the wind. Fevers raged at noonday and at midnight the summer of 1822, and he was prostrated. All the skill of the medical profession was called, including Drs. Scott, Goodwin, and, finally, Denton, and he so far recovered as to be called convalescent, but ate of watermelon within his reach, and died. This was August 20, 1822. So sudden and so startling was the unwelcome news, Mr. Riddle wrote: "What an almost commotion, as the word ran along roads and trails through the woods, Punderson is dead! It could hardly be believed, so many interests were centered in his life. An immense concourse assembled at the funeral. The elements of a fortune great in possibility, the achievements of the coming years which were to be and were not, all the hopes and expectations of others, resting in the net-work of his life, vanished, leaving fragments, broken hopes, sad, sad memories, and for wife and children heartbreak and anguish. All the large and small schemes and plans of a strong brain and will, an extensive web reaching in various directions had dissolved like frost-work.

    Men buried him, talked, wondered, and went their ways. They laid him in the new, little burying ground, on the beautiful hill-side, near his own mill-pond, where the rays of the afternoon sun fell pleasantly in the heart of the new world his brain and hand had created, and the world went on." However well the condition of his affairs -- as would seem from his statement in 1819 -- so sudden was the break that some things known only to him must have passed away with his life.

    The settlement of so extensive an estate, involving so many interests, was not accomplished without loss. How well it was settled in the hands of administrators, running along through the years, may not be known. There were many losses in those perilous times.

    The widow, a woman of high intellectual qualities, with a resolute will, determined on saving what she could, and went through the lonely years training the family, and with a mother's heart watching over the flock, led it on to the age of responsibility. Known in all the region round about as "Aunt Sybil," the home lost none of its hospitality and kindness in her care. For almost fifty years she was spared to the children, but followed him March 31, 1872.

    Samuel the eldest son, died early.

    Daniel married Miss Ann Shaw, and in a pleasant home across the road from the mill, they enjoy what of good cheer the world has to give. He is miller, and tolls the sacks as they used to seventy years ago in his large mill, standing on the veritable spot where turned the wheels of that first mill in the far away time.

    John and his sister Betsy remain single, and have a home in Burton -- the old Nettleton place -- and are much respected citizens. Betsy was famous as a school teacher in the early time.

    Miles lives in Troy.

    Eleazer, the youngest son, occupies the old homestead by the spring, near where the cabin stood, and the grand-children play in the willow tree's shade by the brook where rested the father so long ago.


    was born in Royalston, Massachusetts, May 12, 1775. He was a son of David and Mary Bullock. His mother died when he was three years of age. She was the daughter of Maturen Ballou, and sister of Hosea Ballou.

    Welcome, when a lad of fourteen, was bound out to Joel Kendal, of Athol,

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  245

    Massachusetts, until he was twenty-one, and served his time. In the year 1798 he was married to Miss Grace Fay, who was born at Athol. He was one of the first to enlist from South Orange, Massachusetts, in the war of 1812, and served as orderly of his company during the war. Immediately after the war he moved his family to Ohio. He was forty-one days on the road, and arrived at the cabin of Solomon Johnson, in Newbury, October 5, 1815. He took up land and built a log cabin on what is now known as the William Munn farm. In the fall of 1817 he sold his farm to Jonas Ward. The coming winter he built a cabin about one mile east of the center of Newbury, where he spent the remainder of his days. He was six feet high, of heavy build and powerful strength, dark hair and dark blue eyes, and light complexion. He was a great hunter; killed hundreds of deer, and a great many elk, bears, wolves, and made it a point to shoot every wildcat he came across, as they carried off lambs.

    In early days he adopted his uncle's religious views, and sometimes expressed them in public. He was an ardent hater of Great Britain, and a staunch Democrat. In 1855 he was appointed postmaster of Ford post-office, at Newbury center, by Franklin Pierce, which position he held until his death, which occurred in 1858.

    The last twelve years of his life he was afflicted with rheumatism, and the last two years he was nearly helpless.

    He was obliged to go from Newbury to Warren, a distance of thirty-five miles, to make payments on his land, and never failed to meet the payments when due. He went on foot from Newbury to Warren and back, a distance of seventy miles, in one day.

    Mrs. Welcome Bullock was a daughter of Solomon Fay. The Fays were among the early settlers of Athol, and their descendants are now among the first families for moral and intellectual worth.

    Bullock's family consisted of seven children. Hiram A., who never married, was an ingenious mechanic; Susannah married Dudley Loveland; Sabra died at the age of twenty-one years, and was much beloved by all who knew her; Mary B. became the wife of Syrenus Hawley; Luceba was the first wife of Roswell Jones. All these have long since passed away. James M. Bullock, the last and only survivor of the family, was born in Newbury, November 1, 1817. He became the owner of the old homestead; married Grace Ann Bittles, May 6, 1842; sold the old farm in 1860, and moved to Chagrin Falls, where he now resides.


    The subject of this sketch was born in Palmyra, Wayne county, New York, September 30, 1802. He was the eldest son of his parents, Winslow Green and Desire Douglas, and with them removed to Newbury in 1816. He was married at the age of twenty-four to Lovina Fox, daughter of Captain John Fox, of Troy. After laboring one year upon the farm which they intended to purchase, they left it to work a year for 'Squire Thorndike, in the town of Thorndike -- now called Brimgeld -- where he had formerly been employed, and where they received as wages a sufficient amount to enable them to complete the payment for the farm, upon which they afterward lived during all the active years of their life. On account of his having once acted as captain of a training company, he was always familiarly known and addressed as Captain Green.

    In 1832 he assisted largely in organizing in Newbury a Congregational church, to whose interests he was ever after devotedly attached. In the year 1850 and

    Page 246

    '51 he was prominet in the measures adopted for the erection of a substantial brick building as a house of worship. His means being limited, and his family large, it was only by the laborious sacrifices and the strictest economy of the wife and mother that he was enabled to give largely both of time and money to this object. The greater share of the money employed in the construction of the church was contributed by Cutler Tyler, who with him, Anson Read, Augustus Gilbert and Herman Ober, constituted the building committee, and of whom he was for several years the only survivor.

    He was for many years deacon of the church, and his christian life was marked in a good degree by the "faith which works by love." It is but just, however, to record that his strict Puritanism and zeal for the honor of the truth as he saw it, sometimes led him to incur, and perhaps deserve, the charge of intolerance toward those who held opposite, and as he believed, pernicious views of religion.

    Always a friend of freedom and a champion of human rights, he was an earnest abolitionist in the days of slavery. After this institution perished, he soon ardently espoused tke cause of woman's suffrage, and was one of the most prominent and enthusiastic leaders in the movement for which South Newbury was then and still is famous. Meeting those who charged him with acting contrary to Scripture in advocating equal rights for woman, he was accustomed to cite them to the words of Christ -- the golden rule -- which he considered his abundant vindication. He was of a nature at once jovial and earnest, liberal and just. His character and conduct was such as to inspire both the respect and affection of his family, and of all who knew him best.

    In 1866, leaving the old farm in the care of his youngest son, he removed with his wife and two daughters to the State road, where he spent the remaining eight years of his life in tranquil content, his death occurring April 7, 1874.

    As was frequently the case when important events were approaching, he seemed for some time, even while in comfortable health, to have a presentment of his near decease. This he would speak of with as much cheerfulness and composure as of any ordinary affair of life. He had made all possible provision for those dependent on him, and for himself he doubted not his treasures were in heaven. So when the stroke fell suddenly upon him he was ready, and after lingering, paralyzed and almost unconscious, for three days, he passed peacefully away, leaving behind him the ever blessed "memory of the just."

    A. M. G.


    The descent of the Riddles is mentioned in the sketch of W. H. H. The subject of this notice, the second son of Thomas and Minerva Riddle, was born at Monson, Massachusetts, July 27, 1808. He received the name of his maternal grandfather. During his early life, he was usually called by the first, later by the second name. The paternal farm was of Massachusetts rills, rocks and sand, with one or two small alder swamps; one fine trout stream traversed it, called "sap brook," for a clump of maples that grew near it. The family was well to do, and the child early developed the hardy, cheery, active spirit, delighting in free out-door action, which marked his life. When he was eight years old, the family then numbering five children, moved to Ohio. The journey was made in a stout wagon with a pair of strong, active young oxen, on the pole; shod and working in breeching, with a pair of mares on the lead; Josee M., and his elder brother, Almon, riding the horses. The journey was made late in the autumn, most of the incidents of which, remained fresh in the memory of this

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  247

    adventurous boy. The fortunes of the family in Ohio were those of the pioneers. Never was a boy better fitted by spirit, hardihood, activity and strength, for the rude stimulating life of the frontier. Born insensible to fear of men or beasts, understanding wood craft almost by instinct, gay and gallant of spirit, self-devoted and hopeful, few boys ever got more out of such life, or made themselves more useful in the woods. His father carried with him a new rifle, also a shot gun, was himself a good rifle shot, but went into the woods too late to become an expert hunter. His guns, however, did good service. The young boy with the fusee, attended him in the hunt, and usually pointed out the game, while many turkeys, partridges and myriads of pigeons, fell under his hand. As he grew older and able to master the rifle, he became an expert hunter, widely known for his skill with that weapon. His father died when he was fifteen years old. He was now a fine, well-grown, strong, ruddy-faced, brave, willing boys almost the only one of the numerous family, who escaped the sickness of that season. The eldest, Almon, remained prostrated for months after the loss of the father. Bravely he bore the brunt, for the sad, almost awful months which followed. For the three or four ensuing years, he remained on the farm, unselfishly with the elder brother, making a subsistence for the mother and the helpless brood of infants. When the mother made a brief change in her life, he became an apprentice to Joel Chapman, of Mantua, learned the carpenter's trade, and became, for several years, a master builder, prosecuting his business in Newbury, Auburn, and the adjoining townships. He was an ingenious and thorough workman.

    In 1836 he was joined in marriage with Caroline, eldest daughter of Moses Hayden, then of Newbury, one of the most attractive young ladies of her time, in that region. He now made arrangements with the heirs to become the owner of the Riddle homestead, where he built a house and commenced his married life; cleared a large new breadth across the whole lot, built barns, purchased horses, cows, and worked quite all the hours of all the days. The markets and times were adverse. A part of his mother's family were on his hands. No exertions could meet and overcome the difficulties which gathered around him. He finally exchanged his property in the homestead for wild land in Genessee county, Michigan, and in 1845 he made a new house in the woods of Thetford, miles from any other cabin, still occupied by the native Indians, and swarming with all the animals ever known to that region, especially bears. Here, with his brave-hearted, devoted wife, and three children, he began life anew. Stout, spirited, resolute and hopeful, he cleared a new farm, hunted and destroyed the predacious animals, which preyed on the fruits of his hands and new fields. He had just conquered life anew, when in the midst of his labors and hopes, he was smitten with a fatal fever, and died within seven or eight days, leaving his wife and seven children to continue the battle as best they could. His death occurred August 9, 1855. Thus far, all the members of this family, including the parents, have died after very short illnesses.

    In quite early manhood, Mr. Riddle was attracted to the militia service, and he arose rapidly to the command of a regiment, and became known as Colonel Riddle. Although of a quick, bright mind, distinguished by good sense, good judgment of men and things, he betrayed little aptitude for books, and none for study. He could not endure the school-room. He was a hunter. He would leave school any sunshiny day to hunt bees, track coons, or to run foxes with the dogs; even breaking steers or colts, had a greater charm for him than the problems of Daybol, which exercised such influence over his brothers Almon and Harrison. He loved a farm, loved farming, loved cattle and horses, liked the odor of growing things, the smell of newly cleared land, the fragrance of freshly plowed ground, the aroma of the fallen autumn leaves; loved every thing rural;

    248                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    knew the haunts and habits of all wild animals, their calls and voices; the notes of all wild birds, the cries and sounds of all insects; loved the changes of the seasons, the skies and clouds, and his life was a part of the free and healthful outside life of nature. His soul, too, was reverent, as the souls of such men are. He lived in constant recognition of the power which rules.

    Though disregarding the ordinary means of education, and averse to early study, he became quite an extensive reader, and was a well informed man of varied intelligence. In person he was five feet eight and a half inches, straight as an arrow, and admirably made. Though without regular features, he had fine eyes, carried himself well, and with his frank, pleasant ways he had the reputation of being one of the best looking young men of his time. His appearance was striking and manly, especially on horseback. He loved horses--rode and managed them with skill and grace. To few persons of either sex was given more of the faculty to win regard than to him. All men liked him, many trusted him. All women admired him, many loved him. Unselfish, he bore these regards modestly, without ever attempting to use them. Generous and high-hearted, scrupulous of the rights of others, full of kindness to all about him, his untimely death was deeply and widely deplored.

    His widow survives him. Of his sons, the eldest is the well known Elmer Riddle. The second son, Corwin, served through the war in the Seventh Ohio, and was severely wounded at the battle of Cedar Mountain. He resides near the mother, in Thetford, Michigan. The youngest, Charles, is in business at Titusville, Pennsylvania. The daughters are all married and pleasantly situated in life.

    Elmer is a prominent Republican, at times serving upon the county executive committee; was an ardent supporter of the government during the war; for several years was engaged in running a steam mill a half mile west of Newbury center, and is now in the lumber business at Chardon, Ohio. An active, energetic, gentlemanly business man, he is well liked by all.

    A. G. R.


    The Riddles are a Scotch clan, several members of which are known in the histories of the British Isles, and some of the descendants have gained honorable mention in this country. James the I planted a colony of the Riddles and others in Tyrone county, Ireland, and most of the Riddles of America are the descendants of those colonists.

    Thomas Riddle, a native of Ireland, emigrated to this country in childhood, married, and reared a numerous family, of which three of the older sons served in the Revolutionary war.

    The youngest son, Thomas, born in 1781, in Monson, Massachusetts, married Minerva Merrick, of Welch descent, in December, 1805. They migrated to Newbury, Geauga county, Ohio, late in the year 1817. They were the parents of nine children, of whom the seventh, Mrs. V. N. Clark, now residing in Indiana, was the sole daughter. The third died in infancy. The subject of this sketch was the fourth, and born at Monson, April 13, 1812. He was a large, vigorous, bright child, and in the air, frugal fare, and active exercise of pioneer life, grew up to vigorous and seemingly hardy manhood. His years were mostly spent on the farm; chopping, clearing land, plowing, hoeing, reaping, mowing, making sugar, black salts, and a great many other things that few farmer boys could do. The family had unusual mechanical aptitude, and Harrison, as he was called, except the youngest, was the most ingenious of the brothers, several of

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  249

    whom became skilled mechanics. There were few things formed of wood that he could not make. All the needed things about the house and farm, as he grew up, passed under his hands, from handsleds to ox-carts, the first of which, ever used on the farm, was made by him, and was noted for the neatness, almost elegance of its finish and painting. He made lasts, and on them made shoes for himself and others. Later, though he had never seen one, he constructed an electrical machine of very considerable power, which he used in a vain attempt to relieve his sufferings from rheumatism.

    His father died when he was eleven years old, and the numerous family was soon after scattered, never again to be permanently reunited. This consequence was especially painful to Harrison, who was devotedly attached to his mother, brothers and sister, and to the family home. He first lived with Harmon Bosworth, near the center. Though not remote, a dense forest of a mile intervened between. Here he remained for a year or so, then returned home. He was taken with inflammatory rheumatism in the right ankle and leg when he was thirteen or fourteen years of age, and though he fully recovered the use of the limb, it confined him to the house, at intervals, during quite all his life. From his thirteenth to his fifteenth year he lived with Deacon Atwater, in Mantua. He then returned to the neglected homestead, to the care of his mother and the younger children. Here he remained until he was twenty-three years old, and few men of his age ever wrought more effectively than he during these years. The mother, for her time and advantages, may well be called a remarkable woman. Harrison certainly was a remarkable young man. At seventeen, he had quite reached his full growth, above the ordinary height and size. His mind and judgment seemed fully matured. The fences and log buildings were quite dilapidated, and the farm stocked neither with cattle, sheep or horses. The oldest brother sent, from Painesville, a quantity of grain for the first few months' food. The next oldest was away at a trade. The mother and younger children had, for a time, abandoned the place. The buildings were repaired, fences rebuilt, new fields redeemed from the forest, and nearly all the old ones sown to wheat, or planted with corn the first season. The farm was well stocked, the juniors neatly clothed and sent to school, and finally commodious, and neatly-finished frame buildings took ihe places of those of the pioneers. Much more than this was done.

    This young Riddle might well be called intellectual. From earliest childhood he manifested an eager, inquiring, grasping mind. Quickness, solidity, and logical accuracy were its characteristics. At school he was at once noted as the best in all his classes; at home and in the neighborhood he was remarked for the extent of his reading and the accuracy of his knowledge. At this modern date of the family, after his return from Mantua, he found Dr. O. W. Ludlow in the neighborhood -- a man of intense mentality, some learning, and much reading.

    The friendship and companionship of this man was of great use to the young man. As his means increased, he was enabled to indulge his taste and hunger for reading. He purchased new books, took two or three leading journals from the eastern cities, and the house became quite a little center for the literary and intelligent of that immediate circle. As years increased, it became apparent that he could not hope to have the constant bodily activity necessary for the life and labor of a farmer. He was intensely ambitious, had already, with Ludlow's aid, become a good Latin scholar, as well as an accomplished mathematician, and he resolved to study law. His friend took him to Jefferson, Ohio, and introduced him to Joshua R. Giddings, and Benjamin F. Wade, then practicing in Ashtabula county, who received him as a student. He entered there in the spring of 1835, and remained there two years, making a very extensive and thorough course, as well as keeping up his classical and other studies.

    250                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    When he finished, Mr. Wade, as a token of his esteem, presented him with a complete outfit of fine clothes, from hat to boots, including a beautiful pin for the shirt front.

    At the recommendation of Mr. Giddings and Mr. Wade, Reuben Hitchcock, of Painesville, received him as a law partner, and he entered upon this in April, 1837, under the most flattering prospects. He became one of the family of his partner. Here he died on the sixth of the ensuing June. He was ill but four or five days, was a little wandering in mind; was hardly confined to his room, and died with his clothes on, a victim of intense and continuous devotion to study. Thus died, at twenty-five years, one of the most promising of the young men of his time, and his name is already becoming effaced from the stone that marks his resting place, in the little burial-ground, by his father's side, in the west part of Newbury.

    In person he was near five feet ten inches, well formed, with large head, massive forehead, fine brow and eyes, otherwise plain featured. A born gentleman, if such there are, of fine address, and polished manners. In mind, not brilliant, or showy, but strong, massive, and would have become profound, with time and thought. High-souled, brave of spirit, pure of life, devoted, selfsacrificing, few were more fortunate in winning the love of all who knew him. None ever were more strongly loved, more deeply deplored, or their memories more fondly cherished, by family and kindred surviving.

    The homestead, which he did so much to rebuild and improve for the mother and the younger children, is now nicely kept by Roswell, the youngest son living. On the site of the original block-house he resides, a quiet farmer, having the family mental structure, and fond of reading. He was in the one hundred days' service for the Union. His first wife was Romelia Smith. After her death he married Mrs. Alvira Way, and they are well situated.


    Thomas Riddle was warmly a patriot, and marked his appreciation of the great men of his country by naming some of his boys after them. He survived the bestowal of the last but a few months, and may have died with the fancy that they were not unworthy of them. These two bore them not long, and wore them blamelessly.

    The youngest was born at Newbury, April 26, 1823, and died at his eldest brother, Almon's, house, in Wabash county, March 8, 1843, not twenty years of age. His father died the September following his birth. In the general sickness, distress and hardships of the family that season, George, at the death of his father, was for a few months received and ceared for by a Mrs. Savage, a daughter of Rev. Justin Alexander, a friend of the family. One of the usual fortunes of the youngest attended George -- he was the favorite, and not alone of his family. He was too young to ever know, even by memory, the sorrows and misfortunes of his house. Of rare beauty as a child, joyous and gay-spirited, the outside air was filled with sunshine. The woods were near and the ground produced nothing but flowers for him. His first preference, like that of many boys, was for martial display. His brother, Harrison, made him a sword, gun and a plume, and with such uniform as his mother furnished, he performed many campaigns, being himself the whole contingent. He was at once dubbed "Captain," and was for years known by no other name. Among the friends and neighbors of this numerous family, the children were arranged in groups, and George was classed with the hunters and sportsmen. He used to shoot before he could load

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  251

    his own fowling piece. He had quite the ingenuity of Harrison -- was expert in the production and use of traps and cross-guns. One of his earliest exploits was the shooting of a famous chipmunck, which, as he averred, he "blew into pieces so fine, and so entirely away, that you couldn't find a speck of his blood, not even a hair of 'im." Many were the contests he had with his brother, Roswell, next older, over the remarkable disappearance of this ground squirrel (Roswell more than insinuating that he got off quite in a mass, and in comparatively good bodily health.) Although one of the most social of urchins, George carried on his industrial pursuits quite alone. He had a separate garden, a cornfield and potatoe-patch of his own, as also a sugar camp, and he always disposed of their fruits to advantage. At ten or twelve he built quite a bee-house in the garden, though the impression was that this institute had too many predacious visitors to make large returns. His term for study and books came late, in the Riddle family, not until he was twelve or thirteen. Up to that age it was quite impossible to get him to school, unless there was some one to go with him. His mother would push him out of the door in the morning, in the pleasant summer days. He would stop and cling to the gate, upon loosening his hands from that, he would seize on to a corner of the fence, and was so loth to go on, that it was many times quite difficult to launch him on the journey to school. He was really quite stupid with his books, and it was amusing to witness an interview between him and Dr. Ludlow, the neighborhood tutor. A dialogue like this was often heard between them, at a call of the doctor:

    Doctor. "Well, Captain, can you tell me where England is?"
    Captain. "Don't you know?"

    Dr. "I want to see if you know."
    Capt. "Why do you care about that?"

    Dr. "I want to see how you get on with your geography."
    Capt. "What is that to you?"

    Dr. "O, I take a lively interest in it."
    Capt. "Do you know where it is, Doctor?"

    Dr. "Yes, but I want to see if you do."
    Capt. "I'll bet you don't know, and are trying to have me tell you?"

    Dr. "Well, wont you?"
    Capt. "No."

    And so it would run on, in every way but the right one. George, pleasant tempered, would grow sulky, and the doctor would laugh, but he seldom, if ever, got a direct answer. It was amusing to watch the frank, ingenious boy's face at these interviews. Every particle of intelligence would at once go out of it. But his mind, when it awoke, like the saber of the Corsair,

    "Shed fast atonement for its first delay."

    At fourteen or fifteen, he quite mastered everything the district schools could do for him, and became a somewhat independent student. At sixteen, after the help of some of the better select schools, he had several months at the old Painesville academy. He taught, and studied as he could. His appetite for books became all absorbing and ravenous, and he neglected the conditions favorable for human life. Strangely, with the fate of his elder brother before him, his mother and friends were blind to the course he was pursuing, and his death came as sudden and startlingly to them, as did that of the other. In the fall of 1842, he went to his elder brother's, in Indiana, taught school a few months, became a little ill, closed his school for a day or two, went home to his brother's house, and, about the third or fourth day of seeming indisposition, laid down and died, without note of warning to them. He had been buried many days ere his mother, brothers and sisters in Ohio, knew of his illness.

    A favorite resort of his was an open space in the woods, on the high bluff

    252                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    which overlooks the beautiful Paw-paw creek. Here, under some grand old oaks, his brother laid him to rest in his beantiful youth. As the country settled, and children died, they were buried by him. When his mother visited the place, she carried from her own lawn a sprig myrtle, and planted it on his grave. In the fulness of time, she was laid by him, and the myrtle extended its green cover over them both.

    He had not ripened and matured sufficiently, so that one is warranted in speaking of his mental qualities. His mind was quick, and he had much wit. In person, of the full height, of quite rare personal advantages, hair of a light gold, fine black eyes, and complexion to match his hair, fine features, and a mouth of girlish sweetness and beauty. Gentle, tender, loving, no unseemly word ever passed his lips; no uncomely act, such as are readily forgiven to youths of spirit, were the fruit of his hands. His feet but a little way pressed the earth, and they bore no stain of its soil to the presence of his God.

    The lives and fates of these youths, to the survivors of the family, were ever an inscrutable mystery. It was many years after their departure, ere their names were spoken in the presence of others. They have almost passed from earthly speech. Ere they pass entirely away I would lay here a broken spray for the memory of each of them.

    A. G. R.


    was born at Western (now Warren), Massachusetts, November 19, 1794. He had a taste for mechanics, and worked at the carpenter's trade, and for a short time before he reached the age of twenty-one years, bought his time of his father. He was not only resolute and self-reliant, but of great physical energy and endurance, as evinced by his walking from Western to Boston, a distance of over seventy miles, in one day, and returning the next. In 1818 he came in company with Marsena Munn and family, and others, leaving Munson, Massachussetts, May 19th, and reaching Newbury June 28th. The following fall or winter he returned on foot to Massachusetts, and in 1819 again started for Ohio with a horse and sleigh, but was obliged to leave his sleigh, and get a wagon before reaching his journey's end. Here, while others leveled the forests, he reared the timber into dwellings for the human family, and some of the earliest and best buildings in Burton and Newbury were chiefly the work of his hands. More for a home than for the purpose of agriculture, he bought a farm in the southern part of Newbury, and November 13, 1825, he was married to Miss Sarah Fisher. The newly married pair settled at once in their log cabin, situated on the site of the frame house he built later, and which he occupied until his death, and which is now occupied by their daughter, Ruth, and her husband, John B. Waterton. Here he gradually became a farmer, finding, however, frequent use for his carpenter's tools to make improvements for himself and neighbors. His works were exact and durable, and many of them still stand as proof of their worth, thus lasting not only while he lived as he claimed, they would, but some of them bid fair to last another generation, at least. Such was the nature of his word as well as his work that if possible, it was doubly true, and his judgment was deservedly held in high respect.

    For several years he filled the office of justice of the peace, and for a few terms some other township offices, each time the public position being reluctantly accepted rather than sought for. But his integrity and unselfishness in his official duties won the confidence of all. Between the age of forty and fifty years he made a public profession of religion, and was baptized, but united

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  253

    with no church, yet was a liberal contributor for the support of the gospel, and maintained family worship. His wife was an active and devoted christian, and a member of the Congregational church, sustained with her part, and assisted in their household religion. Both were warm friends of temperance, education and true reform, and not only the minister, but the temperance, scientific and anti-slavery lecturer found a hospitable home at Squire Tyler's. In such circumstances it is not strange that of their six children who lived to maturity, not one ever used tabacco in any form, or alcoholic stimulants, as a beverage. One important feature of his life is best embalmed in the gratitude and praise of those who were known by him to be in need. It is best recorded in the book of him who keeps an account of all things and credits as loans to himself the gifts to the poor. He was one of the first and most active in planning and furnishing funds for the building of the brick house and school-room at South Newbury, and his funeral was the first service held in the church room. One little incident of his life showing his disposition to overcome difficulties, is worthy of mention. The same season that he was building one of his barns, he was also having a well dug, and one day looking at it, he accidentally fell in, turning some of the toes of one foot over backwards. Doctor Ludlow proposed setting them, which would require him to keep qulet for some time, and thus hinder him about his work, so he wanted them cut off, which the doctor refused to do; so with a chisel and mallet and one blow he severed them, when the doctor dressed his foot, and with a block nailed to the sole, and the upper leather cut from the toe of his shoe, he went to work at his barn again.

    His death was sudden and unexpected April 3, 1857. Returning from Cleveland, while descending the hill west of Chagrin Falls, he was observed in a reclining position upon his wagon; and when help reached him -- a few gasps, and all was over. Thus, at the age of sixty-two years, he quickly passed through the veil, leaving his friends on this side sorrowing, but not without a bright hope of meeting him in the "Grand Forever."


    was born in Pawtucket, Rhode Island, September 15, 1797. His father died when he was three years old, leaving him to the care of a mother of ten children, most of whom were young.

    He was put to work in the first cotton factory erected in America, at the early age of six years, working for two shillings per week. He remained in the same factory until fourteen years of age, when he removed to Berkshire county, Massachusetts, with his uncle, with whom he lived the first year. He then worked for Simeon Hodges until he was twenty-one.

    He arrived in Newbury February 23, 1819, having come from Massachusetts on foot, in company with Charles Dunham, their journey occupying about twenty days' time. He brought most of his worldly possessions in a knapsack on his back.

    Soon after their arrival, they, together, bought a farm one mile east of the center of the town; worked there two years, then they gave up the place, and he went to work by the month, in Mentor, working one year for Colonel Nathan Corning, and one year for Asa Webster, at ten dollars per month, and saving one hundred dollars per year. After working till the fourth of July, on the second year, for Webster, he returned to Rhode Island, and worked one year; then came to Mentor and worked part of a year for Mr. Hodges; then went the second time to Rhode Island, and worked three years for a Mr. Dexter.

    254                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    He arrived again in Newbury on presidential election day, 1828, and came to the farm he now occupies, the following February.

    On April 28, 1830, he married E. Jenette Jackson, daughter of John Jackson, one of the earliest settlers of Auburn. They have always resided on the same farm where they now are; have raised three children -- two girls and one boy. Sarah married H. L. Canfield, and died soon after; Lola married Edwin Robinson, Jr., and has one son, Harry, and lives in Auburn. Mr. Jenks and wife united with the Methodist Episcopal church in 1834, and have always been members of the church since.

    Mr. Jenks was a Whig in politics in an early day, and has been connected with the Republican party, but is not given to arguing politics.

    He came to this country in an early day, and has seen the early settlements change into an old and well settled country, always earning his bread by the sweat of his brow on the farm and in the woods. When a lad of fourteen he could neither read nor write, but after that by earnest application of his time in the years he was in Massachusetts, he acquired a passable education.

    He has always been a jovial, honest, hard-working, good citizen, well liked by his neighbors and friends, of which he has many. He has lived to see most of the early settlers of Newbury pass away, there being but three of his early associates now residing in town, VIZ.: David Walker, Jotham Houghton, and Mrs. Calislia Parker.

    His son, Edward J., was born August 25, 1832. His father, seeing the convenience of an education, tried to give him a chance at school, but in his early life he was a very dull and careless scholar; he would rather play than study. But in later years he did a little better. In the winters of 1853 and 1854 he taught school in his own district, afterwards teaching in southern Ohio and Illinois, having taught ten terms in all with very good success.

    He was married to Ann Canfield in 1856, and has a family of five girls -- Jennie, Sarah, Lola, Flora, and Zue. In 1863 they moved to Illinois, and remained five years; from there to Iowa, and lived five years; then returned to Newbury, and now lives on the old homestead with his father. Edward J. has always been a Republican in politics, and has held a reasonable share of township and school offices in the States where he has resided.


    The subject of the following sketch, son of James and Sarah Lewis Way, was born at Plymouth, Litchfield county, Connecticut, December 20, 1776, and was one of a large and long-lived family. He came as blacksmith with a colony to Canfield, Trumbull county, Ohio, in 1800. Among this company was General Elijah Wadsworth and Matthew Steele, his future father-in-law.

    Esther Steele, his wife, whose paternal grandmother was a sister of Noah Webster, was born in Cornwall, Connecticut, August 18, 1784, and came to Canfield with her father. They were married in 1802.

    Canfield at this time knew no improvements except those made by the few families that came the year before. There was no market nearer than Pittsburgh or Georgetown, and many were the journeys he was obliged to make through the sixty miles of wilderness to reach the then little villages, that he might procure the necessaries of life for his family, and the small stock of iron and steel to carry on his business. His was probably the first blacksmith shop on the Western Reserve, and he worked here at his trade until Hull's surrender in the war of 1812, when he volunteerd, made his pistols and furnished his

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  255

    equipments. He was appointed quartermaster under Colonel Raine. The good service he rendered his country is shown in the fact that he was bearer of dispatches to General Harrison from Sandusky through the Black swamp to Fort Meigs. After six months' hard service he returned to his family and resumed his business.

    His old account book, now in the possession of his son, contains the following: "1816, August 11th. Comfort S. Mygatt, debtor, to iron door for Western Reserve Bank, $25."

    In 1817 he removed to Middlebury, now a part of Akron, and opened a blacksmith shop, putting in a power hammer to do work for the different parties who tried to make iron from the ore mined in that vicinity, but the iron was of so poor a quality that the enterprise was abandoned. This trip-hammer, run by the water of the Cuyahoga, was without doubt the first enterprise of the kind in Akron, where now we find all the improvements known to modern methods of making iron. Thus in a little more than sixty years a single shop with a triphammer is replaced by rolling mills, machine shops and agricultural works the largest the State can boast. In 1820 he sold out and returned to Canfield, and carried on his farm and shop. He served three years as a justice of the peace. In 1826 he came with his wife and family to Auburn, purchased a farm in the northern part of the township, on lot five, and here took up again his trade. His account books show the names of all the early settlers for miles around, and their jobs of shoeing oxen, making log chains, traps, etc. And when the infirmities of age had settled upon himself and the wife of his youth, they still remained upon the "old farm" with their eldest son, loved and respected by all who knew them.

    Mr. Way was made a Mason while living in Connecticut. He was a charter member of Lake Erie Lodge, No. 3, Warren, Ohio, and was borne to his last resting place by members of the fraternity April 1, 1858 (Writer says 1858, we think it should be 1878), aged eighty-two.

    Mrs. Way died October 27, 1857, aged seventy-three years.

    Seven children were born to them. Amanda, the eldest, was born in Canfield, October 30, 1803. She married Hiram Colton in 1827, and after his decease in 1830 she remained a widow twelve years, when she married Elijah Bushnel, and was again left a widow in 1859. She resides in Chardon. Athalia was born in Canfield, June 11, 1806; married Edmond Spaulding in 1824; he died in 1847. In 1866 she married John Ford, and was the second time widowed. She resides in Munson. Lewis was born in Canfield, January 10, 1810; married Mary Averill in 1835; she died in 1837, and in 1840 he married Eleanor Johnson, and resides at the old homestead. Lucius was born in Canfield, January 27, 1812; married Mary Ann Frazer in 1845; died April 27, 1871, aged fifty-nine years. Sarah was born in Canfield September 20, 1813, and died June 5, 1817, aged three years. Elijah Wadsworth was born in Middlebury, October 9, 1818; married Susan Luther in 1849, and resides in Newbury. Lydia was born in Auburn, April 25, 1827; married John Barnes in 1845; died May 25, 1852, aged twenty-five years.


    was born in Massachusetts in 1809, and in 1814 his parents removed to Ohio, and settled in Mentor, now Lake county. The country being new, the advantages for education were limited, and they could only give the rudiments. But,

    256                                 HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    through his own exertions, by untiring perseverance, he acquired a good, thorough education, and was very successful as a teacher for several years.

    In 1829 he was married to Betsey A. Durand, who was born in Connecticut, in 1804, her parents removing to Painesville in 1806.

    They settled in Mentor, and in 1833 removed to Russell, Geauga county -- then a wilderness -- remaining on the same farm seventeen years. The old home became noted for its hospitality, and the warm welcome given to stranger as well as friend. Always ready and cheerful in the discharge of every duty at home, as a citizen and a neighbor, he combined, in a rare and eminent degree, great mental capacity, executive ability, and a genial, loving domestic nature. He was respected by the business world, and loved by the many for whom he transacted business. During these seventeen years there was not one but he filled some office of public trust, serving two years as representative to the State legislature in 1847 and '48.

    In 1850 he left the farm and settled in Newbury, Geauga county, engaged in the mercantile business, and was appointed postmaster, where he remained until 1864, nearly all the time adding to his own business the duties of notary public or justice of the peace. At this time, his health failing, he removed to southern Illinois, remaining there until 1870, when he removed to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, his sons having settled there some time previous. His health continued to fail, and he suffered intensely from a throat disease until his death, April 24, 1873, leaving his wife, and a large circle of children, relatives and friends, to remember his unexampled generosity, piety, and untiring devotion to the cause of right. At home, or among strangers, in private or public life, he was always the same kind and considerate friend, always looking more to the interests of others than his own, retaining with unscrupulous fidelity through life, a personal integrity and a character above reproach, his name will ever be remembered as a synonym of love, truth and fidelity.


    [ 586 ]

    T R O Y.



    If there is anything of a local character, aside from one's own affairs, which should be of interest to the citizen of a township, it would seem to be, more than all else, a knowledge, more or less perfect, of the history of the township in which the fortunes of that citizen are cast; that each may know a little of what the pioneers passed through, while performing the rugged, arduous duties, incidental to the advance guard of civilization, in a country such as was the Western Reserve, a century ago. Poor indeed, at the best, will be our conception of the hardships and privations with which they were obliged to contend, while opening up what is now one of the most desirable regions in the whole "Buckeye" State. It is not easy for our imagination to paint, with any degree of accuracy, as we drive our dozen, more or less, of fat, sleek, contented cows, from well-fenced, luxurious pastures, to comfortable stables, twice each day, to relieve their overburdened udders; I say it is not an easy thing to imagine the difference between this comparatively pleasant pastime, and the way which was practiced by the hardy frontiersman, with his single "bossy," if indeed he were the fortunate owner of one. Then, a fenced grazing field was not known, and after "old brin" had paid her usual assessment of two quarts, or thereabouts, in the morning, she was turned loose to seek her food as best she might, in the surrounding forest, while our sturdy woodsman, with axe well sharpened, proceeded to his daily toil of levelling the giant oaks, or the more graceful beech, or maple, whistling the while in bright anticipation of a well-cleared farm, in days yet to come, and thus he works, and thus he whistles, until the setting sun warns him of other duties. Shouldering his trusty axe, he glances over the result of his day's exertion, with a feeling of proud satisfaction, then betakes himself to his "cabin," where the good wife has a lunch in readiness for him, which he eagerly seized -- for it is growing late -- and starts on his uncertain pilgrimage after the cherished cow. She may be found within a mile of home, and, perchance, he may travel many a weary one, before he hears the welcome sound of his own cowbell. Sometimes his aching limbs mutely urge him to abandon the search, but visions of the little ones, peering through the chinks of his cabin palace, wondering why "pa don't come home, with "Old Brin;" they are so hungry," urge him on, and on, till at last, in the distance, his accustomed ear catches the wellknown sound, when his weary plodding is changed in a twinkling to a sprightly step, and his treasure is soon discovered, luxuriating, perchance, on a new-found bed of leeks; but at his bidding, starts through the dense forest, to her well known quarters, with an unerring certainty. Here she is greeted by the mother with a choice tid-bit of something saved up for her especial use, she meanwhile relieving her of what little milk she may have secreted during the day. This done, she is made fast to a neighboring tree, and the children regaled with a porringer of johnny-cake and milk. If any is left, mother takes a little, if not, just as well, she makes a supper of johnny-cake alone. Everything being arranged for the night, all seek their humble cots, and sleep as only rough, hardy sons and daughters of toil can sleep, and awake in the morning ready to go

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  587

    through the same routine again. And thus passed the first season of their sojourn in the, then, far west.

    As winter approaches, the little garden, made on a plat of ground hastily cleared, and rudely fenced, the spring previous, is carefully gathered, every vestige being turned to some use. The calf, "Old Brin's" production of the March previous, over the disposal of which a great many earnest discussions have been held, is finally doomed to the knife, to satisfy the demands of hunger, and a solemn pledge is made that the next one shall be raised.

    Winter sets in. A rude hovel is erected, wherein their only dependence for milk may be sheltered from the storm, her food the while, being the browse, from a tree or two, each day felled for her special use, re-enforced by a few "nubbins" carefully laid away in the cabin loft for that purpose.

    All this while "pater familias" is by no means idle. If not engaged with his trusty rifle, in securing sustenance for his priceless brood at the cabin; or at work, for a more forehanded "neighbor" in an adjoining township, in payment for a "chunk of pork" or a half bushel of wheat; the reverberating blows of that same carefully preserved axe, are heard from early dawn, till darkness hinders, in preparing another fallow for wheat, the next season; clearly showing what a strong, impelling power, is faith.

    Distance from neighbors being too great for social intercourse, the evenings are, nearly all, spent around his own rude fireside; his employment -- replacing a shattered axe-helve; or in some way improving the internal arrangements of his humble cabin, or making a hand-sled, for better convenience in transporting fire-wood, or making sap-spouts, in anticipation of the coming sugar season. Coal oil had not then been discovered, and tallow was to be found only in an occasional deer, so that the only light to be depended upon, was that of the blazing "fire-place," but anticipation of a "better coming" made all this endurable.

    The post-office was an institution to be found only semi-occasionally, and the newspaper was as seldom to be found as the post-office; making general intelligence entirely out of the question; a stray letter from the far east at long intervals, comprising the only mail matter received, and answers, the only matter sent; still our sturdy pioneer toiled on, hope ever in the ascendant.

    In due course of time winter merges into most welcome spring, finding our friend in readiness for its duties. His self-imposed five acre "stent" is completed. The trunks of the trees nicely chopped into the requisite logging length, and the brush neatly and snugly piled, to await the consuming torch of the following June; the garden is enlarged and improved, and at the proper time planted. Later the torch is applied to the last summer's chopping, which soon reduces the more combustible portion to ashes. Then the process of mauling rails comes in order, for his field must needs be fenced against occasional marauders, and, having no team, the rails must be taken to their places by the transportation, better known in those days as "soul carting." This done, the field is duly dedicated and set apart as the first cornfield and potato patch, the remembrance of which will be carried to the end of life. The seed must be planted between the logs, and among the roots, for no team can yet be procured, with which to do the logging; and an old axe supplies the place of the hoe, in the operation.

    In the meantime, "Old Brin," faithful to her duty, has donated the expected offspring, and as good luck would have it, this time it wasn't a heifer. Our overjoyed friend betakes himself to his nearest neighbor, who had settled on an adjoining section, and happily finds him similarly situated. A compact is at once entered into, to the effect that those calves be raised, to serve as a future partnership team. Faith and hope, in this case, strongly predominant.

    588                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    The season wanes, and the chopping of this summer covers a smaller area than did that of last, for the crops must be tended, which simply means loosening the soil around the plants, and knocking down the fire-weeds, which seem disposed to maintain the ascendancy; and then, there is the wheat field to be disposed of. The brush burnt, the next thing is more rails, and more fence, made in the same laborious manner, as was that of the previous spring. This done, such brands and chunks as can be moved by hand, assisted by the handspike, are piled and burned, the larger logs, of course, being left to await the current of events. The half-bushels of wheat, which have been collected as opportunity offered, and carefully laid away, are now brought forward, the grain carefully scattered on the most promising spots, and rudely covered by the best means at hand. When this is accomplished--for, mind you, it is not the work of a day -- the cornfield demands attention, and soon the sight of shocks, scattered irregularly over the rude field, swell the bosom of our husbandman with honest pride. They are the first fruits of his toil in field-farming. Next the potatoes are dug, taken to a chosen spot near the domicile, deposited in a snug heap, covered well with forest leaves, and afterwards with earth. This constitutes the cellar. The roots and vegetables from the garden are treated in a similar manner. When wanted, a hole just large enough to allow the arm to be introduced, is forced through the covering, on the "warm side" of the heap, and when the needed articles are withdrawn, the rude hatchway is carefully closed to exclude the frost.

    Winter again sets in, finding our pioneer, and those under his care, far better prepared to withstand its rigor, than they were one year ago. Instead of a diet composed of browse and nubbins, "Old Brin" now regales on delicious corn-fodder, small potatoes, cabbage leaves, and such other odds and ends as are thoughtfully saved up for her special use.

    The "steer calf" is by no means neglected, but comes in for a full share of the good things, that will cause him to grow, for mind you, "great expectations," are wrapped up in his little hide. In the cabin, more improvements are seen. In one corner, on two pins driven into a log, rests a nicely made trough, which was filled with the product of the "sugar-bush," the spring previous, and which, thanks to the prudent management of the good housewife, is not yet nearly empty, although many a delicious lump has been meted out to the "bairns," as rewards of merit. A "short-cake" is occasionally introduced into the bill of fare, in lieu of the everlasting johnny-cake. A greater variety of articles of food from the garden, has been provided, and by way of luxury, the "young ones" had found and gathered a generous supply of wild berries, which were carefully laid away to be used as occasion required.

    A few new-comers, who had settled during the past season, in different parts of the embryo township, made visiting no longer an impossibility. For occasions of this kind, the now indispensible "horse and cutter" were then to be seen only with the "eye of faith."

    It having been decided upon what neighbor they will call, things are arranged at home as safely as possible, and left in charge of the faithful dog, -- an animal considered indispensible in every backwoodsman's household, -- and they make for the section line, that will most directly lead them to the desired locality. If there be snow, pater takes the lead, to break a path, the children, if large enough to walk, come next, and the mother brings up the rear; if not large enough, the parents resolutely transfer them (if there be but two) to their willing shoulders, and away they go, happy in the thought that now they have neighbors so near. A hearty, undissembled welcome is their greeting. The new-comer, but a short time from the abode of civilization, has not yet become inured to pioneer life, and a call from one more experienced, is, to him, a source

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  589

    of infinite pleasure. Their conversation, instead of turning upon gossip, or scandal, or politics, finds a theme in their own personal affairs, as, how much land they propose to clear, where the best site for the barn (when it is built), and where the best for the house, etc. The tongues of the women meanwhile are not silent; the plans and anticipations pertinent to their respective affairs are duly discussed. The visiting neighbor, perhaps, proposing to lend the other flax sufficient to make her man a pair of "tow and linen" shirts, which she can repay when they shall have raised some for themselves. Kindness crops out at every turn, and when the visitors take their leave, it is evident that the "goodbye" is said in no conventional manner, but is heart-felt in every particular. The "man of the house," perhaps accompanying his guests a mile or two, to relieve the mother of her burden, for that distance. As a result of this unceremonious, unconventional interchange of thoughts and purposes, our friends return to their humble home, feeling well assured, that, between themselves and their new neighbors, a friendship has been inaugurated that is destined to end, only with life.

    A few days of redoubled exertion, and our now "old settlers," repeat the above mentioned pleasant occasion by making a similar journey in another direction, and for a similar object. While in the capacity of guests at the cabin of this late arrival, they perhaps learn, to their great satisfaction, that still others are on the way from the east, with an ox team and sled, having in view their own township, if indeed it has yet assumed the dignity of that title as a place of settlement. The expected arrival is discussed by our new acquaintances with infinite gusto, as visions of a respectable settlement in the near future loom up before their hopeful imagination, and light-hearted and light-footed, do our guests bid their host and hostess good day, and take their way homeward, talking, methinks, of the time when, years hence, those same woods through which they are traversing, will possibly be cultivated fields, and when schools will be a luxury no longer withheld, for be it known, the welfare of their little ones is, or should be, ever uppermost in their parent mind.

    Time passes. We will imagine it is now near the close of the month of March, and on one of those squally, disagreeable days, for which March is famous, when a man might be seen (if, indeed, there was any one to see him), in the dense forest, axe in one hand, and ox-whip in the other, making a slow, toilsome progress. The blinding snow storm compels him to consult his compass one moment, that he may not lose the direction that was given him at the last house, miles in his rear; then an obstruction in his path calls for the good offices of his axe, then a beckoning with the whip, then a few words of direction and encouragement to old "Buck and Broad," then an anxious inquiry as to the welfare of his passengers, when the unerring compass must needs again be referred to, the axe again called into requisition, then the whip, till, finally, to the great joy of the weary travelers, the long sought for "clearing" of our sturdy yeoman is reached, a lull in the snow storm discloses the unpretending residence, and soon the way-worn travelers are at the door. Perhaps the new-comer was an acquaintance from the "Nutmeg State," perhaps not. That makes no difference. He, and his, are just as welcome as though their parents were identical. They are all ushered with rustic heartiness into the domicile, while the "man of the house" disengages the patient, faithful, leg-weary cattle from the sled -- which, perhaps, was constructed by its owner under some wood-shed away back in New England, and for this special journey -- and soon they are ensconsed in "Old Brin's" hovel, doing ample justice to a lusty bundle of fodder. Meanwhile the "good wife" is by no means idle. A rousing fire is soon crackling on the hearth, and the johnny-cake board is brought into requisition, that being the only oven the house affords. After a few words of inquiry concerning

    590                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    matters "back east," our "host" excuses himself and is soon taking a "bee line" in the direction of the neighbor who owns the other "steer calf." He has three objects in view: first, self interest; second, the interest of the neighbor whom he is on his way to see, and third, the mutual interest of the three. The pet project is, to induce his guest to "make a pitch" in their immediate vicinity, but the knotty problem is, how to subsist those oxen. It is finally settled that they can "winter out" their own stock on browse and a little corn, so that, between them, they can furnish food for the greatly needed team. This arranged, number two agrees to come over in the morning and "see about it," and number one hastens homeward, well pleased with the result of the interview.

    Reaching home, he finds it to be bed-time, and the women planning how they are to sleep. The bed brought by the new-comer is made up on the floor, which is occupied by the men, the women taken to the other, while the "small fry" are tucked away here and there for chinking.

    Next morning, true to promise, the proprietor of the other calf is promptly on hand, is introduced in backwoods style to the stranger, and the three at once enter into a discussion of the momentous question, which was the theme of the two "citizens" the day before. The attention of the stranger is called to a choice tract, which is happily located, and the trio set out on a tour of inspection. A survey is taken, as well as the snow-covered condition of the ground will allow, and trusting somewhat to the experience and integrity of his advisers, our new-fledged pioneer makes this site his choice, and all return to their respective places of abode, well pleased with the day's transaction.

    Next morning betimes, the partially rested oxen are called on to transport the women folks to the prospective new home, that they may help to make a selection of a building spot. This in due time is done, and during the trip air castles enough are built to satisfy the most imaginative. Preliminaries arranged, the next thing is work, and here the new neighbor has a decided advantage over his predecessors. He can build a comfortable house at the outset, supplied, as he is, with a team, to bring together logs for that purpose.

    And now the co-operative system, so common in new countries, begins to be developed. All the settlers who are within practicable distance are ready and willing to "turn in" and help our friend cut his logs and put up his house, in consideration of the same favor on his part, aided by his team, and in this way his advent marked a great improvement in all the region round about.

    By the time spring had fairly opened, each and every "claim" was ornamented with the body of a house, of much more respectable appearance and far greater accommodations than the hand-built cabin, so that, during the following season, all the spare moments could be devoted to its completion, so as to be in readiness for the coming winter. The owner of the "ox team" is now all alive with his own affairs. The echo of his well directed blows, and the crash of falling timber, can be heard early and late, as he is preparing a small plat for a garden, and perhaps a little potato patch. The journey (as he is yet the guest of our friend) to and from his work becomes irksome to him, and so the neighbors, in consideration of a little "team work" in return, club together, on a pre-concerted day, and set about "doing off" his house. This is all the more agreeable to him as he has had no experience in that intricate science known as "Log house carpentering." The details of this "trade" are mainly confined to chopping or sawing out a place for a door, and perhaps for a window; splitting puncheons for the floor, riving shake shingles, laying the roof, and improvising a something called the fire-place. Partitions are not to be thought of, for the article called lumber is yet standing unmanufactured in the tree, awaiting the advent of the yet far off saw-mill.

    This work accomplished, the task of transferring his worldly goods to his own

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  591

    home is a light affair, and when accomplished, and possession actually taken, Ferdinand and Isabella could not have felt a greater degree of pride, when it was announced to the world that under their supervision Columbus had discovered the "New World," than did our recent wayfarers from the "land of steady habits." A consultation with his more experienced friends developed the fact that the cherished oxen are a luxury, which cannot be consistently indulged in, and with many misgivings, their ownership is transferred to a settler miles away, who has been in the country long enough to get a start. The remuneration is perhaps applied in part to making payment for his well wooded acres, and in part for articles of imperative necessity either in doors or out. Leaving this emigrant to work his way up to competence, or the reverse, as his lot may be, attention is again called to our friend of the cabin, the steer calf, and "old Brin."

    Notwithstanding his time and attention bave been devoted somewhat to the benefit of others, spring found him with his five acres ready for the brand, and as he has neither team nor plow with which to cultivate his last year's cornfield, and, in fact, could not get it plowed if he had, he runs a fence between that and the wheat field, thereby making it serve for a pasture, a portion of the season. The garden is put into shape to receive seed, by a process known as "spading," the fire-shovel, perhaps, being the implement used for that purpose. A few days devoted to putting a roof on his own house, and doing other things of an equally imperative character, when a warm, pleasant May day witnesses a conflagration in the new chopped fallow. Then the work of partial clearing, fencing and planting is repeated. The heifer calf, shut away from the mother, and learned to drink, as was the other, one year ago, is looked upon as the coming cow, while a well fed pig, grunting in the pen, gives evidence that the woods are soon not to be wholly relied on to furnish meat for household consumption.

    The summer passes as did the previous one, making further inroads into the forest, and cultivating, as best he may, the growing crops, with one important addition to his labor--that of reaping his first field of golden wheat. When this is securely harvested, he and she congratulate themselves that their days of johnny-cake, for a steady diet, are now over, its place to be supplanted by the delicious short-cake. The only trouble is the incomplete, backwoods manner of grinding -- the mortar and pestle being, many times, the only grist-mill available.

    Summer merges into autumn, the crops secured, and this time stored, all except the corn and wheat, in a place hollowed out under the house-floor, the house itself finished, and exultingly occupied. An addition is made to the hovel for the better accommodation of the juvenile cattle, and things fixed up ship-shape, generally. Winter returns; and others, away down east, hearing of this second "garden of Eden," take advantage of the snow as a medium for transportation, and before spring again returns, several more of the hardy sons of toil have been added to our sparcely settled neighborhood, some singly, and some accompanied by families, but all find a hearty welcome under the hospitable roofs of those who had come before.

    Matters and things now begin to look decidedly encouraging. Roads are located in the more thickly settled portion of the domain, and, best of all, a school can be organized, which is at once done. A site for a school-house is selected, and then comes the most memorable day for that community thus far -- the day of putting up the school-house. Every person is interested in the project, male and female, and reports in person on the appointed day, and the opening of a future railroad could not be entered into with more zest, than was the erection of this rude, backwood's college. If no one of this heroic band is possessor of a team, it does not deter them in the least. The logs are carried together by virtue of human muscle, the noble women bearing a full share of the labor, and the humble edifice goes up with an enthusiasm never before manifested

    592                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    in that embryo school-district. With what maternal pride do the good mothers, a few weeks later, put up the first dinner, and start their young jewels off to school, a mile perhaps, or more, through the woods, the only text-book, doubtless, being Webster's speller. But what of that? A noble future may be encompassed within the linsey-woolsey clothing of those same unkempt urchins.

    Time passes. Those calves having now assumed the dignity of three-year-old steers, and, in consequence of frequent handling while yet apart, become quite tractable, are brought together and receive a formal introduction by means of a yoke, prepared for the purpose. This is another proud day for the owners, second only to the school-house affair. And why not? Are they not now the happy proprietors of a pair of promising steers? which, if nothing befals, will soon make them the independent owners of a reliable team, and this ownership, bringing them as it does into nearer relationship, will be in no way detrimental to their future mutual well-being. Discord is a thing almost unknown in a sparsely-settled country.

    With our hero -- who, but a few years ago, was the humble proprietor of old "Brin", his gun, and his axe -- the crisis is passed. He is now on an independent footing. He has worn gradually into the surrounding forest, until he has a respectable clearing. Those calves, of years ago, are now oxen--steady and patient. The logs which he was compelled to leave unburnt, are now all cleared away, and the stumps so far rotted that he can plow a respectable furrow. An enterprising emigrant has a saw-mill in operation, on a neighboring stream, which he has not failed to patronize; the result being, a comfortable barn and his log house fixed up so that it will do, till he is able to build a better one in days to come. The "little ones" of the cabin days are now robust lads and lasses, a help and comfort to those who were so zealous for their welfare. A horse is now included in the inventory of stock, so that, when he and the "old lady" feel like taking a winter-evening trip to one of the neighbors, they do not go on foot, or with the slow pace of oxen and sled, but can enjoy the more pretentious horse and "pung."

    These preparatory remarks, faintly describing as they do, the hardships which the resolute pioneers of this Western Reserve experienced, and of which the "gentler sex" bore the lion's share, make no account whatever of anything but the common-place difficulties which they encountered. Not a word has been said about the soul-harrowing bereavements and disheartening sickness, which were the almost constant companions of the advance guard of civilization, physicians and nurses being among the impossibilities. Yet, mildly as it has been pictured in the foregoing pages, it undoubtedly seems to many like the imagination of a disordered brain. That all such may come to a different conclusion, "let facts be submitted to a candid world."

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  593



    It is fair to presume, and safe to conclude that, at the birth of the present century, civilized man had not set foot on the soil of this township, with a view of making it his home; nor had he, till the sands of the first decade had nearly run; an occasional hunter or adventurer, being the only intruder, on the domain, that for a long time was known as the "Welshfield Woods."

    In commencing the history proper, of Troy, it seems no better course can be adopted, than to copy almost verbatim, from scraps of record left by one of its earliest settlers, Deacon W. W. Beals, now deceased. He says: "The territory comprising the township of Troy, Geauga county; or in other words, township number six, in the seventh range of townships of the Connecticut Western Reserve," was entered for actual improvement, and the first bush cut with a view to settlement, early in the year 1811; and where now are seen stately mansions, improved fields, and all the paraphernalia of civilized life; then dwelt

    "Nothing else but beasts of prey, Or men, as wild and fierce as they."
    In our streets, where now is seen "Young America," with his fiery steed, plated harness, and splendid vehicle, dashing along -- over well constructed turnpikes -- at the rate of 3:40 (the deacon might now leave out the 40), then was seen the first team winding and twisting, and "dragging its slow length along" through marshes, ravines, wind-falls and mud, of which no one can now give a faithful description, and be considered truthful.

    Jacob Welsh, a man who had seen at least half a century, a citizen of Boston, Massachusetts, was empowered as agent by his father, one David Hinckley,* and perhaps, other landholders; to locate the lands within the boundaries of this present township, have them surveyed, and make other needed improvements, at a stipulated salary of $500 per annum.

    He, accordingly, with his eldest daughter, Betsey, came to Burton in the fall of 1810, he occupying his time during the winter in exploring his territory and selecting a tract whereon to locate, and which he decided should be at what is now the center. He employed a man known as "little" Phineas Pond, of Mantua, to put up a small log cabin, which was built near the house where his son, Captain John Welsh, afterward lived and died. When this was written (1874) there was no permanent land-mark wherefrom to describe the location of this cabin. Now there is a substantial vault in the cemetery which can be taken as a point of departure. From a point twenty yards south from the south side of this vault, extending two hundred and eighteen yards eastward, can be found the
    * This township, in common with all the townships in Geauga county, was purchased from the Connecticut Land Company on the 29th of January, 1798, and each, with certain modifications, for the uniform sum of $12,903.23. The purchasers of township number six, together with the sum paid by each, were as follows:

    John Welsh and David Hinckley $ 6,000 00
    John Worthington 1,600 00
    Seth Porter 3,000 00
    Robert Buch 1,311 54
    Asa White 991 69
          $12,903 23

    594                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    exact location, or nearly so, of Mr. Welsh's cabin; a spot which a century hence will be looked upon as the "Plymouth Rock" of the township. Near by this spot, and southward from it, are several venerable apple trees, planted, perhaps, in the autumn of 1811.

    Solomon Charter, now of Burton, and a brother of said Charter, were employed to cut out the brush and clear the way, so that a wagon could follow the Indian trail on the east side of the river. This being done, he, with his daughter, and a few goods, were brought through and duly installed under the first shelter built for civilized man in this township. This was early in 1811. He employed one Chester Elliot, of Bondstown, now Hambden, to survey the township into sections of one mile square each--No. 1 being at the northeast corner, traversing south and north, finishing with No. 25, at the southwest corner; No. 13 being the center section. He selected the center tier of sections, running north and south, and also the western tier, for himself, and those whom he represented.

    Mr. Welsh is described as a man of medium size, fair complexion, always well dressed, wearing short breeches, fastened at the knees with large buckles. He represented the first families of Boston, was liberally educated, of good powers of conversation, prepossessing in appearance, and of pleasant manners; but as a business man not a success, being endowed with but little energy.

    In June, of the same year (1811), Peter B. Beals and Ebenezer Ford, his nephew, arrived here, with span of horses and wagon, and said Beals, being authorized by the above named Seth Porter to make a selection for him, selected the east range of sections, and located for himself on section No. 1, and put up a cabin -- the second in the township -- made of peeled bark, near a beech tree, with a wide-spreading top, which stood near the dwelling now occupied by John Beals, the younger. He cleared the brush and girdled some four or five acres of land, and sowed it to wheat, from which was harvested the first grain raised in the township. On his return to Massachusetts, in the fall, he drove the first team that ever passed from Burton, through Chardon, to Painesville, the road having been recently cut through; the travel hitherto having been through Middlefield and Hambden.

    June 9, 1812, Peter Beals started on his return trip to Ohio, accompanied by his wife, five children, one Harvey Pratt (a young man living with him, whose time had not expired), and a young lady named Paulina Ford, who afterward became the wife of Captain Ebenezer Hayes, of Fairport; also, John Beals, with wife and five children, Simon Burroughs, Jr.,* with wife and three children, all from Plainfield, Massachusetts. Their conveyance consisted of five wagons, three drawn by oxen and two by horses, with which they all arrived in Burton the middle of July following, safe and sound, notwithstanding the many frightful rumors of merciless Indians killing, scalping, or driving off all the border settlers, war with England having that year been declared.

    Peter B. and family took immediate possession of the bark cabin above mentioned,
    * Note -- With regard to the arrival and settlement of the Burroughs family, the memory of Mr. Beals seems to be somewhat at fault. The following is the statement of Lewis A., eldest son of Jacob Burroughs: Simon, sr., came in the fall of 1812, in company with John Beals, and others, and settled on the farm afterward owned by his son Amos. His family consisted of his wife and sixteen children. Simon, jr, with his wife and three children, accompanied by his brother. Jacob and Elijah Ford, both single men, came here the winter following. Their mode of conveyance was an ox team and sled. Simon, Jr., settled on what is known as the "Sugar-loaf" lot, and Jacob took a claim on the lot joining his brother, on the west. While the Ohio canal was being constructed, Simon, Jr., who was a stone-mason by trade (the first one in Troy), obtained employment in the building of canal locks, and while engaged in that vocation, sickened and died. Jacob Burroughs afterwards came into possession of the "Sugar-loaf," which he held at the time of his death, in 1861. After his arrival, and before his marriage, he (Jacob) taught a school in Burton, at which he gave such men as Governor Seabury Ford, Colonel Erastus Spencer, and their brothers, their first knowledge of mathematics. Simon sr., was a blacksmith by trade. Of course, the first in Troy.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  595

    the others remaining at Burton, until they could build wherewith to shelter themselves.

    John Beals settled, lived and died, on the farm now occupied, and owned, by his son, Osman, and grandson, Cyrus. Simon Burroughs commenced, and remained to the time of his death, on the farm since owned by his son, Amos.

    In the summer of the same year (1812), Alpheus Pierce, also from Plainfield, Massachusetts, located, put up the body of a log house, and commenced improvements, on the farm now owned by Lewis Burroughs. November 11th, of the same year, he left for his native place, and returned with his family, February 21, 1813.

    His arrival was signalized by the first observance of religious worship in the township. A letter, written to Rev. Josiah Hopkins, -- who essayed to write a township history, but died, not completing it -- reads nearly as follows: "Immediately on his arrival (speaking of Alpheus Pierce), meetings on the Sabbath were instituted, and, as he, for a long time, was the only male professor of religion, the devotional exercises nearly all devolved on him. John Nash and family, and Harvey Pratt, constituted the choir, and sermons were usually read by some young man, or Mr. Welsh, when he was present, would sometimes read. It would be somewhat amusing now, could we see the interior of the log cabin in which these meetings were held, and the audience then assembled. Mr. Pierce was a tall, straight man, sober-looking, and nearly sixty years of age. His garments were coarse, and somewhat tattered, to hide which he always wore a leather apron. Beside him sat a son (Seabury), whom fits had rendered idiotic, in garments somewhat like the father's, only more tattered, and without the appendage of the leather apron; yet he was by no means an idle spectator. Frequently I have seen him, when the reading was finished, and the old gentleman, with his head down, was absorbed in meditation, or overcome by morpheus, jog him, and whisper in his ear: "Come, diddy, pray." Upon this, Uncle Alpheus would raise himself up, and begin to address the Throne of Grace; slowly, at first, but would soon become exceedingly fervent; among other petitions, praying that this howling wilderness might "bud and blossom, as the rose," and which he lived to see literally fulfilled, although he removed, towards the middle of the State a few years before his death. Rude and unrefined as were our meetings, at that early day, yet I have no doubt that much good has resulted from the exertions of some of the first settlers, in endeavoring to keep up good order and regulation in this settlement. In looking over the subsequent history of those who then inhabited Troy, the verdict seems to be plainly in favor of those individuals who regarded the Sabbath and its institutions."

    In the fall of 1812, Peter B. Beals built the first frame barn, the lumber for which was sawed about one mile southeast from where the village of Parkman is located. Soon after this barn was finished he was seized with an epidemic, that then went through the country, and which left him a cripple for life. The nearest physician was one Dr. Seeley, of Youngstown, to whom he paid one hundred and ten dollars for eleven professional visits. Being incapacitated for manual labor, he purchased the tavern stand* in Burton, of which he took possession in 1814, and was soon after appointed postmaster, which office he held some twenty-five years. Excepting the one at Chardon, it was for a long time the only post-office in Geauga county. In addition to his lameness, he became nearly blind, and employed Peter Hitchcock, Jr., then a lad--now Hon. Peter Hitchcock--to assist in making his quarterly returns. Misfortunes followed him until all his property (which was once considerable) was lost, and himself being too deeply in debt to be able to extricate himself, he returned to his old home
    * Located on premises now owned by Esquire Merriam.

    596                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    in Troy, where he spent the remnant of his days, partly supporting himself by making shingles. His son, Alvord, selling the premises to W. W., Peter B. remained with the latter until his death, which occurred April 26, 1850, aged eighty-six years and seven months. He was buried in the Burton cemetery, beside his wife, who died in 1821, and where not a stick or stone marks his last resting place.

    When he was sixty-six years of age, while musing over his situation and surroundings, he composed a verse describing the result of his musing, and added a verse each year during the twenty years which he afterwards lived, and considering his age and infirmities, they are thought to be worthy of preservation. "Thy servant, Lord, three score and six,
    On heaven may his heart be fixed.
    Lord give him eyes that he may see,
    And limbs that he may leap to thee.

    Thy servant, Lord, three score and seven,
    O, may his name be wrote in heaven.
    And when his eyes are closed in death,
    Lord lead him to a heavenly rest.

    Three score and eight, thy servant stands,
    Upheld by thy supporting hand.
    Uphold him, still, O Lord, I pray,
    O lead him to a brighter day.

    Thy servant, Lord, three score and nine,
    O cause thy grace on him to shine.
    Give him submission to thy will,
    That he his days on earth may fill.

    Great God thy servant thou hast brought
    To this great age; O what a thought.
    In counting o'er, his years have been
    The number of three score and ten.

    Though seventy years are past and gone,
    And he is left to mourn alone,
    His bosom friend laid in the dust,
    Where he must follow soon, he must.

    Lord, shouldst thou grant another year,
    He's still convinced that death is near.
    O fill his heart with praise and love
    To his redeemer, Christ, above.

    Lord cleanse his heart from sin and shame,
    Lead him to praise thy holy name.
    Give him new hopes, new joys, new fears,
    Till he may end his mortal years.

    Fill every vessel to the brim,
    Of grace and mercy may they sing.
    May truth, and peace, and love abound,
    And every heart God's praises sound.

    Lord give him faith, and hope, and love,
    To lead his spirit, Lord, above;
    To join with those who sing and praise
    God's holy name to endless days.

    His body must sleep in the ground,
    Until the trump of God shall sound,
    Then it will awake, ascend, arise,
    To meet his Maker in the skies.

    There a new body will be given
    To those who are prepared for heaven.
    Clothed in a garment white and clean,
    A spot nor wrinkle can't be seen.


                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  597

    Three score and nineteen years are gone,
    And he is at or near his tomb.
    Pardon his sins, O Lord, I pray,
    Before the great decisive day.

    Lord, could I say that Thou art mine,
    And Thou shouldst answer "I am thine,"
    It would suffice; I'd ask no more.
    Thy servant's age is now four score.

    A trembling sinner here he stands,
    Waiting the summons from Thy hands.
    Submission, Lord, thy will be done;
    Thy servant's age is eighty-one.

    With crutch and staff he moves along,
    Tottering and trembling, blind and lame;
    Lord grant Thy arm to lead him through;
    Thy servant's age is eighty-two.

    Thine arm, O Lord, has led him on
    Another year, how soon 'tis gone!
    He gives his heart, his all to Thee;
    Thy servant's age is eighty-three.

    Thine arm thy servant doth entreat
    To lead him low at Jesus' feet.
    Lord guide him to the Shepherd's door,
    For now Thy servant's eighty-four.

    Jesus, great shepherd, priest, and king,
    O help Thy servant to come in.
    Lord guide him to Thy fold above;
    there's joy, and peace, and praise, and love.

    Though dark and gloomy is my path,
    Lord guide my footsteps to the last.
    O lead me in the narrow way
    That leads to life's immortal day."

    February 19, 1813, John Nash, from Windsor, Massachusetts, also the team and part of the family of Benjamin Lamoin, of Plainfield, Massachusetts, arrived in town, and on the 26th John Colson,* also of Plainfield, came here. Colson settled on the northeast corner of the township, on land now owned by Issac Town. John Nash settled on the southeast quarter of section three, since owned by John Nash, Jr.

    The Lamoin family settled on what was aftewards known as the "Sawyer place," now owned by Spencer, Burton, Nash, and others. The elder Lamoin was left at Madison, Lake county, sick, where he died, February 22d. Madison was then a depot for supplies for the army, and a soldier, who was detailed as guard, complaining of not feeling well, Mr. Lamoin voluteered to take his relief through the night, and, in doing so, took a violent cold, which resulted as above stated.

    July 2, 1813, occurred the first death of a white person, in the township, it being a son of Simon Burroughs, Jr., aged five years.

    In the winter of 1812, Elijah Ford, a young man from Plainfield, Massachusetts, located on the northeast quarter of section three, paying for the same with his own labor, in the employ of Peter B. Beals, and in 1813 married Esther, daughter of Benjamin Johnson, of Burton.

    In the fall of 1813, Jacob Welsh (he being then a widower) left his daughter. Betsey, and a hired man, Robert Galt, by name, to look after his affairs, and
    * A portion of Mr. Colson's land was located just across the line, in Burton township, and his home was built thereon, on the site of Henry Avery's present residence.

    598                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    went back to Boston for a second wife.* He returned in the fall of 1814 with his newly acquired wife, and accompanied by three other children, to-wit: Jacob; a widowed daughter, Barrett by name; Mary, afterward Mrs. Samuel Butler, of Fairport; and also a daughter of the widow above named, who married one Brooks, also of Fairport. The younger Jacob, not liking hard work, soon obtained a situation as clerk in a store in Warren. †

    There is no record that any addition was made by immigration, or otherwise (with one exception), to the census of the township in 1814, but the events of that year were burned into the memories of every one who shared their experience. War with England was at his height; Hull had surrendered early in the conflict, and every available man was called on to help repair that disaster, and the country was stripped of provisions with which to subsist the army, while the very little not taken was, in price, far beyond the exchequer of any resident of Troy. How they subsisted seems almost a miracle. The four staples of life were of equal price. Flour, salt and whiskey were fifteen dollars per barrel, and pork fifteen dollars per hundred weight. Esquire Hickox, of Burton, came to the rescue. He sent John Pierce (known as "Honest John") with a team to Youngstown after a load of flour, which trip occupied a long week. On his return this flour was distributed to the needy, their promises taken in payment for the time being, and thus the threatening starvation was averted. Those who were fortunate enough to own a cow could make thickened milk (not very thick, by the way), while those who had no cow substituted water. In the way of present luxuries, Peter B. Beals obtained a barrel of whiskey, which he placed upon a stump where the older people could draw and drink, while the younger managed to get their share through the vent, by means of a straw, or quills fastened together after the manner of a stove pipe.

    Another settler, by the name of Samuel Eldred, having a little means, and being in want of a barrel of salt, harnessed his old mare, and getting astride, started for Fairport, the nearest point where it could be obtained, leaving his family in doubt as to how he would transport it home. But their doubts were dispelled, when, after several days' absence, he returned with his salt snugly fastened upon a couple of poles, which served as runners, they being weakened in the middle so that the smaller ends would serve as shafts, proving that "necessity is the mother of invention." A serio-comic incident, which occurred in the spring of this year [1814], may be worth recording. After Hull surrendered his army (August 16, 1812), all the available men in this region were called into the field, as before stated, and Troy was left with but two men within its borders. One of them (Eldred) was quite too old, and the other (Ben Lamoin) was not old enough. At that time there were several acres in extent on land, now owned by John Cutler and Lewis F. Scott, which was then covered with water a large portion of the time, and was the headquarters for innumerable mosquitoes and bullfrogs, of which latter inhabitants, those who came here in 1813 were ignorant. When the spring of 1814 arrived, and the frogs were released from their torpid condition, they commenced, as usual, their unearthly bellowing. The women and children, who had never heard them, supposed it to be a signal given by the redskins
    * The absence of Mr. Welsh proved, ever after, disastrous to the well-being of the daughter. Having been reared in a city, the surroundings of his forest home, were, at the best, very distasteful to her. After her father had gone, her only companion was the hired man, above alluded to, the nearest neighbors being the Beals, Burroughs, Pierce, and Nash families--miles distant. This, with howling wolves, and intrusion of Indians, proved too much, and her reason became unseated, never to be returned. She lived till December 1, 1851, dying at the age of sixty-three. "Aunt Betty Welsh" was the name by which she was familiarly known during the later years of her life.

    † Afterwards settled in Coshocton, Coshocton county.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  599

    for a general slaughter of the defenceless inhabitants, and their terror was indescribable, till the above-mentioned Ben Lamoin* concluded he would know if the noise proceeded from Indians or not, and, organizing himself into an army of observation (leaving the old man to act as a reserve corps), he skirmished through the woods, till, coming to the pond, he discovered from whence the noise came, and lost no time in making known to the terrified ones that their fears were unfounded.

    The one addition [mentioned above] to the census table for this year, occurred on the twenty-seventh of March, in the advent of Lavina, daughter of Elijah and Esther Ford, rendered historical from the fact of its being the first birth in the township, and furthermore, tradition says, she ate the first apple raised in Troy, and that the apple grew on a tree planted by Jacob Welsh, in the fall of 1811. It is related as a singular coincidence, that the future husband of Lavina Ford -- Mr. Olney Percival -- who was a native of Vermont, was the first white person who was born in his natal township.

    Late in the season of 1814, after the men had returned to their homes--their term of enlistment having expired -- they set to work to put up a small school-house, of logs. Abner H. Fairbanks, a returned soldier, living in Parkman, was engaged to teach, and this marked the opening of educational enterprise. This school-house was situated just west of the Sugar-loaf, on land then owned by Simon Burroughs, Jr., and since by his brother, Jacob. Tradition does not furnish a roster of all the scholars, nor an account of the sum paid the teacher.

    The first sermon preached in Troy, was preached by Rev. Luther Humphrey, in 1814, at the house of Jacob Welsh.

    From this time on, for several years, the population of Troy increased very slowly, and at least for three reasons. Although the war with Great Britain had virtually closed on the 24th of December, 1814, yet -- as ocean telegraphy was then not dreamed of -- it was not known, generally, till late the next year, and, people who wished to "go west," were nearly all not in a condition to do so, the war having made sad havoc with the little means they possessed; another reason: the land was held at too high a price to encourage emigration, $5 per acre being the figure at which it was held; and a third reason was: the unhealthiness which prevailed, especially near the river. But this did not entirely dissuade adventurers from seeking their fortunes within our boundary. In 1815 Nathaniel Weston, Nathan R. Lewis, and Isaac Russell, from the State of New York, took up their abode in Troy, and all three settled on section number four.

    Thus far, all the inhabitants, except Jacob Welsh, had settled on the eastern tier of sections. Later in the year, a young man, also an ex-soldier, and who became intimately connected with the rise and progress of township enterprise nearly as long as he lived, came and took up a claim on number eleven, which
    * During a brief interview, which the writer had the good fortune to enjoy, on the seventh of June, 1879, with the above-named Lamoin--now a veteran of eighty-six years--he branded this "frog story" as a canard; averring that the circumstance on which it was founded happened years before, "way down East." He related, however, a somewhat ludicrous interview which he held with a bear while he was living here. On one occasion, having business with Simon Burroughs, he took down the old Continental musket -- rifles were then unknown -- and started for that settlement. He had not proceeded far, before he was confronted by a huge bear, which, as is their habit, reared himself upon his haunches, the better to take observations. Ben. was at once seized with the "buck ague," and entirely forgot that he had his musket; so, pointing the index finger a la duello at bruin, he shouted -- or thinks he shouted -- : "Old fellow; if my gun was here, you wouldn't sit there long." His bearship gazed awhile, when, dropping on "all fours," he hastened out of sight in the surrounding forest. Mr. Lamoin now thinks it was fortunate for him that he did not make use of his gun, as the load which it contained would doubtless have done nothing more than to enrage the bear, when his own safety would have been a matter of doubt. Mr. L. went away in 1816, and now regrets having done so. He says that the Eldred spoken of was a relative of himself.

    600                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    is known, and for years will be known as the "Dayton farm," a portion of which is now owned by E. P. Latham.

    The name of John Dayton is the synonym of everything that is ardent, impulsive, kind-hearted and public-spirited. If any enterprise for the public weal was contemplated, John Dayton could always be counted on as an ardent supporter, both with his influence and his means, and monuments of his zeal are yet standing, and will stand, for years to come. It was not among his maxims to put "his hand to the plow and look back." The first public enterprise, and which he has the credit of originating, was set on foot, and carried out in 1815. This was the building of a log house near a spring, on land now owned by George Fox, and directly north from the present cemetery, the same to be occupied by new-comers, while selecting a location and building thereon. This was known as the "Pilgrim House," not a vestige of which has been in existence for years. A former citizen of Troy (Benjamin Kingsbury), dates his birth at this house in 1819.

    This year also occurred the advent of the first voter, in the person of Edwin, son of Simon Burroughs, Jr., who was born April 12, 1815.

    John Nash, being a carpenter by trade (the first in the township), and having had a strong distate for building log structures, thus far had provided no permanent shelter for his stock, and would gladly build a barn, but for the seeming impossibility of obtaining lumber. His wife and oldest daughters solved this problem. A man named Ainsley, of Parkman, owning timbered land near the before named saw-mill, would sell standing timber, and receive female labor in payment therefor. Mr. Nash availed himself of this opportunity to procure the needed lumber, and the barn was built. It now stands on, or near, the site where it was built in 1815. It might, also, be proper here to state, that at this time the supply of clothing for this same family had become nearly exhausted, and no resources wherewith to replenish. Here, again, those heroic women showed what they could do. Burton, having been much longer settled than Troy, some of its inhabitants had a small surplus of wool and flax, which our feminine friends procured, and paid for by spinning and weaving, thus relieving the father of another great anxiety.*

    At that date, and years later, the method of obtaining shoes, (boots were a rare exception) was quite different from the one practiced at the present time. The following description is given by one who knows "how it was himself." If the "murrain" or something, else, had not caused the usual winter sacrifice, in early spring an animal was reluctantly slaughtered, and the hide taken to Esquire
    * Since writing the above, the following statement has been furnished by Sabrina, daughter of Esquire Nash, now the wldow of Amos Burroughs, deceased. She writes: "Father arrived here the 1st of March, 1813, with eight persons in his family, and less than five dollars in his pocket, and possessed neither chairs, table, nor bedstead. The youngest was Alden J., who was afterwards the first postmaster in Troy. He built a log cabin and took up his abode in it, with only half a floor laid, and without either door, or windows. He made a bedstead of poles, and improvised a goods' box for a table, He chopped and cleared about two acres -- his two eldest daughters, Clarissa and Sabrina, piling, raking, and burning the brush and leaves -- and sowed the land to oats. During this time, there came an order for a draft of men for military service at Cleveland, and father was included, but his circumstances procured his release. He came here with a yoke of oxen and a horse. He sold the horse, and kept the oxen for a team. I have heard him say, many times, that had it not been for his women's help, he could not have kept his family together. Mother was fortunate in obtaining sufficient weaving wherewith to keep the loom busy most of the time, and, by that means, we obtained such provisions as the people had to spare. We bought a cow and calf for $20; also ten sheep, and paid for them in spinning and weaving. We bought the cow of John Ford, esq., of Burton, and, she proving a good one, father decided to raise the calf. When it was old enough he put it into a lot with the other cattle, and, shortly after, the wolves killed it. Father though he would be revenged, and so he built a pen with a small entrance, put the carcass inside, and set a foxtrap at the entrance, and tied a clog to it. The effort proved successful, the wolf was caught by one foot, and ran off with trap and clog, which made their mark in the leaves. He followed the trail, overtook the miscreant, and killed it with a club, and brought it home on his shoulders." Let the "girl of the period" read and ponder.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  601

    Cook, who then carried on the tanning business in Burton, who gave his promise that that self-same skin should be one of the very first, to come out the ensuing fall. "The brains of our "Pioneer" were then racked, to devise "ways and means," whereby money could be raised with which to obtain the needed sole leather, for, be it known that he was considered fortunate indeed, who could, in the course of a season, accumulate sufficient money wherewith to buy his salt, sole leather, and pay his taxes. Well, joy to the household, the coveted sole leather is secured, and, after several fruitless journeys, by impatient, barefooted urchins, being put off each time with -- "it will be ready next week" -- the upper leather is triumphantly brought home. And now for another trial equal to the first. Shoe shops were then things of the future, and "whipping the cat" was the popular way of plying their trade, by the disciples of "St. Crispin." To "whip the cat" simply meant, packing his "kit" of tools, -- by the shoemaker, -- in his apron, and tramping from house to house, wherever his skill was needed, to "shoe up the family." He carried neither shoe-thread, last, nor lapstone. Every family was supposed to furnish its own lasts, (if not at hand, one was soon fashioned from the wood-pile) while a flat-iron did duty as a lapstone. But this was not the second trial above referred to, for the shoemaker was always welcome. That consisted in those uncertain promises which has made, to "lie like a shoemaker," a universal proverb. But, (joy again) he comes at last, the leather is brought out, the heaviest cut for the men folks, the next grade for the boys, while the "flank pieces" are "worked up" for women's wear. In the foremost rank of "Cat whippers," stands our old friend, Alpheus Pierce, he being the first of the "craft" in Troy.

    The year 1816 is memorable for being the date of the first wedding, the parties being Luther Hemmenway, of Parkman, and Miss Mary, daughter of Simon Burroughs, sr. The ceremony was performed at the residence of the bride's father, and is described as follows: The "residence" was the usual log cabin of the period, with a temporary floor covered overhead, the loft serving as sleeping apartments for the family, the partitions being spare bed quilts, hung up in the desired position. The stair-case, whereby to reach these apartments, was a rude ladder, made by driving large wooden pins into the logs in one corner of the "lower story," Jenkins not being present, a minute description of the bridal trosseau is not handed down. The marriage ceremony was solemnized by Rev. Luther Humphrey, of Burton. When he and the invited guests had arrived, the blushing bride ascended to one of the above named apartments -- of course, in full view of the assembly -- to don her bridal attire, which accomplished, she descended, by inverse motions. Being joined by the groom, they stood in the presence of the guests, and the parson who, as was the custom, preached a short, appropriate discourse, after which the twain were made one. That bride is now (1876) a matron of eighty-four winters, is hale and hearty, and at present, resides in Wadsworth, Medina county.

    In 1816, Rufus Lamb, a young man from the State of New York, came here and made a pitch on the west of what was then known as the "Gilkie lot," now owned in part by Daniel Hill. Here he cleared some, and shook more, till -- becoming disheartened -- he abandoned his claim, and afterward followed various pursuits, till he finally became helpless, and died at the house of his brother Chester, in 1859. This claim was soon after taken by Julius Hatch.

    Several somewhat important events occured here in 1817. The one, was the building of the first frame dwelling house, it being an addition to the log cabin heretofore occupied by Mr. Jacob Welsh. It is said that this frame, and the frame for a barn, which was also being built for Mr. Welsh, were raised on the same day, and that he was compelled to extend invitations as far as Aurora, a sufficient number of hands not being found nearer. Both of these buildings

    602                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    stood near the geographical center of the township. Another, was the location and dedication, of the first burying ground, at the center. It was located west of, and adjoining the Congregational church, on land where George Fox now resides, and was dedicated on the twenty-second of August, by the burial of Bradley Bromley. Bromley, and Theodore Dowdy, died August 20. Dowdy was taken to Burton, in a canoe, and buried in the old cemetery there. Both were young men, the one twenty and the other twenty-five years of age. Another, was the arrival of Thomas Sawyer, who bought the Lamoin claim, and whose name for a long time was a household word. Sawyer Brook was so named in honor of him. Sawyer built his first house near where Mr. Conrad's shop now stands.

    Yet another, was the first duplicate addition to the census returns, in the birth of Philancia and Philena, daughters of John and Polly Nash, born March 1, 1817. The former died in infancy, the latter became the wife of David Nash, and afterward, of N. M. Olds, with whom she is now (1876) living. These twins were followed in after years by a son and daughter to Mr. and Mrs. Israel Whitcomb, a pair of daughters to Mr. and Mrs. Amos Burroughs, and a pair of sons to Mr. and Mrs. William Mumford, after which duplicates were no longer a novelty. Another event was the holding of an election, for the purpose of choosing the first justice of the peace. This territory, at that time, and later, was a province of Burton, and all elections had been held there. Now, the population was sufficiently numerous, to allow the colony a magistrate. This election, which was held in the spring of 1817, resulted in the choice of John Nash for justice, which office he held fifteen years in succession. "'Squire Nash" being the appellation by which he was always afterward known.

    His first official act in the matrimonial line was the marriage ceremony of Jesse Ives and Polly Pierce. Poor Polly had been shaken by the ague, till she had become a mere skeleton, and Jesse had become impatient, fearing the next shake or the next, might indefinitely postpone the nuptials, they having been adjourned from time to time in consequence of this annoying malady. A last the long-looked for time arrived, and the 'squire commenced the ceremony, but before half completed, Polly fainted from sheer exhaustion. Proper restoratives were vigorously applied, and as soon as she returned to consciousness, he made all possible haste to complete the knot hymeneal, before another like catastrophe should occur.

    In 1818 the most noteworthy of all structures ever erected in Troy, was built. This was none other than the "Old town house." It was an unique structure, the dimensions of which were about twenty by twenty-four feet, one story high. It had a rude frame, and was covered with long shingles, from the foundation to the ridge. The furniture was a rude desk placed at one end, and seats made by boring holes into the rounded sides of slabs, into which legs of the required length were driven. It was warmed by means of a huge stone fire-place.

    This building was devoted to a variety of uses. If a new-comer happened along, and the Pilgrim house was occupied, he found under its roof a shelter, till he was more agreeably situated. If an itinerant preacher chanced to come this way, its door was gladly thrown open that he might hold religious service therein. If a death occurred, from its portals the mortal remains were taken to the last resting place. If a teacher could be procured, it served as an incipient college. If a general entertainment was to be given, the Town house was the place of rendezvous. If an election was to be held, this was the place where the sturdy voters enjoyed the elective franchise. In fact, it served as a sort of grandmother. It was ready to be made useful in almost any emergency. Its memory is held in as much reverence by the early settler, as is Mecca by the devout Mahommedan. This historic building also stood near the geographical center.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  603

    The first frame school-house was also built in 1818. It was located on the southwest corner of land then owned by Elijah Ford, near where Mrs. Edward Green now lives, and Nathaniel Colson was installed as the first school master.

    At least three important additions were made to the population of this province in 1819, in the persons of John Fox, Benjamin Kingsbury, and Israel Whitcomb.* These men located on the west side of the river -- the first to do so -- and made their selection at what was a long time known as Fox's corners, now Pope's. Kingsbury and Whitcomb brought their families along. Fox left his behind. This man Fox, known by the appellation of "Captain," looked upon labor as the rightful heritage of mankind, and, furthermore, he proposed to enjoy his full share of its results. It has been quaintly said of him that he was not satisfied with his day's work unless he was compelled to use two canes to enable him to go from his chair to his bed. In financial matters he was successful. Prompt himself, in the fulfillment of his obligations, he demanded the same in return from those with whom he came in business contact. Although the enforcement of this rule caused him to be looked upon by some as a hard man, yet none for a moment doubted his probity. He was as prompt to pay as to require the utmost farthing. In public enterprises, in which he took an interest, he was ready to bear his full share of the burden, as, witness, in after years, his zeal in building the Congregational church and parsonage. His pioneer companions, although not so conspicuous in matters of business, were no whit the less worthy citizens. The name of "Uncle Israel" will always be remembered with reverence by those who knew him, as also will that of Mr. Kingsbury, who, dying much younger than the other two, did not gain so extensive an acquaintance, yet the circumstances attending his death (in 1839) will cause him not soon to be forgotten.

    In order to give the children of the present time a little idea of the inconvenience and danger to which children of that period were subjected, the following is related: When Mr. Kingsbury came to Welshfield he brought two children, both daughters, who were old enough to attend school, but there was none nearer than the one before spoken of, located two miles east from the center. This did not prove an unsurmountable obstacle. On Monday mornings, the girls were ferried across the river (before the bridge was built), when they took their way in the unfrequented path, to the school, a distance of nearly four miles. Once they met with an adventure. It was during the blackberry season; the briars, a good share of the distance, growing close to the narrow sled-path -- wagons being almost unknown. One morning, on their way to school, our heroines had progressed as far as where R. P. Stockwell now lives, where was a short turn in the path. Arriving at this point, imagine their dismay at seeing a huge black bear, quietly helping himself to the luscious fruit, and which discovered them at once. To retreat, they dare not, but stood and looked him square in the face, while he stood upon his haunches, and returned their gaze. At last plucking up courage, the oldest of the two sprang at bruin with a defiant yell, when he beat a hasty retreat, and our scholars pursued their way, unmolested. The older of our pupils was Jedidah, now widow of Prentiss Reed; the younger, Caroline, now widow of Chester Nash.

    In 1820, Galen Lamb, a brother of Rufus, who had come from New York State, to Burton, with one Esquire Hitchcock, as a blacksmith's apprentice, and had completed his trade, came to Troy, and located on the southwest corner of section two, where he put up a shop, and commenced blacksmithing on his own account, making improvements on his land, when not occupied at his trade.
    * Another man. Benjamin Hale, came in company with these, but did not remain long. He settled on land adjoining Mr. Kingsbury on the north, afterwards owned by Joseph Doolittle, esq., now owned by Marshall Dresser.

    604                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    This year was the date of an overwhelming visitation of pigeons. A portion of sections thirteen, eight, and seven, was known, for a long distance around, as the "pigeon-roost," and this year it was inhabited as never before, or since. Sturdy oaks were crushed beneath their weight, while smaller trees, and saplings, were bent over, never to recover their upright position. The noise of their flight could be heard for miles, while their unnumbered millions obscured the sun. To obtain a wagon-load of these birds was mere pastime. Pigeon-hunters phed their vocation at night; the only weapons needed being long poles, or shot-guns. Many years' occupation of this tract by pigeons, caused it to be the most fertile land in the township.



    This territory, having now a sufficient number of inhabitants, the commissioners of Geauga county, in February, 1820, formally set it off as an independent township. Mr. Welsh proposed to cede to the township fifty acres of land on which to build churches, a parsonage, and to locate a cemetery, etc., and also to furnish glass and nails for building a church, in consideration of the township being christened "Welshfield." The proposal was accepted and the above name affixed. The first election was held at the house of Jacob Welsh, on Monday, the third of April, following. Jacob Burroughs was elected clerk; Jacob Welsh, John Nash, and John Dayton, trustees; Alpheus Pierce and John Beals, overseers of the poor; John Colson and Hiram Dayton, fence viewers; Benjamin Hale and Harvey Pratt, appraisers, Harvey Pratt, lister; Amos Burroughs, Elijah Weston, Hiram Dayton, and Israel Whitcomb, supervisors; Simon Burroughs, treasurer, and Simon Burroughs, Jr., constable. It is not difficult to imagine that third day of April to have been a proud one to the full fledged voters of this new-born township. Perhaps it will be proper to state, in this connection, that, at that time, the office of township treasurer was no sinecure. Tradition tells us that, for a long time, the only funds in the vaults of our treasury, consisted of two "bung-town" coppers, which the treasurer was wont to loan to persons who might need them, in order to properly close the eyes of a recently deceased friend; But tradition does not tell us whether, or no, security for the loan was required.

    Important accssions to the population of Welshfield were made in 1821, by the advent of William Mumford, and also the family of Captain Fox. Mumford settled on a part of section four, where he remained until his death; a faithful, thorough, loyal citizen. Rheumatism, brought on by undue exposure, rendered the closing years of his life very unenjoyable to himself.

    Up to this time, the Cuyahoga could be crossed in no place between Burton and the Rapids, except by fording, swimming, or by means of canoes, and the increasing population on the west side of the river, made a bridge a stern necessity. Arrangements were therefore made with John Nash, esq., to build one across the river immediately west from the center of the township. The work of framing was pushed with all possible rapidity, and was soon accomplished. The number of men in town being far too few to raise this structure, requisitions were made on all the adjoining townships, to lend a helping hand,

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  605

    which were promptly responded to, every man who could do so, bringing the women folks along to enjoy a holiday. The spectators (all of them females except Dr. Scott, of Parkman,) were arranged in groups on either shore, the gallant doctor playing the agreeable to those on the eastern bank. When everything was in readiness, the work of raising commenced, under the supervision of the architect, Esquire Nash. As each "bent" was raised, it was connected with the last preceding one, by means of stringers, and without taking the precaution to securely fasten any of them. While raising the middle bent, which was by far the heaviest one, a portion of the men were detailed to do duty on the part already up, and the remainder were stationed on a raft below. After almost superhuman exertion, the bent had nearly reached the desired perpendicular, when the whole structure gave way, submerging every man engaged in its erection. As each man went under, his hat would part company with his head, on reaching the water, the effect of which is described as being ludicrous in the extreme. Great was the consternation among the women for a moment, but soon every man made his appearance on the surface, seized his hat and floundered ashore. Being too wet and unwieldly to repeat the experiment, the raising was adjourned till another day, when, having learned wisdom from the things they before suffered, proper precautions were taken, and the two shores of the sluggish Cuyahoga were connected by a genuine bridge.

    In 1821, a marriage contract was consummated between John Dayton and Phebe, youngest daughter of Caleb Fowler, of Burton, whom he at once transferred to his then lonely home. But she proved herself worthy to be the wife of a daring pioneer, as one or two incidents will clearly show. At that time wolves infested the woods in great numbers, obliging settlers who owned sheep to build strong sheep folds near the house, in which to secure the flock at night. Mr. Dayton kept a few sheep and had provided the needed safeguard.

    On one occasion, when he was in Middlefield at work, having left home matters in charge of his wife, she forgot to pay the sheep proper attention as night came on, and was reminded of her neglect by the sight of a wolf's nose, which he had unceremoniously poked in at the cat-hole. Without waiting to take a second thought, she seized a firebrand from off the blazing hearth, and dashed into the darkness. Arriving at the pen, she found one of the sheep was missing, but made good time in securing the rest of the flock. On another occasion, when Mr. Dayton was from home at work, an older sister, wife of Jacob Burroughs, living at the Sugar-loaf, came to spend a few days with Phebe. Folks in those days were called by their christian names. Matches were then unknown, the tinder-box being the only resource in case fire should go out, which it was not often allowed to do. During this visit Mrs. Dayton's fire went out, and what was worse, the tinder-box was found to be entirely empty. Here was a dilemma. Only one thing remained to be done. Fire must be obtained at the cabin of a neighboring settler, the nearest being Jacob Welsh, at the center. She was equal to this emergency. Catching a horse, she resolutely mounted him, and taking a small dinner pot, perhaps the only cooking utensil her cabin could boast of, in which to transport the fire, started through the unbroken forest toward Mr. Welsh's domicile. Arriving there just at break of day, he had not yet risen, but she promptly roused him, and was greeted with the usual "Who's there?" "Phebe," was the response. "Fire and brimstone!* Phebe, what do you want?" "Not any brimstone, Uncle Jacob," was returned; "only fire." Mr. Welsh was prompt in providing the desired element, when she hastened home to find the sister buried under the bed clothes, trembling with fear. Such dauntless courage is well worthy of mention.
    * "Fire and brimstone" was Mr. Welsh's "swear word."

    606                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    In the winter of 1821-2 the musical element of the community organized an association for the promotion of that peculiar science, which culminated in a concert, the first in town. That was a great day in Welshfield, preparation for which had been fully made. The old slab benches at the town house were overhauled, and provided with backs for the convenience of the spectators, the room was decorated with evergreens, and everything else which could be, was done, to make the enterprise a success. Mr. Welsh was so well pleased with the entertainment, that he at once sent to Boston for new singing books, in consideration of being himself taught to sing three favorite tunes, which were therein contained. The books came, he was taught to sing the tunes as he desired, and which were first sung in public at his funeral, which occurred the following year.

    In December, 1821, the first fire occurred, in the burning of the dwelling of Jacob Burroughs. The fire occurred in the night, and when discovered Mrs. Burroughs gathered up the bed, containing her two children -- Olive and Lewis -- in her arms, carried them to the pig-pen and laid them on the snow beside it. When the household effects were secured Mrs. Burroughs found, on repairing to her children, that Lewis, then a babe of five months, was nearly frozen.

    The only arrival in 1822, of which there is any record, was that of Thomas R., brother of William Mumford, who located on the lot next south of William Mumford's where he has since remained -- a respected citizen -- till within a few years.

    The death of Jacob Welsh was one of the events of the year, as above stated, he dying April 19th, a victim of consumption, aged sixty-seven years.

    In 1823, the first military company was organized. The commissioned officers were: Captain, Amos Burroughs;* lieutenant, Noah Packard; ensign, John Dayton; sergeants, Thomas R. Mumford, Horace R. Peck, Elijah Weston, and John Brandt; corporals, Rufus Lamb, Peter Beals, Erastus Parkman, and W. W. Beals; musicians, Galen Lamb, John Nash, Jr., John Hitchcock, and Charles Hodkins; privates, Jacob Burroughs, Osman Beals, Daniel Corliss, Eri Conant, Gardner Conant, Truman Ferry, Benjamin Kingsbury, William Mumford, John Pierce, Alpheus Pierce, Jr., Oliver Sawyer, Orson Sawyer, Samuel Scovill, Nathan Tibbitts, Samuel Lewis, Roland Lewis, James Jones, Jr., John Welsh, Israel Whitcomb, Jeremiah White, Jonathan Moore, Benjamin Pettis, Caleb Dickson, Hiram Dayton, Olney Percival, James Stewart, Russell Smith, Edward Waldon, and Simon Burroughs, Jr. The uniform was a white frock coat and pants, trimmed with deep blue fringe, a red belt, a blue ornament with gold eagle on front of the hat, and white plume, tipped with red. The first public military duty which this company was called on to perform, was May 15th, same year, at the execution of Benjamin Wright, who was hung in Chardon. On this occasion the sheriff summoned all the militia of the county to protect him from threatened interference in the discharge of his official duty, and which the result showed he was wise in doing.

    The first Fourth of July celebration was also held this year, under the auspices of the company. A liberty pole was raised, and a flag floated from its top, beneath which an oration was delivered by Rev. Luther Humphrey.

    John Welsh, a sea captain, son of Jacob Welsh, learning of the death of his father, and the need of his presence here, abandoned his occupation, and with
    * The above statement, by an old inhabitant, is evidently incorrect, as commissions, now in existence, will show. Mr. Burroughswas first commissioned a lieutenant, on the sixteenth day of January, 1823, by Governor Morrow. On the 19th of July, 1824, he received a captain's commission, at the hands of the same governor. He was again commissioned first lieutenant, April 13, 1827, by Governor Trimble. It appears that Alvord Beals was the first captain, and that in 1827 Elijah Ford commanded the company, which had then assumed the dignity of a rifle company. Conflicting statements are annoying.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  607

    his family, took up his abode on the homestead, which he occupied till his decease, in 1846.

    With the coming of Mr. Welsh, the circle of "Pioneer Johns" was made complete. Five men, whose natural temperaments were so different, and yet whose great objects in life were so nearly identical, it were hard to find. John Beals was the embodiment of what is known by the term "clever." Good natured, fatherly and accommodating, he was not long in acquiring the title of "Uncle John." John Nash, whose very soul was the offspring of music, was of that nervous, excitable make-up, which ardent worshippers at the shrine of "Euterpe" are so prone to be -- in a passion one moment, in tears the next. The delineation of John Dayton, given some pages back, does not need repeating. In after years the title, "Uncle," was the unconscious prefix to his name. John Fox was as immovable as the hills. A purpose once fixed in his mind, nothing short of its completion would for a moment be considered, while John Welch, from long habit as commander of a sea-going vessel, displayed a somewhat morose, taciturn exterior, but beneath the surface, reposed all that goes to make up a choice citizen.

    It might be stated here, that to note the names of all the arrivals, before, at, and after this date, would be a practical impossibility. Men would come, select a location, and after making a little improvement, become dissatisfied, and transfer their claim to another, who in turn, might do as they had done. Noting only those who made a permanent stay, has been the plan mostly adopted in this sketch.

    In 1824, Galen Lamb went back to the place of his nativity, and the following year returned, bringing with him all his brothers and sisters, who had not already come. Rufus was then here, and also the oldest sister, who afterward married John Pierce, known as "Honest John." This family all, or nearly all, became identified with the after history of Troy. John Nash, Jr., marrying one of the daughters, Elijah Weston another, John Weston another, and Franklin Bruce the fifth. In years gone by, the names of Rufus and Galen Lamb (especially the latter) were household words, while, in later time, the younger brother, Chester, figured somewhat prominently as a successful farmer.

    In 1826, Joseph, brother of John Nash, Esq., arrived, and made his selection, immediately south of Captain Fox. This tract he cleared and occupied, until failing health compelled him to abandon labor, when he disposed of it, and purchased a small lot south of the center, where he spent the remnant of his days. Julius Hatch also came, and occupied the lot first taken by Rufus Lamb.

    Heretofore, the only way for Trojans to obtain lumber, was to haul their logs to Parkman or the Rapids, or else take their logs to the river bank, and during high water, to raft them to the Rapids, and return the lumber over the same thoroughfare. A saw-mill was greatly needed. Willard and Osman Beals proposed a plan for building one, which was successful. They solicited advance subscriptions, the same to be paid in sawing, as soon as practicable, after the mill was completed. These they obtained, and the mill was built. It was located on the stream directly north from where Phidelus Pool now lives, and did good service nearly twenty years, changing owners twice in the time, Gad Smith being the one, and Rufus Chaffee the other. With the date of Mr. Chaffee's ownership, began, what he was pleased to term "persecution." The stream on which the mill was located, was very fluctuating, so much so, that it behooved the owner of the mill to improve every moment when water was plenty. Mr. C. had little or no veneration for the fourth commandment; consequently, when the dam was full, no regard was paid to the Sabbath, much to the annoyance of the original proprietors, who were persistent church-goers.

    608                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    This state of affairs became unbearable, and, taking Mr. Chaffee's statement, the sequel was, to him, more or less disastrous. His version was, that he would get the saw-sash greased, and well to work, when Willard Beals would come along, on his way to church, and shut down the gate. This was a signal for the wood-peckers, who would flock into the mill, and soon have the grease entirely devoured. Between Willard and wood-peckers, his "persecution," he used to declare, was almost unendurable.

    In 1827 the Fox neighborhood was re-enforced by an addition to its number, by two young men from New York -- David Patchin and Lyman Truman. That they meant business was at once manifest. Patchin located on the lot adjoining Captain Fox, on the west, and Truman installed himself on the lot next west from Mr. Patchin. It soon became apparent to both, that the Bible injunction, "It is not good for that the man should be alone," was painfully true, and, having become fairly settled, they made it their next effort to try and mitigate that evil. Both were successful. The next year, Mr. Patchin married Emily, daughter of John Nash, esq., and Mr. Truman married Sally, daughter of Daniel Pratt. Mr. Patchin remained on his claim but a short time, when he transferred it to Charles Hinckley, at the same time purchasing the twenty-five acres south of the center, where he afterwards remained till his death, and where the widow (since twice married), now resides, rendered nearly helpless from a paralytic shock, received in July, 1836, caused by over-exertion at, and before the raising of the church building. Mr. Truman made his claim his permanent home, never leaving it, only occasionally, till he was taken from thence to his narrow home, in the year 1871. He enjoyed the confidence of his townsmen, having held at different times, nearly every office in the township. His widow yet survives him, and she, too, is a cripple.

    In 1827 Joseph Stockwell, from the State of New York, came and built a cabin, on land then owned by Daniel Doty -- now by Norman Burgess -- where some of his older children were born. Having a trafficing turn of mind, he owned and lived on several different farms in the township, remaining here about forty years, and finally removed to Michigan, where he died. Mr. Burgess, who came from Windham county, Vermont, purchased the above-mentioned land of Mr. Doty in the spring of 1830, and has remained on it ever since. Then there were but six acres, partially cleared; now it is a well-cultivated farm.

    In 1828 Rev. John Barrett, a Presbyterian minister, took up his abode in Welshfield, and, from that date, to the present, comparatively few Sabbaths have passed, on which religious services have not been conducted in the township by clergymen of some of the different orthodox denominations. The first two years after he came, Mr. Barrett lived with John Beals, yet that distance did not prevent him from performing his ministerial duties every Sabbath at the town house, many times preaching to congregations, whose wan, bloodless visages, betokened the ravages of that terrible scourge, the ague, some, perhaps, indulging in a shake during the service.

    In 1829, Horace Lamson, from Crown Point, New York, came here and purchased section eight, known as the "Mead section," all except one hundred and forty acres, now owned by Horace Hotchkiss and Ziba Pool.

    Luther Chapman also located on the lot where he now resides, which he purchased of Levi Gilkie.

    Those of the inhabitants of Welshfield, who had the promotion of religious interests at heart, held a consultation as to the most feasible means of locating Mr. Barrett, where his services could be more readily obtained. The result was the building, in 1830, of what was for a long time known as the "Barrett House," afterwards the "Parsonage." It was an unpretending structure, built, as was the almost universal custom, of logs; in dimensions about sixteen by

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  609

    eighteen feet, with shake-shingle roof. As soon as tenable, Mr. Barrett and family, consisting of wife and adopted daughter, were duly installed as its occupants, and Mrs. Barrett at once opened a school, for such of the smaller children as could be placed under her tuition. A horse was placed at the parson's disposal, that he might the more easily perform some of his extended journeys. It might be stated that this parsonage, which was situated a few rods directly west from where the store of Kellogg & Son now stands, was, for a time, a bone of contention; Esquire Webb, administrator of the Welsh estate, having prosecuted the builders for trespass; they having, as he charged, unlawfully obtained the building material from off the said Welsh property. It was settled, however, without serious litigation.

    This "Priest or Parson -- Barrett," as he was called, is described as having been a tall, spare man, standing straight so far up as his shoulders, when he abruptly bent forward. His age was about sixty years. He is said to have begged his tobacco, and withal had a voracious appetite. His clothing in the summer season, was such as the spinning wheels and looms of the time could produce. In the winter he went clad in a pair of cow-hide shoes, linseywoolsey pants, over which, when he went abroad, he wore a well-worn camlet cloak, fastened at the waist with a bit of rope, or something similar, while his head was surmounted by a close fitting cap, made of bear-skin. This, at the present day, would be pronounced a rather unclerical outfit.

    Up to this time, whatever cheese had been manufactured, had been done on the co-operative plan, that is, two or more neighbors would combine and make up what milk they might happen to have, and divide the little product "pro rata." One innovation on this mode of procedure was made this year. In the fall of 1829, Elijah Weston bargained with Russell Williams, of Parkman, for sixteen cows, at eight dollars per head, the same to be paid for the following season, with the avails of their product. This, Mr. Weston accomplished, selling his cheese at four and a half cents per pound, and thus inaugurated the first "Dairy" in town.

    In 1831 Horace Lamson put his "Mead section" in market, after reserving for himself the lot, afterwards owned by Henry and Harvey Rice, and which he rapidly disposed of.

    Among the permanent settlers on this section for this year, were Thomas, known as "Capt." Scott, Spencer Barrows, and Benj. Thrasher, all from Crown Point, New York.

    A meeting, the first in town, that could assume the importance of a revival, was held in 1831, by the Baptists, in a school-house near Amos Burroughs, which resulted in quite a number of conversions. Among them were some of Welshfield's best citizens.

    The first grain cradle used in town, was made in 1831, by Henry B. Davis, grain having been harvested heretofore with the time-honored sickle, or reapinghook.

    In 1832 the township received a strong re-enforcement. Lewis F. Scott, also from Crown Point, purchased land, of H. Lamson, on section eight, while the almost unbroken wilderness south of the center, was encroached upon by Ephraim Burnell, Jason Burnell, Nathaniel Olds, Luther Hersey and Samuel Davis, all from Cummington, Massachusetts, who took up their locations in the order named; Ephraim Burnell locating where Chester Houghton now lives, and Jason, where D. C. Tilden resides. These families scattered themselves around among the settlers, till they could have shelter provided on their own claims. Mr. Olds was assigned with a family near "Sugar Loaf." Mr. Davis took up quarters in the town house, another family in the Pilgrim house, and so on, until all were provided for. In those days, a pioneer's heart was as open as the

    610                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    wilderness that surrounded him, and his "latch string" was always out whenever a wayfarer claimed his rude hospitality. Excepting Ephraim Burnell, all these recruits remained till their claims were well improved, and the most of them spent, and are spending their days in our midst. Mr. Olds' first house was a log cabin, shingled with chestnut bark.

    Lanson Shaw, then a young man but little past his majority, also came and purchased of Chester Nash, a piece of land containing sixty acres, located on section twenty-three, and which has ever since comprised his homestead. As did Capt. Fox, so does Mr. Shaw heartily endorse the doctrine of the "dignity of labor," and a faithful adherence to this principle, coupled with judicious management, has enabled him to add from time to time, to his original purchase, till he now is, and for years has been, among the leading farmers of the township. In business transactions "his word is as good as his bond."

    Mr. Nash at once made choice of another piece of land located on section seventeen, which he improved and retained till his death, and which is now in the possession of his widow. Among the citizens of Troy, Chester Nash stood a peer.

    Late in the year (1832) Lewis Bedford, from New Jersey, came and bought a piece of land of Mr. Olds, situated on the southwest quarter of section fourteen, and still later, Joseph Tinkham, a brother-in-law of Mr. Bedford, came from New York and bought of Mr. Olds a portion of the southeast quarter of the same section. Mr. Tinkham remained but a short time, when he sold to James Snow, a brother-in-law of Mr. Olds, who in turn sold to Justus Perry and purchased a portion of the northeast quarter of the same section, now a part of the Lamb farm. William Tinkham, a son of Joseph Tinkham, remained, and is yet a citizen of Troy. His place of residence for the last forty years has been on the eastern part of section twenty-one, where he has followed the avocation of cooper, and as an artisan is recognized as first-class.

    Mr. Bedford, although a small man, weighing, perhaps, one hundred and twenty pounds, was "a host within himself" His physical make-up contained, figuratively, but two ingredients -- whalebone and steel. It is related of him that it was his habit, before his own land had any improvements, to take his axe and cross-cut saw (a one man affair), and obtain employment in the region of Garrettsville. When he had paid for a bushel each, of wheat and corn, he would take his "grist" to the mill at Garrettsville and have it ground. This, both meal and flour, he would fasten in some manner across his back, and, taking both axe and saw, would come home, a distance of seven miles, without resting on the way. In the winter his hand-sled served as a means of transportation. Mr. Bedford had a vivacious temperament; was always ready with an anecdote, usually an incident which "happencd in the Jarseys." Both Mr. and Mrs. Bedford are dead, and the homestead, on the river road, is now occupied by a sonin-law and grand-son, Clark and Almon Vaughn.

    Luther Hersey, who came about the same time, located on a strip of sixty-five acres, lying between lands of Samuel Davis and Nathaniel Olds. He remained till about 1846, when the premises passed into the possession of Spencer and Betsey Barrows.

    Yet later, Amos James, from Charlestown, Portage county, purchased of Jason Burnell a piece of land joining the Tinkham lot on the north. Here he remained till 1845, when, in company with others, he migrated to Wisconsin. Mr. Perry became the owner of this land, also.

    March 26th, of this year, the first church in Troy assumed form, in the organization of the Congregational society. This was accomplished by Mr. Barrett, with a membership of only ten, to wit: John Beals and wife, Willard W. Beals, Osman Beals, Electa Beals, Sabrina Pierce, Polly Nash, Harvey Pratt, Paulina

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  611

    Lamson, and Sally Barrows. The latter is now (1874) the only one living, of the original ten, yet a member of the church.

    About this time, four brothers of Horace Lamson -- Leonard, Ezekiel, Sanford, and Orrin -- settled on portions of his domain, but which has long since passed into other hands. Bradley Hopkins located, and afterwards sold to Joseph Durfee, where J. G. Durfee now lives.

    This year also, Captain Fox, who had until now lived in a "make-shift" for a house, moved his family into a substantial brick house, the first, and, up to this date, the only house in town, built of any material other than wood. This house was mostly built the year previous. In order to obtain material where-with to build his house, Mr. Fox established a brick-yard on his own premises, a short distance west of the Cuyahoga, and near the road. The brick proved to be of excellent quality, and this induced the Captain to continue their manufacture for several years. Later, two Barrows brothers, Seth and Adolphus, put another brick-yard in operation, on the Sawyer brook, south from the center; but, for some reason, it was soon discontinued. These are the only instances in which this branch of industry was ever carried on in this township.

    At this time a portion of the Welsh estate was put in the market, and about six hundred acres, in the vicinity of the center, were sold at auction by the administrator, as well as other parcels lying farther north. Horace Lamson* bid off about three hundred and twenty acres, lying north of the east and west road, and John Nash bid off about a half mile square, south of the same road. This land was struck off to the above-named bidders, at one dollar and twenty-five cents per acre. Esquire Nash took immediate steps to occupy his purchase, while Mr. Lamson held his for sale.

    In 1833, the number of inhabitants was largely increased. Benjamin Hosmer came from Newbury, and settled on section number one, purchasing a lot of the Peter B. Beals land, that had fallen into the possession of Esquire Hickox, of Burton. Ziba Pool and Horace Hotchkiss, from Massachusetts, settled where they now live. James Fairbanks, from New York, settled on the west side of the river, on land now owned by Geo. Fox. Dr. Herrick settled on land now owned by Mary Williams, and Nelson Bently settled on land directly south of Deacon E. B. Turner, Esquire Nash, having built a temporary residence, took up his abode on his new purchase during the same season.

    In the fall of 1833, occurred a transaction which finally culminated in what was, for a long time, known as the "Trojan war." It seems that at some period in the eighteenth century, one Law, from the State of Connecticut, purchased five or six hundred acres of land, including what is now known as the "Rapids," situated just outside the southern limit of this township, on the Cuyahoga river, whereon he built a saw-mill, which, for some reason, was afterwards abandoned, and had fallen into decay, scarcely a vestige of the dam being left. At the date above mentioned, Henry Canfield, of Auburn, purchased from Mr. Law's agent
    * Note -- The above statement, concerning the purchase of the Welsh land, by Horace Lamson, at auction, is held by L. E. Durfee, esq., now of Chardon, to be incorrect, and who substantiates his assertion by an appeal to the court records. It appears, from the records, that the courts made a partition in full, or in part, of the Welsh estate, and that the northeast quarter of section thirteen, and so much of the east half of section twelve, as to comprise about four hundred acres of land, was set apart to Jacob Welsh, Jr., then residing in Coshocton, Coshocton county, Ohio. The above mentioned L. E. Durfee, then a youth, urged upon his father, Joseph Durfee, the feasibility of investing his means in the purchase of this tract of land. Mr. Durfee thought favorably of this proposition, and placing his funds in the hands of Horace Lamson, instructed him to go to Coshocton, and negotiate with Mr. Welsh for its ownership. Mr. Lamson was successful in this undertaking, securing the entire tract, at seven dollars and fifty cents per acre. The investment, however, did not prove a fortunate one for Mr. Durfee. The financial crash, in 1837, caused a stagnation of business enterprise, and Mr. Durfee was among the victims; realizing, by dint of bargain and sale, barely enough to secure, as a homestead, the fifty acres of land where he afterwards lived and died, and which is now occupied by the widow and youngests on, Joseph G. Durfee.

    612                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    the above named land, including the mill-site, and proceeded at once to erect another dam across the stream. The following spring (1834) he built a sawmill on the site which had been occupied by the former one. This was soon a "bone of contention." Settlers in Troy shook with redoubled severity, and charged that the dam, and consequent inundation of low land along the river, was the great first cause thereof. Our citizens clubbed together and commenced legal proceedings against Mr. Canfield, but the court decided "no cause of action." Another suit in 1835 resulted as did the former. In the winter of 1835 Jason Burnell attempted to take soundings just above the dam, and to this end began to cut a hole through the ice, when Charles G., son of Henry Canfield, promptly fired upon him from the mill, the ball striking the ice uncomfortably near, when Mr. Burnell incontinently fled. Later, a party from here made a night-attack, intending to burn the mill, but again Charles Canfield confronted them with a mill-bar, and the assaulting force retired in good order.

    In July, 1836, war was openly declared. The besieged, who then lived in the old Quimby house, procured a cannon at Garrettsville, planted it in his dooryard, loaded it with odds and ends, of chains, and trained the "piece" on the apparently doomed saw-mill, while skirmishers, with loaded rifles, took their station among the saw-logs and elsewhere, in readiness for a charge from the "light brigade." The looked-for day at length arrived, when a company of determined men -- under whose leadership, the writer is not informd -- was formed on the western bank of the classic Cuyahoga, bent on victory or _______.

    Among others of this devoted band was Richard Mathews, armed with a Continental musket, to which was attached a good and sufficient bayonet, and carried across his shoulder in such manner that the latter weapon was on a level with the arm-pits. Close in his rear followed Daniel Doolittle, armed, we know not how. At last the stern order to "advance" was given, and our "forlorn hope" was in motion. The line of march was interruped by innumerable obstacles, and none but brave, determined men, would have attempted its execution. The advance had come in sight of the field of operation, and victory seemed almost within its grasp. It was doomed to sore disappointment. Among other impediments was a small rivulet -- Black brook -- the which, as the command had no pontoon, must be crossed by jumping. Mathews, who was near the rear, had successfully crossed, and Doolittle, in essaying to follow, made the spring quite too soon, and received "Dick's" bayonet full in the cheek. His outcry brought the command to a halt. A council of war was held, an ambulance was improvised, a retreat was agreed upon, and the entire command returned sorrowfully homeward.

    Mr. Canfield, deeming "discretion the better part of valor," soon conveyed the title of his property to Quimby & Garrett, when the controversy died out. It is said that the only engagement in which the "Trojans" were victorious was in a night sortie, when they succeeded in spiking the above-mentioned piece of artillery.

    In January, 1833, Deacon Alba Tinkham, also from Crown Point, and one Henry Lewis, came here, and built each the usual log house. Tinkham's was located directly across from the present Methodist parsonage, and Lewis' a short distance north from Maple Grove. Both were raised without the aid of whiskey and, in consequence, both were demolished, the "rules" not allowing them to stand, unless they were duly moistened with spirits. Later, the same season, Deacon Tinkham put up a small blacksmith-shop, the first at the center, at the intersection of the diagonal with the center road. In this instance, he outflanked the votaries of the jug, by building his shop so small, and of logs so small, that he could do it all himself. This shop could barely accommodate a span of horses while being shod, while wagons were brought, a wheel at a time,

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  613

    and, when ironed, taken away. A sort of excrescence was added to one end of this shop to shelter the bellows and a few bushels of charcoal. Years later, he built a more commodious shop.

    In those days whiskey formed a prominent part of the "circulating medium," money being a cash article. In the old account book left by Amos Burroughs, can be seen frequent entries, where whiskey was the article placed to the debit and credit column of some customer, and his book was a fair sample of business transactions.

    In 1834, Dr. Jacob Thrasher, from Crown Point, settled on section five, buying the claim and improvements of Orrin Lamb, another of the Lamb family before-mentioned, and on which he lived until his death, in 1858. Also Edward B. Turner took up his abode here the same year, settling on the land where he now lives, being a part of section six. The deacon* claims the credit of raising the first house in town, that was allowed to stand, without the aid of whiskey. Threats were uttered that it would be torn down, but they were not carried into effect. At this date, whiskey was considered one of the essentials at a raising, and an innovation of this character was not easily overlooked.

    After a six year's residence, Parson Barrett resigned his pastorate, and removed to Bloomfield, Trumbull county.



    It having become settled that the fifty acres of land, promised by Jacob Welsh to the township, had not been provided for in his arrangement of affairs, Esquire John Nash was displeased, and circulated a petition, praying that the name of the township be changed to Troy. He succeeded in his endeavor, and, since 1834, this domain has been no longer "Welshfield," but is known as "Troy" instead; although the post-office was given the former name. In the spring of the same year, Mervin James bought a lot from off the south end of Jason Burnell's purchase, which he occupied till his death, in 1864, varying but little from thirty years.

    During this year, also, the road known as the "West," or "River road," leading from Cuyahoga Rapids to Troy Center, was located. This was done at the instigation of James Hoxter, who had settled on land now owned by Samuel Davis. For several years Mr. Hoxter, Spencer Wadsworth--now living in Auburn--and Bartholomew St. John, were the only settlers on this road.
    * Deacon Turner then was, and always has been, an uncompromising teetotaler, yet this did not shield him from being a victim of more than one practical joke, not strictly temperance in character, of which the following was one: At one time (perhaps more than one), while the militia laws were in force, the Troy company failed to elect a captain, whereupon the regimental commander, as was his duty, made a detail to supply that need. When "company training day" arrived, a stranger reported for duty, to teach "Trojans" the art of war. The drill-ground was encumbered with numerous obstacles, and the deacon, being somewhat short in stature, and also somewhat clumsy from overwork, brought the toe of his shoe in contact with so many of these obstacles as to seriously interfere with correct soldierly bearing. At length the patience of this imported captain became exhausted, and, calling to a subaltern, ordered him to "put that man under guard," adding as a reason for so doing, that "he had been drunk all day." Deacon Turner has enough of the wag in his composition to enjoy this joke with a hearty relish.

    614                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Up to this date, the only means adopted to separate the grain from the straw, was either the scriptural one of trampling -- where a suitable floor could be provided -- or by the scarcely less ancient flail. In many instances, no floor -- other than earth -- could be had. In such cases, a chosen piece of ground was beaten hard, the bundles spread, and the "thumping" administered. The straw, having been cleared away, the grain was separated from the chaff, by means of the "hand-fan" -- a broad, unwieldy implement, which required considerable skill in its use. This year, or possibly the year previous, Harvey Fowler,* who then lived where Seth Burton now lives, introduced an innovation, in the form of an unique threshing machine. To use this machine, an ox sled was placed in proper position, the cylinder mounted thereon and fastened. The "power" was connected with this "pepper-mill" by the rude means then employed. It was a good day's work to thresh as much as two men could clean up in an evening, with the poorly developed fanning-mill, which was about the same time invented. After using this machine one season, Mr. Fowler sold it to Horace Ford (Long Horace), when he built another, which was operated by Galen Lamb, and others. Years later, Deacon Turner and Parker Howland operated a somewhat similar implement, using oxen for the motive power, which, for a time, was quite a favorite.

    In 1835, Dr. Herrick sold his claim to Reuben Clark, while Parker Howland settled on lot adjoining E. B. Turner, on the west, and Benjamin Goff bought the claim previously occupied by Rufus Lamb and Julius Hatch, where he died in 1859. Mr. Goff was the first wheelright who pursued that branch of business in Troy. Dennis Downing also settled on land now owned by Phidelus Pool.

    In March, of the same year; one Solomon Wells, with that sagacious foresight which has marked most of his financial operations, located on the heavily timbered "Pigeon Roost"; land that had been shunned by nearly all previous settlers, and, which proved, when brought under cultivation, to be the garden of the township. Harvey Harris located on section six, next to the county line, and, to close the list of immigrants for the year, were several familes by the name of Pool, nearly all of whom were shoemakers, and their coming was the death signal to the time-honored "cat-whipping." One of their number was a clergyman, and another had acquired the skill of mending shattered tinware, so that the soubriquet of "Tinker Pool" was applied to him.

    Parson Barrett having gone away, the arrival of Rev. Jephthah Pool was doubly welcome by the church goers, and his ministerial services were at once secured. The records say his first duty in that line was solemnizing the marriage of Alden J. Nash and Miss Olive Pool.

    Among the arrivals in 1836 were Samuel and Thomas Satterlee, and George and Jacob Conrad, from Lysander, New York, who all, or nearly all, settled in Deacon Turner's neighborhood; Elisha Coates, who settled immediately south from Solomon Wells, and Benedict Alford, who bought the claim taken by Ephraim Burnell, occupying the same till his death in 1864.

    The correctness of this date (1836) is disclaimed by a daughter of Mr. Alford, now the wife of Chester Houghton. She asserts that her father's family, and her own, arrived here in June, 1835; that her father settled as described, and that her husband (Mr. Houghton) settled across the river, on land now owned by George H. Fairbanks. Mr. Alford had, in addition to his own family, his father and mother to look after, who accompanied him to Troy. For them a small log house was built, near where the river road intersects with the center
    * Note -- Mr. Fowler came to Troy in 1832, He purchased his land of Thomas Sawyer. In 1834, he made and operated the first horse hay rake used in the township, He moved from here in 1838.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  615

    road, one mile south of the center. The parents were aged, and past labor, and died soon after their arrival. The elder Alford was a Revolutionary soldier. The following is a fac simile of a "statement" issued in his favor, in order to enable him to obtain a pension:

    Mr. Houghton stayed but a short time on his first purchase, when he settled on a portion of the tract taken by his father-in-law, and where he has since resided, with but a short interregnum, till his sudden death, which occurred August 24, 1878. Ever since the arrival of Mr. Houghton, his name, and also that of Mrs. Houghton, has always been closely connected with the interests of

    616                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he was an ardent and devoted member. The writer well recollects the prayer of a zealous sister, nearly forty years ago, in which she "thanked the Lord that Brother Houghton had come to Troy and 'rared' up a house for the Methodists to worship in," one hearty evidence of the regard in which his effort were held.

    Lewis S. Pope came from Auburn and settled on his well-known lot, south from the then Fox's corners. Pope was a man of untiring energy, a quality which has been faithfully transmitted to his two surviving sons, David L. and Irvin W. Lewis S. Pope had a way of doing things, which was peculiar to himself. Up to, and including, the Presidential election of 1836, when Van Buren and Harrison were, for the first time, opposing candidates, Mr. Pope voted the Democratic ticket, and, of course, for the successful candidate. In 1840 the same gentlemen were arrayed against each other for the second time in the Presidential contest. Mr. Pope was not satisfied with Van Buren's administration, and decided to cast his ballot for "Old Tip," but kept his own counsels as to his decision. Election day arrived, and Mr. Pope, with several of his neighbors, took their way to the voting place. While crossing the Cuyahoga river bridge, Mr. Pope deliberately pulled off his coat, and, after turning it inside out, as deliberately put it on again. The enquiry of his astonished companions, failed to elicit from him the reason for such a maneuver, but their curiosity was satisfied when (with coat still turned) he presented himself at the polls, and openly deposited a ballot for Harrison and Tyler. Mr. Pope supported Henry Clay in 1844, and was identified with the Free-soil, and afterward with the Republican, party.

    Daniel Corliss, formerly from Orford, New Hampshire, but, later, from just across the line, in Parkman township, came this year also, and bought the tract taken by Benjamin Thrasher, and which is now owned and occupied by his son Elihu G. Mr. Corliss was for a long time standard authority in anything pertaining to the mason's trade, although an inveterate "anti," so far as the organized "craft," or fraternity, was concerned. Among the industrious men of that time, "Uncle Daniel" stood a peer.

    This year, too, Benjamin Hosmer changed his location, selling his first claim to William Dunn, and buying two hundred acres of Horace Lamson, from off the northern end of the Welsh purchase, where he yet resides.

    Mr. Dunn still occupies the Beals lot.

    The Congregational church, having had additions from time to time from new arrivals, concluded the society was sufficiently strong to warrant it in building a house of worship. A contract was, accordingly, entered into with Samuel Pool to do the work -- a site having been obtained of Horace Lamson. Mr. Pool pushed the work with such vigor, that the building was raised in June, and completed before the close of the year, a feat which was, at that date, considered almost marvellous.

    Mr. Samuel Pool had three apprentices at that time, all of whom afterwards became prominent men in the township, as will be hereafter seen. The three, in later years, removed from here. One of them, Alden J. Nash, went to Kent county, Michigan, in 1852, and is now dead. Almon Hodges removed to Geneva, Ashtabula county, in 1861, and W. F. Pratt, to Newburg, near Cleveland, in 1864.

    Trojans, up to this date, were dependent on the surrounding townships for their mail facilities. Previous to this time a mail route had been established between Parkman and Chagrin Falls. The mail was carried on horseback by Henry B. Davis, who had formerly occupied land just south of, and adjoining the "Sugar-loaf." While carrying the mail he lived in Parkman. The establishment of an office here simply gave him one more point at which to stop.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  617

    Mr. Davis was always ready to take the initiative in any public enterprise. In the spring of 1836, a petition, asking that a post-office be established here, was granted by the department. An office was promptly opened, with Alden J. Nash, as postmaster. Its first location was in the old Barrett house, where Mr. Nash was then living. He held the office with little, or no interruption, eight years, taking it with him whenever he changed his abode, as did the ancients their household gods.

    This year, a family by the name of Latham bought land, which was first located by one Straw, on section ten. The father was a Presbyterian clergyman. The family, and their descendants, have ever since been intimately identified with the growth of the township. The second son, Orange L., besides sundry township offices, held the position of chorister for a term of years, and, losing his hearing, was finally succeeded by W. F. Pratt, who retained it until 1864, when he removed to Newburg.

    It may be stated here, that at the organization of the church, W. W. Beals was chosen deacon, with Alba Tinkham as assistant. Deacon Tinkham removed to Garrettsville, and Ziba Pool was ordained, and, afterwards, Abijah Pool, Deacon Beals declining to serve. After Abijah Pool left town, Beals again acted in that capacity till his death. He was succeeded for a short time by Mervin James, and he by John W. Beals, who, with Ziba Pool, are the present incumbents.

    January 1, 1837, the new meeting house was formally dedicated; Rev. Jephthah Pool preaching the dedicatory sermon.

    Benjamin Hosmer having made extensive inroads into his forest, by contract and otherwise, conceived the idea of utilizing the ashes of the consumed logheaps, as well as house ashes, by the manufacture of "potash" or "black salts," and to this end, he built an ashery, the first in Troy. Years after, quite an extensive business was carried on in the purchase of ashes, and manufacture of the above named merchandise.

    The raising of silk worms, and manufacture of silk, was another industry introduced in 1837. The trees (morus multicaulis) necessary for business, were brought here by David Nash, who had no difficulty in disposing of his stock. Some were so confident of success, as to predict that "Logging Frocks" would soon--on the score of economy, -- be made of silk. It is asserted that a little silk was actually produced, but, after five years' trial, the bubble burst, leaving its victims with collapsed pocket-books. One, who had invested the proceeds of fifteen acres of land, in the enterprise, realized just a sum sufficient to pay for half-soling his boots.

    In 1838 the cemetery was removed to its present location, and the remains of Captain Ebenezer Hopkins was the first occupant.

    During the winter of 1838, a Baptist elder named Smith, held a protracted meeting here, and several additions were made to the "church militant." In May following, he held a service at the house of Amos James, at which time Freeman and Lucy Reed, Minerva Burnell and Mrs. Wyram Williams were baptized.

    A Methodist class, with Samuel Reed as leader, procured a deed -- dated May 11, 1838 -- for land on which to build a church. With that go-ahead spirit, for which that denomination has always been noted, this class was organized into a church, on the 27th of November following. The next move was for a preacher, and the next, for a house in which to hold services. The conference sent John Crum as preacher in charge, the first preacher of that denomination who had a settled charge in Troy. A contract was entered into, December 29th of the same year, for building a house of worship, with one Pike, the house to be completed the following season, and which was done. A "roster" of all the

    618                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    preachers who, from that time, have been on this circuit, will be hereafter given. This was then known as "Parkman Circuit."

    The year following (1839), another revival meeting was held by Rev. Mr. Day, of the Congregational denomination, assisted by Rev. Thomas Jones, then pastor of the church. Aspecially noteworthy result, was the death of Mr. Benjamin Kingsbury, he dying a victim to over-intense excitement. The meeting was very successful, and the church greatly strengthened in numbers.

    All these years Troy had depended on other townships for medical aid, as neither Dr. Weston, Herrick or Thrasher had set up a practtce. In September, 1839, Dr. C. B. Chapman, a native of Middlebury, Vermont, came here, and set up a regular practice, remaining three years. He was succeeded by Drs. William Crane, Keros Sheldon, L. D. Hudson and G. W. Foster in the order named. Drs. Allen, Bascom, Brown, Crafts, Partridge, and perhaps, others have from time to time located here, but did not remain long enough to become identificd with township history.

    A few words concerning the subsequent history of the five first named physicians may not, perhaps, be considered entirely amiss. The first, Dr. Chapman, removed to Bristol, Trumbull county, in 1842, where he remained about five years, when he emigrated to Madison, Wisconsin, -- then a comparatively new country, -- where he continued to reside until his death, which occurred May 8, 1877. Dr. Crane, after practicing his profession here a short time, also removed to Bristol, and entered into partnership with Dr. Chapman. He also practiced for a season in Bazetta, same county, and also in New Lisbon, Columbiana county, and finally removed to Cottage Grove, about eight miles east from Madison, Wisconsin, where he now resides. Dr. Sheldon set up practice here in 1843 or '4, which he he continued not far from a quarter of a century, -- with a short interruption of removal to Chagrin Falls in 1850-51, -- when he returned to Hambden, his former place of residence, in 1868-9. In 1873 he was stricken with paralysis so severely as to be entirely helpless, in which condition he now (1878) is. His wife is dead, and he is cared for by an aged sister, whose devotion to him is truly praiseworthy. Dr. Hudson practiced his profession successfully a few years, when he abandoned it, and engaged as clerk of a Lake Erie steamer. Afterward he engaged largely in insurance matters, having his office in Cleveland, and was also secretary of the board of education for that city. His only child -- a cherished daughter -- having, from excessive study, become demented, he became seriously depressed in spirits, and is now lost to view as a public man. Dr. Foster practiced successfully for a term of years, and also engaged in other pursuits, among which was that of hotel-keeping. He purchased the old hotel to which he added the present front of twenty-five by sixty feet. He removed to Geneva, Ashtabula county, where he now is enjoying a lucrative practice, in addition to the income of a drug-store.

    About this time, the first "ism" was introduced in the form of Mormonism, but its day was short, with no definite results.

    It is reported that Captain Fox brought, when he came, a limited assortment of needed goods, which he retailed from one corner of his log cabin. His "assortment" was largely made up of boots(?), shoes, and axes. It is also reported that the first mercantile firm in Troy was that of Williams, Gardner & Doolittle, but when it existed, or where it transacted business, is not stated.

    In 1839, John Way opened the first known place of business in Troy, in the shape of a grocery store, which stood on the site where the house owned by Mrs. Cannon is now located. He kept a few groceries, and an occasional piece of calico. The enterprise, on account of the credit system is said to have been a failure.

    In the fall of 1840, Josiah S. Tilden and John Weston opened a store in the

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  619

    upright part of the house now occupied by H. Kellogg & Son, the upper story being used by B. F. Abell as a school-room.

    The original portion of this house was built by one Noyes Williams, a shoemaker, and the upper story was used by him for a shoe shop. He died in 1839. The additions were all, or nearly all, made by Rev. Josiah Hopkins, who purchased the property of one Elial W. Heaton. A young lady named Mary Ann Kendall, sister to Mrs. Barrett, is said to have taught a select school several years previous to Mr. Abell. She taught in a room in the house built by Major Pratt, on section two.

    About this time, the feminine portion of the community became suddenly impressed with the idea that measures for mutual protection must needs be adopted, whereby to shield themselves from the wiles of the sterner sex. Societies, called Moral Reform, were inaugurated, and Troy had one. Among its rules were said to be the following: "If a member was, while on the street, about to meet a man, and he showed no inclnation to cross to the other side thereof, she must at once do so, in the meantime keeping the eyes, if not closely veiled, fixed on the ground. If a man was seen approaching the house, and member was without adequate protection, she must promptly barricade the door, draw the curtains, and place a quantity of woolen rags in readiness to start a 'smudge' provided she heard a suspicious noise on the roof; and the young lady who did not summarily dismiss her Sunday evening company of the opposite sex, punctually at sixty minutes past eight, was herself summarily ejected from the society as a no longer worthy member." Whether the college rule, said to have been once in force, that parties of the sterner and gentler sex, going in the same direction, must each carry one end of a ten-foot pole, was adopted by this society, never became public. Seriously: this was, and still is, an excellent organization, but, like many other undertakings, it overdid the thing.

    In 1841, the firm of Tilden & Weston, with Joseph Doolittle added thereto, built a store on the site where the store of Kellogg & Son now stands, removed their goods into it as soon as completed, and set about building a slaughter house on adjoining ground. In this way they sold goods on credit, and took fat cattle for pay, receiving thereby a double profit. They also arranged with Benjamin Hosmer for permission to build a more commodious ashery on his premises, running it on their own account. In this way a man who was clearing land, could take a load of ashes to Uncle Rufus Lamb, who then presided over that department, and receive a ticket for the same, which would be honored at the counter--not in cash, but in goods. After Uncle "Rufe" resigned, Addison M. Buck, a man noted for literary attainments, took his place, and retained it as long as the enterprise was kept in operation.

    Either in this, or the year previous, the first buggy of which Troy could boast, was introduced by "Uncle" Moses James, who had moved from Charlestown, Portage county. This buggy was at the service of any one who felt disposed to pay six cents per mile for its use, and for a time was quite a source of revenue to the owner. A few years later, Orrin Lamson and Nelson Pratt came in possession, each, of a new buggy, when a competition at once sprang up. They let their carriages at five cents per mile. Soon after, Solomon Wells became the owner of a fourth one, which he sometimes let without any remuneration whatever. This move on his part spoiled that speculation, so much so that fifty cents per day became, for a long time, an established tariff for buggy rent.

    In 1841, another "ism" was introduced here. This was called Perfectionism, and had its origin at the Oberlin college, then under the guidance of President Asa Mahan. It became so strong as to publish a periodical called the "Oberlin Evangelist," but like all other "isms," had its day, and was not.

    In 1842, B. F. Abell put his school on a more permanent basis by building

    620                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    the house now owned by the widow of Elijah Weston, the second story of which was devoted entirely to school purposes, and his popularity became such, that this room was sometimes filled with students to its utmost capacity.

    In 1842, the first hotel was opened in the house where J. E. Sperry now resides, with A. J. Nash for its landlord. Soon after this, the house was built and the hotel removed to where it has since, with but little interruption, been kept.

    The same year Thomas Jones resigned his pastorate over the Congregational church, leaving it without a pulpit occupant, only as Mr. Latham from time to time supplied it, till late the next year, when Rev. James Preston was engaged.

    Yet another "ism" was, at this date, introduced. This was Millerism or Second Adventism, its chief supporter in these parts being a preacher named Booth, then living in Mantua. So plausible were his arguments that many were seriously alarmed, but B. F. Abell came to the rescue in a Saturday lecture before his students, which was also largely attended by excited citizens. In this lecture he exploded the whole affair to the satisfaction of his listeners, and Troy was once more serene.

    Previously to this time, some of our citizens had allowed the firm of Williams & Tilden, of Parkman, or perhaps Williams & Williams, to place their names quite too frequently upon their account books, and when the day of reckoning came, found, to their dismay, that their indebtedness was more than they were able to meet, without sacrificing the homestead. This, in at least two instances, Russell Williams did not hesitate to take, one of the self-made victims being Reuben Clark and the other Jason Burnell. The latter closed his affairs, and migrated to Iowa, which was then the "far west." The Sabbath previous to his departure, Rev. Mr. Latham preached a good-bye discourse for his benefit, from the text, "For we seek a better country."

    From the earliest settlement of the town to the opening of the hotel, in 1842, whiskey, and its daily use, had been looked upon by the majority of the inhabitants with more or less favor. A few had always been radical teetotalers. Among them was Deacon Alba Tinkham. Soon after Mr. Nash started the hotel (which contatned a bar and its outfit), Mr. Tinkham put out an opposition sign, with "Temperance House" inscribed thereon. This was met with a storm of ridicule, and one dark night the sign disappeared, but another was soon installed in its place. A strong temperance movement had just been organized at Chagrin Falls. A temperance convention was called, to meet at the old church here, and the Falls sent a strong delegation, most of them excellent singers. The house was jammed full. Mr. Nash, who thought he would put on a bold front, was one of the assembly, but the portrayal of the effects of rum-drinking, together with the soul-stirring singing, proved too much, and he left the house in tears. This inaugurated the temperance movement here. Years later, secret societies in the interest of this cause were instituted here, one of which is now, or lately has been, in operation. Now whiskey is a stranger in Troy, except as an article in the druggist's pharmacopoeia.

    In 1843, a two-story shop was built of which James Wale's shop is a part. The lower story was occupied by Chester Houghton and James Johnson as a wagon-shop, the upper story was used for a cabinet shop, first by one Chamberlain, afterward by Llewellyn and Manly Colson. Many a "setting out" for new married couples of the time were manufactured at his shop, and, in many instances, bid fair to do duty for years to come.

    The first exhibition, as they were then called, -- now dramatic entertainments -- worthy of mention, occurred on the Fourth of July, 1843, under the auspices of the select school, although outsiders contributed much to its success, conspicuous among whom was Mr. Orange Lathham. The exercises, which were under the management of the principal, were held in the Congregational church,

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  621

    which was packed to its utmost capacity. Among the prominent actors, then citizens of Troy, were A. H. Thrasher, esq., now deceased; L. E. Durfee, now a prominent attorney, in Chardon; Richard Dayton, now deceased; Daniel Pool, now deceased; Laban Patch, since an enterprising and successful dentist, now living in our midst; Orange Latham, now deceased, and others. The fair sex were represented by Miss Louisa Nash, now deceased; Alice Durfee, Sophia Tinkham, Polly Pool, now deceased; Belinda Foster, and others, whose names are not now in mind.

    In 1844, Rev. Mr. Preston was relieved by Lewis S. Ely, whose proceedure was so unsatisfactory that he was deposed from the ministry, when he left Troy, went to Parkham, and opened a store.

    In October, the firm of J. S. & A. P. Tilden succeeded the firm of Tilden, Weston & Co., which had dissolved. This firm continued in business here until the spring of 1846, when its interests were removed to Parkman.

    Nothing more, worthy of note, occurred until December, when the first, and thus far, only serious crime -- of which the perpetrator was duly convicted--was committed. The crime was burglary, or grand larceny; the property taken, cash; amount, over three hundred dollars; the victim, Joseph Doolittle, then a magistrate; the criminal, Nathaniel Reddout. During the trial, which was before Lewis S. Pope, esq., the greatest interest prevailed, and the Methodist church, in which the trial was held, was filled with anxious spectators, the galleries being occupied by ladies. Notwithstanding the crime was fully proven, by some legal hocus-pocus, punishment was averted.

    The same year, John Dayton, while building his house, made frequent trips to Cleveland, to obtain needed material, and while so doing, conceived the idea of making periodical trips to that city a permanent occupation for himself, having sufficient help at home to carry on the farming. With him, to plan was to execute, and he at once commeneed operations, making a trip to Cleveland, and to the grist-mill every week, paying but little regard to the condition of the roads, or the weather. Indeed, it was said of him, that if he happened to be at home while a terrible storm was in progress, he would mourn because he was not on the road to market. This business he followed fifteen years, wearing out many horses, harnesses, and wagons. He was charged with doing one serious mischief during this time. That mischief was the importation of Norway rats.

    The year 1845 will be remembered as the cold, dry year. But very little was raised with which to subsist either man or beast, and when winter came, many sent their stock to northern Indiana, while others took theirs to the region around Columbus. A large proportion of the cattle sent to Indiana died, while nearly all of the others came back.

    Rev. Josiah Hopkins, D. D., was, this year, called by the Congregational society to supply the desk, which he did, very acceptably, the four following years.

    This was also a somewhat eventful year, both in a military and a political point of view. Ever since the organization, in 1823, of the first military company, interest in military affairs had not died out. After a few years, Captain Burroughs* resigned, when Thomas R. Mumford was elected as his successor, holding the office until the company disbanded. A rifle company was then organized, with Harvey Pratt as captain, who, at the organization of the first regiment, was appointed adjutant, when Alden J. Nash succeeded to the command of the company, holding the position until his promotion to the command of the regiment. Who succedded Nash, as captain is not stated. † Harvey Pratt was afterwards promoted to the office of Major, by which title he has since been familiarly
    * Note -- This, and some other errors were corrected, under the head of "Military Affairs in 1823.

    † NOTE -- Perhaps it was Harvey Harris.

    622                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    known. Wm. F. Pratt and Leonard Lamson also served on the regimental staff, as adjutants, and Dr. C. B. Chapman, as surgeon. The last captain, under the former military dispensation, was Levi Tinkham.

    In 1839 and '40 dissatisfaction arose, from sundry causes, and from that time military duty became more and more unpopular, until, finally, the killing of Truman Allen, at a regimental parade in Burton, in 1845, wiped it out entirely; nor was it resuscitated till 1861, when the war of the Rebellion revived it with redoubled interest -- of which, hereafter.

    The political "bone of contention" was the post-office. James K. Polk, who had, March 4, 1845, assumed the "chair of State," was, in matters political, diametrically opposed to the party which had elected his predecessor, and adopted the policy of removing such postmasters as were opposed to his own election. Alden J. Nash was one of the doomed many. An order was issued by Postmaster-General Cave Johnson for his official decapitation, and off went his head into the political sawdust.

    In choosing his successor, no more fitting man could have been found than the one who received the appointment. This was Joseph Durfee, a man who had been firm and true to his political principles all his days. He at once entered upon the duties of his office by appointing as deputy, Phidelus Pool, who lived at the center. The office he held till the election of Zachary Taylor, four years later, when matters ran again in the former channel.

    The musical element of this township has, nearly always, been under respectable discipline. From the first, Esquire Nash and Harvey Pratt were tutors. A change in teachers seeming to be desirable, Mr. Francis M. Leonard, now of Thompson, trained a class in the winter of 1835. In 1843, Newton Bliss, of Chagrin Falls, instructed a large class. In 1845, Nathan F. Cone, an itinerant, taught a very large class, and was engaged to teach the following year, but becoming involved in difficulty, he forsook his class, when another teacher, named Sizor, finished the term, and succeeded in putting the singers in excellent training. Orange Latham, Alonzo Hubbard, William F. Pratt, A. J. and Eugene Nash, have also been successful local teachers of music.

    A camp meeting was held in August of this year, on land now belonging to John Welsh, then a forest. Parties from an adjoining township were present, who made real or imaginary disturbance, and were ejected from the grounds. This led to the arrest of a preacher, Rev. G. W. Maltbie, and perhaps others, for "assault and battery." A trial was held, which resulted in conviction. This trial was had before Cyrus McLouth, then a magistrate. The above plaintiffs were in turn arrested on a warrant issued by Joseph Doolittle, also a justice of the peace. The parties were charged with committing a riot, and were convicted.

    In 1846* occurred that memorable famine in Ireland, known far and wide as the "Irish potato rot." That starving country called on "Uncle Sam" for relief, which he was not slow in granting. Counties formed relief societies, and townships reported to the parent society. Corn was the staple called for. A day was designated, when those who could and would, delivered their donation at a pre-concerted rendezvous. Troy, as usual, did nobly. Uncle John Dayton and others took the corn to Chardon and delivered it over to L. J. Rider, general agent for Geauga county. Whether the "Sons of Erin" received any of it has always been a matter of doubt.

    Several of the "bone and sinew" of Troy died in 1846. Among them were Captain John Welsh, John Nash, and Mrs. Alba Tinkham.

    The Mexican war was one of the political features of 1846 and '47. Troy
    * A mistake. This famine occurred a year later.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  623

    furnished at least two representatives in the United States army at that time, in the persons of William Palmer, who then lived where Daniel M. Crafts now lives, and Joshua Newell, who lived at the Grove.

    Evidences of the existence of coal were discovered in 1848-9 on land located in section sixteen, then belonging to Rensselaer Smith, now to Peter Davis. Jehu Brainard, a noted geologist then living in Cleveland, examined the premises, and decided that coal did not exist there in paying quantities. Mr. Smith was not satisfied with this decision, but went to Pennsylvania and procured a practical miner, to come and develop whatever might be found. A few bushels of coal were taken out, which was used by our blacksmiths, but after prospecting less than one hundred feet, the "mine" came to an abrupt termination. The cavity is now abundantly supplied with excellent water of a very low temperature.

    Tradition declares that the Indians had knowledge of a salt spring, also on section sixteen, on land now owned by Samuel Davis, but if such was the fact, the "red skins" effectually concealed its whereabouts.

    In 1849, Rev. Josiah Hopkins resigned his pastorate,* much to the regret of his hearers, who had learned to appreciate his worth. Mr. Latham was again called to supply the vacancy, but death suddenly ended his ministrations on the 7th of May, same year.

    The "California Gold Fever" was an important feature of the history of this country, the discovery of which metal was made by Captain Sutter -- or rather James Marshall -- in 1849. The fever reached Troy, and several of our prominent capitalists combined to send a party of adventurers to the land of "Ophir." If the result of the enterprise was satisfactory, the parties have managed, thus far, to keep the fact locked in their own bosoms.

    In 1849, a "Plank Road" epidemic passed over this region, and Troy caught the infection. The chief mischief-maker in causing the malaria to spread, was Hon. John P. Converse, of Parkman. His scheme was to build a road from Parkman to Chagrin Falls, passing, of course, through Troy, and which was carried so far as to have the route surveyed and the gradient stakes set. The project met with more or less favor along the proposed line of location. The judge had appointed days on which to solicit stock subscriptions, one of the first being set for this township. Dr. Thrasher, who had heretofore kept aloof while the wind work was in progress, made it in his way to be present, and, in his blunt, sarcastic manner, set at naught John P.'s fine drawn theory, and ended by saying that "but one man lived in Troy who had any business to fool away his money in such an undertaking, and if he did, he (the Doctor), would disown him as a son-in-law." Men who had before thought to take stock, reconsidered, and, the result was, none was taken. This severed the chain, and the judge retired to recuperate his energies against the coming of the "Clinton Line R. R." scheme, when he once more took the field as the champion of that ultimate failure, this time drawing Troy somewhat into the net, although protested against in this case by his former antagonist, Dr. Thrasher.

    In ordinary matters, no one enjoyed the confidence of the citizens of Troy more than did Judge Converse, but in the enterprises above named he allowed his enthusiam to over-balance his better judgment, the more especially in the former.

    In 1850 the Rev. Mr. Godden was called to supply the pulpit of the Congregational church, which he did during the current year. Alter he left, meetings, called "Deacon's meetings," were held, at which Orange Latham, or W. F. Pratt generally read a sermon. Some time in 1851, probably at the beginning
    * During Mr. Hopkins' pastorate, a theological student, named Hunter, who was under his tutelage, made occasional attempts at preaching, sometimes quite successfully.

    624                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    of the year, Rev. John Fraser came to assume the pastorate. He occupied the pulpit three years, and was succeeded by Anson Tuttle, who staid but a short time.

    Up to this date mercantile business had been carried on as private enterprise by different individuals, prominent among whom was John Mayhew.

    Previous to Mr. Mayhew, the Pool brothers -- Daniel and Levi -- had for a time been engaged as grocers, their place of business being a building which then stood between the hotel and Methodist church; and Solomon Wells had, for a year or two, kept a stock of goods in the store, employing N. E. Scott as salesman. Mr. Wells used to assert that the net profits of that investment, were just sufficient to purchase a new broadcloth coat.

    In 1852 a stock company was organized, known as the "Farmer's Company." The capital stock was $3,000, in shares of $100 each. Richard Dayton was employed as agent, and N. E. Scott as assistant. Besides the usual business pertaining to a store, the company dealt extensively in cheese. While in New York city on business in the interest of this company, Mr. Dayton sickened and died, when M. E. Francis was engaged to supply the vacancy. For real, or imagninary cause, some of the members became dissatisfied, which finally ended in the dismemberment of the conclave, and the store passed again into private hands, the succeeded firm being Francis & Wells.

    In 1853 was introduced the first mowing machine. This was one of the heavy, lumbering, unwieldy pieces of mechanism, known as the "Ketchum," but it was, to a good extent, a labor-saver, and that was the point sought for. The men who had sufficient pluck to invest in this innovation, were Wilkins and Dudley Fox. A description of this machine, and its work, would occupy too much time and space. Suffice it to say, that it would suffer terribly in comparison with the almost perfect ones of to-day.

    Up to 1853, the remains of persons who had died were taken, to the grave, either in a sled, or lumber wagon, or on a bier. In the year above named, William F. Pratt, esq., a man always in the advance in public enterprise, purchased a plain, unpretending hearse -- a carriage well in harmony with the people for whose use it was intended. As well as keeping and furnishing this hearse, he was wont to make coffins (after the Colson Brothers abandoned cabinet-making), and also take charge of funerals, whenever his services were required. In 1864 he removed to Newburgh, when the township trustees bought the hearse, made some needed repairs, and which yet (1876) serves in its peculiar capacity.

    The first sewing machine, or probably the first, was bought in 1854, by Mr. Chester Nash, for his daughters, Kate and Cynthia. It was then told, as a marvel, that those young ladies purchased of Webster & Whitney, at the Rapids, prints for each a dress, both of which were made and worn, and all, including the purchase, done in one day. That machine, like the mower above referred to, was very rude in its appointments, as compared with first class machines of the present time.

    To return to church matters -- after Mr. Tattle left, a young man by the name of Delamater, from Cleveland, finished out the year, when a long vacancy of the desk occurred, only as it was supplied temporarily.

    For the haying of 1856, Solomon Wells put a "Ball" machine into his meadows. This was a two-wheeled machine, yet it was a horse killer, compared to later productions. In 1858, Chester Lamb came to the front with a "Buckeye" mower. This, for the time, was a favorite, and from this date mowing machines were no longer a novelty. In 1859, L. T. Bradley purchased a "Buckeye" mower and reaper combined--the first in Troy--and so numerous were the demands for its good offices in neighboring fields of grain, that Mr. Bradley was obliged to deny by far the greater part of them.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  625

    On the night of June 4, 1859, this region was devastated by a frost, or rather a freeze, for it could truthfully assume that dignity. Newly turned furrows of turf were frozen through, and small quantities of water were solidly congealed. Wheat and rye, then just heading, were killed, corn and potatoes were cut to the ground, and grass was almost a total failure. Great consternation for a time prevailed, but at length it was found that but a small territory, comparatively, had suffered, when the excitement subsided.

    In the autumn of 1857, Rev. A. A. Whitmore took up his abode here, as pastor of the Congregational church, and remained in that capacity three years.

    Some time previous to this date, a faction known as "radical abolitionists," came into existence under the leadership of William Lloyd Garrison, and Abby Kelly, afterward Abby Kelly Foster, and who were ably supported by Wendell Phillips and other philanthropists. Among the ardent disciples of this faction was one John Brown, known as "Ossawattamie" Brown. This man's ardor reached the point of fanaticism, and his raid on Harper's Ferry, Virginia, and its results, are matters of history. Soon after his execution, indignation meetings were called in various parts of the radical north. Troy had several warm supporters of this then new movement, among whom were W. W. Beals and B. F. Abell, at whose instance a meeting was called. The meeting was called to order by Mr. Abell, who, in stating the object of the meeting, said: "There are times when the exigencies of the case are such, that it is clearly the duty of people to rise above all human law, and, taking the matter into their own hands, assert the prerogative of the 'higher law' that in the execution of John Brown, the State of Virginia had violated the mandate of the 'higher law,' and was no longer entitled to recognition as a sister State, and that the north should rise in its might, and finish the work which this martyr had so nobly began." Mr. Beals followed, reading from a well prepared manuscript, and taking the same ground as did his predecessor. Expressions were called for, from various persons present, and among those called upon to give their views of the subject, was L. P. Barrows, then a law student. Instead of indorsing the sentiment of those who had preceded him, Mr. Barrows took the ground that John Brown and his adherents had violated the laws of Virginia, and in consequence thereof, should suffer the penalty; that if people should lay human law aside when it was not consonant with their views, and should adopt the so-called "higher law," it was not easy to predict what the ultimate result might be. Better by far "endure the ills we have, than fly to those we know not of." This had the effect of producing a reaction in the thus far expressed sentiment of the audience, and, so far as Troy was concerned, the commonwealth of Virginia was allowed to exist a year or two longer, when she cut her own throat, by enacting an ordinance of secession, which, like John Brown's raid, is a matter of history.

    The first fire of public importance occurred on the night of March 17, 1860, destroying the store and contents, then belonging to Levere Dalrymple. The citizens took the matter in hand, and by united effort, another store (the present one) was soon standing on the site of the former one, and Mr. Dalrymple again established in trade.

    626                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 



    The greatest political excitement ever yet known was developed the ensuing season in the presidential canvass; four candidates being in the field, to wit: Lincoln, Douglass, Breckenridge, and Bell. The result is still fresh in the memory of every one. And now we come to, perhaps, the most soul-stirring epoch in the township history. In the presidential contest Abraham Lincoln (as we know) was the successful candidate, and his inauguration was the signal for what proved to be, a most terrible conflict for the preservation of this great family of States, intact. After mature preparation on the part of the disaffected, a distinguished South Carolinian,* on the 12th of April, 1861, pulled the first lanyard, and Sumpter received a deadly missile. Four days later, "Father Abraham" issued a proclamation calling for seventy-five thousand men, to retrieve this insult to the "stars and stripes."

    The muster roll shows that Troy furnished the full share of this number. Seven men responded, as follows: U. S. Hoxter, Ellis Kingsbury, Edwin Woods, Daniel Corliss, Harvey Ford, Chauncey Scott and Simeon Carlton. These men were looked upon as heroes (as indeed they were), but the people little dreamed of what was yet to come. July 21st came, and with it the bloody battle of Bull Run, in which the Union forces were terribly punished. Mr. Lincoln promptly called for 300,000 volunteers, and the volunteers as promptly responded.

    Let us see what Troy did this time. The full military roster of the township is here appended:
    Captain Ebenezer Hopkins. 	Ira Phelps.
    Borden Potter. 	Jephthah Pool.
    Benedict Alford. 	Jason Carter.
    WAR OF 1812.
    John Dayton, 	Harvey Pratt.
    Samuel Reed. 	Nathaniel Colson.
    James Fairbanks. 	Joshua Brooks.
    Ezekiel Lamson. 	Timothy P. Hunter.
    Elijah Pike.
    U. S. Hoxter. 	Harvey Ford.
    Ellis Kingsbury. 	Chauncey Scott.
    Edwin Woods. 	Simeon Carlton.
    Daniel Corliss.
    C. C. Miller.
    Dempsey Conrad. 	Thomas A. Scott.
    Harvey Pratt. 	William Goodrich.
    Sobieski Doolittle. 	Julius Johnson.
    Shepherd Scott. 	Marcus Latham.
    Clarkson Strickland, new recruit. 	Orlando Benton.
    Thomas Scott (Uncle Tom) 	Drayton Gillett.
    Luther Baird. 	Wilson Green.
    Henry Green. 	J. G. Durfee.
    * Edmund Ruffin.


                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  627

    E. P. Latham. 	W. G. Welsh.
    W. W. James. 	Mahlon Loomis.
    L. H. Dayton. 	L. P. Barrows.*
    Barney Starin. 	Chester Hoard.
    B. F. Clark. 	Marshall Davis.
    W. H. Chapman.
    Recruits in August, 1862:
    F. J. Lamb. 	J. H. Evans.
    B. H, Pratt. 	Edward Wells.
    Milton Starin. 	John Sowers.
    Harvey Rice. 	John Weston.
    S. W. Latham.
    Recruits, January 5, 1864:
    Andrew W. Pool. 	Edward H. Tinkham.
    Luther S. Burton. 	L. P. Barrows.
    Re-enlisted as veterans,
    Barney L. Starin. 	Marshall Davis.
    W. W. James. 	Lucien H. Dayton.
    W. H. Chapman.
    Charles Windnagle. 	Ashley Windnagle.
    L. C. Fox. 	Daniel Alexander.
    Delos Shaw. 	Charles Gillman.
    James Gardner. 	Oma Fisher.
    W. H. Doty. 	Anson Keyes.
    Levi B. Cousins. 	J. D. Reed.
    John Hopkins. 	Charles Gray.
    Charles Tourner.
    George R. Fox. 	Charles Vanwagnen.
    Hazen Corliss. 	Morris Latham.
    Willis Burroughs.
    A. K. Houghton. 	A. C. Ellsworth.
    Samuel Turner.
    Delos Reed. 	Monroe Nash.
    Newell Hosmer. 	Charles Truman.
    Walter Taylor.
    H. A. Harrington. 	R. W. Davis.
    Hiram Satterlee. 	Wilson Hotchkiss.
    John Barrows. 	Cyrus Beals.
    Edward Gardner. 	Alfred Crosby.
    Seth James. 	J. H. Thrasher.
    Norman Latham. 	John Corliss.
    Jerome Newman. 	Edward Barnes.
    Byron Heath. 	J. W. Cook.
    John Kimpton. 	David Hosmer.
    A. A. Kingsbury. 	Ozro Truman.
    John Mayhew.
    Eleazar Stockwell, 100th O. V. Infantry. 
    George Harrington, Sharpshooters. 
    Charles Dalrymple, 8th O. V. Infantry. 
    Charles Scott, Quartermaster Department. 
    Charles Whitaker. 	Joseph Hill.
    Ahiel Dunn. 	Francis Davis.
    * Barrows was commissioned first lieutenant when the battery was organized. 
    He resigned in August, 1862, and re-enlisted in the same command, as a 
    "recruit," January 5, 1864.


    628                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Several of the "boys" who represented Troy in the "Great American Conflict" seem to be entitled to more mention than the simple record of their names as soldiers in the war of the Rebellion.

    Shepherd Scott was detailed from his company, and assigned to duty as orderly, for General W. B. Hazen. At the battle of Chickamauga, his behavior, as a soldier, elicited praise from the commanding generals, including General Thomas, and his speedy promotion was morally certain. On the second day of the fight, he was captured, and taken to Andersonville. The result of that capture we had from the lips of H. F. Marsh, late of Bainbridge, this county, who was a fellow prisoner. He says Shepherd died, a victim of starvation and scurvy; that the word "skeleton" would exactly describe his physical condition, and that the scurvy was so malignant as to have removed every tooth before he died. General Hazen, in his speech at Burton, July 4, 1879, paid "Shep." a feeling tribute.

    Edward P. Latham (known as Payson) was "No. 1" on a six-pounder, which was captured at the battle of Mill Spring, January 19, 1862. On the eighteenth of June, following, General G. W. Morgan, in command of the Fourteenth division, Army of the Ohio, succeeded in dislodging Colonel Raines from his stronghold, at Cumberland Gap, without loss of life, which so elated him, that he ordered salutes to be fired by the three batteries in his command, and the Ninth Ohio battery was to perform this duty on the following day (June nineteenth), at six P. M. Latham's piece had been fired once, and while loading the second time, a premature discharge occurred, which blew him about twenty feet from the muzzle of his gun. On picking him up, one eye was found to be sightless, and the bones of both his hands, and lower portion of the forearm, were found to be crushed to fragments, and both were amputated. Although the nervous shock was necessarily very severe, his habits of life, and robust constitution, soon placed him beyond danger, and his recovery was so rapid that just one month from the date of the occurrence, he was at home, and to-day he bids as fair to see a good old age, as any man in Troy.

    Edward W. Green (known as Wilson) was, like Latham, when he enlisted, the very embodiment of health, and both were members of the same command, but their military experience was dissimilar. Green was married October 10, 1861, and was mustered into the United States service, with the battery, the day following. Soon after reaching Cumberland Ford, in February, 1862, he was taken sick, and consigned to the rude hospital, which was improvised from a deserted house near the camp, but failing rapidly, he was sent to a regular hospital, at Lexington, Kentucky, from whence -- there being no hope of his recovery -- he was discharged. Returning home, he recovered somewhat, and engaged in such occupations as he thought he could endure. After a time, his disease (hepatic abscess) returned with two-fold severity, and at length he was confined entirely to the house. His disease distorted his shape out of all semblance of his former self, compelling him to endure the most acute and ceaseless pain, which he bore with heroic courage, until the fifteenth anniversary of his marriage, when death ended his suffering.

    Delos Shaw and Eleazer Stockwell were fated to an experience, unlike either of the above. Captured in the fall of 1864, they endured all the horrors of that Andersonville den until the eighteenth of April, 1865, when they were exchanged, and, with others, sent to Vicksburg for transportation northward. That they keenly enjoyed the anticipation of seeing home and friends again, their last letters to Troy plainly indicated. The steamboat "Sultana" was set apart to take a cargo of these exchanged prisoners homeward. Twenty-two hundred men

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  629

    were placed on board this boat, and Delos and Eleazer were among the number. The fate of that boat and its human freight is well known to every one. When eight miles above Memphis, Tennessee, a boiler exploded, when fifteen hundred men were hurried into eternity, and "our boys" were among the victims.

    Sobieski Doolittle once escaped death almost, or quite, as miraculously as did Latham. At the battle of Chickamauga a minnie ball was shot through his neck, between the windpipe and vertebra, which lodged under the skin. The surgeon who removed it, consoled Doolittle with the declaration, that if the ball had varied its own diameter, in either direction, death must have ensued. He keeps that ball as a souvenir.

    But why discriminate? Most assuredly it was not the personal election of Shepherd Scott that he should be immolated on the altar of heated passion, nor of Latham, that he should be so shockingly dismembered; nor of Green, that his life should waste away by inches; nor of Shaw and Stockwell, that their anticipated return to the home of their childhood should have been so tragically frustrated; nor of Doolittle, that but fifty-four one-hundredths of an inch should have stood between him and his "muster out"; no more was it the election of Hazen Corliss, that a rebel bullet should crash through his brain, and wipe out his existence, on the field of battle; nor of Ellis Kingsbury, nor of Morris Latham, that their bones should be scattered by rebel missiles, causing their deaths in far-off hospitals; nor was it the election of Charley Scott, or Clark or Henry Green, or Hoard, or Geo. Harrington, or Benton, or Daniel Corliss, or Windnagle, or Wells, or Milton Starin, or Fisher, or Kimpton, or Andrew Pool, or Seth James, or Nash, or Marshall Davis, or Newell Hosmer, that their days should end, victims of disease, in military hospitals; on a cotton-bale, or in an ambulance; but such was the fate of war, and, soldier-like, they all submitted to the dread decree. Nor was it the election of Thomas A. Scott, or of Marcus Latham, and others, that their persons should be lacerated and disfigured with rebel lead, but such was their experience. Verily, war is an unfeeling arbitrator.

    Here are the names of ninety-nine men, of Troy, who left home and all its comforts, shouldered the musket, seized the sponge-staff, buckled on the saber, wielded the mule whip, or did the duties peculiar to the gun-boat service, voluntarily, with but very few exceptions; and what for? Nothing less than to perpetuate that time honored doctrine of "Old Hickory." "The Union; it must and shall be preserved." These ninety-nine did not all report, when this "cruel war was over."

    Of them all, at least twenty-five never came back, or if they did, they came in their coffins. One suffered the slow tortures of starvation at Andersonville, two were hurried into eternity by the explosion of the transport "Sultana," after having suffered untold hardships in prison pens, were released, and -- in imagination -- almost back to Troy again. Others died of wounds, away from friends, and still others of lingering sickness. Two were killed almost instantly, while at their post in battle. That Troy may not soon forget the terrible ordeal through which she passed; two reminders are yet spared--in the shattered remnants of what were, at the outset of the rebellion, among her most robust citizens. The one, E. P. Lotham, despoiled of his hands; the other, E. W. Green, a breathing skeleton. To go into details of Troy's military experience during the war, would be to write a volume.

    The soldier element -- or a portion of it -- of the township insist that the "boys" who were killed, or who died while in the service of the United States, deserve special mention in this connection, and to this end it is suggested that the following extract be taken from the address of ______, delivered at Troy, Geauga county, Ohio, on Decoration day, May 29, 1875, as follows:

    "If, on the fifth day of October, 1861 (and I am now addressing those of you

    630                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    who, like myself, on that day enlisted into the United States army). I say if, on that day I had predicted that, on this twenty-ninth day of May, 1875, I should stand here as the champion of twenty-nine of our sons, brothers, husbands and fathers, who would fall before the close of the awful conflict, then but just begun -- and some of them under circumstances of fiendish cruelty that would cause a Modoc or a Mormon to look well to his laurels -- you would doubtless have looked upon me as a hair-brained lunatic, unworthy of notice. Or, perhaps, fearing the disease might assume a more tangible form, and, perhaps, work mischief, you might have quietly asked Colonel Hazen for a detail to escort me to the guard-house, or, perhaps, for still safer keeping, to safer quarters at Newburgh. But the twenty-ninth of May, 1875, has come, and, in the providence of the Great Ruler of the universe, I am here to make mention -- honorable mention -- of twenty-nine of our choice sons, who fell victims to the insatiable 'god of war.'...

    "And now, if you will bear with me, I will try and call to mind some of those of our own good township of Troy, who laid down their lives while fighting in the great war of the Rebellion," and will endeavor to omit no one, whether he represented this township, or not.

    "The first on the roll of this silent company was Charlie Scott. He enlisted under the second call for volunteers, was assigned to the quarter-master department, and was sent to Baltimore. The next news from Charlie was by way of a letter from Dr. Orlando Crane to his (Charlie's) father, saying that he died on the first of September, 1861. Many then thought this might be the only death in the service from Troy. How we were doomed to disappointment the sequel will show.

    "B. F. Clark, known by the boys as 'Frank,' was the next sacrifice. The terrible ordeal through which he passed, before, at, and after the battle of Mill Spring, proved too much for his not over robust constitution, and when his command left Somerset, Kentucky, Frank did not go, but reluctantly took up his abode at the hospital. The next we heard from him he was very sick; the next, he was dead.

    "Eulogizing our soldier boys properly is far beyond my capacity for doing, with any degree of justice. Suffice it to say that, among our many kind-hearted boys, Frank was one of the kindest.

    "By a strange fatuity, three near relatives -- of whom comrade Clark was one -- were taken in succession, and all three were members of the same command.

    "The next to go was Henry Green, nephew of the other two. Henry was a favorite at headquarters, which is equivalent to saying he was a good soldier. Soon after reaching Cumberland Ford, the measles broke out in camp, and Green was among the victims of the disease. Becoming convalescent, he was detailed to go with his mule team to Flat Lick after a load of provisions. While on the way, he was caught in a shower, when the disease returned with redoubled severity, and after two days of intense suffering he was numbered among the dead. Dying at the house of a citizen, he was buried in the family grounds. Henry died March 15, 1862. Let me copy from my diary the following: 'Sunday, April 6th, Durfee and I made a head-board for Henry Green's grave, and I took it to Flat Lick and set it up.' If any are curious to know more about that head-stone, let me say that it was made of a section of the head of a bacon cask, and 'H. Green, Ninth Ohio battery,' was the inscription.

    "Chester Hoard, the remaining one of this doomed trio, while repairing the boots of a comrade at Somerset, became suddenly ill. Laying aside his work, as he supposed, for a short time, he betook himself to his blanket. Becoming rapidly worse, an ambulance was called, and Chester was helped therein, apologizing to the owners of the boots for the failure, saying, as he started for the

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  631

    hospital: 'Boys, keep a stiff upper lip. I'll be after you in a few days, and then I'll finish them boots.' He did not leave that fated hospital, till he left it in his coffin, bound for the land of his nativity.

    "The next is George Harrington. Taking a fancy to the duties of a sharpshooter, he went to Illinois, and enlisted in the Sixty-sixth regiment Illinois volunteers, whose peculiar duties were those pertaining to sharp-shooters. Typhoid fever soon marked him as a victim, and on the thirteenth day of May, 1862, he ceased to do duty as a soldier.

    "Martin Pool joined his fortunes with the Third Michigan infantry, in the earlier stages of the conflict. On the first day of June, 1862, the battle of Fair Oaks was fought, while, near by, in a hospital, among others, Martin was lying helpless. The hospital was captured, and there is every reason to believe that the inmates were bayonetted in their cots, comrade Poole with the rest.

    "Orlando Benton belonged to company B, Forty-first Ohio volunteer infantry. While at Camp Wickliffe, Kentucky, the measles broke out among the troops, and Orlando was one of the first to succumb. The command was ordered away, and he, with others, was sent to a hospital in Indiana, where he died.

    "Daniel, oldest son of E. G. Corliss, was one of the first to enlist from Troy, which he did April 25, 1861, in the Seventh regiment, under the three month's call. Serving this term, he at once re-enlisted, this time in company B, Forty-first regiment. About the first of September, 1862, he was attacked, while on a march, with typhoid pneumonia, and died in an ambulance. The following letter, from the orderly-sergeant, to his father, shows the esteem in which he was held:...

    "Edwin Scott is next. Returning from Illinois, he took his chances with the One Hundred and Twenty-fifty Ohio volunteer infantry. Disease clutched him also, and he died in a hospital at Harrodsburg, Kentucky, November 22, 1862.

    "The next, is Ellis Kingsbury. He enlisted in the Fourth United States artillery, was captured at Port Republic, was exchanged, and at the battle of Fredericksburg, December 15, 1862, he received a wound, which soon proved fatal.

    "Chauncey Lane thought Troy was quite too staid for him, and he migrated to Iowa, where he celebrated his fortieth birth day, by enlisting in the Thirty-second regiment of that State. He was soon commissioned as lieutenant, and put in command of Fort Jeff. Thompson, Missouri. Pleuro pneumonia seized him in its fangs, and just six weeks after bidding his friends here good-bye, he having been home on a flying visit, his remains were returned under military escort, and buried with military honor. He, too, died, December 15, 1862.

    "Ashley Wlndnagle enlisted in the Second Ohio cavalry, and the record says he died at Fort Scott, Kansas, December 23, 1862.

    "The 23d of February witnessed the opening of the mortuary record for 1863, in the death of Edward, adopted son of Solomon, and Olive Wells. His remains were brought home, and to-day himself and foster-mother sleep side by side.

    "Five days later, February 28th, Milton Starin paid the debt. While his command was in transit from Danville, Kentucky, to Nashville, Tennessee, he sickened, and was left at Louisville, where he died as above stated.

    "Harvey Rice is next. A Kentucky hospital became his last abiding place, and, although his remains were not brought home, a memorial service was held here.

    "Oma Fisher belonged to the One Hundred and Fifth, and like many others, was, doubtless, a victim of home-sickness. He died in a hospital at Murfreesboro, Tennessee, and, as in the case of comrade Rice, memorial services were held here.

    632                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    "Avery Patterson, once of Troy, enlisted in the Ninetieth regiment from Pickaway county. He was soon given a lieutenant's commission. On the first day of the battle of Chickamauga, he was severely wounded, and was captured. A few days later, he was paroled, but after twenty days of extreme suffering he paid the penalty of his patriotism with his life. His remains were brought back to Troy, and buried in the Burroughs cemetery, with the honors due to his military rank.

    "Morris Latham also bore a part on that same bloody field, and on the second day, received what was supposed to be, a slight wound in one hip. He wrote to his father, saying his "scratch would probably procure for him a furlough." His wound soon became serious, and forty days after receiving the fatal lead, he was given a furlough, not to be revoked by human authority.

    "Harlan Warner chose Florida, as the State of his adoption, and enlisted in a "Pioneer Brigade," organized in that State. His health gave way, and he was given a hospital furlough, when he came back to the Grove, his former abiding place. The following inscription on his tomb-stone tells the rest: "Harlan P. Warner, Company I, Second battalion pioneer brigade. Died March 18, 1864, aged twenty-six."

    "John Kimpton was born in England, January 13, 1847. Coming to this country with his parents while yet a lad, he naturally drank in the spirit of loyalty to his foster country, and as soon as old enough, he embarked in the gunboat service, and was assigned to the "Ouachita." An expedition up Red river, was planned and executed, and a quantity of cotton captured. The 9th of April, 1864, was occupied by the crew of the "Ouachita" in loading the boat with this cotton. At night John, -- among others -- remained ashore, he taking a cotton bale for a hammock, and remarking as he did so, that "he was burning up." During the night he died, and was buried the following day, in a rude grave hollowed out of the sand, on the river's bank.

    "The fate of Shepherd Scott is recorded elsewhere.

    "For the draft, which occurred January 5, 1864, eight men were required from Troy, and eight men volunteered, of whom Andrew Pool was one. In July following, he was given the position of artificer in the battery to which he belonged, and was soon detailed to construct a building for the benefit of headquarters. The extreme heat, and unusual labor, soon brought him to his bunk, from which he was transferred to the battery hospital, a victim of typhoid fever. It was his fortune to be attended by one of the best surgeons in the army, and he was soon pronounced out of danger. Let me refer again to my diary. 'Aug. 9th, wrote a letter to Mrs. Pool for Andrew. 10th, Pool is very sick; 12th, Pool a little easier. 13th, went into the country and bought a chicken for Pool.' While I was gone, he sent to the sutler and procured a can of peaches, some of which he ate, and, when I returned, found him suffering severely, the cause of which he explained to me. I hastened to summon Dr. Barber, who at once declared his case hopeless. More from my diary: 'Aug. 14th, wrote another letter for Pool to his wife. 15th, took care of Pool all day; he is very sick. 16th, Welsh took care of Pool through the night; I relieved him at 2 a. m., and stayed by Andrew till 2:30 p. m., when he died. Arrangements made to send the body home. Wrote to my wife acquainting her with the fact, as follows: 'If no telegram is sent, it will devolve on me to break the news that Andrew and the battery have just parted company. Particulars to-morrow.' ' I had barely time to write this before the train left. The body was embalmed the following day, and sent back to Troy.

    "Seth James offered himself as a substitute, and was engaged by a citizen of Hiram. He was assigned to the Fifth Ohio volunteer infantry. His military career was short. His record runs as follows: 'Seth James, admitted to hospital

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  633

    No. 1, Chattanooga, Tenn., Nov. 5th, 1864. Died Nov. 12th. Buried in grave No. 70, Sec. G.'

    "Hazen, brother of Daniel Corliss, is the next victim. The battery to which he belonged was engaged in the affair at Spring Hill, Tennessee, during which he was shot through the head, killing him instantly. Letters to his friends indicate that he was a good soldier.

    "Monroe Nash shouldered his gun, and marched with the One Hundred and Seventy-seventh. Too much marching brought him to a Louisville hospital. His parents went to his aid and bestowed upon him all possible care, and, at his death, brought his remains home with them.

    "Marshall Davis, with more zeal than discretion, re-enlisted as a veteran. He soon found himself in a Jeffersonville hospital, where he died, in April, 1865."

    The tragic fate of Eleazer Stockwell and Delos Shaw, like that of 'Shep.' Scott, is recorded elsewhere.

    "Newell Hosmer brings up the rear. He was in the One Hundred and Seventy-seventh, and was with it on its eastern campaign. Arriving at New York, he was taken sick, and was assigned to a hospital on David's island, from which he wrote a letter to his wife, saying he 'would be at home in a few days.' This was soon followed by a letter from the hospital surgeon, saying that he died April 30, 1865.

    "To the above, at least three others should be added:

    "Ahiel, son of William Dann, was in the Eighty-third Pennsylvania, and was killed at the battle of Laurel Hill.

    "Jerome Newman enlisted in the One Hundred and Ninety-sixth, and died at Camp Chase.

    "The record of Allen Alvord is uncertain, as to the time and place of his death.

    "Fellow citizens of Troy! these are our dead, and this our great sacrifice on the altar of human liberty; and as we close the roll-book, let us not forget that 'The muffled drum's sad roll has beat
    These soldier's last tattoo;
    No more on life's parade shall meet
    That brave and fallen few.

    'On fame's eternal camping ground,
    Their silent tents are spread,
    While glory guards, with silent round,
    The bivouac of the dead.'"
    "The foregoing extracts were copied into this history at our express solicitation.

    "JOHN CUTLER, President,|Troy Soldiers'

    "EDWARD P. LATHAM, Vice President,|Association."

    In this connection it might be said that the war aroused a military spirit at home. In the State legislature of 1862-3, a law was passed reviving State military service, requiring every able-bodied man of requisite age to do a certain amount of military duty, or pay a certain sum of money in lieu thereof. In obedience to this enactment, a company was formed in Troy, and July 4th an election of officers was held, which resulted in bestowing the command upon the writer -- who had been discharged, and was then at home -- while the lieutenants' commissions were bestowed upon I. W. Pope and S. P. Merrifield, respectively.*

    A call for another three hundred thousand men was made late in the year, when so great a number of the company enlisted as to practically dismember it. At the next session of the legislature this law was repealed.
    * O. S. Farr, esq., now of Chardon, received a commission as adjutant on the regimental staff of Colonel H. H. Ford.

    634                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Here comes in an item of history of which Troy may well be proud, and which cannot be more fittingly portrayed than by copying, almost entire, a communication received from Mrs. S. C. W. Latham, secretary of the Soldiers' aid society, an organization whose existence will not soon pass from memory. She writes:

    "Mention has been made in this historical sketch of Troy of those who went from among us, to share the privations and dangers of a soldier's life, in the great Rebellion. In connection with this it may be proper to allude to the work accomplished by the women at home during this eventful period, and to show that they were neither idle nor indifferent spectators of the momentous history that our country was writing in tears and blood. Some work was done for the three months' men, and some things contributed to them. As early as June, 1861, we organized a Soldiers' aid society. We had fifty names subscribed to our constitution. The officers were: Presidents, Mrs. M. L. Welch, Mrs. B. B. Heath; vice-presidents, Mrs. Mary Tinkham; treasurer, Mrs. M. James; business agent, Mrs. S. A. Merrifield. An auxiliary society was organized west of the river. Mrs. Jedediah Reed, president; Mrs. Sylvia Hinckley, vice-president. In a short time we commenced making 'havelocks.' This article of clothing not proving beneficial, and consuming much time and means, its manufacture was soon abandoned. Then hospital shirts, drawers, socks, quilts, towels, lint bandages, etc., etc., were made; and canned and dried fruit, with other eatables, were contributed, prepared, and sent, from time to time, to the Cleveland Aid society. But in order to supply the Cleveland society, means must be obtained, and for this purpose various expedients were resorted to. In January, 1862, we started a 'mite society.' Our first meeting was held at S. P. Merrifield's, on the pioneer farm of the late John Dayton. About one hundred persons were in attendance. This was, perhaps, the largest 'mite' during the war. At one time the 'grab bag' was a feature of the society; at another, a 'sugar party,' and, although no great amount was obtained at any one meeting, they were continued until we realized over fifty dollars from them. From the proceeds of an exhibition, held two evenings in the Methodist Episcopal church, we realized over fifty-eight dollars, and a 'military picnic,' held in Mr. Seth Burton's meadow, furnished nearly forty dollars. A lecture brought in a little, and individual contributions helped some. At one time a committee was appointed in different parts of the township, to receive whatever might be donated to the society, and thus the supplies came, to enable us to go on, until July, 1865, when we sent our last package to Cleveland, having continued our work over four years. At the 'Sanitary fair' held in Cleveland, in 1864, we were represented, and assisted with our contributions. A flag was purchased for the Forty-first, and we contributed ten dollars of its cost, and also furnished that regiment with a few necessaries, but most of our donations were sent to the Cleveland society. The amount contributed to the soldiers in the various ways, by our township, was estimated at over a thousand dollars. Some of the wealthier townships may have done much more, but it may be that not many began earlier, or worked longer than did Troy. Mrs. Rouse, president of the Cleveland society, writing to us in January, 1862, after acknowledging the receipt of goods sent from here, says: 'I have been for some time anxious to hear of the prosperity of your society, which we remember with gratitude, was among the first to come forward to our aid, in carrying on the work. The records of the Cleveland society show that the first box received at the Cleveland Aid rooms came from the Soldiers' Aid society of Troy.'* Signed, Mrs. S. C. W. Latham. Comment is needless. The above speaks for itself."
    * Page 505, in "Our Acre and its Harvest."

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  635

    To return to matters pertaining to the church militant: After Mr. Whitmore left, Mr. Fraser returned to his former duties, remaining, this time, two years.

    When Mr. Hopkins held the pastorate, he warmly advocated the putting of a bell into the church. In 1862, the question was revived, a subscription was started, Mrs. Pike leading off with thirty dollars, the price of a steer. A sufficient amount was raised, and the bell was obtained. It was first tolled at the death of W. W. Beals, January 4, 1863. Proving too small to be heard at distant parts of the township, the Methodist society employed a competent person to examine the structure of their belfry, with a view to putting in a heavier bell. The report was favorable, a subscription was circulated, and the required amount realized. Although larger, the new bell did not much exceed the other in volume of sound. But its days were destined to be few. While being tolled, on the thirty-first of December, 1863, the thermometer standing at eighteen degrees below zero, it cracked, when its career was ended.

    In 1863, Mr. Fraser again left, snd Rev. Roswell Hawks supplied the pulpit for a short time, when Marshall Terry was permanently engaged, and who remained until his death, in October, 1867.

    Up to this time, cheese-making had been carried on in private dairies.

    In 1865, D. L. Pope showed his faith in the co-operative plan, by building a factory, fifty by one hundred feet, to serve as a curing house, and other buildings for manufacturing purposes, aggregating one hundred feet in length in addition.

    Experience has shown the wisdom of his policy. Cheese factories are now considered a necessary evil; there being no less than four in Troy.* Western Reserve factory cheese has now a controlling influence wherever that commodity is an article of merchandise.

    An Ohio State Dairymen's association has been formed in the interest of factory cheese, over which Mr. Pope † has had the honor to preside.

    An incident, somewhat similar to the bull-frog tragedy of 1814, occured here in the spring of 1865. After the assassination of President Lincoln, the reward offered for the apprehension of the murderer, prompted a keen scrutiny of every stranger, not knowing but he might be the assassin, in disguse. About the time of the above tragedy, L. P. Barrows, then a sergeant in the Ninth Ohio battery, stationed at Bridgeport, Alabama, had obtained a furlough, and was at home. Some imaginative person, on the look out for the noted criminal, saw a stranger cross the farm then owned by Thomas R. Mumford, and enter the woods. Of course, this could be none other than the flying fugitive, and the alarm was at once sounded, and promptly responded to. The woods were quickly surrounded by the excited populace, and the lines concentrated, until a thick clump of undergrowth was all that was left of the strategic field, and which, of course, at that very moment, served as cover for the doomed John Wilkes Boothe.

    Now came the momentous question: who should beat the bush? Sergeant Barrows was the only soldier present, and upon him was imposed the dread duty. Nothing reluctant, he at once drew sabre, and prepared to charge, backed by the comforting assurance, that his antagonist was doubtlees armed to the teeth, and would probably draw first blood. Barrows charged; beat the covert thoroughly, and found _______.

    Returning again to matters theological: Soon after the death of Mr. Terry, Rev. Mr. Kingsley supplied the pulpit through the following winter.
    * Note -- There are sixty-one cheese factories in Geauga county. See Ohio Agricultural Report, 1875 -- page 395.

    † Mr. Pope was also superintendent of the dairy department of the Centennial exposition, at Philadelphia, in 1876.

    636                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    The next year (1866) Rev. Wm. Potter offered his services, as pastor, which were accepted, and he remained three years, leaving in 1870.

    From 1866 to 1871, nothing of special importance transpired.

    Since the old town house became untenable, the trustees had been compelled to rent a room in which to transact township business. Sometimes it would be a church; sometimes a school-house, but generally the bar-room of the hotel. Several efforts had, from time to time, been made to build a town-house, but were each time defeated. At the spring election, in 1871, a majority voted: "town hall, yes." The trustees at once contracted with Wm. G. Welch to build a hall, twenty-six by thirty-eight feet in size, and fourteen feet in height, for the sum of sixteen hundred dollars, to be completed in time for the October election.

    Mr. Welch fulfilled the contract to the satisfaction of all concerned.

    It might be stated here, as a matter of history, that the township politics, a year or two before, had been the "Pound" question, which ended in establishing one in April, 1870. It now serves as an excellent yard for the hotel stables.

    In 1871, there being no stated preacher at the Congregational church, Rev. Orvil Blake, a Free-will Baptist elder, residing in Mantua, was engaged to supply the desk, which he did the three succeeding years.

    Soon after the close of the civil war, the different military organizations began to hold reunions, at which all the members who could possible do so, were sure to be present. The Ninth Ohio battery, which had a large representation from Troy, had held two, the first at Chagrin Falls in 1871, the second at Hudson, in 1872. The battery was mustered into the United States service on the eleventh day of October, 1861, and the eleventh day of October was selected as the day for annual reunion, or as nearly to that day as practicable. The third reunion was to be held in Troy, and as it was not practicable to hold it on the eleventh, the fifteenth of October was selected. On this occasion the good citizens of the entire township took the matter in hand, and made it a perfect ovation. It was estimated that twelve or fourteen hundred persons were present, and as the day was fine, the affair was a success throughout.

    Prof. O. C. Hill, of Hiram college, formerly a member of the Forty-second Ohio regiment, delivered a masterly address from the steps of the Methodist Episcopal church, and to which all who could, attentively listened. A travelling artist was present, who took a group picture of all the members who attended.

    The Hiram cornet band -- C. C. Young, leader -- furnished excellent music for the occasion, which was paid for by the generous "Trojans."

    In the winter of 1873-4 Mason H. Abbey, an Evangelist employed by the Free-will Baptist association, came to Troy and conducted a revival meeting. The religious element of the community was, for once, united as if but one. The effort continued about two months, and, although the roads, most of the time, were nearly impassable, the old church was well filled with earnest listeners, at nearly every appointment.

    About sixty persons were either converted, or confessed to a departure from former allegience to the church militant, and renewed their pledges of fidelity to the cause of religion. The result was, that the old society, which had become nearly extinct, was again placed on a permanent basis, the Methodist society received a goodly number of members on probation, and yet nineteen were left (including two or three withdrawals), who organized into a Free-will Baptist association.

    This church was organized on Saturday, the 24th of January, 1874. it elected Elder O. Blake as its pastor, who has since then remained in that relation. Rev. E. D. Taylor, who succeeded Mr. Blake at the Congregational church, and who was an earnest co-worker during the revival, yet retains the relation of pastor

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  637

    over that flock, while Rev. J. K. Shaffer, who so ardently represented the Methodist Episcopal church, is called to another field.

    While recording church matters it will be in order to state, that in the winter of 1872-3, two clergymen of the Free-will Baptist denomination--Elder Moulton, assisted by Elder Wilder--held a series of meetings at Maple Grove, which resulted in establishing a church there, of which Elder O. Blake is now (1875), the pastor.

    The following is a roster of all the Methodist preachers who have held stated meetings, or appointments, in Troy, both before and after the church proper was organized: In 1835 the Conference sent Revs. T. Carr and J. C. Aiken, as itinerant preachers, to labor with the little society, which then held meetings on the west side of the river. These two filled appointments till the June Conference of 1836, when their successors were S. C. Baker and J. C. Aiken, who were again sent. In 1836-7 they were followed by S. Hubbard and W. F. Wilson, and they, in 1837-8, by John Crum, preacher in charge, assisted by L. M. Reves, who were the first preachers after the church was organized. They were followed by the above named Carr, and W. S. Worrallo in 1838-9, they by S. Hubbard and W. S. Worrallo in 1839-40, they by R. A. Aylworth and J. W. Davis in 1840-41, they by J. O. Rich and T. Stowe in 1841-2, they by Ahab Keller and A. Norton in 1842-3, they by Keller and G. W. Maltby in 1843-4, they by J. L. Holmes and P. Sullivan in 1844-5, they by Sullivan and L. Rogers in 1845-6, they by A. Reves and A. Walker in 1846-7, they by Reves and J. J. Steadman, (who supplied a vacancy in 1847-8), they by Steadman and William Samson in 1848-9, they by H. D. Cole and Hiram Kellogg in 1849-50, they by T. B. Tait and J. W. Hill in 1850-1, they by L. Clark and Ira Eddy in 1851-2, they by S. W. Ingraham and Benjamin Excell in 1852-3, they re-appointed in 1853-4, they by Excell and R. Gray in 1854-5, they by Gray and R. H. Hurlburt in 1855-6, they by R. M. Bear and Ingraham in 1856-7, they by themselves in 1857-8, they by J. F. Brown and A. Norton in 1858-9, and they by Cyril Wilson in 1859-60.

    At this date the policy of the "Parkman circuit" was changed by the Conference, and it was divided into two "Charges," one of which was called "Troy Charge." Each charge was supplied with one preacher, and C. Wilson was the first. He was succeeded by M. Williams in 1860-1, he by H. D. Cole in 1861-2, he by H. Kellogg in 1862-3-4, he by H. M. Chamberlain in 1864-5-6, he by Hiram Kellogg in 1866-7, he by J. B. Hammond in 1867-8-9, he by Josiah Flower in 1869-70-1, he by James K. Shaffer in 1871-2-3-4, and he by the present incumbent, Benjamin C. Warner, who is now (1876), occupying the pulpit on his second Conference year.

    What an array of men are here found, who, for the past forty years have battled for the "right" in Troy?

    This, in brief, is an outline sketch, of some of the main features of Troy's history, and what a summing up do we find, when comparing "then and now."

    Then we saw a widowed man of three score years, accompanied by a faithful daughter, taking up his abode for life, where was not another human being on an area of twenty-five square miles. Now every acre of that domain is the property of actual settlers, not one of which can be bought for a song.

    Then closely followed Jacob Burroughs, a man who once remarked that he was not made for beauty, but for use. Without commenting on the first part of that assertion, it is safe to say that he was one of the most quietly useful men, of which Troy could boast. Now his elder son is following in the footsteps of his honored sire.

    Then the lion-hearted pioneer planted his crop among the stumps and logs in the most toilsome way immaginable now those stumps and logs have long

    638                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    since vanished, and the skillful plowman, with well trained team attached to his Mohawk valley clipper plow, can turn the soil of his whole farm, meeting with scarcely an obstruction. Then the woman folks were clad in coarse garments of their own manufacture from wool or flax. Now they are not.

    Then the only way in which the "settler" could protect himself at night from the assaults of legions of mosquitoes was by esconsing himself, as far as possible, into an empty barrel; the feet to be guarded by either a "smudge," or by retaining the boots. Now, at trifling trouble and expense, these persevering serenaders can be kept at respectful distance, allowing the sleeper an undisturbed rest.

    Then a man worked all day, from sunrise to sunset, in the hay-field, mowing with a heavy, bungling scythe, made by a neighboring blacksmith, and received fifty cents for his labor. Now the team is hitched to a Buckeye or Champion or Climax, a meadow of five acres is encircled, and the hired man set to mowing out the corners of the fence. When the bell rings for dinner, the machine has laid the five acres in shape for the rake. The hired man has, with a nice light "rig," managed to complete the corners. After dinner, the old mare and horse-rake soon gather the five acres of hay into winrows, which the team draws to the barn. The old mare does duty at the fork, and before five o'clock everything is snug. The hired man is about dead, and wants two dollars for the day's comparative pastime.

    Then Tom Hood's "Song of the Shirt" might have been sung with the "spirit and with the understanding also." Now the favorite sewing machine is to be seen in almost every domicile.

    Then the "school ma'am" taught six days for a week, at a salary of fifty or perhaps seventy-five cents per week, taking in payment chickens, or store pay; seldom money. Now five days constitute a week, and three times the price which the pioneer girl received per week is demanded for one day, and that too in Uncle Sam's promises to pay.

    Then the means of conveyance was what was known as "shanks' mare"; later, the oxen and cart or sled; later, on horseback, each horse carrying at least two. Now folks don't travel in that way.

    Then the little grain raised, was gathered with the sickle, threshed with the flail, cleaned with the hand-fan, or thrown up and the separation accomplished by the winds of heaven. Now the stately "reaper" takes down its ten acres per day, the steam separator in a trice comparatively, transforms the bulky mow into a stock of straw and a bin of golden grain, all at one effort.

    Then a neighbor or two might have been seen with a sap-yoke on their shoulders, at either end a pail of milk, it being taken to the house of another. The whole was put together, filling perhaps a small tub, from which a small cheese was made. The press, in many instances, was a long pole, with one end thrust into the cat-hole, the other weighted as occasion demanded. Now can be seen, in the season, a score or less of wagons, laden with well filled cans of milk, -- cans in some instances containing a barrel or more, -- and all converging at the favorite cheese factory, where the process of cheese-making is reduced to a system, a ton of cheese, in some instances, being a day's product.

    Then the itinerant peddler, with a scanty stock of necessaries, might be seen perambulating the sparcely settled country, vending his wares as best he might; now, at any center, may be seen substantial stores, wherein anything needed, from a jewsharp to a bridal outfit, can be obtained.

    Then the children looked upon father and mother with feelings of veneration; now, the "old man and woman" are secondary affairs.

    Then Luther Hemmenway, in cow-hide boot sand homespun clothes, wended his lonely way through the wilderness woods, to the bark-covered cabin of Simon

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  639

    Burroughs, where he met his affianced, arrayed in calf-skins and calico, when the two stood before a backwoods parson, and a "welding heat" was taken, the result to last till death interposed a separation. Now (in too many instances), John Henry enters into an alliance matrimonial with Clementina Artimesia; a wedding outfit is obtained -- how, we do not pretend to say -- and the nuptials are celebrated with extravagant pomp, but before the orange wreath has faded, disaffection crops out; a divorce lawyer is retained, and the one are again two. Their marriage vows were like pie-crust -- made to be broken.

    Then a contract to pay a debt at a future day, was faithfully fulfilled; now, how to defraud the confiding creditor has become, with far too many, a careful study.

    Then the resolute, warm-hearted itinerant preacher, semi-occasionally, plodded his weary way to our little settlement, and, in rude hovels, broke to his backwoods listeners the "bread of life"; now, our two resident clergymen, have but a few steps from their homes to their pulpits, while their means of conveyance to other appointments are far from uncomfortable.

    Then, the pioneer lived in his rude cabin of logs, covered with bark, or, at best, with "shakes," and without either cellar or chamber; a rude fire-place served the double purpose of warming the inmates, and as a means of cooking the simple meal; the bed, a pallet of leaves or straw, with bear skins for a covering; the chairs, blocks of wood, set on end; the table, a split puncheon, or, perhaps, a board, resting on pins driven in the side of the domicile; the windows, of something besides glass; the parlor, the shade of the nearest tree. Now, the strong, substantial dwelling of brick, or wood, takes the place of the rude cabin, warmed by the coal-burner, and the cooking done on a P. P. Stewart, or a Mansard; the bed, a spring mattress, with elaborate patch-work for covering; the chairs, such as would tempt an indolent person to remain seated all day; windows, of the best rock-glass, and plenty of them; the "extension" supercedes the old rough table; and the parlor is a paragon of beauty and taste.

    Of mercantile firms, we have three.

    Pope & Son transformed a portion of their cheese curing rooms, into a commodious place for retailing goods, and are doing a thriving business.

    Hiram Kellogg & Son have come in possession of the store at the center, where they also enjoy a lucrative trade. In connection with the store, the son transacts the post-office business.

    At Maple Grove, Davis Warner has established himself in trade, and although not so extensively as the others, his grocery store has become a necessity. A post-office, called Grove, was established here in January, 1869, over which Mr. Warner enjoys the title of postmaster.

    We have two steam saw-mills: One at the Grove, owned by Barrows & Fisher. To this mill there has since been attached machinery for grinding feed, and also a cider-mill. The other mill, on the "Mile brook," north of the center, owned by H. W. Hosmer, has machinery for the manufacture of fence caps. There is also a shingle mill in the northeast part of the town, owned and operated by H. T. Burroughs.

    Of disciples of Tubal Cain, we have Wales and Sperry at the center, and Lewis Tuller at the Grove.

    S. J. Esty, H. E. Wales, and J. G. Durfee, are our wheelrights, and R. I. Hoard follows the vocation of St. Crispin. Frank Steele is engaged in the sale of Browning & Steele's carriages, and meets with good success. D. C. Tilden owns a tanning establishment at Rock Creek, and furnishes a market for all the hides and skins of an extended region round about.

    Physicians and lawyers steer clear of Troy, as a place of residence. We are dependent on surrounding townships for relief from all the pains that flesh is

    640                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    heir to. As a township, we spend comparatively a small amount of time and money in the courts of law.

    Our knights of the plane and chisel, are W. G. Welch, John Cutler, J. S. Olds and Dempsey Conrad.

    In county matters, Troy has borne, as yet, a limited part. We have furnished but two commissioners, in the persons of Dr. Jacob Thrasher and Horace Lamson, and but one prosecuting attorney, in the person of Orrin S. Farr.

    We have furnished but one recorder, in the person of C. H. Lamb. Willard W. Beals for a time carried the surveyor's compass and chain, and J. G. Durfee for a time filled the office of coroner.

    We have now no schools except such as are provided by law.

    The resident clergymen are Rev. E. D. Taylor, of the Congregational church, and Rev. B. C. Warner, of the Methodist Episcopal* church, while Elder Blake, of Mantua, preaches to his charge whenever circumstances permit.

    While surrounding townships, nearly all, furnished men who became more or less conspicuous during the war of the Rebellion, one of which (Hiram) boasts of two major generals, † Troy sent out her ninety-and-nine, with no prospect of promotion for any of them, save one. He received a lieutenant's commission, in artillery, which he soon resigned, and afterwards enlisted as a private in the same command. Duty rather than emolument was Troy's soldiers' guiding star.

    Years agone, when "general trainings" were in vogue, Troy furnished the chief musicians -- Daniel Doty, with his shrill fife, and Lewis Scott, with his tenor drum. Doty and his music have long since passed away. Scott, although he has reached his three score years and ten, can yet execute the reveille and long roll in a manner that causes the ear of every soldier who heareth it, to tingle.

    The mortuary record discloses the fact that six hundred and ten persons, old and young, have died since Troy was settled. The first, Reed Burroughs, a child of five years, died July 2, 1813, and the last, Albert Herrick, died January 12, 1876. Of these deaths, Major Harvey Pratt, Troy's first singer, who came here in 1812, died at the age of forty. Thirty-five died between the ages of fifty and sixty; fifty-seven between sixty and seventy; fifty-three ‡ between seventy and eighty; thirty-two between eighty and ninety.

    Only four passed four-score and ten. "Gram" Weston -- as well called her -- died at ninety-one; Abram Barnes died at ninety-three; "Granny" French lived to see ninety-six years, was in excellent health all her days, and "went out" like a candle burned down to the socket.

    John Beals lived to "see of the travail of his soul and was satisfied." He could almost peer into the next century, being ninety-seven years and six months old when he died. Of those who died below forty, many were in their infancy.

    On several occasions two funerals occurred the same day. The first instance: Bradley Bromley and Theodore Dowdy were buried in August, 1817; the last,
    * George H. Fairbanks, youngest son of James Fairbanks, mentioned in the preceding pages, is also a minister of the gospel, of the Methodist Episcopal denomination, but, being also an enterprising farmer, does not confine himself to pastoral duties as an exclusive calling. His farm and place of residence is on section twenty-four, south from Pope's corners. In 1873, he relinquished farming, and removed to the Huntsburg charge, in the capacity of a "supply." In 1874, he returned to his farm, but, having joined the conference, he was detailed on the Burton and Middlefield charge, and filled the appointments of that charge during 1874-5, when he withdrew from conference. Since that time he has devoted the major part of his time to agriculture, but exercising his clerical offices whenever called on to do so, which is often. Should Mr. Fairbanks see fit to devote himself entirely to the duties of a clergyman, it would be easy for him to occupy a prominent place as a preacher.

    † Garfield and Hazen.

    ‡ Since the above was written Amos Burroughs has been added, aged seventy-seven.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  641

    Edward Green and Rose, daughter of Elijah and Achsah Percival, in December, 1873.

    With this statement, let this imperfect sketch come to a close. Surely, this is a great nation. And, how came it so? By a slow growth, like the coral reef. The coral insect, taken singly, is an insignificant affair, but the combined effort of untold millions, has peopled the ocean with innumerable islands. This was not the work of a day, or a year, but of centuries.

    Just so is this "Great Republic." Its formation is not the result of a day's effort. It did not, like "Jonah's Gourd," come in a night. The forests were felled, not by the blast of a terrible hurricane, but by the unremitting blows of the woodman's axe, year after year, and in this labor, Troy can proudly say, she has done her full share. Although but a small spot on the earth's surface, yet we are possessed of just enough local pride to think that the world would be sadly incomplete without her. In the language of another,

    "Breathes there a man with soul so dead, Who never to himself has said, This is my own, my native land."



    When the foregoing manuscript was completed, it was placed in the hands of Judge Lester Taylor, president of the County Historical Society, for publication. Unavoidable delays prevented this being done, and the judge returned the manuscript to the different township historians, with a request that additional history, up to present time, be appended. To write of matters which transpired years agone, is easy in comparison to an attempt to chronicle the doings and events of the present time. That it is not always safe to write of a man while he is yet living, we are painfully aware, and, with this in view, shall feel compelled to move carefully. Whatever we may write, henceforward, will, of necessity, be done in a desultory manner.

    The original history closed with Rev. B. C. Warner as occupant of the Methodist parsonage and pulpit. He remained two years, and was succeeded by Rev. George Elliott, who remained but one year, when the charge was taken by Rev. J. B. Grover, the present (1878) incumbent.

    The Congregational society still retains the ministrations of Rev. E. D. Taylor, whose permanent settlement in Troy begins to be looked upon as a fixed fact. The Free-will Baptist society retained Elder Orvil Blake as its pastor -- their place of worship being the Methodist church, until August 12, 1877, when death put and end to his ministrations. The society is now without a pastor.

    At the close of the War of the Rebellion, an institution was organized by the Union soldiers and ex-soldiers, known as the Grand Army of the Republic, and the subordinate organizations were designated as Posts of the G. A. R. In 1870 a Post was organized in this township, which, in honor of a deceased comrade, A. W. Pool, was named "Pool Post." Its first commander was L. P. Barrows. One of the grand features of this organization was the establishment of a day known as "Memorial" or "Decoration day," the object being to keep in memory the fallen comrades by decorating their graves, so far as possible, with

    642                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    flowers, and the 30th day of May was settled upon as that day, and is now a national holiday.

    From the establishment of Pool Post, Decoration day has always been observed in Troy. At first, but little attention was paid to its observance, but as our community became to know more of its object it became more popular. At first, the exercises were conducted by the local clergymen, or by an imported speaker, among whom were Hons. I. N. Hathaway and Peter Hitchcock, of our county, and Prof. O. C. Hill, of Hiram College. In 1875 the resident exsoldiers took the matter into their own hands, thinking it too burdensome for persons from a distance to do this duty for them. In 1875 the exercises were conducted by the writer; in 1876, by comrade E. P. Latham, and it seems proper here to record, that his address, occupying more than half an hour in its delivery, was written entirely by himself, handless though he is. In 1877 comrade J. G. Durfee assumed the management, and introduced the appropriate innovation of calling a bevy of girls and boys, not yet in their teens, to act as part of the decorating committees. Up to this date, the ceremonies of Decoration day had partaken of the nature of funereal exercises.*

    In 1878, this feature was partly laid aside, and a demonstration occupied its place. The Burton cornet band, under the leadership of R. N. Ford, esquire, tendered their services and addresses were made by S. E. Clapp, of Huntsburgh, and comrades Steadman, of Garrettsville, and W. W. James. The leading features of the display were the decorating committee, composed of thirty-eight little girls clad in white, and adorned with blue sashes. Upon the head of each was a sort of tiara, having the name of the state which she represented printed thereon. Each was also provided with a small basket filled with flowers, which were strewn over the soldier's graves. There were also an equal number of lads, each adorned with a red sash, and carrying as mall Union flag. Their duty was to act as escorts to the galaxy of misses, who composed the decorating party, proper. It is quite safe to say, that in after years, they will look back to the duties of that day, as one of the events of their lives.

    Another institution came into existence soon after the close of the war, known as the "Order of Patrons of Husbandry," the object of which, was to enhance the agricultural interests of the United States, and which has extended its influence to foreign nations.

    The subordinate organizations of this order, are known as "Granges," one of which was established in Troy, November 9th, 1876.

    This was effected through the influence and exertion of Mr. E. A. Mumford, one of the "duplicates" mentioned in the preceding pages. Forty persons was the largest number allowed as "Charter members."

    On the day of organization, forty-seven presented themselves as candidates for admission, and the extra seven were received as "supplementary" members "Welshfield Grange No. 1293, P. of H." was put into working order by the election of the writer as Master; Geo. H. Fairbanks, Overseer; Royal Burton, Lecturer; A. K. Houghton, Steward; Laban Patch, Assistant Steward; Mrs. G. H. Fairbanks, Chaplain; Simeon L. Chapman, Secretary; Daniel H. Truman, Treasurer; Timothy Fox, Gate Keeper; Mrs. E. C. Nash, Ceres; Miss Victorine Mumford, Pomona; Mrs. A. K. Houghton, Flora; and Mrs. W. H. Chapman, Lady Assistant Steward. Laban Patch was elected business agent.
    * Nearly the same programme was adopted in 1879. The decorating committees were subtantially the same. The Burton band was employed, and addresses were made by Rev. G. H. Fairbanks, and comrade L. P. Barrows. Comrade Thomas A. Scott, of the 41st, acted as marshal, comrade John Cutler, of the 171st, and comrade B. H. Pratt, of the 9th artillery, had charge of the juvenile committees. The day, though dry and dusty, was pleasant, and a large audience was in attendance. Decoration day does not bid fair to pass unnoticed for years to come.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  643

    The charter members in full, were Royal Burton and wife, Henry Morton and wife, Jas. C. Burton and wife, G. W. Bartholomew and wife, Daniel Hill and wife, H. L. Hosmer and wife, H. E. Wales and wife, Elihu G. Corliss and wife, Levi P. Pool and wife, Leroy Pool and wife, S. L. Chapman and wife, E. A. Mumford and wife, Miss Victorine Mumford, W. G. Welch and wife, Albert K. Houghton and wife, Jared Button and wife, B. S. James and wife, W. H. Chapman and wife, Geo. H. Fairbanks and wife, E. C. Nash and wife, Delos Reed and wife, Laban Patch, and Timothy Fox. The present (1878) officers are Master, same; Overseer, E. A. Mumford; Lecturer, L. P. Barrows; Steward, same; Assistant Steward, J. C. Burton; Chaplain, Rev. G. H. Fairbanks; Secretary, Chas. H. Turner; Treasurer, same; Gate Keeper, same; Ceres, Mrs. L. P. Barrows; Pomona, same; Flora, same; Lady Assistant Steward, Mrs. J. C. Burton; Business Agent, W. G. Welch.

    While making note of secret societies, it may be proper to state that at this time (1878) there is in existence, in the United States, a secret political organization, known as the Order of American Union, its object being to mitigate, so far as possible, the evil influences of the Roman Catholic church. An effort is being made to establish a council of this order in Troy--with what success, remains to be seen.

    There have been, at different dates, divisions of Sons of Temperance, and lodges of Good Templars, in Troy, but all seems to have fulfilled their mission and have disbanded. In the temperance interest, a grand demonstration swept over the whole country, commencing in the winter of 1876-7, and was known as the "Murphy wave." In the spring of 1877 this wave reached Troy, and swept nearly the whole township, hundreds taking a temperance pledge, called the "Murphy card." A permanent organization was effected, and an executive committee was appointed, of which L. P. Barrows is permanent chairman, and S. L. Chapman and W. F. Fairbanks are secretaries. The following is a copy of the card:


    I, the undersigned, do Pledge my Word and Honor,

    To abstain from All Intoxicating Liquors as a beverage, and that I will, by all honorable means, encourage others to abstain.
    Francis Murphy.

    A portion of the Methodist Episcopal church, several years since, adopted a system of theology known as the "doctrine of holiness." In the winter of 1877-8, a son of one of the earlier preachers, Hiram Kellogg, Jr., organized and conducted a protracted meeting of this character, resulting in several conversions, and also of a profession, by some of the former members, of having attained to the "higher life," or, in other words, a "sanctified" life.

    In a business way, some changes have been wrought. J. E. Wales, in addition to his blacksmithing, furnishes his customers with everything needed in the

    644                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    way of hardware; also, a limited assortment of dry goods, groceries, paints, etc., etc., which are vended in a commodious building, erected for the purpose, on the northeast corner at the "center." Another blacksmith shop is also in operation, built and carried on by one Dwight Barber, late of Parkman.

    Our veteran disciple of "Tubal Cain" is Sidney Gould, who came here as an apprentice to Chester Lamb, in 1842. Although somewhat broken down, "Sid" is yet a peer among his craft.

    For the comfort of those who insure against lightning, let it be recorded that, thus far, -- although several buildings have been more or less damaged by lightning, but one has been burned. This one was a barn belonging to L. T. Bradley, and was burned during the night of July 3, 1872.

    In the way of public representation, we have yet other of Troy's good citizens to record, as incumbents of position.

    Of the Ohio State Board of Agriculture, D. L. Pope, esq., is an honored member, and at present is a member of the executive committee of the abovenamed board.

    We also furnish a successor to J. O. Worrallo, who, years ago, was dubbed the "watch dog of the treasury," in the person of Simeon L. Chapman, who is at present in charge of that department at Chardon. Likewise, D. H. Truman, who, at the last county convention, was nominated for the office of county commissioner, and who, doubtless, will be elected.

    Rev. E. D. Taylor is also a member of the board of school examiners, a position which he has held for several years.

    It would seem proper to state in this connection that Troy furnishes one of the superintendents of public instruction for the city of Cleveland, in the person of Henry M. James, who commenced in that city in 1864, as a teacher and principal of a grammar school, and who has now risen to the position of first assistant superintendent.

    The census returns have been somewhat fluctuating, as the following, at the instance of Hon. A. G. Riddle, will show: In 1850, the population of Troy numbered one thousand, one hundred and sixty-four, in 1860 nine hundred and fifty, in 1870 eight hundred and thirty-two, of which latter number eighteen were of foreign birth, and two were colored. The returns, previous to 1850, were burned.

    The following tax duplicate, for the year 1817, shows the difference between "then and now" in that regard:

    	Horses. 	Cattle. 	Tax 		
    John Beals 	2 	1 	$70 	
    Jacob Burroughs 		1 	10 	
    Simon Burroughs 	2 	4 	1 00 	
    Simon Burroughs, jr 		1 	10 	
    John Colson 	1 	2 	40 	
    Elijah Ford 	1 	8 	$1 10
    John Nash 	1 	7 	1 00
    Alpheus Pierce 	1 	5 	80
    Harvey Pratt 		3 	30
    Jacob Welsh 	3 	5 	1 40

    At that date, all personal property, except horses and cattle, was exempt from taxation.

    Seven instances of self-destruction have occurred in Troy, as follows: July 1, 1850, Linus Burr, borrowed a rifle of a neighbor for the ostensible purpose of shooting woodchucks, and, repairing to a thicket, shot himself through the head. The cause was attributed to domestic infelicity.

    September 28, 1857, Sereno Percival ended his days in like manner. This tragedy occurred on Sunday morning. Mr. P. had dressed himself, ostensibly for church, when, suddenly seizing a rifle, he ran around to the north end of his house, and placing the muzzle to his head, blew out his brains. This deed was attributed in part to an unpleasantness which existed between himself and his brother Olney, and which was likely to culminate in a suit at law.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  645

    The next was Samuel Abrams, who was found suspended from the branch of a fallen tree. A sleet storm had fallen, and he was encased in ice when found. Appearance indicated that the limb had yielded to his weight more than he expected, and, in his desperation he had drawn up his feet, to make sure his attempt. This was on the twenty-third of November, 1858. The cause was supposed, from appearance, to be identical with that which prompted Mr. Burr -- domestic trouble.

    The next victim was a most estimable woman -- Mrs. George Fox. Long continued illness had rendered her morbidly despondent, and, although her friends had taken every precaution to avoid this catastrophe, she had managed to secrete a rope, and while left alone for a few moments, she seized the opportunity to fasten it to a hook in the ceiling overhead, and to act as her own executioner. She was discovered before life was extinct, but her work had been so thorough, that medical skill was of no avail, and she died on the following day -- March 25, 1868.

    Jacob A. Cutler came to his end in the same manner as did Mrs. Fox, and was impelled by the same cause. He had been an invalid from his youth, and had become imbued with the idea that he was burdensome to his brother, John, in whose family he had a long time lived. He, too, had secreted a rope, and, on the morning of June 17, 1874, while the men were busy about their chores, and the women with the preparation of breakfast, fastened one end to a post of his bedstead, the other around his own neck, and, to all appearance, rolled out of bed. When discovered, life was extinct. It was, indeed, a sad ending of a long, sad life; his age at death being fifty-two years.

    January 22, 1876, Emily, wife of Alson Mumford, died a raving maniac, which sad event so incessantly preyed upon the mind of the bereaved husband, that life became unendurable, and on the seventh of the following August, he blew the top of his own head entirely off, using a heavily-charged shot-gun for that purpose.

    The seventh tragedy, which was preceded by wife-murder, was very revolting in its character.

    The perpetrator, Leonard B. Stroud, seemed to be a veritable son of Ishmael, whose "hand was against every man's hand," and, as a legitimate consequence, the remainder of the passage was applicable to his case. Becoming angry with his third wife, with whom he was living, he wreaked his vengeance upon her, as is supposed, if not known, by administering poison to some stock, which she owned in her own right. This led to his arrest, and trial, and finally to a separation from his wife. Not yet, apparently, satisfied, he instituted suit for the recovery of certain household goods, coming from Cleveland, where he then resided for that purpose.

    In trying to effect a settlement with a step-son, he became additionally enraged, and repairing to the rsidence of the doomed wife, he called her to the road, on pretense of wanting food. This request she at once executed, and when within reach, she was seized by the infuriated man, and disemboweled with a butcher knife, which he had hitherto concealed.

    The act was immediately followed by self-immolation, cutting his own throat from ear to ear, with the same weapon. He lived about three hours after the deed was committed, and his victim lived till the following day. Their ages were respectively seventy-three and sixty-two years. This tragedy occurred April 18, 1878.

    Since February, 1876, thirty-two deaths have occurred, the greatest age being that of Riall Fisher, who was ninety-four, and the only one who had seen more than ninety years. The number between eighty and ninety was two, one of whom -- Widow Silvernail -- came to Troy in 1819, as Mrs. Kingsbury, and has

    646                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    ever since been identified as one of our staunch citizens. The number between seventy and eighty was six, and nearly all of them pioneers.

    It is a notable fact that three of this number died suddenly; one, however, -- Amos Burroughs -- preceded this date a little. He was found dead in his barn, January 14, 1876. The next was Deacon Luther Sanford, who fell from his bed a corpse on the evening of December 5, 1877, and, lastly, Chester Houghton, who, on the morning of August 24, 1878, went out to salt his cattle, and fell dead in the field. Mr. Houghton had, since 1836, been one of the chief supporters of the Methodist Episcopal church at the center, as had Deacon Sanford, of the Free-will Baptist church at Maple Grove.

    Mr. Burroughs came to this town when a lad, and had shared largely its honors. The number who died between the ages of sixty and seventy was two, one of whom--Mrs. M. James (Sally Barrows)--was a charter member of the Congregational church. Between the ages of fifty and sixty, four have died, among whom were J. P. Scott, and a woman whose maiden name was Sarepta Pool, both of whom came here in their youthful days; Mrs. Elizabeth Abell, who years ago was a prominent teacher,* and Mrs. Thomas Kimpton, who had been but a few years, comparatively, a resident of Troy. Between the ages of forty and fifty, none died within the above-named period, the remainder being of ages less than forty years. This includes the time to September 1, 1878.

    In the matter of music Troy is by no means deficient. For military music, two drummers are in our midst. Gardner Conant was drummer for the first company organized in "Welshfield," and Lewis Scott has a reputation county-wide. For instrumental music, other than military, Mr. J. E. (Ellison) Sperry is the oldest performer. His instrument is the violin, and, though considered at the present date somewhat "old fashioned," his music is both scientific and soul-stirring. Eugene Nash, grandson of Troy's first musician, known by the title of "Prof." has a talent of no ordinary merit, both as a performer and a vocalist. Miss Laverne Grover -- since Mrs. Moore -- daughter of the present Methodist preacher, has also a well-earned local reputation. As a vocalist, but few excel Mrs. J. E. Wales as a soprano, and Master Sherrier Wells, stepson of Rev. E. D. Taylor, is fast becoming an excellent performer, while Miss Rose Tilden (now Mrs. Cope) also excels at the piano.

    In the matter of pastimes, the games and recreations of "ye olden time" have passed into oblivion: such games as the old base ball, wrestling, running, local horse-racing, etc., etc. Now the popular games are the "national base ball," a game wherein both life and limb are in danger, and a game known as croquet, or "nigger billiards." This latter game is easily played, and so infatuating is it that some, whose estates are heavily encumbered with mortgage, have well-kept croquet grounds, while their crops have been hidden from view by a luxuriant growth of weeds.

    The settlement of the first farm in Troy has been duly chronicled. The last farm which was taken up an unbroken forest, is located one mile north from the center, and is part of the original "Welsh purchase." It was kept in possession of the Welsh heirs, or their representatives, till the year 1855, when William H. Scott became its owner, who at once proceeded to "clear it off." It is now one of the good farms of the township, and is still in Mr. Scott's possession.

    The first Sunday-school, organized by Rev. Luther Humphrey, and Deacon Rouse, of Cleveland, in 1816, and which elected Henry B. Davis superintendent,
    * It is a noteworthy fact that at the decease of Mrs. Abell, the family of which she was a member became extinct. She was married to B. F. Abell, May 20, 1841, and the issue of this marriage was a son and a daughter. John F., the son, died January 10, 1863, aged twenty; the daughter, Mary, died December 22, 1865, just previous to her anticipated marriage. B. F. died April 23, 1866, and the widow, Elizabeth, August 18, 1878, thus consigning the entire family to the limits of God's acre.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  647

    has been kept in operation -- with but short intermissions -- up to the present date. It is now a "Union" Sunday-school, with Rev. George H. Fairbanks as superintendent; J. W. Fox, Jr., assistant; Darius Nash, secretary; W. G. Welch, treasurer; B. H. Pratt, librarian.

    As to railroads, several have crossed our domain, on paper. The first, and, thus far, the only one, upon which work was actually done, was the "Clinton Line," which was commenced in 1852, and the road-bed made nearly ready for the superstructure, when the company failed. The work was abandoned, and still remains as it was then left. Other surveys for different roads have, from time to time, been made, but, as yet, that is all that has been done.

    Our mail facilities are ample. A daily mail ronte, know as the "Burton and Garrettsville," connecting the Painesville & Youngstown railroad at Burton, with the Atlantic & Great Western railway, at Garrettsville, delivers mail at our post-office twice each day, and also such express matter as comes over the said roads.

    In 1819, a conclave of Masons, coming from far and near, met at the house of Jacob Welsh, who was a member of the fraternity. Our narrator, Mrs. Chester Nash, who was then a little girl, living at Mr. Welsh's, says that the "brethren" became quite hilarious during their sojourn.

    In this connection, it may be proper to state, that though Masons and Odd Fellows are somewhat numerous in our community, there is no lodge of either society in Troy. The Odd Fellows affiliate with the lodge at Auburn, and the "Free and Accepted" with the lodges at Burton and Parkman.

    In addition to the ordinary industries, a new one was introduced in 1878, known as the "stave business." The Standard Oil Company, of Cleveland, needed staves, and sent emissaries far and near to secure oak timber, suitable for their manufacture. Troy, being well supplied with this variety, was invaded by stave seekers, and a large quantity of timber was secured, much to the after chagrin of the owners thereof. The staves did not "pan out" in quantities at all lucrative.

    At present no schools are supported at public expense, except the ordinary common schools, known as "District" schools. At Maple Grove, Mr. B. F. Prichard, sometimes succeeds in organizing a select school at his own private instance. The township is divided into eight sub-districts, each of which is provided with a good, substantial school-house, and the grade of teachers employed as good as the community affords, which, to say the least, is good.

    The statement, made in preceding pages, that Troy is an unhappy place for disciples of "Hippocrates" to settle in, still holds good. In the winter of 1866-7, a man who subscribed himself as "A. M. Ross, M. D.," took up his abode in our midst, but after enduring "all the ills that flesh is heir to," left in disgust, before the expiration of eighteen months.

    It may be proper here to state, that the first physician who attempted to locate here, was one Dr. Stevens, who came in 1834, and staid three or four months, boarding in the family of A. J. Nash, but becoming dissatisfied, took up his abode at Cuyahoga Rapids, where he practiced his profession several years, from which place he removed to Windsor, Ashtabula county, where he continues to reside.

    Since the days of "Old Searcher," and his descendant, "Champion," fast horses have not been indulged in, as an exclusive business, to any extent, while in fine cattle, the strains are constantly improving -- thoroughbreds being by no means unusual, as is also the case with sheep and swine. At present long wooled sheep have the preference, and among swine, the "Magie," or "Poland China," is the general favorite. "Hen fever" sometimes rages, but scarcely ever proves fatal. At this era, the "Silver Spangled Hamburg" is a popular

    648                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    breed of poultry. The old fashioned "Dung Hill," like the "Scrub," has become a thing of the past.

    There has never been any banking institution within our borders, yet we rejoice in the fact, that a bank president is in our midst -- in the person of W. C. Thrasher, president of the First National bank, at Garrettsville.

    Several attempts have, from time to time, been made to organize a cornet band, all of which have failed, owing in part, in every instance, to lack of agreement in the choice of a leader.

    In 1875, there were twenty-five additions to the mortuary record -- the greatest number, thus far, in any one year. Among this number, were several who had "borne the burden and heat of the day" in the earlier settlement of the township, to-wit: Mrs. B. S. (Aunt Orinda) Hosmer, Spencer Barrows, Samuel Satterlee, Isaac Speer, and Mrs. James Fairbanks.

    Our criminal record is not very extended. Since the "Reddout" burglary of 1844, Troy had enjoyed comparative security from that class of criminals, up to 1868, when the house of Solomon Wells was forcibly entered during the night time, and part of the inmates chloroformed. The remaining part were aroused, when the would-be thief hastily escaped through an open window, leaving his pants in the clutches of Mr. Wells, who had taken in the situation, and had seized him by the aforementioned "unmentionables" as he passed out. Mr. Wells at once mounted his horse, and roused the community, but the fugitive made good his escape.

    A similar raid was made on the house of George Fox, at the Center, on the night of September 16, 1876. In this instance, the maurauders -- there were two -- entered, as at Mr. Wells', through an open window; but instead of using chloroform, they belabored Mr. and Mrs. Fox, who were sound asleep, with a stick of stove wood. Mr. F. took umbrage at this treatment and hastily arose, when the assaulting party beat a retreat, leaving behind both boots, and implements for securing the persons of their intended victim. Although the villagers were aroused, and a scrutinizing search was made, the would-be robbers made good their escape. Robbery was, in both instanccs, undoubtedly the object.

    In this connection, it may be proper to record, that we have a representative in Columbus, in the person of one Ed. Silver, whose weakness in this intsance was "butter," which was purloined from the premises of Betsy Davis, a maiden farmer, living a mile north from Maple Grove. In addition to this, while in jail at Chardon, he engaged in an assault on the Sheriff, Silo P. Warriner, and with others, effected his escape, but was some time after recaptured and sentenced to five years' incarceration.

    During the war of 1861-5, the ladies of Troy improvised a stand of colors, from material other than regulation "bunting." At the "Bunker Hill" celebration in 1876, this flag was nailed to the belfry of the Congregational Church, where it was rent in tatters by the wind. In the spring of 1878, the trustees of the township purchased a "regulation" flag, to replace the one destroyed. This flag cost $17.50.

    Probably, the closest political contest, in Troy, was at the gubernatorial election in October, 1877, at which time nearly all the voters were at the polls. The vote stood: for Richard M. Bishop (Democrat) 40; for W. H. West (Republican) 156.

    For several years past, the hearse, which was purchased by Mr. Pratt, has been discarded, as a vehicle quite too antiquated. For a time, Parkman and Hiram were drawn on as occasion required, but at present, Mr. E. J. Slitor, of Burton, who keeps an undertaking establishment, including a hearse, which cost not far from one thousand dollars, is nearly always called on to supply this

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  649

    need. Those of our citizens who attended the burial of Reed Burroughs, in 1813, will, doubtless, observe a marked contrast between then and now, in this regard.

    Luther Chapman and Anna Sawyer daughter of Thomas Sawyer, were married, by Rev. John Barrett February 14, 1830. They at once took possession of the homestead where they now live, for the first eight years occupying a small cabin, which was located where the cheese-factory "parsonage" now stands, when they built the house where they at present reside.* This is the oldest couple now living, who were married in the township of Welshfield.

    Osman Beals and Marcia Evarts were married December 16, 1836. Both are yet living, and are the oldest couple who were married in the township of Troy.

    There are fourteen persons now living in Troy, who have seen four score years. Samuel Knight and Richard V. Sliter are 89; Mrs. Charlotte Durfee, † 88; Deacon Ziba Pool, † 86; Isaac Scott, 86; Benjamin Hosmer, 84; Robert Ledwell, 84; Augustus Lane, Dolly Pool, Betsey Barrows, and Mary Packard, 83; Widow Norton (once Parsons), 82; Luther Chapman and Ruth Keyes, 80. Of those who have passed "three-score-and-ten" the number is twenty-nine. Of these, Sabrina Burroughs, Deacon Ziba Harrington, and Nancy Steele are 78; Mrs. Content Reed, Widow Wm. Mumford, Widow Samuel Satterlee, and Osman Beals are 77; Peter Davis, 76; Elijah Dean, 75; Mrs. Ziba Pool, 77; Galen Lamb, 75; Deacon E. B. Turner, † 75; Norman Burgess, 74; Lewis F. Scott and Mrs. Welthia Weston, 73; Mrs. Emily Pike, Mrs. Peter Davis, Mrs. Samuel Knight, and Seth Burton, 72; Laura Scott (Mrs. L. F.) and Mrs. E. B. Turner, 71; Orrin Lamb, 71; Clark Vaughn, Adorno Blood, John Nash, Mrs. Henry Luce, † Thomas Scott, Nelson Bentley, Mrs. Luther Chapman and James Hoxter, 70.

    Floating on the borders of seventy years are William Tinkham, Wilkins Fox, Widow Caroline Nash, Horace Hotchkiss, Widow Caroline Houghton; Widow Luther Sanford, Gardner Conant, Samuel Cooper, Alex. Mumford, William Starin, Widow Lydia Wood, and quite probably others, who might be reckoned among the settlers of Troy.

    The Methodist Epicopal church has held its annual conference, and Rev. J. B. Grover, ‡ has been returned to this charge for the years 1878-79. The Ohio Agricultural society has held its annual session, for 1878, and D. L. Pope & Son have received the first premium ** for best display of cheese. The Geauga County Agricultural society has held its annual fair for 1878, at which one hundred dollars premium was offered for the best played game of base ball, while the munifiicent sum of six dollars premium was offered for the best display of work oxen -- Troy being equally interested with other townships in the result.

    The october election has been held, and our townsman, D. H. Truman, was elected to the office of county commissioner, and J. F. Nash, was elected as his own successor to the office of justice of the peace.
    * Note -- The golden wedding anniversary of Mr. and Mrs. Chapman's marriage occurred February 14, 1880, and, had it not been for the severe indisposition of one of the older children, would have been duly celebrated. The children comprise five daughters and one son, all of whom are living within easy reach of the homestead.

    † Since deceased.

    ‡ Since the above was written the session for 1879 has been held, and Rev. Henry J. Hunscher has been sent to succeed Mr. Grover.

    ** In 1877, D. L. Pope & Son received the first premium on all dairy products. (See Ohio Agricultural report for 1877, page 109). In 1878, this firm received the first premium on factory cheese. (See Ohio Agricultural report for 1878, page 136). In 1879, they were equally successful. At the Northern Ohio fair, held at Cleveland, September, 1879, Delos Mumford received the first premium, for best display of Devon cattle.

    650                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    For the last two years our townsman, E. P. Latham has held the office of president of the Geauga County Agricultural society.

    The oldest resident of Troy, who is "native, and to the manor born," is Mrs. N. M. Olds, born March 1, 1817, while the oldest voter, of the same description, is Byron H. Pratt, who is seven years her junior, and was born July 17, 1824.

    Probably no one clergyman has officiated at as many burials in this township as has Rev. Hiram Kellogg, his years of ministration as a "circuit" preacher having been no less than five, while his popularity is such that, before failing health compelled him to decline, his good offices were often called for, long after he had retired from active duty as a "watchman on the walls of Zion." Those who have heard him sing the hymn commencing

    "My latest sun is sinking fast,
    My race is almost run,"

    will not be likely soon to forget it.

    Of the original Welsh family, two descendants -- brothers -- yet remain in Troy. John Welsh, son of Captain John Welsh, who was brought here an infant, now lives one half mile north from the center. He has four sons, one of whom bears the family name of "John." The other, William G. Welch,* was born here. He lives a short distance south from the center, on a fraction of the original homestead. In his case, the family name does not bid fair to be handed down. Yet another disciple of AEsculapius, H. M. Fenton by name, formerly from Bristol, Trumbull county, has had the temerity to set up practice in our midst; with what result, time alone will disclose.

    Grave robbery, by Ohio medical students, has of late been carried on to such an extent as to prompt the State legislature to enact a law permitting townships to build receiving vaults, if a majority of voters consent to be taxed for that purpose. At the township election, held April 7, 1879, this measure was carried by a large majority. The vault was to cost, not to exceed one thousand, three hundred dollars.

    In accordance with the above decision of the township, the trustees advertised for sealed proposals to built the said vault, after a specified plan, designed by Guy Tilden, esq., of Cleveland. Three proposals were offered. These proposals were opened July 31, 1879, when the lowest bid was found to be the sum of one thousand, one hundred and fifty-four dollars and seventy-five cents. This bid was accepted, and the vault was built. Changes in the original plan increased the total cost (including Mr. Tilden's bill of twenty-five dollars) to one thousand, two hundred and sixty. This vault was finished December 11, 1879, and was first occupied by the remains of Emily, wife of Benjamin Cooper, which was deposited therein January 2, 1880. The cemetery grounds have also been improved by extensive draining and grading. A new fence, in course of construction, together with a substantial stone pavement from the front gate to the vault door, will make an aggregate expenditure of nearly two thousand dollars.

    The mortuary record discloses the fact that, including old and young, six hundred and fifty-six of Troy's inhabitants have "paid the debt of nature." The last name on this list is that of Deacon Edward B. Turner, whose death occurred April 22, 1879. Like that of his neighbor, Deacon Sanford, his death was without any premonition. He was visiting a daughter living in Chester, this county, and retired at night, feeling unusually well. Before morning he awakened Mrs. Turner, with the complaint that he felt badly, when she at once aroused the household, who had scarcely time to comprehend the situation before he was dead. The remains were brought back to Troy, and the funeral services held at the
    * Since removed to Newton, Kansas.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  651

    homestead, Rev. G. H. Fairbanks officiating. Deacon Turner was one of the few, whose Christian practice corresponded with his profession.

    As great a loss as Troy has ever been called upon to sustain, in the death of its citizens, occurred on the nineteenth of December, 1878, at which date Rev. E. D. Taylor died. His decease was almost simultaneous with that of Bayard Taylor, then Minister to Berlin. Perhaps no man ever took up his residence within the boundaries of this township, in whose case the original verdict of the people at large was afterward more completely reversed than in that of Mr. Taylor. He first came here, a widower, in January, 1873, and took rooms in a private house. These rooms he almost constantly kept, except when called away to attend to his pastoral duties, or to the post-office after his mail, and the consequence was a verdict, "straight laced," was rendered. It remained for his second wife, formerly widow of Edgar Wells, of Claridon, to dispel this illusion. They were married in September, 1874, and as soon thereafter as practicable, they arranged a household of their own. Mrs. Taylor was eminently social in temperament, and this fact soon caused a marked change in the opinion of people concerning himself. What had been considered superciliousness was discovered to be its exact opposite -- innate diffidence. With his wife for a needed auxiliary, this was, in a great measure, dispelled, and it was not long until Mr. Taylor was considered one of the choice citizens of the township. An eminent Methodist preacher once said, that "the class meeting was the spiritual thermometer of the church." It is equally true that the "donation visit" is an index of the estimation in which the recipient thereof is held. An appointment of this character, at the house of Mr. Taylor, never met with a cold response, either in numbers, or in contributions. His happiest efforts -- if happiest is an appropriate adjective -- as a pastor, were at the burial of a child, for it was then that all the finer sympathies of his nature were aroused. Those parents, whose children he has assisted in laying away in "God's acre," will long remember his choked utterances, when referring to their own bereavement.

    In January, 1878, Mr. Taylor came in temporary possession of a piece of land, which made him legitimately eligible for admission into the order of Patrons of Husbandry. His application, and also that of Mrs. Taylor, were soon after made for admission into Welshfield grange. Of course they were received.

    At his death, a committee was appointed to draft resolutions expressing the sentiment of the grange, in its bereavement. The following resolutions, to which are appended the names of the committee, were adopted:

    "WHEREAS, Our most worthy Brother, Rev. E. D. Taylor, was, on the nineteenth of December, 1878, called from his labor among his brethren, and has gone 'over the River;' therefore,

    "Resolved, That we tender to our esteemed sister, Mrs. F. E. Taylor, widow of deceased, and our esteemed sister, Mrs. Anna T. Treat, daughter of deceased, and to each and all of the relatives, our fullest sympathy in this their hour of affliction and sorrow. That we sympathize with the Christian church, in its having lost a true and faithful pastor and worker, and with the public generally in its having lost a true man and a good citizen; and we here add our testimony to that universally expressed by all; that in Brother Taylor did we recognize in an eminent degree, those qualities of character that go to make the Christian gentleman. Surely, our loss is great! Who is able to wear his mantle?

    "We live in a world of mutation and decay, and yet in the world of change and death, there are principles of eternal truth and right, to which men may fasten themselves and share their immortality. This our worthy Creator has done. The brute creation have no power to help themselves or their successors up in the scale of being, but men may enrich their children with the result of their lives. It is the privilege of each succeeding generation to be better, know more and live on a higher plane, than the question preceding. Brother Taylor has helped his race upward, and has enriched us with the value of an exemplary and noble life. Not only do we owe him a debt of gratitude, but generations yet to come will, as the years roll by, "rise up and call him blessed."

    "Resolved, That these resolutions been grossed upon the records of the grange. A copy presented to our sister, Florence E. Taylor, a and copy furnished for publication to the Geauga Republican--Burton, Leader -- Garrettsville Journal -- Grange Bulletin and Live Patron,

    "E. G. CORLISS, |
    "L. P. BARROWS, | Committee."
    "G. H. FAIRBANKS, |

    652                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    The death of Mr. Taylor left the pulpit of the Congregational society again vacant, and Rev. George H. Fairbanks was retained, to temporarily supply the vacancy.

    Mr. Fairbanks, although a member of the Methodist Episcopal denomination, had not for some time, if ever, subscribed heartily to many of its tenets, and early in, 1879, he asked to be absolved from that connection, which request was granted. Soon after, he applied for membership in the Congregational church, and was received.

    At a session of Plymouth Rock conference, held in Burton, in April of same year, he received ordination, and is now (1879) regularly supplying the pulpit of the society here.

    In our cemeteries repose the remains of six Revolutionary soldiers. (See roster.)* Of the war of 1812, nine have gone home. (See roster.) Two veterans of 1812 are yet living in Troy -- Isaac Scott and Richard V. Slitor.

    Of the war of the Rebellion--Chauncey Lane is buried in the northeast cemetery; Edward Wells, in the Mumford cemetery; Harlan Warner, at Maple Grove; Monroe Nash, Andrew Pool, Avery Patterson, and Wilson Green, in in the center grounds; Chester Hoard, and Volney Sperry are buried just across the township line, in Burton.

    An attempt to arrange and classify the list of postmasters and justices of the peace, according to the time and term of holding their respective offices, has proved a partial failure, as access to the proper records is, in some cases, difficult to obtain. The first magistrate, as has been noticed, was elected in 1817. This was John Nash, sr. He served till 1832 -- five terms -- and was then succeeded by Alvord Beals, and he by Jacob Burroughs. In 1832, the population had become sufficiently numerous to require two magistrates, one of whom -- Joseph Doolittle -- resided across the river. He was first elected in October, 1832, again in October, 1835, and again in October, 1838, but removed to a purchase north from the center the year following, when Joseph Nash, sr., was elected to fill the vacancy, in April, 1839, serving one term. Lewis S. Pope succeeded Nash in April, 1842, also serving one term. At the same time Joseph Doolittle again served, and was in office at the time of the "Reddout" burglary. Cyrus McLouth succeeded L. S. Pope in April, 1845, served two years, resigned, and was succeeded by Lyman Truman, in April, 1847, who served one term. At about the same date B. F. Abell held the office, and also Orrin Nash. Joseph Patch was elected to succeed Lyman Truman, but resigned soon after he was commissioned. William F. Pratt succeeded B. F. Abell, serving till the spring of 1858, when N. E. Scott was elected, who served one term. C. G. Hayes was elected in April, 1861, and again in 1864, but removed to Auburn, before his second term expired. L. P. Scott succeeded his brother, N. E. Scott. D. L. Pope was elected to succeed C. G. Hayes, in October, 1865, and served two terms. L. P. Barrows was elected to succeed L. P. Scott, and served one term, commencing November 10, 1867, when he was succeeded by B. F. Lilly, who died during his second term. S. J. Esty was then elected, and has since held the office. Joseph F. Nash was elected October 17, 1872, and is now serving his third term, which expires October 14, 1881.

    The custodians of the post-office have been nearly as follows: At the establishment of the office here, in 1836, Alden J. Nash was commissioned postmaster,
    * The death of Captain Hopkins was the first which occurred after the cemetery was removed from the center to its present location; consequently, he was the first to be buried in that ground. He was father to a somewhat numerous family, among them were Rev. Josiah Hopkins, D. D., who, for a time, was a citizen of Troy; also, Bradley Hopkins, Mrs. Horace and Leonard Lamson, Mrs. Alba Tinkham, and Mrs. Joseph Durfee, besides five others who never had their homes here. He was captured by the Indians soon after he enlisted, and was held a prisoner nearly two years, suffering incredible hardships at their hands. His grandchildren are numerous.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  653

    which office he held till 1845, when he was succeeded by Joseph Durfee, who held the office four years. He was, in turn, succeeded by Phidelus Pool in 1849, who was custodian of the keys, till John Mayhew came in possession of the store, when the commission was bestowed upon him. This, Mr. Mayhew held, till his removal to Auburn Corners, when Mr. Pool was reinstated. Later, Mr. Pool removed to Wisconsin, and William F. Pratt received the appointment, and he, in turn, was succeeded by B. H. Heath. After a time, Mr. H. was removed, and F. A. Clary became the incumbent, and the office was again established in the store -- then the property of L. Dalrymple. Mr. D. removed to Chagrin Falls, accompanied by Mr. Clary, when Luther P. Scott became postmaster. Mr. Clary returned from the Falls, and about the same time Mr. S. entered the employ of D. L. Pope, when Mr. C. again assumed the office, holding it till S. B. Evans became possessor of the store property, when the commission was transferred to him.

    In 1875, Mr. Evans sold to H. Kellogg & Son, since which time S. W. Kellogg -- the "son" -- has been custodian of the United States mails at the "Welshfield" post-office. Mr. K. has also held the keys of the township treasury for an equal length of time.

    The township cemeteries -- of which there are five -- had for a long time been sadly neglected. In 1875, the township trustees put the "Mumford" cemetery in good condition; also, the one at Maple Grove, about the same time. In the spring of 1879, the cemetery at the Center underwent extensive improvements in the form of under-draining and grading. The evergreen trees also received a severe pruning. The other two cemeteries are, as yet, neglected. There is a strong objection in the minds of many, to the location of the grounds at the Centre, some of whom have secured burial lots at Auburn Corners and elsewhere.

    It is a well-known fact, that the rule followed by pioneer settlers of a timbered country, with regard to building, was first: the log cabin; next, the "hovel," followed by the permanent barn, and lastly, when circumstances and inclination dictated, the permanent house was built, subject, of course, to occasional additions.

    To this rule there is, at least, one exception in Troy. Jason Burnell's cabin was followed very shortly by an unpretending frame structure, covered with undressed siding, and long or "shake" shingles. He made no further improvements in house building.

    When Messrs. Williams, of Parkman, came in possession of the premises, was at once re-constructed, and became a dairy farm. The house, not being convenient for dairy purposes, was torn away, and a neat, substantial one occupied its place, which, together with the farm, was rented to Henry Luce for a long term of years, afterwards to others.

    In 1864-5, D. C. Tilden purchased the property, and soon made a radical change in the structure of the house, and afterward of the barns. The house, as Mr. T. had arranged it, answered his purpose till the season of 1878, when he removed nearly all of the former domicile, and in its place, erected the most elaborate frame dwelling in the township.

    In only one instance has the indispensible cabin been dispensed with. When William Scott took possession of his present farm, which, at the time, was a forest -- he bought a shoe-shop standing a half mile east from the Center, and moved it on his purchase, and which served for a dwelling till his present house was built.

    There is no landed monopoly in Troy. There are not to exceed half-a-dozen persons which have each an area of a half section of land. Among the larger farms, is that of D. L. Pope, containing three hundred and sixty-five acres;

    654                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    that of D. C. Tilden, containing three hundred and fifty-five acres; and that of H. L. Hosmer, containing three hundred and fifty acres.

    Forty years ago, a large proportion of the inhabitants of Troy were pioneers, living on land which they had "taken up" and partially reclaimed from a dense, unbroken forest. Now (October, 1879,) the number of those who reside on their pioneer possessions is reduced to five.

    Soon after attaining his majority, Wilkins (J. W.) Fox became the owner of a tract of land located on section twenty-two, the title deed to which he still retains. He has now a well-improved "homestead" of two hundred and fifty-three acres.

    In 1828, Luther Chapman bought of one Levi Gilkie the farm on which he now lives, Gilkie having made but little improvement.

    In 1832, Lewis F. Scott purchased a piece of "wild land" of Horace Lamson, located on section eight. Now, although not containing as many acres as some, it can -- in point of fertility -- put to shame more than one farm in Troy, that boasts of a far greater area.

    In 1833, Benjamin Hosmer located on section one, and, after three years improvement, including the building of a frame barn, he sold the premises to William Dunn, and purchased about two hundred acres of land located on sections twelve and thirteen. Then it was an entire wilderness. Now it is one of the most desirable locations in the township.

    The other is Horace Hotchkiss.* He also came in 1833, and purchased a part of the northwest quarter of section eight, then known as the "Mead" Section. He obtained this land of one Francis James, who had done no more than to collect material wherewith to commence the body of a log house, but, before this was raised, Mr. H. made the purchase, and finished the cabin himself. This farm, he has ever since owned and occupied.

    Delos and Alex. Mumford also came in possession of their homesteads, when but little if any improvements had been made on them.

    Forty years ago, a large proportion of the inhabitants of Troy were dwellers in primitive log houses. Now there are but two houses of this description in the township, which are occupied as dwellings.

    Widow Esther Corlett owns and occupies one of these, which is located in the north part of section twenty-five. Its "cosy" appearance, covered, as it is, with a profusion of running vines, makes it the admiration of many who live in more pretentious domiciles.

    The other, which has a comfortable frame attachment, is on the original Benjamin Kingsbury purchase, and is now the property of S. W. Latham.

    Forty years ago, new-comers depended largely on the "Welsh Marsh" for their first winter's forage, as well as for pasture during the summer. To obtain this forage, they were compelled to mow the grass -- as best they might -- among the fallen logs, dead trees, and alder, and dog-wood bushes. When cured, the hay was raked with hand rakes, and cocked; then allowed to stand till it became compact, after which it was carried to the hard land by means of "hay poles." To accomplish this, two slender poles, each about ten feet in length, were called into requisition. These were thrust under the hay-cocks, when a man at each end could carry the hay, -- either to a wagon, then in waiting to take the forage home; or to a spot selected whereon to build a stack, to be moved home the following winter.

    Now -- since this land has come in possession of the Messrs. Pope -- a great improvement is manifest. These logs, trees, and bushes, have all disappeared,
    * Note. Mr. Hotchkiss died October 15th--a few days after the above was written. He was respected as a man of spotless integrity.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  655

    and a judicious system of ditches cut through to the river. The grass is mowed with a machine, raked with a horse-rake, and hauled on wagons as successfully as on highland meadows.

    Troy has not been specially noted for the number or variety of venomous beasts, or reptiles, or of natural curiosities found within its borders. Among the latter, was a petrified black snake found by Lewis A. Burroughs, in a solid rock on Sugar-loaf hill. Shape and color of snake quite perfect. C. G. Canfield found another similar to the one found by Mr. Burroughs, near where the river crosses the south line of the township. This, too, was found in the solid rock. While Thomas Sawyer was yet living in Troy, one of his sons found and killed a yellow rattlesnake, near where John Nash, the younger, now lives. The snake, which was six feet, eight inches in length, was skinned, and the skin filled with bran, requiring a peck of the same to fill it.

    The surface of this domain was originally covered with a dense growth of excellent timber, the predominating variety being white oak, with a generous allowance of chestnut, maple, hickory, ash, beech, and, on some sections, whitewood and cucumber, with inferior varieties in abundance. Maple sugar is manufactured to some extent.

    The surface of this township, when compared with that of other townships in Geauga county, is level; with an average altitude of about six hundred and fifty feet above Lake Erie.

    "Sugar-loaf" on section two is by far the most prominent elevation. Another, but much smaller, -- known by the primitive hunters as "Poplar Hill" -- is on the dividing line between sections fourteen and fifteen; the "Welsh Hill," at, and immediately west from, the center; another, on section sixteen, in which the "coal mine" is located; and yet another on section twenty-five, near the summit of which the dwelling of Eri Farr is located, but all these, excepting the Sugar-loaf, are cultivated without serious difficulty.

    The remainder of the township is pleasantly undulating.

    Troy is tolerably well watered. The principal stream is the Cuyahoga river, which flows through the township from north to south, passing nearly the whole distance through the fourth range of sections. This stream, the current of which is very sluggish, is bordered nearly the whole distance with more or less extensive marshes, and its annual overflow makes their future reclamation a matter of doubt.

    Besides the Cuyahoga, there are several smaller streams, one of which Bridge, creek enters from Auburn township, near the southwest corner of section twenty-two, flowing northwesterly, and discharging its waters into the Cuyahoga, near the middle of section twenty.

    Black brook enters this township from Auburn, near the southern line, and flowing eastward, is lost in the Cuyahoga, after crossing section twenty-five, and a portion of section sixteen.

    Spring brook rises at a bountiful spring on section eleven, and flows westward into the Cuyahoga.

    Mile brook has its rise on section ten, crossing section twelve, and a portion of section nineteen when it also pays tribute to the Cuyahoga.

    Half Mile brook has its source on section twelve, crossing which, and also a portion of section eighteen, empties into the Cuyahoga.

    Sawyer brook begins its course on section three, and, after traversing a portion of sections three, eight, fourteen, and seventeen, is lost in the same river.

    Silver creek takes its rise on section four, traverses sections four, seven, and six, when it passes into Hiram, Portage county, and helps to form the stream on which Garrettsville is situated.

    A small stream -- nameless -- has its origin on section four, which, after meandering

    656                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    through a large portion of section five, enters the township of Parkman, where it discharges into Grand river.

    There is also a similar rivulet on section one, which crosses into Burton, where it is known as "Rocky run."

    Punderson creek -- an outlet of Punderson pond in Newbury -- flows into a small pond, located near the northeast corner of section twenty-one. From this pond, a small stream traverses a portion of section twenty, emptying into Bridge creek.

    In addition to the above-described water courses, springs are interspersed throughout the township, but few farms being destitute of one or the other.

    The state election -- held October 14, 1879, -- was, if possible, more spirited than that of 1877. At the election just held, Foster (Republican) received two hundred votes, and Ewing (Democrat) received thirty-seven votes. One ballot was rejected, two ballots being folded together. At this election, S. L. Chapman was re-elected county treasurer, and J. G. Durfee was again elected coroner.

    At the commencement of each decade, an assessment of real estate is made, the person performing this duty being denominated a "real estate assessor." In 1860, Solomon Wells was the incumbent of this office; in 1870, S. J. Esty; at the October election of 1879, the writer was elected to perform this duty for the coming decade.

    At the annual election of the "State Board of Agriculture," for 1880, the office of treasurer was conferred upon D. L. Pope.

    The "Troy Hotel" -- D. M. Marcy, proprietor, -- is a commodious building, having a front of twenty-five by sixty feet, with an equal amount of room in the rear. In the capacity of hotel keeper, "Mit." stands a peer. The reputation of his table is such that commercial travelers make it a point to "stop" with him, whenever it is practicable for them to do so.



    DATE. 		Y'RS. 	MO'S.
    1813--July 2, 	Reed, son of Mr. and Mrs. Simom Burroughs, Jr., 	5
    1814--Dec. 5, 	Edwin, infant son of John and Polly Nash,
    1817--Aug. 20, 	Bradley Bromley, 	25
    " " 	Theodore Dowdy, 	20
    " 	Infant child of Mr. and Mrs. Flavel Sawyer.
    1818--May 13, 	Philancia, twin daughter of John and Polly Nash, 	1 	2
    1821--Dec. 20, 	Nathaniel White, 	17
    1822--April 19, 	Jacob Welsh, pioneer, 	67
    Mar. 22, 	Thankful, wife of Nathaniel Weston, 	50
    Oct. 31, 	John Hitchcock, 	76
    1823--Aug. 30, 	Child of Amos and Sabrina Burroughs,
    Oct. 5, 	Mary, widow of Jacob Welsh, 	40
    	Gideon Hill, 	37
    1824--Feb. 26, 	Child of Nathaniel and Clarissa Colson, 	1 	5
    April 24, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Alvord Beals, 	2
    1825--Aug. 7, 	Wife of Daniel Pratt, 	56
    Sept. 24, 	Ebenezer Williams, 	75
    Mar. 30, 	Elvena, child of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Nash, 		10
    1826--Aug. 1, 	Julia A., daughter of John and Polly Nash, 	1 	7
    Sept. 15, 	Simon Burroughs, Jr., pioneer, 	68
    Aug. 22, 	Child of Amos and Sabrina Burroughs, 	2


                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  657

    Oct. 5, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas R. Mumford, 	4
    " 30, 	William Russell, 	10
    1827--Sept. 15, 	Benjamin Pettis, 	40
    " 13, 	Child of Elijah and Welthia Weston, 		10
    " 20, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Alvord Beals, 	6
    " 24, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. John Walden, 	1
    1828--Aug. 6, 	Lucy, wife of Captain John Welsh, 	39
    	Sylvester Bentley,
    	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Hildreth,
    1829-- 	" " " Samuel C. Lewis,
    1831--Aug. 12, 	" " " Alvord Beals,
    Nov. 1, 	" " " John W. Pierce,
    	" " " David Thomas
    	" " " Bingham,
    	" Betsey Conrad, 	3
    	Elmira Webster,
    1332--June 20, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Jason Burnell, 	3
    July 18, 	Mercy, wife of John W. Pierce, 	30
    " 16, 	Child of Harvey and Amy Pratt, 	1 	4
    Sept. 6, 	Harvey Pratt, pioneer, 	40
    Oct. 5, 	"Mart" Stillman,
    Nov. 5, 	Wife of Friend Dayton. 	64
    1833--Aug. 13, 	Mr. ______ Mott, 	78
    Sept. 26, 	Simon Burroughs, sr., pioneer, 	82
    Oct. 12, 	Caroline Spalding, 	2
    " 30, 	Mr. ______ Williams, 	82
    Nov. 1, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. James Percival. 		10
    1834--Sept. 2, 	Julia O. Smith, 	8
    " 13, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Wyram Williams, 	1 	6
    	" " " Orson Sawyer, 	1
    	" " " ______ Langdon
    1835--Eeb. 1, 	" Prentice and Jedidah Reed, 		5
    Mar. 15, 	Wife of John Colson, 	61
    April 1, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Norman Burgess, 	2
    " 3, 	Maria, wife of Norman Burgess, 	27
    June 27, 	Polly, wife of John Nash, sr., 	57
    " 30, 	Ira A. Hickok, 	50
    July 30, 	Mr. ______ Collins, 	55
    Sept. 22, 	Wife of Samuel Crittenden, 	59
    1836--Jan'y 18, 	Electa, wife of Eri Conant, 	35
    Eeb. 2, 	Child of Ezekiel and Lois Lamson, 		6
    Mar. 2, 	" Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Sawyer, 	4
    May 31, 	" " " Jacob Odell, 	3
    Nov. 28, 	Wife of Daniel Basam, 	31
    Dec. 25, 	Nathaniel Weston, 	70
    " 27, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. James Percival, 	2
    1837--Jan'y 3, 	Richard Pierce, 	40
    " 7, 	Lorenzo Nash, 		9
    " 22, 	Eri Conant, 	35
    Feb. 3, 	Miriam, wife of Oliver Pool, 	47
    " 7, 	George Mumford, 	83
    Mar. 3, 	Enoch Slitor, 	45
    May 25, 	Miranda Pierce, 	14
    June 8, 	Child of E. B. and Eunice Turner, 		9
    " 27, 	" Mr. and Mrs. Sereno Percival, 	1
    Sept. 2, 	" Huldah Paul, 		6
    	" Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Satterlee,
    1838--Feb. 21, 	" " " James Hoxter, 	2
    " 25, 	Benedict Alford, sr., rev. soldier, 	82
    Mar. 8, 	Jephthah Pool, rev. soldier, 	87
    May 9, 	Hopkins Doolittle, 	17
    " 25, 	Mr. ______ Gale, 	65
    	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Spencer Wadsworth, 	1
    July 16, 	Ebenezer Hopkins, rev. soldier, 	77
    " 20, 	Child of Amos and Sabrina Burroughs, 		3
    Sept. 5, 	Sophia, wife of Nathaniel Olds, 	48
    Nov. 4, 	Child of Adorus and Sally Davis, 	4
    " 8, 	" " " " 	1
    1839--Jan'y 16, 	Infant child of A. C. and Margaret Doolittle,
    Feb. 8, 	Clarinda, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Green, 		8
    " 16, 	Benjamin Kingsbury, pioneer, 	56
    April 20, 	Sarepta, wife of Rev. Jephthah Pool, 	65
    May 26, 	Stephen Parsons, 	40


    658                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Aug. 10, 	George Downing, 	48
    Sept. 25, 	Huldah, widow of Benedict Alford, sr.,
    Nov. 9, 	Infant child of Amos and Sabrina Burroughs, 		2
    " 27, 	Infant twins of Amos and Amy Pool,.
    1840--April 19, 	Hannah, wife of Philip Ellsworth, 	31
    July 11, 	David Patchin, 	37
    1840--Sept. 8, 	Noyes Williams, 	30
    " 9, 	Chauncey B. Percival, 	28
    Nov. 18, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Clewry Pool, 		7
    Jan'y 3, 	James Slitor, 	80
    May 31, 	Child of Abram and Amanda Hine, 	6
    July 6, 	" " " " 	2
    Aug. 20, 	Mr. ______ Funday 	40
    Dec. 2, 	Son of Mr. and Mrs. Hezekiah Monroe, 	9 	6
    1841-- 	John Whitman, 	84
    Jan'y 8, 	Infant twin of Nathaniel and Clarissa Colson, 		10
    " 23, 	" " " " " " 		10
    Mar. 2, 	Infant daughter of C. B. and Eugenia Chapman, 		1
    April 19, 	Arvilla, daughter of Spencer and Lydia Burrows, 	21
    Oct. 5, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. ______ Francis,
    " 28, 	Anna, second wife of John Nash, sr., 	52
    	Child of Mr. and Mrs. John Wood,
    " 29, 	" " " Frederick Doolittle, 	1 	5
    " 18, 	Moses Pool, 	26
    1842--Jan'y 7, 	Child of Horace and Eliza Hotchkiss,
    " 19, 	Lydia, wife of Nathan Foster, 	66
    Mar. 21, 	Desire, wife of Levi Ford, 	60
    " 21, 	Eliza, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Rufus Chaffee, 	13
    " 25, 	Charles Hinkley, 	49
    April 1, 	Wilder Kingsbury, 	26
    " 13,. 	Ruth Price, 	55
    " 13, 	Margaret, wife of Cyrus Maxwell, 	29
    June 18, 	Mary, wife of Lanson Shaw, 	28
    July 12, 	Child of John and Fidelia Weston, 	1
    Aug. 20, 	" Mr. and Mrs. William Dunn, 	1 	3
    Dec. 11, 	" " " Otis Thrasher, 	1
    1843--Feb. 25, 	Ann, wife of Otis Thrasher, 	24
    Mar. 4, 	Electa Beals, 	48
    " 5, 	William Slitor, 	16
    " 9, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Abrams, 	5
    " 11, 	" " " " " 	3
    " 13, 	" J. W. and Harriet Fox, 	3
    April 5, 	" Richard and Lucy Mathews, 	2
    " 13, 	Betsey, wife of Cephas Downing, 	38
    May 15, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Richard Phelps, 	13
    " 21, 	Chester Bruce, 	14
    " 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Clemens,
    " 24, 	" " " ______ Sydam,
    " 26, 	" " " ______ Farnsworth,
    " 26, 	" " " ______ Langdon, 	4
    June 16, 	Lazelle D. Tyler, 	20
    July 13, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Seth Gamble, 	2
    Aug. 18, 	Daniel Herrick, 	82
    Dec. 17, 	Lydia, wife of Spencer Barrows, 	57
    1844--Feb. 2, 	Alanson Reed, 	17
    " 20, 	Henry Wales, 	71
    " 20, 	Child of Robert and Roxana Hines, 	7
    " 28, 	Oliver Pool, 	58
    Mar. 8, 	Daniel Pratt, 	78
    " 8, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Stafford, 		7
    " 10, 	Rev. Jephthah Pool, 	68
    " 17, 	Sabrina, wife of Sereno Percival, 	38
    April 4, 	Harriet, wife of J. W. Fox, 	29
    " 29, 	Merton, son of A. J. and Olive Nash, 	3
    May 2, 	Asubia Williams, 	88
    " 19, 	Ezra, son of Benjamin S. and Orinda Hosmer, 	10
    " 20, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Addison M. Buck, 	2
    July 19, 	" Amos and Elizabeth Ford, 		6
    " 26, 	Wife of Jonathan Firman,
    Aug. 21, 	Mr. ______ Fuller,
    Sept. 7, 	Wife of Jonathan Moore,
    Nov. 3, 	Mary Burroughs, 	77
    " 4, 	James Doty, 	11


                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  659

    Nov. 7, 	Son of Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Doty, 	8
    " 7, 	Lois, wife of John Beals, 	70
    " 23, 	Joseph Abell, 	60
    " 	William Swinton, 	2
    Dec. 25, 	Widow of Daniel Herrick, 	81
    1845--Mar. 2, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Ephraim Keyes,
    April 3, 	" James and Eliza Johnson, 	1 	3
    " 12, 	Clarissa, wife of Marshall Dresser, 	29
    " 24, 	Timothy P. Hunter, 	53
    " 25, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Alson Pettibone, 		7
    May 17, 	Lucy, wife of Andrew Barrows, 	28
    June 18, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Reuben Brown,
    July 5, 	Sally, wife of Gad Smith, 	29
    Dec. 12, 	Catharine, daughter of William and Susan Mumford, 	13
    1846--Jan'y 4, 	Harriet Doty, 	15
    Mar. 15, 	Morell Doty, 	17
    " 28, 	Child of Allen and Betsey Culver, 	2
    April 2, 	" R. R. and Amanda Latham,
    " 12, 	" Mr. and Mrs. Ferrin Burgess, 	2
    June 10, 	Amanda, wife of R. R. Latham, 	29
    " 13, 	Jane, daughter of Thomas aud Comfort Scott, 	12
    July 27, 	David Nash, 	32
    Aug. 31, 	Captain John Welsh, 	62
    Sept. 4, 	David Hoard, 	56
    1846--Sept. 11, 	John Nash, pioneer, 	71
    " 22, 	Amarantha Parsons, 	23
    " 23, 	Rosetta Baker, 	18
    Oct. 14, 	Achsah, wife of Alba Tinkham, 	46
    " 25, 	Borden Potter, revolutionary soldier, 	82
    1847--Jan'y 4, 	Innocent, wife of Joshua Cole,
    Mar. 13, 	Erista Langdon,
    " 23, 	Asa Hall,
    " 27, 	Lois, child of Horace Lamson, 2d, and Esther Lamson, 	1
    April 8, 	Elihu Mott, 	57
    " 11, 	Mary, wife of John Nash, Jr., 	37
    May 7, 	Betsey, daughter of Bradley and Rhoda Hopkins, 	15
    " 16, 	Son of Mr. and Mrs. ______ Brown, 	1 	10
    " 25, 	Sally Ann Satterlee, 	22
    July 29, 	William Wood, 	34
    " 30, 	William Conrad, 	22
    Aug. 7, 	Wife of Gilbert Smith,
    Sept. 5, 	Daniel Doty, 	40
    " 7, 	John Marble, 	74
    " 13, 	Joshua Brooks, 	71
    " 15, 	Prudence, widow of Joshua Brooks, 	70
    " 20, 	Child of John W. and Joanna Pierce, 	6
    " 24, 	Wife of Almoren Miller 	67
    " 29, 	Nathaniel Colson, 	58
    Oct. 14, 	John Colson, 	84
    " 14, 	Wife of Garrett B. Warner, 	31
    " 31, 	Horace Lamson, 2d, 	28
    Nov. 13, 	Margaret, wife of Anson C. Doolittle, 	32
    1848--Jan'y 9, 	Jehial Maltbie, 	81
    April 25, 	Polly, widow of Daniel Pratt, 	85
    " 27, 	Noah Joy, 	60
    May 1, 	Wife of William Dunn, 	27
    " 19, 	Son of Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Doty, 	6
    " 27, 	Wife of Porter Hinckley, 	27
    July 16, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Lucius Edson,
    " 17, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Ferrin Burgess, 	3
    Aug. 25, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. ______ Sweeney,
    " 31, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Theron Kellogg, 	3
    Sept. 2, 	Amos Pool, 	66
    " 7, 	Ira Phelps, revolutionary soldier, 	85
    " 27, 	Mr. Winch, 	56
    Nov. 22, 	Son of Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Doty, 	7
    " 23, 	Child of Louis A. and Jane Burroughs, (burned), 		5
    " 28, 	Lavina, wife of Captain John Fox, 	66
    Dec. 2, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Jared Comstock, 	10
    " 2, 	" " " " 	8
    " 10, 	" " " George Folager, 	2 	6
    1849--Jan'y 7, 	Mary Ann, daughter of Jacob and Harriet Burroughs, 	17
    " 19, 	Captain John Fox, pioneer, 	74


    660                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Jan'y 20, 	Harriet, wife of Jacob Burroughs, 	54
    " 29, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Maltbie 		10
    Feb'y 4, 	" Andrew and Almira Barrows, 	3
    Mar. 12, 	" Phidelus and Sarah Ann Pool,
    " 22, 	Son of Mr. and Mrs. Parker Howland, 		8
    " 22, 	Almoren Miller, 	69
    " 26, 	Amos, son of Amos and Elizabeth Ford, (killed), 	7
    " 27, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Eli Beebe, 		11
    April 16, 	Son of Mrs. Parsons, 	11
    " 18, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Parker Howland, 	4
    May 4, 	Son of Edwin and Sally Ann Burroughs, 	6
    " 7, 	Rev. Nathaniel Latham, 	66
    " 28, 	Isaac Pool, 	63
    June 14, 	Wife of Warren Henry,
    Sept. 13, 	Child of Rev. William and Mrs. Samson, 	3
    " 26, 	" John W. and Mrs. Fox, 		9
    Oct. 6, 	Nathaniel Olds, 	67
    " 8, 	Laura, wife of Mr. ______ Crosby, 	36
    " 13, 	Pauline, wife of Horace Lamson, 	49
    " 29, 	Father of Hon. Rufus P. Ranney, 	70
    Nov. 21, 	Child of N. M. and Caroline Goff, 		8
    1850--Jan'y. 7, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Jasper Bennett, 		6
    Feb. 7, 	" " " " " R. R. Latham,
    Mar. 19, 	Rachel, widow of Capt. Ebenezer Hopkins, 	82
    April 13, 	Amelia, daughter of Chester and Caroline Nash, 	16
    " 26, 	Peter B. Beals, pioneer, 	86
    May 26, 	Child of Hopkins and Jane Lamson, 	1 	2
    June 28, 	" " Horace and Eliza Hotchkiss,
    July 1, 	Lines Burr, 	54
    Aug. 14, 	Betsey, wife of Joseph Nash, 	66
    July 25, 	Nehemiah Colvin, 	75
    Aug. 20, 	Daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Clark, 	17
    " 22, 	Mrs. Mary Barnes, 	72
    Sept. 12, 	Widow of ______ Slitor, 	58
    Cct. 7, 	Child of O. L. and S. C. W. Latham, 	4
    " 14, 	" " " " " " " " " 	11
    Nov. 15, 	Helen, daughter of Rev. Hiram and Ruth Kellogg 	5
    " 22, 	Benny, son of Horace and Eliza Hotchkiss, 	3
    1851--Jan'y 16, 	Daughter of Jacob, Jr., and Elizabeth Thrasher,
    " 19, 	Biney Fairbanks, 	68
    Mar. 10, 	George Folager, 	30
    " 29, 	Widow of George Folager, 	27
    May 6, 	Catharine Davis, 	25
    " 24, 	Herrick Lamson, drowned, 	18
    July 27, 	Sophia, wife of Throop Chapman, 	64
    Sept. 3, 	Child of Mr. Mrs. Jared Comstock,
    " 8, 	Wife of James Hoxter, 	40
    Nov. 14, 	Jane, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Augustus Lane, 	23
    Nov. 18, 	Sally, wife of Justus Perry, 	44
    Dec. 1, 	Betsey Welsh, pioneer, 	65
    " 8, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. James Basset, 	16
    1852--Jan'y 3, 	Thomas Hildreth, 	56
    May 1, 	Eliza, daughter of H. E. and Lucretia Wales, 	6
    June 6, 	Isaac, son of W. C. and Isabell Thrasher, drowned, 	2
    Sept. 22, 	Theda, wife of Benjamin Goff, 	63
    Feb. 13, 	Child of Dudley and Alvira Fox, 	1
    " 22, 	" " Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Green,
    1853--April 3, 	" " John W. and Emeline Fox, 	1 	6
    " 6, 	Lavina, wife of Olney Percival, 	39
    " 18, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Jonas Bossart,
    May 14, 	" " " " " " "
    Aug. 1, 	Asenath, wife of George Conrad, sr., 	73
    " 16, 	Wife of ______ Maltbie, 	67
    Sept. 23, 	Mary, second wife of Marshall Dresser, 	30
    Oct. 1, 	Tirzah Pool, 	22
    " 12, 	Child of John W. and Emeline Fox, 	11
    " 12, 	Wife of Thomas Crafts, 	62
    " 12, 	Wife of Orsamus Carlton,
    1854--April 2, 	Friend Dayton, 	84
    " 3, 	Joseph Durfee, 	68
    June 12, 	Wife of ______ Torrey, 	79
    Aug. 4, 	Wife of ______ Evarts, 	72
    " 29, 	Herbert, adopted son of Almon and Maria Hodges, 	12


                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  661

    Sept. 5, 	Mrs. ______ Johnson, 	79
    Dec. 4, 	Mrs. Bentley, 	50
    " 30, 	Louisa, wife of John Welsh, 	28
    " 31, 	Gideon Bentley, 	82
    1855--Jan'y 6, 	John Jewell, 	50
    " 7, 	Mrs. Susan Smith, 	86
    Feb. 23, 	Lysander Packard, 	36
    Mar. 8, 	Helen, wife of Washington Morey, 	24
    1855--Mar. 8, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Keyes,
    " 14, 	William, son of Lewis A. and Jane Burroughs, 	10
    " 18, 	Lois Beals, 	48
    " 16, 	Mrs. Newell, 	72
    " 22, 	Esther, wife of Thomas Brown, 	31
    Aug. 26, 	Wife of Joseph Kingsbury, 	33
    Oct. 22, 	Child of William C. and Julia Hosmer,
    Nov. 13, 	Mary Ann Bacon, 	19
    Dec. 22, 	Maria, daughter of Lewis F. and Laura Scott, 	20
    1856--Jan'y 11, 	William Fox, 	34
    " 13, 	Child of Nelson and Abigail Bentley,
    " 17, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. William Starin, 	5
    Feb. 12, 	Lucy, wife of Samuel Packard, 	62
    Mar. 15, 	Phebe, wife of John Dayton. 	52
    May 13, 	Wife of Isaac N. Smith, 	43
    " 15, 	Delia, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas R. Mumford, 	24
    " 24, 	Wife of Charles Onderdonk, 	41
    Aug. 12, 	Mr. Pierson, 	74
    Sept. 28, 	Sereno Percival, 	45
    1857--Feb. 16, 	"Gram" widow of Nathaniel Weston, 	91
    Apr. 18, 	Son of Mr. and Mrs. R. R. Latham, 	3
    June 15, 	Almon Winch, 	37
    July 11, 	Ziba Norton, 	72
    " 14, 	W. W. Moore, 	48
    Aug. 7, 	Elizabeth Rice. 	77
    " 12, 	Maria, wife of Almon Hodges, 	35
    Sept. 29, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Russell, 	2 	6
    Nov. 23, 	Samuel Abrams, 	47
    " 30, 	Betsy, wife of Benedict Alford, second, 	69
    Dec. 14, 	Gertrude, mother of Asa A. Spencer, 	85
    " 25, 	Edward Frazer, killed, 	30
    1858--Jan'y 20, 	Julia, second wife of John Welsh, 	27
    " 24, 	Brudley Hopkins, 	60
    Mar. 24, 	Child of Hopkins and Jane Lamson, 		7
    Apr. 8, 	Widow of ______ Jewell, 	76
    " 30, 	Child of Joseph and Elizabeth Kingsbury,
    May 3, 	John Dindiff, 	59
    June 19, 	Son of Mr. and Mrs. James Hartson, 	3
    " 21, 	Lewis Bedford, 	76
    July 12, 	"Willie, son of William H. and Helen Chapman, 	57
    Aug. 28, 	Dr. Jacob Thrasher, 	69
    Sept. 6, 	Joseph Nash, 	75
    1859--Jan'y 5, 	Martha, daughter of Edward B. and Eunice Turner, 	20
    " 25, 	Wife of James Brown, 	29
    Feb. 11, 	Clarissa, wife of William H. Scott, 	36
    " 13, 	Lois, wife of Ezekiel Lamson, 	64
    " 21, 	Widow of ______ Benton, 	66
    Mar. 3, 	Mary, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Augustus Lane, 	19
    " 12, 	Child of Charles and Mary Onderdonk, 	3
    " 16, 	Child of Henry L. and Jane Hosmer,
    April 15, 	Benjamin Goff, 	69
    " 16, 	John Dayton, pioneer, 	63
    " 30, 	Widow of John Whitman, 	86
    May 28, 	Franklin, son of Benjamin S. and Orinda Hosmer, 	21
    June 8, 	Jenny, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. R. R. Latham, 	8
    " 13, 	Child of William C. and Julia Hosmer, 	3
    " 18, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. William Dunn, 	3
    Aug. 5, 	Rufus Lamb, pioneer, 	62
    Oct. 2, 	Sarah Titus, 	65
    Nov. 9, 	Alba Tinkham, 	69
    " 14, 	Polly, wife of Thomas R. Mumford, 	67
    " 21, 	William Turner, 	25
    Dec. 5, 	Pliny Alvord, 	78
    " 22, 	Clarissa Tyler, 	24
    1860--Jan'y 25, 	Julia Turner, 	30


    662                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Feb'y 20, 	Sally, widow of John Wood, 	55
    Mar. 26, 	Arnold Harrington, 	76
    May 7, 	Eliza, wife of Victor Burroughs, 	31
    " 22, 	Abi C., widow of Silvenus Warner, 	60
    " 31, 	Martha, wife of Nathan E. Scott, 	35
    June 6, 	Wife of Oliver Pierson, 	32
    " 7, 	Mary French, 	96
    " 23, 	Betsey, widow of Timothy P. Hunter, 	85
    Aug. 9, 	Wife of Samuel Evans, 	49
    Oct. 30, 	Drusilla, wife of Oliver Green, 	40
    Nov. 8, 	Sarah S., wife Frank A. Clary, 	28
    Dec. 8, 	Child of Mortimer and Eliza Moore, 	4
    1861--Jan'y 24, 	Alice, wife of William P. Fobes, 	33
    Mar. 31, 	Oliver C. Olds, 	75
    May 25, 	Darius Barnes, (drowned), 	17
    " 22, 	Otis Thrasher, 	40
    Sept. 2, 	Wife of Abel Farr, 	65
    Oct. 15, 	Electa, wife of Leander Johnson 	41
    Nov. 3, 	Daughter of Mr. and Mrs. ______ Crosby, 	3
    " 17, 	Willie, son of William P. and Alice Fobes, 	9
    " 22, 	Jacob W. Burroughs, pioneer, 	70
    1862--Jan'y 7, 	Amanda, wife of Elijah Marcy, 	62
    " 29, 	Reuben Cook. 	70
    " 30, 	Elmina, wife of James S. Olds, 	28
    Feb'y 2, 	Leander Johnson, 	43
    Mar. 18, 	Gancelo Reed, 	48
    " 20, 	Child of Meriman and Celia Barnes, 		10
    May 14, 	" Lucien H. and Melissa Dayton,
    June 5, 	Jane Reed, 	21
    " 16, 	Frank, son of L. H. and Melissa Dayton, 	5
    " 27, 	Cecil Parsons, 	32
    July 4, 	Lois, daughter of Richard P. and Harriet Lamson, 	2 	6
    " 9, 	Philip Ellsworth, 	53
    Aug. 29, 	Ann, wife of Chester Lamb, 	40
    Sept. 17, 	Simon Davis, 	77
    1863--Jan'y 4, 	Willard W. Beals, 	63
    " 10, 	John F., son of B. F. and Elizabeth Abell, 	20
    Feb'y 4, 	Polly, wife of Elihu G. Corliss, 	48
    " 11, 	Child of Thomas and Martha Brown, 		6
    " 27, 	Isaac, son of W. C. and Isabella Thrasher, 	9
    April 9, 	Mary Jane, widow of Nathaniel Latham, 	76
    Mar. 28. 	Lavina, daughter of Hiram and Celia Satterlee, 	8
    April 23, 	Son of Addison and Caroline Loomis, 	3
    " 23, 	Wife of William Hall, 	23 	6
    June 12, 	Olive, wife of Chester Barrows, 	49
    " 13, 	Wife of Virgil Lamson, 	65
    " 18, 	Alfred, son of George, Jr., and Jane Conrad, 	11 	6
    " 28, 	Son of Mr. and Mrs. Jewett Randall, 	2
    July 4, 	Daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jewett Randall, 		8
    " 6, 	Caroline, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ferrin Burgess, 	9
    Aug. 10, 	Mary, " " " " " 	22
    " 15, 	William Waterman, 	41
    Sept. 13, 	Olney Percival, 	58
    Nov. 22, 	Frances, widow of Henry Wales, 	80
    1864--Jan'y 18, 	"Benny," son of Otis and Frances P. Thrasher, 	4
    Feb. 26, 	Benedict Alford, 2d, 	78
    April 4, 	Sarah, wife of Charles Davis, 	27
    " 8, 	George Conrad, sr., 	73
    " 13, 	Widow of Reuben Cook, 	65
    " 19, 	Daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Isaac Town, 	3
    " 20, 	Abel Farr, 	69
    May 4, 	Son of Roscoe and Mary Ann Bugbie, 		9
    " 6, 	Silvia, son of Ethan and Olive Bogue, 	15
    May 8, 	Daughter of Ethan and Olive Bogue, 	4
    " 12, 	Marvin James, 	58
    June 9, 	Daughter of William H. and Harriet Scott, 	3
    July 27, 	John Beals, pioneer, 	97 	6
    Sept. 17, 	Daughter of O. L. and S. C. W. Latham, 	6
    Oct. 16, 	Loren, son of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Maltbie, 	15
    Nov. 8, 	Amos Ford, 	65
    " 18, 	John Morey, 	65
    1865--July 8, 	Daughter of William L. and Clarinda Chapman, 		10
    " 15, 	" " Barton and Mary Miller, 	10


                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  663

    July 23, 	Jennie, daughter of E. B. and Eunice Turner, 	10
    " 30, 	Daughter of Volney S. and Sarah Sperry, 	3 	6
    Aug. 9, 	Thankful, wife of Phidelus Pool, 	34 	6
    Sept. 4, 	Emily, wife of David L. Pope, 	40
    " 36, 	Daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Dunn, 	1 	6
    Oct. 10, 	Meriman Barnes, 	56
    " 20, 	Rev. Marshall Terry, 	59
    Dec. 5, 	Son of Richard and Mrs. Slitor, 	5
    " 7, 	Josie, daughter of Rev. Marshall and Mrs. Terry, 	16
    " 9, 	Moses James, 	77
    " 22, 	Mary, daughter of B. F. and Elizabeth Abell, 	21
    1866--Jan'y 4, 	Vashti A., daughter of William H. and Helen Chapman, 	10 	7
    Feb. 6, 	Samuel Evans, 	57
    Mar. 1, 	James Fairbanks, 	75
    " 24, 	Wife of ______ Hartson, 	66
    April 23, 	Benjamin F. Abell, 	53
    " 30, 	Hattie, daughter of J. G. and Elizabeth Durfee, 	14
    May 4, 	Lucinda, widow of Daniel Corliss, 	76
    June 15, 	Betsey, wife of Asa A. Spencer, 	66
    July 31, 	Widow of Charles Hinkley, 	69
    Nov. 16, 	Timothy Truman, 	61
    " 26, 	Bernice, daughter of L. H. and Melissa Dayton, 	6
    Dec. 2, 	Child of Marshall and Harriet Dresser, 	1
    " 19, 	Bertha, daughter of W. W. and Elizabeth James, 		8
    1867--Jan'y 2, 	Israel Whitcomb, pioneer. (Died in Auburn.) 	78
    Mar. 3, 	Melissa, wife of Lucien H. Dayton, 	29
    July 6, 	Son of Thomas and Maria Kimpston,
    Sept. 2, 	Clarinda, wife of William L. Chapman, 	23
    " 18, 	Joseph Patch, 	88
    Oct. 13, 	Elijah Pike, 	78
    Nov. 4, 	Mary, wife of Alvah Reed, 	52
    Dec. 8, 	Sally, wife of Isaac Spear, 	60
    " 10, 	Comfort, wife of Capt. Thomas Scott, 	82
    1868--Feb. 8, 	Abigail, wife of Nelson Bentley, 	56
    Mar. 4, 	Philinda, wife of Samuel Davis, 	45
    " 25, 	Nancy, wife of George Fox, 	45
    April 1, 	Child of Phidelus and Emily Pool,
    May 10, 	Sarah, wife of Volney S. Sperry, 	37
    July 6, 	Widow of ______ Reynolds, 	73
    " 24, 	Wife of B. H. Heath, 	70
    Sept. 17, 	Ollve, wife of Solomon Wells, 	52
    " 25, 	Polly, widow of Joseph Abell, 	80
    Oct. 8, 	Amy, widow of Amos Pool, 	72
    " 25, 	Widow of ______ Goodman, 	56
    Nov. 15, 	Ellen L., wife of Harrison Hoard, 	23
    " 20, 	Child of M. L. and Mercia Latham, 	1
    1869--Jan'y 29, 	Mary, widow of Anson Morris, 	61
    Feb'y 12, 	Polly, widow of Arnold Harrington, 	86
    April 13, 	Samuel Reed, 	86 	6
    June 14, 	Dimon Barnes, 	62
    July 3, 	Orange Steele, 	69
    " 9, 	Harvey Corlick, 	24
    Sept. 6, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Martin Wilhelm, 	11
    " 18, 	Ezekiel Lamson, 	71
    " 23, 	Addie, daughter of Thomas A. and Augusta Scott, 	6
    Nov. 18, 	Rev. Joseph Fenton, 	60
    Nov. 23, 	Wife of George Edic, 	49
    Dec. 18, 	Elizabeth, widow of Dr. Jacob Thrasher, 	78
    1870--Jan'y 18, 	Frank, son of Edward B. and Eunice Turner, 	22
    Feb. 2, 	Catharine, widow of Moses James, 	84
    Mar. 9, 	Captain Thomas Scott, 	88
    Apr. 13, 	Salina, wife of ______ Fowler, 	42
    May 11, 	Chester Nash, 	65
    Nov. 16, 	Charlotte, wife of Ziba Harrington, 	65
    1871--Jan'y 17, 	Lyman Truman, 	67
    Feb. 8, 	Mrs. Betsey Waterman, 	73
    Mar. 6, 	Arthur, son of James D. and Harriet Godfrey, 	3
    " 19, 	Elijah Weston, 	73
    May 7, 	Widow of Jesse Markham, 	78
    1872--Feb. 17, 	Lucy W., widow of John Cutler, 	74
    Mar. 1, 	Artimesia, widow of Ashbell Gillmore, 	78
    " 2, 	Dudley Fox, 	60
    " 17, 	Nancy, widow of Joseph Patch, 	86


    664                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    Mar. 23, 	Sylvia, wife of Clinton White, 	18
    May 24, 	Widow of ______ Evans, 	74
    July 28, 	Orange L. Latham, 	56
    Aug. 15, 	Zilpah, wife of Samuel Knight, 	82
    Oct. 4, 	Orville Joiner, 	54
    " 18, 	Henry Luce, 	64
    Nov. 13, 	John Douglass, 	84
    Dec. 6, 	Son of Chester and Malvina Lamb, 		8
    " 14, 	William Mumford, pioneer, 	78
    1873--Jan'y 11, 	Aurelia, widow of Joseph Stockwell, 	67
    Feb. 4, 	Prescott Abell, 	58
    " 21, 	Child of Nelson Bentley, 	4
    June 7, 	Porter, son of Mr. and Mrs. Norman Burgess, 	15
    " 7, 	John Hopkins, 	21
    " 28, 	Susan, widow of Alba Tinkham, 	73
    Aug. 1, 	Hubert, son of John W. and Matilda Beals, 		11
    " 20, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. Emery Keyes,
    " 28, 	Polly, wife of Isaac Scott, 	76
    Sept. 12, 	Benjamin F. Lilly, 	31
    " 24, 	Sadie, daughter of Warner and Melissa Satterlee, 	9
    Oct. 2, 	Lodema Brown, 	29
    " 15, 	Augustus Burroughs, 	39
    " 25, 	Charles Davis, 	36
    Nov. 7, 	Anna, wife of Clark Vaughn, 	66
    " 22, 	Lewis, son of Horace and Abigail Davis, 	22
    Dec. 24, 	Rosa, daughter of Elijah and Achsah Percival, 	4
    " 24, 	Edward Green, 	28
    May 10, 	Adaline Davidson, 	51
    1874--Jan'y 25, 	Fanny, second wife of John Nash, 	56
    Mar. 18, 	Anson C. Doolittle, 	62 	6
    April 6, 	Abigail, widow of Israel Whitcomb (died in Auburn), 	86
    " 20, 	Nelly, daughter of Harrison and Emily Hoard, 	2
    June 17, 	Jacob Cutler, 	52
    Aug. 4, 	Samuel Beals, 	31
    Sept. 14, 	Rosa Fowler, 	14
    Nov. 26, 	Alonzo Wood, 	66
    Dec. 24, 	Child of S. B. and Margaret Evans,
    " 20, 	Polly, widow of Lewis Bedford, 	88
    " 31, 	Gracie, daughter of W. W. and Elizabeth James, 	5
    1875--Jan'y 6, 	Harriet, wife of Major B. Cook, 	33
    Feb. 12, 	Orinda, wife of Benjamin S. Hosmer, 	73
    Mar. 15, 	Marion, son of William H. and Clarissa Scott, 	19
    " 18, 	Son of George and Mary Fox, 	3
    " 21, 	Spencer Barrows, 	88
    April 3, 	Bertha, daughter of Orlo and Charlotte Doty, 		8
    " 9, 	Achsah, widow of John Douglass, 	77
    " 23, 	Delos Keyes, 	9
    " 24, 	Elmer, son of Plympton and Maria Stockwell, 	10
    " 29, 	Samuel Satterlee, 	78
    May 2, 	Child of M. L. and Mercia Latham, 	1 	2
    " 3, 	Joel Bartholomew, 	45
    " 7, 	Child of M. L. and Mercia Latham, 	3
    May 11, 	Abram Barnes, 	93
    " 30, 	Wilbert P. Bissell, 	22 	6
    June 22, 	Zachariah, son of Mr. and Mrs. Lanson Shaw, 	22
    " 26, 	Isaac Spear, 	58
    July 12, 	Fidelia, wife of Albert Herrick, 	53
    " 13, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. David Boone,
    " 21, 	Ira Steele, 	46
    " 29, 	Jonathan Phillips, 	25
    Aug. 3, 	Margery, widow of James Fairbanks, 	80
    Nov. 9, 	Lucius Fox, 	27
    Dec. 15, 	Cyrus Phillips, 	30
    1876--Jan'y 4, 	Avery, son of Barnabas and Gertrude Weston, 	17
    " 12, 	Albert Herrick, 	65
    " 14, 	Amos Burroughs, 	77
    " 22, 	Emily, wife of Olson Mumford, 	32
    May 7, 	Sally, widow of Marvin James, 	66
    Sept. 2, 	Son of Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin F. Sager, 	2
    Oct. 7, 	Olson Mumford, 	32
    " 7, 	Elnora, child of Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Nash, 		9
    1877--Jan'y 31, 	Elma, daughter of Emery and Ellen Woods, 	26
    Mar. 9, 	Amanda, wife of Richard V. Slitor, 	77


                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  665

    Mar. 19, 	Jamie, son of James D. and Harriet Godfrey, 		6
    " 22, 	Child of Mr. and Mrs. ______ Randall, 		4
    " 28, 	Jenny, daughter of Rev. Hiram and Ruth Kellogg, 	18
    " 29, 	Jeremiah P. Scott,
    April 19, 	Mrs. ______ Martindale,
    " 19, 	Barney Torrey, 	71
    May 11, 	Cynthia, widow of Nicholas Silvernail (pioneer), 	87 	6
    June 3, 	Shirley, son of Thomas A. and Augusta Scott, 	9 	6
    " 16, 	Riall Fisher, 	94
    Sept. 3, 	Delia, wife of Myron Satterlee, 	36
    " 4, 	Willie, son of John and Emma Ridge, 	2
    Oct. 5, 	Maria, wife of Thomas Kimpton, 	53
    Nov. 10, 	Frank, son of Daniel H. and Fidelia Truman, 	22
    Dec. 5, 	Luther Sanford, 	74
    1878--Jan'y 12, 	C. Torrey Nash, 	30
    " 16, 	Samuel Packard, 	87
    Mar. 4, 	Sally, widow of Lyman Truman, 	73
    " 26, 	Betsey, wife of T. W. Esty, 	40
    April 8, 	Willie, son of Mr. and Mrs. Augustin Esty, 	5
    " 18, 	Leonard Stroud, 	72
    " 19, 	Phebe, widow of Leonard Stroud (killed,) 	63
    May 17, 	Bertie, son of Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Dean, 	2
    " 18, 	Elizabeth, widow of Benjamin F. Abell, 	58
    Aug. 24, 	Chester Houghton, 	71
    " 27, 	Aggie, daughter of Daniel C. and Betsey Hill, 	6
    Sept. 9, 	Lucretia S., wife of Augustus Lane, 	77
    " 27, 	Letitia, daughter of Hiram and Celia Satterlee, 	9
    Oct. 9, 	Mary, widow of James Hatch, 	72
    " 11, 	Emeline, second wife of John W. Fox, 	65
    " 19, 	Sena, daughter of Eugene and Martha Slitor, 	2
    " 29, 	Rana, daughter of Horace and Anna Goff, 	19
    Dec. 19, 	Rev. E. D. Taylor, 	61
    " 29, 	Eliza, widow of Henry Luce, 	70
    1879--Jan'y 29, 	Volney S. Sperry, 	51
    Mar. 11, 	Nelson Patterson, 	66
    " 22, 	Elvira, wife of Norman Burgess, 	59
    April 22, 	Edward B. Turner, 	76
    June 5, 	Ziba Pool, 	87
    Oct. 15, 	Horace Hotchkiss, 	70
    Nov. 6, 	Charlie, son of John W. and Edna Nash, 	3
    " 7, 	Emily, wife of Seneca Parsons, 	37
    " 15, 	Lyman T. Bradley, 	55
    " 25, 	Eliza A., wife of O. G. Weaver, 	55
    Dec. 3, 	Willie, son of Dwight and Laura Barber, 	6
    " 31, 	Emily, wife of Benjamin Cooper, 	43
    " 31, 	Mabel, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Weston H. Brown, 		7
    1880--Jan'y 8, 	Theresa, wife of J. Hatter, 	29
    " 15, 	Mary, wife of Seth Burton, 	64
    " 27, 	Charlotte, widow of Joseph Durfee, 	89
    It will be seen at a glance that the above record is far from being complete in all the details. That some of the dates of deaths, and statements as to age of the deceased, are incorrect, is probable, and that omissions may have occurred is also probable, but in the main, it is entirely reliable. To Mrs. Emily Pike are the thanks of the township due, that there is any record of deaths, however incomplete it may be.

    The names of our soldiers, who were in the war of 1861-5, and died while in the army, together with the several dates of their decease, will be found in another place in this history.

    Also the names of soldiers of the Revolution, and of the war of 1812, who are buried in our cemeteries, will be found recorded elsewhere.

    666                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 



    REV. E. D. TAYLOR.

    It seems fitting, that with the record of the township of Troy should be included that of one to whom it's people and prosperity were very dear. With it, as well as the neighboring towns of Parkman and Newbury, his interests were involved, and there was his chosen, and, as it proved, his last home.

    Rev. E. D. Taylor, the seventh son, and youngest child of Deacon Nehemiah and Lydia Taylor, was born at Bristol, Vermont, June 2, 1817. His mother, whose maiden name was Streeter, was an exceptional woman -- modest, kind, fervent and unswerving in her devotion to truth, and the old, rigid faith, inherited from her New England ancestors. She passed away before the conversion of her youngest son, but in the full confidence that her consecration of him would be accepted, as was that of all the other members of her family.

    Deacon Taylor was also a person of strong and decided piety; who was accustomed often to bear his children and children's children before the Lord.

    Though not rich in this world's goods, he was "rich in faith," and lived to see five of his sons become ministers of the gospel, the other two having died in early life. Of the entire family, numbering seven sons and three daughters, only one now remains -- Mrs. Allen Smith, of Iowa.

    E. D. Taylor was, in his early youth, of an unusually mirthful, sprightly and buoyant disposition -- to such a degree, indeed, that some of the long-faced ones entirely coincided with him in his oft-expressed opinion, that "there was one of Deacon Taylor's sons who would never be a minister."

    When he was five years of age, his parents removed to northern New York, and there he experienced many of the hardships as well as pleasures, of life in a new country. He became quite expert at hunting, trapping, and fishing, and was very fond of all kinds of out-door exercise.

    He often said that the best meal he ever ate, consisted of some pieces of salt pork and corn bread, which he once took with him, as rations, when out hunting deer. He was an excellent horseman, and always took great pleasure in riding and driving.

    There are many recollections of his having been wild and gay, but none that he was ever vicious or immoral.

    At somewhere, from twelve to fifteen years of age, he went to Russell, St. Lawrence county, to learn the clothier's trade, with a man who, although a professor of religion, was a whiskey-selling hotel-keeper. In the intervals of his regular work, the boy was accustomed to "tend bar," and do all kinds of odd jobs about the premises.

    One night, several of his associates assembled at the shop for a game of cards. They had, for light, a candle set between two sacks of wool, and determined to play, until it should be burned down to the sacks, but morning came and found them still absorbed in their amusement. He vowed, then, to leave so fascinating a game alone, and was never known to indulge in it afterward. Situated as he was, it was impossible for him not to realize many of the evils of intemperance, and he left the use of liquors there and forever.

    One night, several of his associates assembled at the shop for a game of cards. They had, for a light, a candle set between two sacks of wool, and determined to play, until it should be burned down to the sacks, but morning came and found them still absorbed in their amusement. He vowed, then, to leave so fascinating a game alone, and was never known to indulge in it afterward. Situated as he was, it was impossible for him not to realize many of the evils of intemperance, and he left alone the use of liquors there and forever.

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  667

    While at Russell, and amidst general spiritual declension, his mind was turned to his lost condition. Alone, the grace of God so operated upon him, that he declared his faith in Christ, and at his own request, was released from trade, and commenced preparing for the ministry.

    He attended school at Potsdam academy, and taught at intervals, or worked on the farm.

    After a time, he came to Kirtland, Ohio, and was connected with Dr. Asa D. Lord's school, first as pupil, and then as assistant teacher.

    He taught also at Rome, Ashtabula county, and, perhaps, other places, and was, besides, a successful teacher of vocal music.

    Among the recollections of his earlier years collected for this sketch, none has been more frequent or emphatic than this: "He was such a beautiful singer!" The cultivation of music and especially, of church music, was always to him a source of great enjoyment as long as he lived. Those who remember with what feeling he used to sing "Dennis," with the words "How gentle God's commands," will understand the significance of it's being one of the selections sung before he was laid away to his last rest.

    Mr. Taylor was, for a time, principal of the "Shaw Academy" at Euclid, and was married in 1852 to Miss Mary Ann Lewis, who was a teacher in the same school. She was a daughter of Edward Lewis, esquire, of Lenox, Madison county, New-York, and his first wife, Olive Barnard. Mr. Taylor ever found in his wife a loving, faithful and efficient helper, and to her influence and assistance must be attributed much of his subsequent success, during nearly thirty years of united labor.

    Three children, E. D. Taylor, Jr., of Stillwater, Minnesota, Mrs. Anna T. Treat, still a resident of Ohio, and Mrs. Alice L. Armor, of Orange, California, live to bear witness to her many sterling qualities. "Her children rise up and call her blessed."

    After his marriage, Mr. Taylor completed his theological studies, and was licensed to preach, about the year 1847. Although not a college graduate, he was a classical scholar, and always a reader and thinker.

    His first sermon was preached at Euclid (now Collamer), on the parable of the "Prodigal Son," and yet will be remembered by some, who listened to it there.

    De Ruyter, Madison county, New York, was his first field of labor. West Stockholm (now Sanfordville) and Huvelton, both in St. Lawrence county, the second and third. After a short pastorate in the latter place, Mr. Taylor, by the advice of his physician, who feared disease of the lungs, came again to Ohio, and located at Chagrin Falls, where he remained three years and one-half. During his residence there, he conducted, with the help of his wife, a select school, numbering at times over one hundred pupils.

    He removed to Claridon in 1855, where he performed the greater part of his ministerial work. He received into the church in that place one hundred and twenty members, forty-four of whom, are still resident there.

    It would be nearly impossible to find a home with whose joys and sorrows he was not identified. He did with his might whatever his hands found to do, and from the seeds of good sown, there in his loving devotion and sacrifice, there has been, and will continue to be gathered, an abundant harvest, both in time and eternity.

    His influence and aid were always given, to further the prosperity of the whole community. He and his wife again engaged somewhat in teaching, and were always interested in the educational affairs of the township. They were both, for many years, members of the "Farmers' Club," and always did what they could to sustain its meetings.

    668                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    During the late civil war, Mr. Taylor spent some weeks under the "Christian Commission," among the sick and wounded soldiers at City Point and Washington, but found his health inadequate to continued labor of that kind. He was an enthusiastic patriot, and never lost his faith in the government and the ultimate triumph of the good cause.

    In February, 1872, Mrs. Taylor died, and in the following winter, Mr. Taylor closed his relation with the church at Claridon, and took upon himself the care of three weak churches, at Troy, Newbury and Parkman -- one of them so nearly dead, that it was believed at one time, it would disband and join other churches.

    Another of these organizations was equally weak, and without a house of worship, but has now a house and is much improved in numbers and prosperity.

    For many years there had been a lack of friendly feeling between some of the members of the different churches in Troy, but after Mr. Taylor's labors commenced, all this was changed; the old jealousies disappeared, and all became brethren indeed. He was in every respect a Christian gentleman, beloved by all, but especially by the young, and the children.

    One little one in Troy, being assured by her aunt that she would certainly give her away, if she were not a better girl, responded, gleefully: "Oh, give me to brudder Taylor!" One of his chief delights was to make others happy, and he always had a kind word for every one.

    Mr. Taylor was married in 1874, to Mrs. Florence E. Wells, formerly of New Hampshire, a lady who merited all the wealth of confidence and affection bestowed upon her by her husband, and who will long be cherished with him in the hearts of their parishioners and friends.

    Previous to his removal from Claridon, Mr. Taylor had been appointed a member of the board of school examiners, and so continued to be identified with the educational interests of the county, until the time of his death.

    During the summer of 1877, he was attacked with fever and ague, and from that time, his health seemed gradually to decline. Yet he kept on with his work, riding through all kinds of weather, and over all varieties of roads, to his appointments, both upon Sundays and week-day evenings. Finally, in the latter part of November, 1878, he sank from the effects of overwork and poisonous night air, and lay down upon a sick bed.

    His last sermon was preached at Parkman, on Thanksgiving day, and upon December 19, he was called to his rest. He "walked with God, and he was not; for God took him."

    His remains were taken to Claridon for interment, and memorial services were held at Troy, Claridon, Newbury, and Parkman, in which many friends participated, irrespective of denomination.

    The following from the columns of the "Stillwater Lumberman" seems a fitting conclusion of this tribute to one so respected and beloved.

    "Death has recently stilled a true, brave heart, and relieved from duty on earth a faithful soldier of the Cross. Readers in our immediate parish, will pardon us if we devote a little space to thoughts of the departed, for the perusal of our more distant friends.

    "He who has been called to a wider sphere of usefulness, was a good soldier, because of his fidelity. Where he understood duty to call him, he was ever present. At the bed-side of the sick; in the house of mourning; on the tented field; in public debate, or in private study, his only aim in life seemed to be, fully to acquit himself of the responsibility placed upon him.

    "Neither the rage of the elements, fear of the scorn of men, nor lust of gain stayed him from such measures, and such positions as he believed to be right. He was a knightly soldier. He had, for all who differed from him, the broadest

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  669

    charity. He stood manfully by his colors, for love of the Master who had placed them in his charge, but never struck at any opponent a blow nerved by hate, or edged with prejudice. He was so honestlyloyal to the truth, as he understood it, that he could afford to recognize love of truth, in any honest opponent.

    "He was a sagacious soldier. His daily walk and conversation proved to the world, the pleasure he found in the service in which he had enlisted, and were more powerful than any set discourses, in making that service appear inviting to others. Although given to debate, it was through zeal for the right, rather than through love of contention, and he could argue without quibbling, and contend without quarreling. He assailed no position, without first going thoroughly over the ground.

    "He aimed to know, not only the movements of his friends; but every advance among his opponents, and this constant vigilance frequently led him to be among the first to see in measures, theories, propositions, or movements feared by his comrades, much, favorable to the truth and to the cause he upheld. He believed himself engaged in a service worthy his highest possible efforts, and demanding his utmost skill.

    "In no direction was he more diligent, than in thoroughly equipping himself for his duty. He was a tireless student. He sought not only the facts which fortified positions already taken, but he aimed, conscientiously, to give just weight to facts, even when they seemed to make previously assumed positions pregnable. Thus he could not fail to be a progressive man.

    "His record in these particulars, is one which may be remembered with tender pride by the friends he left behind, but the sweetest consolation memory offers, is in the thought that he was a thoroughly lovable man.

    "He drove no man from him. At his funeral, and by the side of his grave, were no divisions of sect. While there was mourning among the churches of his own denomination, there was no less mourning among churches of other denominations, and among people belonging to no denomination.

    "His religion had been a religion of sunshine rather than shadow; of earnest striving that all souls might be saved, rather than speculations as to how many must be lost; of responsive smiles for all happy hearts; and of quick sympathy for all poor, afflicted and distressed; of brave championship of the weak; and of rare self-sacrifice.

    "The drifts of winter cover his grave, but the memory of his life is as the memory of a summer day, rich with songs of birds, and the beauty and perfume of flowers."

    A. T. T.


    The pioneer settlers of the Western Reserve, as is generally known, were directly or indirectly "New Englanders." Among others, who emigrated to the then "New Connecticut" in 1828, we find the name of Spencer Barrows, a man who was born in the State of Maine, and reared in sight of Plymouth Rock, Massachusetts, from the age of six to nineteen years, when fortune placed him in the "Old Granite State," in a township known as Grantham, and where, at the age of twenty-two, he married Lydia, daughter of Jacob Thrasher. Two years later, we find him located in Crown Point, New York. Here he lived until 1828, additions from time to time having been made to his household, until nine children made up the sum of his family circle. With these he made his way to the then "far west," (except one, who died in infancy), and took up his

    670                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    abode in Shalersville, Portage county, Ohio. Here he remained until the spring of 1831, two daughters having, in the meantime, been added to those imported, when he came to Troy, and settled on the northeast quarter of section eight, known as the "Mead section," and here, on the 12th of May, 1833, the subject of this sketch was born. Passing over his childhood and early youth, which was mostly spent in what is known by the general name of "devilty," we find him, at the age of eighteen, a carpenter's apprentice, and which trade he followed until he was master of its details. January 1, 1857, he married Caroline, daughter of Ziba and Charlotte Harrington, and this event, as with thousands of others, proved the turning point of his life. The spring following, he was elected constable, and in performing the duties of that office, he first turned his attention to the study of law, and this, together with the advice of friends who were following that profession, led him to take up the study in earnest. Farming some, and studying more, we find him in the winter of 1859-60, in the Ohio State and Union Law College of Cleveland, intending to enter the graduating class of 1861-2. This arrangement was frustrated by the Fort Sumter affair, and its consequences. In the first call for three hundred thousand, the Ninth Ohio battery was organized, in which, at the instance of Gen. W. B. Hazen, he was commissioned first lieutenant, was mustered into the United States service October 11, 1861, and received his commission the 20th of November following. Remained in the service until August 3, 1862, when he resigned, and returned to Troy. He occupied his time on the farm until the call for five hundred thousand in January, 1864, when, although offered a commission, he again enlisted as a private in the same battery, in which he had previously held command. He was appointed corporal June 9, 1864, and promoted sergeant November 20, 1864. He was one of the renowned "squirrel hunters" called by Governor Tod, to defend Cincinnati in September, 1862, having command of a company, and was first sergeant of the company of State militia organized in Troy, July 4, 1863. Was finally discharged from the United States service, July 25, 1865, when he returned to the pursuit of farming, and study of law.

    At the fall election of 1867, he was elected justice of the peace, commissioned as such by Governor Cox, October 23d of same year, for the term of three years.

    At a term of the district court of the State of Ohio held in Chardon, on the 21st of August, 1868, he was admitted to practice law in the several courts of the State of Ohio, as attorney-at-law and solicitor in chancery. Continuing the practice and study of the law on the farm and over the cheese vat, he was admitted to practice as an attorney and counsellor-at-law, and solicitor in chancery; and as proctor and advocate, in the circuit court of the United States, for the northern district of Ohio, said commission dating at the city of Cleveland January 14, 1875.

    A post of the G. A. R. organized in 1871, elected him as its first commander.

    From 1872 till 1876 inclusive, he was proprietor of the Maple Grove cheese factory.

    When the "Murphy wave" reached here, in the spring of 1877, he became an ardent advocate of the principles of temperance, and at the organization of the Murphy society, was made chairman of the executive committee, which position he yet holds.

    Mr. Barrows is also a respected member of the Masonic fraternity, is an Odd Fellow, and an ardent granger.

    In summing up this sketch, we find a strange anomaly. We find a man fitted by nature to do honor to his constituents in the legislature, shoving the bench plane. We find a man of a logical turn of mind, compounding rennet, anatto, and

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  671

    milk. We find a man who might, if he should choose, step into the front rank of his profession, engaging himself in agriculture. We have no word to offer against his occupation as a farmer (he is a good one), if that occupation is congenial to his taste. Yet it seems almost wasteful, that the talent of which no one denies to him the possession, should be allowed to remain, comparatively, inactive.

    In person, Mr. Barrows partakes largely of the Thrasher type; straight and tall, standing over six feet in his stockings; eyes black, to the assistance of which, he usually calls a pair of spectacles. Hair nearly black, now well sprinkled with frost.

    Having reached the age of nearly forty-six, he, doubtless, has no aspirations toward the judicial bench, but will be content to spend his days in the town of his birth, known by the familiar name of "Perk," respected and confided in, by his townsmen and acquaintances at large, and lending aid to every good work.

    W. H. C.

    >small>SIMEON L. CHAPMAN.

    Instances are by no means rare, wherein an accident may have been the means of changing the whole current of an individual's personal career through life. The subject of this sketch, is a case in point. Simeon L. Chapman, youngest son of Orsamus and Margaret Chapman, was born in Newbury, Geauga county, Ohio, August 23, 1847. He was one of quite a numerous family, nearly all of whom live within an easy distance of the homestead. All the sons are farmers by occupation, with this one exception, and there is no good reason why he would not have followed the same vocation, but for an accident. The winter following his ninth birth-day, he, with other lads of his age, engaged in the pastime of snow-balling, on a day so warm that the balls packed to the hardness of ice. The following day the sport was resumed, the boys using the ammunition of the day previous, in the course of which one of those congealed missiles struck Simeon on one of his legs, and which culminated in a fever sore. After his partial recovery it was urged upon his father to send him to school, but for some reason the parent did not endorse the proposal. When he was about seventeen years old his father died, and Perry Morton, then of Parkman -- a brother-in-law -- became his guardian.

    Mr. Morton at once sent him to school, and his proficiency was such that he shortly found himself engaged as a pedagogue. Teaching and study were his occupation, till about the first of November, 1868, when he married Flora, eldest daughter of Orrin and Julia Morton. He had at this time so far recovered from his injury as to feel competent to engage in farming, and to this end he purchased a farm of some fifty or sixty acres, situated in Troy. The experiment proved that he had miscalculated, as he could not bear the strain which that class of labor demanded, and returned somewhat to the occupation of school teaching.

    In the spring of 1873 he was elected constable for Troy township, and was re-elected the following year. In the spring of 1875 he was elected township assessor, the duties of which he performed so satisfactory that he held that office four consecutive years. At the county convention held in Chardon, in the fall of 1877, he was nominated to the office of treasurer on the first ballot, and, of course, was elected. September 1, 1878, he assumed the duties of his office, and, as a consequence, removed to Chardon. Whether flattering to himself or not, it is a simple fact, that his bond for one hundred thousand dollars, required by

    672                                  HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                 

    the commissioners of incumbents of that office, was cheefully endorsed by his fellow townsmen and others. At the county convention, held in August, 1879, he was re-nominated by acclamation, and in October, of the same year, was reelected as his own successor. He is a man of generous impulses, and is seldom known to refuse a favor, which he can consistently grant.

    Chapman is a member, in good standing, of Western Phoenix lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and of Chardon Chapter, No. 106, R. A. M. also of Auburn Lodge, No. 226, Independent Order of Odd fellows, in which he has acceptably filled all the offices except two, and those he declined, although urged to accept them -- the one, treasurer; and the other, permanent secretary. He is also a charter member of Welshfield grange, patrons of husbandry, No. 1,293, and filled the office of secretary from the date of its organization, till his removal to Chardon, and all this, perhaps, in consequence of a ball of ice. Mr. Chapman is now in full manhood, and there seems to be no reason why he should not in the future, as in the past, gain and hold the confidence and respect of all who may come to know him.

    W. H. C.


    By the express command of Judge Taylor, who -- without consulting Mr. Latham, assumes the responsibility -- the recording pencil is again sharpened, in order to transfer to the pages of this history a very imperfect sketch of the man whose name appears at the head of this paragraph. What is written is entirely from memory, not a scratch of data or record being at hand.

    E. P. is a son of R. R. and Amanda Latham, and was born in 1839. His childhood, boyhood, and youth, were passed, without any special incident, other than his marriage, which event occurred in 1858, before he had reached his majority. His wife is only daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Isaac Vanzandt, and their only child is a daughter, now the wife of Mr. Adelbert Truman.

    When the first call was made for 300,000 men, Mr. Latham was one of the many who responded in Troy, and selected the Ninth Independent Battery as his choice of service. He applied for, and was given, the position of "No. 1," in a detachment of cannoneers. His experience as a soldier, was nothing unusual, until the 18th of June, 1862, when he met with a terrible catastrophe, which deprived him of both his hands and an eye, the details of which are given elsewhere.

    As soon as he was able to leave the "Gap," General G. W. Morgan placed an ambulance at his disposal, giving his father (who had gone after him), instructions to "take his own time in making the trip to Lexington.

    Before his enlistment, he had followed the vocation of peddler, but being now physically incapacitated for resuming that occupation, he invested his limited means in purchasing the old Latham homestead, on section ten, and employed his time in the business of cattle dealer.

    After a few years, he had accumulated sufficient wherewith to close out his payments on his real estate, when he sold it, and negotiated for the ownership of a large portion of the original John Dayton farm, and took up his residence thereon.

    In 1869, a stock company built a cheese factory in his immediate vicinity, known as the Spring Brook Factory. After a few years, the company saw fit to disband, when Mr. Latham became owner of a controlling number of shares, and eventually of the whole property, which he yet retains.

    His success as a business man is all that he could desire. His "handwriting,"

                                     HISTORY  OF  GEAUGA  COUNTY,  OHIO.                                  673

    is fair, and legible, and his signature is decidedly business-like, and, what is more, it is readily taken at the banking house of Boughton, Ford & Co., as an endorser. He is called to hold important positions among his fellow-men; has been at the head of the county agricultural board; has been commander of "Pool Post," G. A. R.; has been master of Welshfield grange; is now one of the township trustees; and is usually a delegate to the district and county conventions. He can "handle" a horse, or a span of horses, better than half the men who are endowed with two good hands. He was "grandfather" before he was forty -- an incident somewhat unusual.

    It would be difficult to find another man who would bear the deprivation, which he was compelled to do, with as much cheerful philosophy.

    Mr. Latham's income, together, with his pension, are ample to support him and his, through life, yet it is doubtful if any one could be found, who would voluntarily change placces with him.

    Known familiarly among a large circle of acquaintances by the abbreviated name of "Payes," he bids fair to spend his days in the township, wherein he first saw the light.

    W. H. C.


    To the people of Troy, let me say: My efforts as a "historian" are completed. Every word--excepting the biographical sketch of Rev. E. D. Taylor, and the resolutions adopted by Welshfield grange, at the time of his decease -- was written by "my mine own hand."* After having seen the "matter" as it appears in type, and having had an opportunity to scan its grammatical construction, the writer feels, more than ever before, his lack of literary culture; and, were the MS. again in his possession, in the condition of "live copy," it would be consigned to a place under the traditional "fore-stick," before it should run the gauntlet of the printer's scrutiny.

    But it is now in "print," and will soon be in the hands of its readers. Some will, doubtless, receive it with silent satisfaction; more will subject it to sharp criticism; while the majority will greet it with supreme indifference.

    To each and all, let me say: I have done the best I could.

    CLEVELAND, OHIO, March 11, 1880.

    W. H. C.
    * It will be seen that many repetitions occur. These, for apparently good reasons, were seemingly unavoidable. Repeated demands for the MS. by the county publishing committee, and as repeated return of the same, are among the reasons.







    Published by

    This text is copyright © 1953 by The Geauga County Historical and Memorial Society.
    Only limited, "fair use" excerpts are reproduced here.

    [ 132 ]


    Auburn is about twenty-five miles east of Cleveland and twenty-five miles south of Lake Erie on routes 422 and 44. It is in Range 8, Township 6, and was settled in 1815 by Bildad Bradley. The Pioneer History of 1880 says: "Auburn is probably one of the best and most healthy townships in the county." Most of the early settlers came from Massachusetts, Virginia and New York, coming by the Mohawk trail to Conneaut, thinking they could better themselves and make a brighter future for their children.

    The mail was brought from Mantua to Auburn in a covered spring buggy or wagon, drawn by two horses. It was spoken of as "The Hack." From here it went to South Newbury and on to Burton. The first RFD to Auburn came from the South Newbury post office; the mail came to Newbury on the electric railroad and was delivered here by Jay Smith who rode on a two-wheeled cart and drove a horse...

    The first marriage was of Samuel Morse to Betsey Keyes, on December 25, 1817 by Ethan Brewer, justice of the peace. The first male child born in Auburn was Jeremiah Crafts, born in 1816, the son of William Crafts who resided at the Corners, and came from Gorham, N. Y. in 1815. Another son, Edward Crafts, and his wife, Helen Johnson Crafts, with there three sons lived in the house built by William Crafts. The sons were the Hon. Clayton Crafts, Pitt M., and Stanley Crafts. Pitt and his wife, Eva Wilbur Crafts, spent their entire married life here, and it was also the home of their only son, Maurice W. Crafts. After the death of Pitt, the farm was sold and divided in small parcels. John Jayme purchased the house and a few acres, and it has been restored to its former style. Diadama Mott was the first female child born here, in 1816. She married Daniel Crafts and they had a daughter, Samantha Crafts Truman, one of the prominent women of her day.

    The first religious meeting was in 1817, held by John Bosworth. The

                                                AUBURN                                             133

    Free Will Baptist Church was built in 1840, and is now owned by the Civic Club and used as their meeting place. The first saw mill was built by Henry Canfield in 1822. John Jackson was the first justice of the peace, in 1820, and David Smith, Jr., was appointed the first postmaster in 1825. The first election was held April, 1817, at the home of Ethan Brewer. The first school was kept in the dwelling of David Smith, Jr., in 1816, and the first school house was built in 1818, with Charles Hodkins as teacher. The first select school was taught by Wesley Vincent in the Corners Church, assisted by his wife, Elanor Dutton Vincent. The first frame houses were built by Oliver Snow and Joseph Woodard. The first tavern was built by Ethan Brewer in 1829, and the first store was opened in 1829 by William Baker....

    Auburn was a central point in stage coach days, half way between Cleveland and Warren, and horses were changed at the hotel at the Corners...

    When Bildad Bradley made his plans for the construction of the first house in Auburn township, he could not have by the widest sweep of his imagination had any conception of the future development and events which were to occur. At that time, 1814, Auburn was a primitive forest. Neither of the highways which intersect at the corners existed. In fact Bradley carried the front end of the chain during the surveying of route 44 some years later. In 1830, a Rip Van Winkle could have awakened to view an entirely different scene from that which met the eyes of Bradley, his wife, and their four children when they struggled through the wilderness, filled with the never-say-die spirit of the pioneer, intent upon carving out a home.

    During the years, a steady influx of settlers had created quite a thriving village at Auburn Corners, and some of the names which are still prominent in the township were brought in by those heroic farmers who dared leave the assured safety of the east to brave a frontier life. There were the Crafts,

    134                     THE HISTORY OF GEAUGA COUNTY                    

    Colvins, Reuwees, Woods, Snows, Halls, Bowles, Wilbers, Quinns, Canfields, Duttons, Bartholomews, Richards, Mays, Brewsters, Egglestons, Chamberlains and many others. The soil was rich and lumber land was cheap. Immigration continued and the population total reached its high point sometime after the Rebellion, at which time it stood between 1,500 and 1,600....

    Auburn is somewhat unique aming the townships of Geauga County in that it supports two villages. Most townships established villages at their approximate centers, which accounts for Auburn Center. But the older of the two was founded partially because the first settlers located there and because two stage coach lines intersected there. The line from Painesville to Marietta crossed the one connecting Cleveland and Pittsburgh, and being somewhat distant from other towns, there was a need for a hotel and stores. There sprang up early in Auburn's history a feeling of ill will between the two localities. The cause pf the original trouble is unknown, but jealousy kept it alive, and when the question of which community should have the town hall and centralized school came up, animosity took on proportions comparable to a Kentucky feud....

                                                AUBURN                                             135

    (pages 135-144 not copied)


                                                AUBURN                                             145

    The first church organized here was the M. E. church in 1821. Morgan Orton and George Antisdale built a church at the Center in 1842, which later was sold and moved away. The town hall now stands on the site of the church. The Close Communion Baptist church was organized in 1832. By 1880, however, no church of that denomination remained.

    The Methodist Protestant church was organized in 1833, with Elder Richardson and Dr. Bell as clergymen. Ashley Crafts, Alanson Crafts, Russell Hall and Peter Silvernail were the most prominent male members.

    146                     THE HISTORY OF GEAUGA COUNTY                    

    About 1834, they built a church on Valley Road and held meetings for several years, but by 1880 the denomination had disappeared.

    The Free Will Baptist church was organized in 1839, with Elder Miller as clergyman. David Thomas and Norman Wadsworth were prominent in it. They built a church at the Corners which was used for many years by the Methodists and Baptists. In 1880, the Baptists had a membership of 80, and the Rev. I. D. Boynton was pastor. Among the prominent members were Mrs. Ozro Truman, Mrs. Alonzo Snow, Mr. and Mrs. L. S. Reuwee and daughters Izella and Elsie, Mr. and Mrs. Ransom Parker, Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Reed, Laura Quinn, Mrs. Alonzo Colvin, Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Murray, Mary James, Mrs. Corwin Hall and Mrs, Laura Webster. Other ministers were Elder Page, the Rev. Lash, the Rev. Dudley, the Rev. Sherritt, the Rev. Frey and the Rev. Tanner....

                                                AUBURN                                             147

    For many years the Methodists held services in the Baptist church. The pastor, residing at Troy, came to Auburn every other Sunday. Some of the prominent members were Mr. and Mrs. S. L. Costlow, Mr. and Mrs. Orrie Maible, Mr. and Mrs. Decorsa Canfield, Sophia Dutton, Mr. and Mrs. Byron Dutton, Mrs. George Thomas, Mrs. Alta Davis, Mrs. Eleanor Davis, and Mr. and Mrs. William Richards. Some of the ministers were the Rev. Hunscher, the Rev. H. W. Dewey, the Rev. Payne, the Rev. Russell, the Rev. Hulbert and the Rev. Wilson. The Rev. T. D. Henshaw was the official minister for several years, but during the war it was closed, and in 1947 it was given to the Civic Club for a community house.

    The First Disciple Church was organized by Elder A. S. Hayden in 1841. Ransler Granger, John Brown and Jonathan Burnett were prominent members. They built a church at the Center in 1846, and occupied it for many years, but now no such organization exists. The church is kept in repair by the residents, and is used for funeral occasions.

    More than fifty years ago the Second Disciple Church was organized by the Rev. Henry Derthick of Bedford, a student at Hiram College....

    148                     THE HISTORY OF GEAUGA COUNTY                    

    (pages 148-149 not copied)


    150                     THE HISTORY OF GEAUGA COUNTY                    

    Another prominent family which held their reunions for fifty years or more were the Canfields. Other smaller reunions have been held, but nearly all are things of the past.

    The house occupied by Mrs. Lepha Dutton Wilson was built by her great-grandfather, James Dutton, in 1847. The Duttons settled in Auburn in 1829. Later James Dutton purchased a farm from Leicester Perkins where he lived and raised a family of nine children. George Dutton purchased the farm from his father. Byron, son of George and Sophia Crafts Dutton, died at the age of 27. William Kershaw Nokes, grandson of Mrs. Wilson, is the seventh generation of the Duttons to live in this house. Marilyn Jane Wilson, great-granddaughter of Mrs. Wilson, is the eighth generation to visit there.

    Rufus Dutton, son of James and Clarissa, was born in Norfolk, New

                                                AUBURN                                             151

    York on January 20, 1821. He came to Auburn with his parents in 1829, and his boyhood was spent on the farm until he was thirteen. Then he hired out to Edson Kent of Bainbridge for $4 per month. The following year he worked for his father learning the carpenter's trade. In the winter of 1837, he and his three brothers attended school taught by Joseph Gray, founder and editor of the Cleveland Plain Dealer. The Dutton boys walked a distance of four miles each day to school and many times there was an evening school. Later Rufus taught school at Bainbridge in a log house with 46 pupils....

    152                     THE HISTORY OF GEAUGA COUNTY                    

    (pages 152-153 not copied)

    This text is copyright © 1953 by The Geauga County Historical and Memorial Society.
    Only limited, "fair use" excerpts are reproduced here.

    [ 154 ]


    Bainbridge is in the southwest corner of Geauga County, and contains 16,138 acres. At one time the township had an abundance of maple, beach, ash, oak, chestnut, basswood, cherry, whitewood and black walnut trees, but most of them have been cut. The soil is a sandy or clay loam. The climate is somewhat milder than that of the northern part of the county.

    When Edward Paine in 1801 surveyed the Chillocothe Road (3006) for the state, the road passed through the township just east of the center. At that time, Bainbridge was one vast forest, where Indians, wolves and wild animals roamed....

                                            BAINBRIDGE                                         155

    ... Joel Giles came from Warsaw, N. Y., to Bainbridge in 1818. He purchased 100 acres of land for $4.00 per acre, situated in the southwest corner of the township and bordering on what is now Geauga Lake. The family consisted of himself, his wife, and four children, Joel, Sullivan, Daniel, and Julia. Mr. Gile's home was a temporary one for the Baptist ministers and other denominations in the early history of the township.

    156                     THE HISTORY OF GEAUGA COUNTY                    

    ... Simon Henry, anxious to provide for the settlement of his sons, exchanged his farm in Massachusetts for a large tract of land in Bainbridge. In the autumn of 1817, he and his wife and eight children started for their home in the wilderness. The last night of the journey was spent in Chester. Their oldest son, Orrin, who had come on before, met them there with two fresh teams...

                                            BAINBRIDGE                                         157

    (pages 157-159 not copied)


    160                     THE HISTORY OF GEAUGA COUNTY                    

    An outstanding family is that of Charles E. Henry who was born in Bainbridge November 29, 1835, attended Western Reserve Eclectic College at Hiram and taught school for a time. For many years he was a trustee of Hiram College. He served in the Civil War in Co. A, 42nd Regiment of the O. V. I. He was wounded twice, at Thompson Hill and at Vicksburg, and was promoted to first lieutenant. He was mustered December 2, 1864. He also served as marshal of the District of Columbia during the time Charles Guiteau was on trial for the shooting of President Garfield. Applications for admission to the hanging of Guiteau had to be approved by Henry, and many black caps and ropes were sent to him to be used for the hanging. But Captain Henry "had at his farm no lack of ropes with which to tie calves."

    He married Sophia Williams of Ravenna, and had five children: Frederick Augustus, Marcia, Don Pardee, James Garfield and Mary Annice. He died November 3, 1906.

    Frederick A. Henry was born in Bainbridge June 16, 1867, son of Charles and Sophia Marcia (Williams) Henry. He received his A. B. from Hiram College in 1888, and his M. A. and LLB. from the University of Michigan. He married Louise Adams on January 25, 1893. He practiced law in Cleveland from 1891 to 1905, was Judge of the Circuit Court of Ohio from 1905 to 1912, and resigned in January of that year to resume law practice.

    Some of the offices he held are as follows: Conservator of Chagrin Falls Banking Company from 1933-4; counsel and secretary of liquidating trust commission since 1934; Professor of Law at Western Reserve University from 1894 to 1911; president of trustees at Hiram College; trustee of Cleveland Y. M. C. A.; president of General Convention of Disciples of Christ in 1913; Cleveland Federated Churches in 1914; Business Men's Commission of Men and Millions Movement from 1915 to 1919; Director of Municipal Research Bureau of Cleveland; vice president of Federal Regional Road Advancement Commission of Cleveland; member of New England Historical and Genealogical Society, Western Reserve Historical Society; Philosopher's Club of Cleveland (president from 1915-16);

                                            BAINBRIDGE                                         161

    Loyal Legion (Jr. Commander Ohio Commandry from 1934 to 1945); Sons of Veterans; Phi Delta Phi; author of Henry Family Record, 1905.

    Judge Henry, author of the book about his father, Captain Henry of Geauga, died January 11, 1948. He was the father of four children: Marcia, Charles Adams, Charlotte Sophia and Margaret Rhoda.

    In the early days there was a log house on Taylor Riad which was used as a town hall. The township records tell how in 1833 the trustees paid Judge Bissell for a room where they held their meetings and elections....

    162                     THE HISTORY OF GEAUGA COUNTY                    

    (pages 162-167 not copied)


    168                     THE HISTORY OF GEAUGA COUNTY                    

    ... In 1820, the first sawmill was built by Gen. Chauncey Eggleston. A tannery was started in 1825 by John and James Lowry. It closed in 1867, and in 1871 was converted into the Rocky Dell cheese factory owned by F. H. Brewster. In 1825, another sawmill was built in which all the McFarlands had an interest...

                                            BAINBRIDGE                                         169

    ... Another interesting person was Sidney Rigdon. The Book of Mormons [sic], or a large part of it, was written by him during the winter of 1825 and 1826 in a log house about a mile and a quarter south of the Center. Three years later, the Book of Mormon was ready for publication, and in April, 1830, was published. Rigdon was then preaching for the Disciples in a church in Mantua. He at once announced his conversion to Mormonism....

    170                     THE HISTORY OF GEAUGA COUNTY                    

    ... The first school in Bainbridge was taught in 1816, by a young man from Windham named Skiff. The school was a small log house located on the north side of Taylor road on the property next to the present Clell Taylor farm. A little later a school house was erected just west of the first school house....

    (remainder of chapter not copied)


    Transcriber's Comments

    Bainbridge Twp. - Residence of Rev. Sidney Rigdon and Family, 1826-27

    (under construction)


    Return to top of the page

    Sidney Rigdon "Home"   |   Rigdon's History   |   Mormon Classics  |  Bookshelf
    Newspapers  |  History Vault  |  New Spalding Library  |  Old Spalding Library

    last revised Apr. 18, 2007